Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

TrollandToad.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #126    
Old September 4th, 2011 (5:58 AM).
Pokemon Valo Team Pokemon Valo Team is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 2
    I succeeded, but fly screen and player movement on map isnt working?
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #127    
    Old September 24th, 2011 (2:34 PM).
    barkalar
    Guest
       
      Posts: n/a
      I've never been able to open Cyclone because of this error. =/
      Reply With Quote
        #128    
      Old September 27th, 2011 (8:11 AM).
      barkalar
      Guest
         
        Posts: n/a
        Yes! I got it to work. But I used NTME because Cyclone system error.
        Reply With Quote
          #129    
        Old October 2nd, 2011 (7:59 PM).
        AnonymousAgent AnonymousAgent is offline
           
          Join Date: Sep 2011
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 16
          hey, great tutorial, but i just have one question:

          i can't get the gnp image of the tileset to write to the rom, it just does nothing when i do everything the tutorial describes.

          thanks!
          Reply With Quote
            #130    
          Old October 5th, 2011 (1:48 PM).
          neotornado neotornado is offline
             
            Join Date: Oct 2011
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 4
            Sorry if this question was repeated, but as stated, 8BPP mode won't accept the sphere files (effectively making the video provided worthless), is there any way I can get the tilemap into a RAW file? I really don't want to make the map tile-by-tile in NTME.
            Reply With Quote
              #131    
            Old November 14th, 2011 (12:18 AM).
            markis markis is offline
               
              Join Date: Apr 2011
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 14
              what tile molester you are using? i do all things but then i try to import .pal file i cant, cuz my tilemolester doesnt support .pal ? Here a screen.

              Reply With Quote
                #132    
              Old December 3rd, 2011 (4:21 PM).
              Nick Nick is offline
              Banned
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2009
                Age: 19
                Posts: 5,220
                Look, I've got the tileset written into the ROM, but it won't take the tilemap in the default offset—it just keeps saying "Compressed size is 2C0. Which is too big. Aborting." When I try to repoint it allows it, but it doesn't give me the Ptr Changed message, and that's no matter if I have "Automatically fix pointers" checked or not. Any idea what my problem is? It's a normal 8BPP tilemap made in Cyclone.
                Reply With Quote
                  #133    
                Old December 18th, 2011 (2:49 PM).
                vizarod's Avatar
                vizarod vizarod is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2011
                  Posts: 101
                  but how do you make a world map to use???
                  I'm confused....
                  __________________
                  Solo quiero soñar
                  Reply With Quote
                    #134    
                  Old December 25th, 2011 (12:16 AM).
                  AustinWolff's Avatar
                  AustinWolff AustinWolff is offline
                  has left
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2011
                    Location: LA, California
                    Age: 20
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Brave
                    Posts: 100
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by vizarod View Post
                    but how do you make a world map to use???
                    I'm confused....
                    You have to litteraly draw/pixalate it on gimp or another paint program with a grid
                    __________________
                    I have left. Feel free to disable my account.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #135    
                    Old January 2nd, 2012 (11:06 PM).
                    AustinWolff's Avatar
                    AustinWolff AustinWolff is offline
                    has left
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2011
                      Location: LA, California
                      Age: 20
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Brave
                      Posts: 100
                      when on tilemolesteralternate, I'm stuck on the part where you edit>paste from> ... [then I choose my file I made with PTC but it says "Error loading bitmap: null"] any help?
                      __________________
                      I have left. Feel free to disable my account.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #136    
                      Old January 7th, 2012 (4:41 PM).
                      Jcool's Avatar
                      Jcool Jcool is offline
                      Stellar
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2008
                        Location: United States
                        Age: 21
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Serious
                        Posts: 49
                        Thanks! This will definitely help
                        Reply With Quote
                          #137    
                        Old January 20th, 2012 (6:52 PM).
                        The_Show The_Show is offline
                        Banned
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2012
                          Location: Carracosta Rock, Akmin Region
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Sassy
                          Posts: 43
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by AustinWolff View Post
                          when on tilemolesteralternate, I'm stuck on the part where you edit>paste from> ... [then I choose my file I made with PTC but it says "Error loading bitmap: null"] any help?
                          I've had this problem before. Start over, but this time do not make a tileset. First, make your picture with GIMP and save it as a 16-color bitmap, then immediately open it up in Cyclone (8BP Mode). Make your tilemap there and you should have no problem opening it up in TMA.

