Off-Topic Hang out with people and talk about whatever. Feel free to suggest a better description for this forum as everyone seems to have an opinion. :D

TrollandToad.com
View Poll Results: Is the white 3Ds XL too noticeable when playing the game?
Yes, incredibly. You should go for a black screen. 1 6.25%
Yeah, you should probably go for something else. 6 37.50%
Nah, it's fine. 9 56.25%
WHA- The white version is the best! 0 0%
Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old May 26th, 2011 (1:13 PM).
Barney.'s Avatar
Barney. Barney. is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Age: 22
    Posts: 2,481
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Charizard★ View Post
    I've heard it lags tho, how bad is it? I mean one of my friends said it isn't that bad, but another says it's pretty bad so he got the new PS3. Not really bad I hope?
    To be honest with you, I have no first hand experience of this, as I have an 80gb PS3 that can't play PS2 games, but I think there should be lists of compatibility on the internet which show the games that play well on certain PS3 models and those that don't.
    __________________
    True Stories *
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #27    
    Old May 27th, 2011 (11:31 PM). Edited May 28th, 2011 by Captain Fabio.
    FourCartridge's Avatar
    FourCartridge FourCartridge is offline
       
      Join Date: Dec 2010
      Location: Florida
      Age: 24
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 342
      I'm about to upgrade my computer, and I'm interested in getting one of those two games. I only have money for one, so I came to you guys. Which one should I get?

      Moderators note: Merged into the Quick Questions Thread.
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #28    
      Old June 1st, 2011 (6:40 AM).
      Captain Fabio's Avatar
      Captain Fabio Captain Fabio is offline
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Apr 2006
      Location: London, UK
      Age: 27
      Nature: Lax
      Posts: 12,264
      This is the best way to compare them:

      Quote:
      Empire:

      +Massive, 3 Theater World (Although crippled by small # of provinces)
      +Many different nations to choose from (Sharing the same bland, cookie cutter format albeit)
      +Fire by Rank
      +Open Ended Campaign

      -AI (Campaign and Battle)
      -Bugs (Half finished on release and I'm being kind)
      -Same units for each army mostly
      -Same ships for each navy
      -Doesn't feel polished (Wonder why)

      Napoleon:

      +Better AI
      +More army differentiation
      +Attrition and Supply System
      +More, smaller regions
      +Better art design (completely subjective, but the 'portraits' in ETW were horrible)
      +Physically larger campaign map
      +Enhanced GFX engine

      -Smaller scope
      -Cost high for what is essentially a glorified expansion
      -little, if any integration or enhancement with/for its parent game, ETW
      -Only 4 nations to choose from in GC
      -was developed and released during a time when CA should have been focusing all its energy on repairing and upgrading Empire
      Hope this helps.
      Reply With Quote
        #29    
      Old June 2nd, 2011 (9:55 AM).
      Richard Nixon Richard Nixon is offline
      Banned
         
        Join Date: Jun 2011
        Location: America
        Age: 27
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 95
        Just answer to the title. Wii or DS? If I were to vote it would be DS.
        Reply With Quote
          #30    
        Old June 2nd, 2011 (10:02 AM).
        Oryx's Avatar
        Oryx Oryx is offline
        CoquettishCat
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Mar 2011
        Age: 24
        Gender: Female
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 13,204
        It's better on the N64. /shot
        __________________


        Theme * Pair * VM * PM

        Not all men...

        Are all men stupid?

        That's right.

        Reply With Quote
          #31    
        Old June 2nd, 2011 (10:05 AM).
        linkinpark187's Avatar
        linkinpark187 linkinpark187 is offline
        Computer Tech
           
          Join Date: Apr 2007
          Location: Randolph, VT
          Age: 31
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 620
          I would have to say the N64, too. I do like the visual updates that the DS brought, but...not so much on playing as 5 different characters.
          __________________


          I don't use "uber" Pokemon, I don't calculate stat values, I don't breed my way to perfection, and I don't care about natures. I catch my Pokemon the way they are, and treat them like individuals instead of brainless drones. If you use this philosophy, copy & paste this into your signature.
          Reply With Quote
            #32    
          Old June 2nd, 2011 (10:25 AM).
          TheWatersGreatGuardian's Avatar
          TheWatersGreatGuardian TheWatersGreatGuardian is offline
             
