ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19876    
Old October 31st, 2011 (3:14 AM).
jojo1250's Avatar
jojo1250 jojo1250 is offline
     
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 26

    uummmm, i wanted to know how to get lets say zekrom to fit in a 64x64 pallete without screwing the sprite up. not adding or edititng trainers, but i will need that later so thanks anyway.


    Relevant Advertising!

      #19877    
    Old October 31st, 2011 (5:33 AM).
    Herpity-Derpity-Derp Herpity-Derpity-Derp is offline
       
      Join Date: Oct 2011
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 1

      Uh.. can anyone tell me the location in the RAM for this (if there is one):

      Code:
      [BATTLE STYLE--------SHIFT--------]

      The shift/set one. I really need to know if there is one.

      Any help is appreciated!

      Attached Images
      File Type: png Pokemon - Fire Red # GBA.png‎ (3.0 KB, 9 views) (Save to Dropbox)
        #19878    
      Old October 31st, 2011 (11:01 AM).
      lunos219 lunos219 is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2009
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 7

        I seem to recall seeing something around here about adding new types to R/S/E roms... though, I recently searched for it rather thoroughly, and found nothing. Does anyone know if this kind of thing exists? If so, does anyone know where I could find such a tutorial?

        __________________

        This signature has been disabled.
        Spoilers are not allowed in signatures.
        Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

        You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

        Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.

          #19879    
        Old October 31st, 2011 (12:53 PM).
        Cathar's Avatar
        Cathar Cathar is offline
        /人◕ ‿‿ ◕人\
           
          Join Date: Jan 2011
          Age: 29
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 79

          Hi everyone!
          I'm new to ROM hacking and I don't really want to get into it too far right now, BUT:

          I want to change the event at the beginning of FireRed where Oak gives you your Pokédex so that he gives you the National Dex instead.

          I already have XSE but I can't seem to find a way to open the scripts in the ROM with it?

          If there are any tutorials for this, I'd be really happy to have a link.

          Note: I don't want to make a new script, I just want to change the existing one.

          Thanks in Advance (do you see what I did there),
          Cheers,
          Peter

          __________________

            #19880    
          Old October 31st, 2011 (2:23 PM).
          SupahNinja's Avatar
          SupahNinja SupahNinja is offline
          Scripting Ninja
             
            Join Date: Mar 2011
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 34

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by jojo1250 View Post
            uummmm, i wanted to know how to get lets say zekrom to fit in a 64x64 pallete without screwing the sprite up. not adding or edititng trainers, but i will need that later so thanks anyway.
            Ah, sorry.
            Not sure why, but for some reason I though you were talking about trainers.
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Cathar View Post
            Hi everyone!
            I'm new to ROM hacking and I don't really want to get into it too far right now, BUT:

            I want to change the event at the beginning of FireRed where Oak gives you your Pokédex so that he gives you the National Dex instead.

            I already have XSE but I can't seem to find a way to open the scripts in the ROM with it?

            If there are any tutorials for this, I'd be really happy to have a link.

            Note: I don't want to make a new script, I just want to change the existing one.

            Thanks in Advance (do you see what I did there),
            Cheers,
            Peter

            If you have Advance Map:

            Spoiler:
            1. Open your ROM with Advance Map.
            2. Go to Oak's Lab (Map 4.3).
            3. View the events, and click on Oak's person event.
            4. If you haven't set XSE as your script editor, do that by going to "Settings" -> "Choose script editor".
            5. Hit the "Open Script" button on the sidebar.
            6. Oak's script should open in XSE.
            7. Add your command for the National Dex (I believe it's special 0x16F).
            Compile the script (the little gear/cog button in XSE). If you made any changes in Advance Map, save that as well.
            8. Test it out.
            9. If it worked: congratulations.
            If it didn't work: troubleshoot it on your own, then post here again.

            If you don't have Advance Map:

            Spoiler:
            Get it.
            Alternatively, if you know the offset of the script you want to edit, open the ROM with XSE and type in the offset.
            Edit the script to your heart's delight.

            __________________

            SupahNinja

            My feelings on
            ROM hacking:

            -I like scripting a lot.
            -Mapping is almost as fun.
            -Hex editing isn't bad at all.
            -I do NOT enjoy spriting.
            -I've been meaning to start learning ASM for a while, but I don't ever seem to have enough time.