                          Oh yah, usually 8BP mode would reject having that many tiles, but it worked for me. I just tried it out again and it worked perfectly. PM me if you have any more problems.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #138    
                          Old March 6th, 2012 (1:03 PM). Edited March 7th, 2012 by Aproydtix.
                          Aproydtix's Avatar
                          Aproydtix Aproydtix is offline
                          Pokémon Breeder
                             
                            Join Date: May 2009
                            Location: Oslo, Norway
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 2
                            (Okay, since I haven't posted 15 posts, I can't give you any images, but I hope you can still make some sense out of this.)
                            I did this:
                            Should have shown Cyclone with a complete 16x16 tileset and a complete map.

                            Now, if I put my .raw from cyclone into 136 I get this:
                            Shows that the tiles are placed properly.
                            This should be the right placement for these tiles.

                            However, when I do this like the guide told me to do it (No, I didn't do it with the file that was already altered.) using 135 and 136 (I seem to be missing a file, as I have found out from past experiences.), I get this:
                            I can recognize a few tiles here and there, there seems to be no or little system in their placement. Some of the colours appear to be gone.
                            I used the offsets 0xFD0000 and 0xFD1000, but I only got one ptr found message for each file I saved.

                            It would be really helpful if you could tell me what's wrong.
                            And btw, the reason why I have those borders on my map is because I made a too detailed map, so I had twice as many tiles as I should have.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #139    
                            Old June 20th, 2012 (2:50 AM).
                            iPika's Avatar
                            iPika iPika is offline
                            Crytec
                               
                              Join Date: May 2012
                              Location: Singapore
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 70
                              How did you create the Tileset, again?
                              __________________
                              *insert overly-dramatic and deep quote here*
                              Reply With Quote
                                #140    
                              Old June 26th, 2012 (2:26 PM).
                              RedDog RedDog is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 6
                                I have almost got everything, but when i look at the map in game, its a mess of black with red lines and dots and other random things. I think its the tileset not correctly in the rom, but im not sure. What am i doing wrong? (Sorry, i cant post pictures because of the 15 post rule)
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #141    
                                Old July 25th, 2012 (4:54 AM).
                                chi23's Avatar
                                chi23 chi23 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jul 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Gentle
                                  Posts: 13
                                  I have hit a massive dilemma - I tried making the tileset but found out I don't have enough space for my map to fit on it, is there anything I can do so that I can fit the rest on. Can I use 2 tilesets to make up the world map?
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #142    
                                  Old August 10th, 2012 (11:27 AM). Edited September 13th, 2012 by The_Show.
                                  The_Show The_Show is offline
                                  Banned
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2012
                                    Location: Carracosta Rock, Akmin Region
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Sassy
                                    Posts: 43
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Zero Karma Loss View Post
                                    You're right about NTME. I went ahead and redrew it in 8BPP and it loads just fine at the R/S World Map settings. I should note that I'm only getting one "Ptr found at 00XXXXXX. Changed." message per insertion in unLZ.