            Join Date: Jun 2011
            Location: USA, Florida
            Age: 28
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 49
            N64, that was one of my first games, nothing beats the memories I get from playing the good ole games
            __________________
            C:\Documents and Settings\Cason\My Documents\My Pictures\net stuff\Lugia-fanart-lugia-5701475-300-207.jpg
            Reply With Quote
              #33    
            Old June 2nd, 2011 (11:53 AM).
            ソラ's Avatar
            ソラ ソラ is offline
            May My Heart Be My Guiding Key
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Mar 2008
            Location: California
            Age: 27
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 1,955
            N64.
            Original FTW.
            Wii...EHHH.
            Ds I liked it
            But overall N64 is the best for that game.
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #34    
            Old June 2nd, 2011 (12:10 PM).
            TheWatersGreatGuardian's Avatar
            TheWatersGreatGuardian TheWatersGreatGuardian is offline
               
              Join Date: Jun 2011
              Location: USA, Florida
              Age: 28
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 49
              Super Mario Sunshine wasn't half bad either.
              Reply With Quote
                #35    
              Old June 2nd, 2011 (2:24 PM).
              Bloo Bloo is offline
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Oct 2008
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Impish
              Posts: 947
              I think it's better for DS, but it's definitely best for the N64 /shot
              Reply With Quote
                #36    
              Old June 2nd, 2011 (4:19 PM).
              Alternative's Avatar
              Alternative Alternative is offline
              stalwart command
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Jan 2009
              Location: Adelaide, Australia
              Age: 24
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Impish
              Posts: 4,268
              I have a question. I've recently seen Tales of Vesperia go cheap on the Xbox Live Marketplace, and I've seen reviews of the game and it looks like the game anyone should get. Does anyone have any first-hand experience and can tell me to get it at all?
              Reply With Quote
                #37    
              Old June 2nd, 2011 (5:18 PM).
              Captain Fabio's Avatar
              Captain Fabio Captain Fabio is offline
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Apr 2006
              Location: London, UK
              Age: 27
              Nature: Lax
              Posts: 12,264
              The reviews say it all. I have played it with a friend when I was around his and it was a very fun game.

              If you like games like that, very simple answer for you, if not, read more into the reviews and see!
              Reply With Quote
                #38    
              Old June 14th, 2011 (6:57 PM).
              zevarius kerensky's Avatar
              zevarius kerensky zevarius kerensky is offline
              i bid my timberwolf in defiance of yer claim!
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2009
                Location: strauna mechty
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Gentle
                Posts: 574
                my game is giveing me problems, its the elder scrolls 4 OBLIVION (game of the year btw), anytime i enter the overworld, CRASH! enter sewers? CRASH! enter any area w/ water? CRASH! exit a city (e.g: BRUMA)? CRASH!

                i tried alot of things 2 fix it, patches, modding the .idi file, downloads... no luck, i rly need help... but i tried a site... it says the hardware t&l (transform and lighting) fails, but my game l4d, has the same problem, but it dznt crash, only lags (major lag in dead air)

                im not buying a new comp... cnt afford 1 but other ideas r majorly welcome
                __________________
                Reply With Quote
                  #39    
                Old June 18th, 2011 (8:44 PM).
                Jeikobu's Avatar
                Jeikobu Jeikobu is offline
                God's beloved child
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2003
                  Location: In God's timing, Japan!
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 474
                  Is there a such thing as a charger for my DS Lite that I can take on the go with me that doesn't have to plug into something (i.e. a car, wall outlet, etc.)? I have a charger I carry with me for my iPod that runs on AA batteries. Does such a thing exist for the DS Lite? So far I'm not having luck finding anything. Finally, is there something like this for the 3DS? Someday I'm sure I'll have to upgrade and when I do I'd want something to charge this while I'm out as well.
                  __________________
                  "For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse." - Romans 1:20


                  Learn the Japanese names for Pokemon!