            Favorites:

            -My favorite color is green.
            -My favorite type is fire.
            -My favorite Pokémon are:
            Growlithe, Charizard, Mew,
            Giratina, Haxorus, and Aggron.
            SupahNinja

              #19881    
            Old October 31st, 2011 (3:01 PM).
            jojo1250's Avatar
            jojo1250 jojo1250 is offline
               
              Join Date: Dec 2010
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Quiet
              Posts: 26

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by SupahNinja View Post
              Ah, sorry.
              Not sure why, but for some reason I though you were talking about trainers.

              its ok, so do you know how to do what im talking about?

                #19882    
              Old October 31st, 2011 (3:18 PM).
              Truality Truality is offline
              Left for good
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2011
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 1,007

                @SupahNinja, since he can script with XSE without using A-Map, and all he needs is to know the offset (namely, $169595):

                Cathar, while you're on XSE, go to File -> Open... and select your Fire Red ROM. Open it, and then go to an empty white box where on its left it says 'offset'. Add 169595 on that offset and press the button next to it (shows two tools making an 'X' mark). That's the 'decompile' button. Voila! The script is here! Make your necessary changes and then hit the compile button (which seems like two gears colliding). Script compiled and ready to test!

                Quote:
                Originally Posted by jojo1250 View Post
                its ok, so do you know how to do what im talking about?
                You need to fix the screw-ups yourself. Edit the sprite a bit, make the outlines clear.

                __________________

                This is my December . . .

                  #19883    
                Old October 31st, 2011 (3:32 PM).
                Acealo's Avatar
                Acealo Acealo is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2011
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Naive
                  Posts: 27

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by jojo1250 View Post
                  its ok, so do you know how to do what im talking about?

                  actually there are already edited BW sprites sized for GBA in the art gallery section. but I will just link his website where you can download it directly from.

                  http://wesleyfg.weebly.com/sprites.html

                  Now about inserting them. the best way would be through NSE, you might need to download a plugin for it but its by far the easiest way to insert/replace sprites. btw there are two NSEs, classic and 2.0, i would suggest 2.0 as it can do way more.

                    #19884    
                  Old October 31st, 2011 (3:46 PM).
                  jojo1250's Avatar
                  jojo1250 jojo1250 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 26

                    thanks for alll the feedback! these suggs realy helped!

                      #19885    
                    Old November 1st, 2011 (4:15 AM).
                    Cathar's Avatar
                    Cathar Cathar is offline
                    /人◕ ‿‿ ◕人\
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2011
                      Age: 29
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 79

                      Thanks to everyone who helped me! My problem was that I had an older version of Advance Map without the Edit Script function.

                      Now another noobish question:
                      As far as I have gathered by now, if you add/change certain things in a ROM, you need to find some more room for them.
                      My question is:
                      Which changes to the ROM require extra space? And how much extra space is left on a ROM until I have to delete other things?
                      I know that adding Pokémon to a Trainer's team needs more space, as does adding Attacks to a Pokémon's Move list. But what else?

                      And my other (probably equally noobish) question:
                      Where can I find stuff to delete if I need more space?
                      I have noticed that data for all trainers in Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald is in the FireRed ROM, I assume I can savely delete all of those to make room, yes?

                      Thanks for the help so far, I hope I'm not bothering you with my questions.

                      Cheers,
                      Peter

                      __________________

                        #19886    
                      Old November 1st, 2011 (11:56 AM).
                      chrunch chrunch is offline
                      • Gold Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2009
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 1,349

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Cathar View Post
                      Thanks to everyone who helped me! My problem was that I had an older version of Advance Map without the Edit Script function.

                      Now another noobish question:
                      As far as I have gathered by now, if you add/change certain things in a ROM, you need to find some more room for them.
                      My question is:
                      Which changes to the ROM require extra space? And how much extra space is left on a ROM until I have to delete other things?
                      I know that adding Pokémon to a Trainer's team needs more space, as does adding Attacks to a Pokémon's Move list. But what else?

                      And my other (probably equally noobish) question:
                      Where can I find stuff to delete if I need more space?
                      I have noticed that data for all trainers in Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald is in the FireRed ROM, I assume I can savely delete all of those to make room, yes?