                                    The map is still all over the place, but the colors are correct. For whatever reason it seems determined not to adjust to my Johto rendition and scatter itself across the original Hoenn outline instead.
                                    Same exact problem here. I tried to do a "test" map with only 2 colors in the tileset. I inseted it into my Rom, and the map has the correct colors, but the image outlines the original Hoenn map. Is there any solutions to this problem?
                                    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
                                    Edit: I figured out how to do it! For those of you struggling, it's all about trial and error. If something didn't work, try something new. If you don't give up, you will eventually find it! Also to edit the "HOENN" that appears when observing the map, you simply type in HOENN in A-text, and I think it will be the last HOENN you see when searching.
                                    Attached Images
                                    File Type: png Problems.PNG‎ (56.6 KB, 23 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #143    
                                    Old November 10th, 2012 (11:22 AM).
                                    Line3007's Avatar
                                    Line3007 Line3007 is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Oct 2012
                                      Location: Denmark
                                      Gender: Female
                                      Posts: 23
                                      Hey, nice tutorial. I just need a little help....
                                      Can you send me or upload the .pal file you get from VBA? I think mine is very wrong, since it's all pink and purple and such O.o

                                      Thank you
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #144    
                                      Old November 24th, 2012 (8:01 PM).
                                      MacNCheeze210's Avatar
                                      MacNCheeze210 MacNCheeze210 is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 6
                                        i read through this, and for once in my short ROM hacking career, I actually understood technical talk. Thank you i am on step 3 (Im New)
                                        __________________
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #145    
                                        Old January 27th, 2013 (12:53 PM).
                                        QuartierGenerale QuartierGenerale is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Oct 2012
                                          Posts: 53
                                          Hello,

                                          i've correctly inserted the world map, but when i see it with vba, i got this little error:



                                          And then, when i return to my PokeNav (only when i return, before this problem don't appear)



                                          What could be the problem? Probably a missing into my tileset?

                                          Thanks a lot for your help
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #146    
                                          Old February 9th, 2013 (2:03 PM).
                                          the-superior-one the-superior-one is offline
                                          hatched egg
                                             
                                            Join Date: Feb 2013
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Jolly
                                            Posts: 1
                                            hi.im failing to make a tileset of this. any help please?
                                            Reply With Quote
                                              #147    
                                            Old March 28th, 2013 (1:32 PM).
                                            Line3007's Avatar
                                            Line3007 Line3007 is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Oct 2012
                                              Location: Denmark
                                              Gender: Female
                                              Posts: 23
                                              Finally I got it right! Thank you so much for this tutorial! :D
                                              Reply With Quote
                                                #148    
                                              Old April 1st, 2013 (4:55 AM).
                                              ReoNeky's Avatar
                                              ReoNeky ReoNeky is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Mar 2013
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 19
                                                Thanks for the tutorial! I served very helpful!

                                                see ya!
                                                __________________




                                                Twitter of the Community de "Whack a Hack"

                                                https://twitter.com/Whack_a_Hack
                                                Reply With Quote
                                                  #149    
                                                Old June 23rd, 2013 (10:20 PM).
                                                Youngster1 Youngster1 is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Jun 2013
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Posts: 1
                                                  Can't seem to make a tileset for my map, can anyone help? & since i couldn't i used your tutorial's map & tileset to see if I can still be successful meanwhile i don't have a tileset but i couldn't load the map into NTME because it wasn't a .raw file. please help?
                                                  Reply With Quote
                                                    #150    
                                                  Old July 13th, 2013 (8:59 PM).
                                                  miggy93 miggy93 is offline
                                                     
                                                    Join Date: Aug 2009
                                                    Posts: 10
                                                    A little help please. I followed everything but once I check the map on VBA, it seems glitchy. Here's a link since I can't post images yet.

                                                    i872.photobucket.com/albums/ab289/miggy93/untitled.png
                                                    Reply With Quote
                                                    Reply

                                                    Quick Reply

                                                    Join the conversation!

                                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                    Sponsored Links
                                                    Thread Tools

                                                    Posting Rules
                                                    You may not post new threads
                                                    You may not post replies
                                                    You may not post attachments
                                                    You may not edit your posts

                                                    BB code is On
                                                    Smilies are On
                                                    [IMG] code is On
                                                    HTML code is Off

                                                    Forum Jump


                                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 9:17 AM.