                  Please visit my Photobucket! http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v162/Jeikobu_Roy/
                  Reply With Quote
                    #40    
                  Old June 19th, 2011 (3:27 AM).
                  PkMnTrainer Yellow's Avatar
                  PkMnTrainer Yellow PkMnTrainer Yellow is offline
                  Pokemon Professor
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2008
                  Location: East Coast, USA
                  Gender: Female
                  Nature: Sassy
                  Posts: 4,536
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Jeikobu View Post
                  Is there a such thing as a charger for my DS Lite that I can take on the go with me that doesn't have to plug into something
                  Hahaha, that's a funny sounding question. |D Ironically though, the answer is yes! There are several types of "Charge at home, then use to charge devices away from home" type deals, such as this one, which very directly shows that it has an adapter for the DSi, among other things. The DSi and 3DS actually have the exact same chargers. (They're literally interchangeable.) So anything that works with the DSi should work with the 3DS.
                  __________________

                  It's been a long time since we crossed paths over spcae-time~
                  Reply With Quote
                    #41    
                  Old June 19th, 2011 (7:08 AM).
                  Cassino's Avatar
                  Cassino Cassino is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2006
                    Nature: Serious
                    Posts: 7,759
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by lucario giavlés View Post
                    my game is giveing me problems, its the elder scrolls 4 OBLIVION (game of the year btw), anytime i enter the overworld, CRASH! enter sewers? CRASH! enter any area w/ water? CRASH! exit a city (e.g: BRUMA)? CRASH!

                    i tried alot of things 2 fix it, patches, modding the .idi file, downloads... no luck, i rly need help... but i tried a site... it says the hardware t&l (transform and lighting) fails, but my game l4d, has the same problem, but it dznt crash, only lags (major lag in dead air)

                    im not buying a new comp... cnt afford 1 but other ideas r majorly welcome
                    Have you tried running it on the lowest graphics settings? That should be the most obvious course of action if you're having video problems.

                    More specifically, though I'm best-guessing;
                    Try turning the option that goes "none, bloom, HDR" to none.
                    If there's an option for choosing the pixel shader, set that to 1.0 (might have to be done via the in-game console if anywhere).
                    Turn shadows off.
                    Turn reflections off (both windows and water).

                    Also, try looking around on forums for people who were/are having the same problem as you. Given the age of the game it's likely the issue has been discussed and resolved someplace.


                    If you haven't already then I recommend getting this, the 'Unofficial Oblivion Patch' as an aside. Don't expect it'll fix the problem you're having, but it stops a lot of quests becoming broken and suchlike occurances. Things Bethesda should've fixed themselves but never did.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #42    
                    Old June 19th, 2011 (3:05 PM). Edited June 19th, 2011 by zevarius kerensky.
                    zevarius kerensky's Avatar
                    zevarius kerensky zevarius kerensky is offline
                    i bid my timberwolf in defiance of yer claim!
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2009
                      Location: strauna mechty
                      Age: 22
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Gentle
                      Posts: 574
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Cassino View Post
                      Have you tried running it on the lowest graphics settings? That should be the most obvious course of action if you're having video problems.

                      More specifically, though I'm best-guessing;
                      Try turning the option that goes "none, bloom, HDR" to none.
                      If there's an option for choosing the pixel shader, set that to 1.0 (might have to be done via the in-game console if anywhere).
                      Turn shadows off.
                      Turn reflections off (both windows and water).

                      Also, try looking around on forums for people who were/are having the same problem as you. Given the age of the game it's likely the issue has been discussed and resolved someplace.


                      If you haven't already then I recommend getting this, the 'Unofficial Oblivion Patch' as an aside. Don't expect it'll fix the problem you're having, but it stops a lot of quests becoming broken and suchlike occurances. Things Bethesda should've fixed themselves but never did.
                      tried most of those, not working either and its not the quests tht r broken, its the water thts broken

                      and HOW do i manage 2 put it on 1.0?
                      Reply With Quote
                        #43    
                      Old June 19th, 2011 (8:42 PM). Edited June 19th, 2011 by Jeikobu.
                      Jeikobu's Avatar
                      Jeikobu Jeikobu is offline
                      God's beloved child
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2003
                        Location: In God's timing, Japan!
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 474
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by PkMnTrainer Yellow View Post

                        There are several types of "Charge at home, then use to charge devices away from home" type deals, such as this one, which very directly shows that it has an adapter for the DSi, among other things. The DSi and 3DS actually have the exact same chargers. (They're literally interchangeable.) So anything that works with the DSi should work with the 3DS.
                        Wow, are they typically that expensive? (thanks for the link btw)

                        Will it also work with the DS Lite?