                      Thanks for the help so far, I hope I'm not bothering you with my questions.

                      Cheers,
                      Peter

                      You should have enough free space left in your ROM to make your hack without having to delete anything.
                      Even if you run out of free space, you can easily expand the ROM using XSE.

                      __________________

                        #19887    
                      Old November 1st, 2011 (1:00 PM).
                      EdensElite's Avatar
                      EdensElite EdensElite is offline
                      No0b, but getting there.
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2011
                        Location: UK
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 190

                        So...Does anyone know how to create Battle Backgrounds....or rather format them for insertion.

                        __________________


                        ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

                        That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.

                          #19888    
                        Old November 1st, 2011 (2:39 PM).
                        south69_dallas south69_dallas is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2010
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 30

                          one quick question.....how do you change the trainers pokemon and levels etc, like if i wanted edit the trainers in viridian forest how wld i change thhe pokemon they have how many they have etc? Thanks.

                            #19889    
                          Old November 1st, 2011 (4:36 PM).
                          Tcoppy's Avatar
                          Tcoppy Tcoppy is offline
                          Royal
                          • Gold Tier
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2010
                          Location: New England
                          Age: 19
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Brave
                          Posts: 563

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by south69_dallas View Post
                          one quick question.....how do you change the trainers pokemon and levels etc, like if i wanted edit the trainers in viridian forest how wld i change thhe pokemon they have how many they have etc? Thanks.
                          Download a tool called A-Trainer, and that will work for I think mainly firered and leafgreen, with the tool you can switch trainers pokemon and switch their attacks and what items the pokemon will hold or how many pokemon a trainer has (up to six pokemon) and stuff like that.

                          __________________

                          Soon?

                            #19890    
                          Old November 1st, 2011 (6:04 PM).
                          Epitaph93's Avatar
                          Epitaph93 Epitaph93 is offline
                          Intermediate Digidestined
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2011
                            Location: Texas
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 119

                            How do you change an item's image? Say I want to replace the image for a FireStone with the image of a red digi-egg from digimon (24x24 pixels of course )? I've tried to do it via a complicated route, but ended up crashing the game. Might there be a program for this that's quick and easy?
                            P.S. I'm hacking Fire Red, if that matters.

                              #19891    
                            Old November 1st, 2011 (6:30 PM).
                            Retrophaze Retrophaze is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2011
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 3

                              Hi, I have a problem making a new map in Advancemap. I create a map and insert it but then it gets glitchy... The border blocks are all messed up when I have them set to all black and the warps dont work. I can work to the map but not out. Scripted NPC do work however. Any solutions?

                              PLEASE HELP ME

                              thanks

                                #19892    
                              Old November 2nd, 2011 (3:38 AM).
                              Rasenshurikenbum's Avatar
                              Rasenshurikenbum Rasenshurikenbum is offline
                              ASM is very cool!
                                 
                                Join Date: Apr 2011
                                Location: Poland
                                Age: 21
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 70

                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
                                So...Does anyone know how to create Battle Backgrounds....or rather format them for insertion.

                                I'm going to make a tutorial for battle backgrounds (soon) so look then in Tutorial selection.

                                  #19893    
                                Old November 2nd, 2011 (8:39 AM).
                                link12552's Avatar
                                link12552 link12552 is offline
                                to measure how far we wonder
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2007
                                  Location: The blue one
                                  Age: 21
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 203

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Epitaph93 View Post
                                  How do you change an item's image? Say I want to replace the image for a FireStone with the image of a red digi-egg from digimon (24x24 pixels of course )? I've tried to do it via a complicated route, but ended up crashing the game. Might there be a program for this that's quick and easy?
                                  P.S. I'm hacking Fire Red, if that matters.

                                  NSE classic has a plugin included for editing image sprites. Just convert/import it.

                                  __________________

                                    #19894    
                                  Old November 2nd, 2011 (4:42 PM).
                                  south69_dallas south69_dallas is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2010
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 30

                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Tcoppy View Post
                                    Download a tool called A-Trainer, and that will work for I think mainly firered and leafgreen, with the tool you can switch trainers pokemon and switch their attacks and what items the pokemon will hold or how many pokemon a trainer has (up to six pokemon) and stuff like that.