                        EDIT: What about something like this?
                        Reply With Quote
                          #44    
                        Old June 20th, 2011 (12:18 PM).
                        Cassino's Avatar
                        Cassino Cassino is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2006
                          Nature: Serious
                          Posts: 7,759
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by lucario giavlés View Post
                          tried most of those, not working either -_- and its not the quests tht r broken, its the water thts broken?
                          Just said as an aside, not so much to do with your problem, but a general recommendation which could on the off chance make the problem go away. Doubt that, but thought I'd mention it.

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by lucario giavlés View Post
                          and HOW do i manage 2 put it on 1.0?
                          Looking about I'm not sure one can, but to open the console press the key to the left of 1, could be `, could be ~, or something else, depends on your keyboard. That opens the console.
                          Type bAllow30Shaders=0
                          That doesn't set the shader model to 1.0, I'm not sure if anything really does, it just disallows 3.0 (Oblivion normally runs on 2.0, apparently), and it should be set to 0 by default anyway.

                          Failing everything else, if you've got a kind of computer you can open the case and change parts of, you could simply upgrade the video card without buying a whole new system.


                          Sorry I'm not much of a help but I thought better than to say nothing.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #45    
                          Old June 20th, 2011 (2:24 PM).
                          zevarius kerensky's Avatar
                          zevarius kerensky zevarius kerensky is offline
                          i bid my timberwolf in defiance of yer claim!
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2009
                            Location: strauna mechty
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Gentle
                            Posts: 574
                            tried the shaders thing (and i use the console alot)... no luck... still crashes

                            wuts the best vid card i culd get fer under or at $300? (max budget if i say so)
                            Reply With Quote
                              #46    
                            Old June 21st, 2011 (4:57 PM).
                            Jeikobu's Avatar
                            Jeikobu Jeikobu is offline
                            God's beloved child
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2003
                              Location: In God's timing, Japan!
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 474
                              Is there a way to send messages via DS systems to people a great distance away? I know the PictoChat allows message exchange, but I'm under the impression the senders have to be within a very short distance from each. What if I wanted to chat with someone in another city in my state? What about in another country? I would think if Nintendo fixed it so Pokemon Black and White players can battle people across the world on Wi-Fi, we could also chit-chat with people. Is this possible, and if so, how?
                              Reply With Quote
                                #47    
                              Old June 22nd, 2011 (6:09 PM).
                              LugiaSWE LugiaSWE is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2011
                                Posts: 10
                                Pc specs:
                                Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P7350 @ 2.00GHz

                                Installed memory (RAM): 3,00 GB
                                System-type: 64-bit Operating System

                                Someone think it can run it?
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #48    
                                Old June 22nd, 2011 (6:15 PM).
                                Cherrim's Avatar
                                Cherrim Cherrim is offline
                                the blossom pokémon
                                • Platinum Tier
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2002
                                Location: Waterloo, ON
                                Age: 28
                                Gender: Female
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 30,829
                                http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri/

                                I usually use that to tell whether my computer will run something. It's never failed me yet, but I guess your mileage will vary. You just have to install something which I'm... pretty sure is quite harmless. It reads your specs and then you can use the site to tell what'll be compatible and whether it's bare minimum or recommended settings.
                                __________________


                                Reply With Quote
                                  #49    
                                Old June 22nd, 2011 (6:20 PM).
                                LugiaSWE LugiaSWE is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2011
                                  Posts: 10
                                  Thanks! I got everything that is recommended even :D
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #50    
                                  Old July 3rd, 2011 (5:07 PM).
                                  Dragonite's Wrath's Avatar
                                  Dragonite's Wrath Dragonite's Wrath is offline
                                  Dragons are my Heart and Soul
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2011
                                    Location: In Johto, living the life of a Dragon Trainer
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Hasty
                                    Posts: 141
                                    I just got online to play Smash Bros Brawl, and the Spectator Mode and the Options were gone. I figured a lot of people play Brawl, so I thought PC would be a good place to ask.
                                    Is Spectator Mode and Options gone for anyone else, or is it just me?
                                    __________________
                                    This signature has been disabled.
                                    Too tall.
                                    Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                                    You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                                    Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                                    Reply With Quote
                                    Reply

                                    Quick Reply

                                    Join the conversation!

                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:45 PM.