                                    errr but how do i know which trainers r on which routes etc? like if i wanted to only change the trainers on route 2 how wld i find em to change em? a-trainer is great but idk where the ppl r that i change...and when i change the amount of pokemon they have it says repoint?

                                      #19895    
                                    Old November 2nd, 2011 (5:18 PM).
                                    shinyabsol1's Avatar
                                    shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
                                    Pokemon DarkJasper!?
                                       
                                      Join Date: Aug 2010
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Calm
                                      Posts: 330

                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by south69_dallas
                                      errr but how do i know which trainers r on which routes etc? like if i wanted to only change the trainers on route 2 how wld i find em to change em? a-trainer is great but idk where the ppl r that i change...and when i change the amount of pokemon they have it says repoint?

                                      Find the trainer you want to change in A-Map. Click on their sprite, then click "open script". This will open that trainer's script in xse.

                                      Now look at the trainerbattle command in the script you just opened. The second hex number after it is the trainer's ID, which corresponds with the numbers in the "trainer selection" box of A-Trainer.

                                      I think you can do the rest.

                                        #19896    
                                      Old November 3rd, 2011 (5:25 PM).
                                      TrixAn TrixAn is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2011
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 3

                                        Hello!
                                        I'm planning on replacing the HP bars, and some other stuff such as the background, in the battle scenes (FR hack). How would I go about doing this? What tools do I need, is there a tutorial somewhere? I have looked around the forum, no success!

                                          #19897    
                                        Old November 4th, 2011 (1:40 AM). Edited November 4th, 2011 by goldenyellowcrystal.
                                        goldenyellowcrystal's Avatar
                                        goldenyellowcrystal goldenyellowcrystal is offline
                                        A Black Crystal of Mystery
                                           
                                          Join Date: Aug 2011
                                          Location: Aspertia City, Unova
                                          Age: 19
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Relaxed
                                          Posts: 35

                                          [SIZE="a"]Where can I get a full Advanced Text ini for Pokemon Ruby? Thanks a lot! That would be a great help![/SIZE]

                                          __________________

                                          Black 2 FC: 5201 0498 7362 (Yellow)
                                          Black FC: 1077 8979 1077 (Yellow)

                                            #19898    
                                          Old November 4th, 2011 (5:48 AM).
                                          Zyltis Zyltis is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Oct 2011
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 2

                                            Good day to all!

                                            I am fairly new at rom hacking, and so far I've been doing pretty good with the tutorials here and there. The only thing I can't seem to get to work is the main hero/heroine overworld sprite editing. I want to import custom sprites for them, and each time I do, the colors are always off a bit and/or the game is crapped out (eg: My mother isn't in the house and when I leave the house, I can't move and Pallet Town looks like a big glitch.)

                                            Can anyone help me? Thanks!

                                            EDIT: I am using an English FireRED Rom.

                                              #19899    
                                            Old November 4th, 2011 (8:09 AM).
                                            Epitaph93's Avatar
                                            Epitaph93 Epitaph93 is offline
                                            Intermediate Digidestined
                                               
                                              Join Date: Oct 2011
                                              Location: Texas
                                              Age: 24
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Calm
                                              Posts: 119

                                              I was wondering if there's a program that lets you edit the type names of pokemon. For example I want to change "normal" to "holy." I've been searching for an hour now to no avail.

                                                #19900    
                                              Old November 4th, 2011 (11:47 AM).
                                              dudedude1 dudedude1 is offline
                                              .
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Feb 2011
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 141

                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by Epitaph93 View Post
                                                I was wondering if there's a program that lets you edit the type names of pokemon. For example I want to change "normal" to "holy." I've been searching for an hour now to no avail.

                                                Hey, I can finally answer one! First off, to change it in an editor you can go into the ini file and change normal to holy. Then to change the icon go on tile molester an go to the offset 00E95FDC if you are hacking FR or LG. If you are hacking Ruby, Sapphire, or emerald open them up in unlz gba and go to 1485 and edit it. Also for RSE you can refer to this thread: http://mail.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=4223971

                                                Closed Thread
                                                Quick Reply

                                                Sponsored Links
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:31 PM.