ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20326    
Old January 11th, 2012 (10:52 AM).
Missingyep Missingyep is offline
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Posts: 275
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
    Tricky stuff ahead!
    How can I create my own "table" in Firered? This is my idea for a berry system:
    Spoiler:
    I'm using DNS. Basically, I make a small table, with one byte containing the data for one tree. This data is specifically the day that the tree was last interacted with. The script compares the current day with the day stored in the table. If they're the same, then the script doesnt give a berry. If they aren't the same, then the script gives a berry, and changes the day stored in the table to the current day. The table I *attempted* to make is at offset 0x830000. The script is below:


    I can't tell if the reason the commands won't work are because of the data types, or simple error. Please help!
    You need to find an unused space in RAM that will also be copied to a "save block" when the game is saved. (Unless you expect your users to rely ENTIRELY on savestates -- but you shouldn't force them to.)

    Right now, your table is stored at 0x830000. This, however, is actually only an abbreviation; the proper offset is 0x08830000. 02 and 03 offsets are RAM, 04 and 05 are something to do with graphics, I don't know what 06 and 07 are, but 08 is fixed data in the ROM that can't be changed. So if you put your table at 0x08830000, you're basically adding it to your ROM as a permanent resource, not a mutable set of data.

    And again, any random location in RAM will not work, because only certain areas of RAM are copied to the save blocks. (To add more such areas, you'll need ASM. I think JPAN found something that will give you an additional 200-byte save block to work with -- check the early pages in the Quick Research & Development thread.) And most RAM is already used by the game. (Even some of the RAM used in JPAN's Hacked Engine, for example, overlaps that used by the TEACHY TV item.) My signature links to my "RAM map" for FireRed, but I can't guarantee it's comprehensive (for the same reason no other such project has ever been comprehensive) and I don't remember when I last updated it.

    Chances are, you'll need ASM for a good berry system. I remember that JPAN once attempted to create such a thing, but I don't recall if he ever succeeded or how well it worked if he did.

    Now, if you need to create just any table (rather than one that must be alterable in-game), feel free. All a table is, is a sequential list of data with no "markers" separating it, with each chunk of data having an equal length so that you can tell them apart simply by offset.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #20327    
    Old January 11th, 2012 (2:22 PM).
    redriders180's Avatar
    redriders180 redriders180 is offline
    Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
       
      Join Date: Jun 2010
      Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Quirky
      Posts: 540
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by DavidJCobb View Post
      post
      Thanks a ton! I know JPAN started on one, but I think his was more complex, including the different trees and everything. I just want a really rudimentary system, something that will give an item only once a day. I found the RAM savestate "expansion pack" thing where you specified (where they discussed adding new variables), and I want to make sure I'm doing this right. First of all, what exactly is an .OUT file, and how do I apply it to my game. Can it be in the "08" part of the memory? Also, this part is confusing me:

      Quote:
      Copy the contents to a free location in your ROM, 4 bytes aligned.
      What does "4 bytes aligned" mean?
      __________________


      I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


        #20328    
      Old January 11th, 2012 (5:00 PM).
      lukasz_pro's Avatar
      lukasz_pro lukasz_pro is offline
      Saiyan Prince
         
        Join Date: Oct 2008
        Location: Poland,Gdańsk
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Hardy
        Posts: 226
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by MissDigitalis View Post
        You could try editing the grass and such in the Nameless Sprite Editor version 2.0. (I think anyway. Be sure to back it up before you change it)
        i dont understand how this program can help me for inserting shiny gold tiles in fire red ?
          #20329    
        Old January 11th, 2012 (5:18 PM).
        redriders180's Avatar
        redriders180 redriders180 is offline
        Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
           
          Join Date: Jun 2010
          Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Quirky
          Posts: 540
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by lukasz_pro View Post
          i dont understand how this program can help me for inserting shiny gold tiles in fire red ?
          Nameless Sprite Editor allows you to put in an offset for a picture, and draw different tiles. However, I just use Microsoft Paint, and A-map. Click the purple puzzle piece in A-map to open up the block editor. Going to picture->save tileset 1 will save the top tileset, while save tileset 2 will save the bottom tileset. After you save the tileset, you can open it in paint, and draw whatever you want. Then load the sprite into the block editor by going picture -> load tileset 1 (or tileset 2), and selecting the edited tileset. The edited tileset has to include the same colors as the pallate, or else it won't load.

          If you don't understand this, then I'd wait until you have more experience and try again.
          __________________


          I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


            #20330    
          Old January 11th, 2012 (6:26 PM).
          Darthatron's Avatar
          Darthatron Darthatron is offline
          巨大なトロール。
          • Silver Tier
           
          Join Date: Jan 2006
          Location: Melbourne, Australia
          Age: 26
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 1,152
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
          What does "4 bytes aligned" mean?
          It means an offset in the ROM ending in 0, 4, 8, or C. Eg. 0x800114 or 0x7F001C.
          __________________
          あなた は しきしゃ です
          わたし は ばか です
            #20331    
          Old January 11th, 2012 (7:43 PM).
          movieguy12 movieguy12 is offline
             
            Join Date: Mar 2006
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 65
            Still can't figure out how to add snivys icon in Pokemon ruby.....please help
              #20332    
            Old January 11th, 2012 (8:35 PM). Edited January 12th, 2012 by chrunch.
            chrunch chrunch is offline
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Oct 2009
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 1,349
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by movieguy12 View Post
            Still can't figure out how to add snivys icon in Pokemon ruby.....please help
            Download Advanced Series by Wichu (here) Extract it, and open Advanced Pokémon Icon Editor and load your ROM. Find Snivy in your ROM and goto File > Import and import Snivy's icon (remember to select auto-transparency). Then click write to ROM.
            ---------------------------
            Now, my question. I've been inserting tiles into my hack, and is there any easier way to recolor tiles that don't have palettes that work in a GBA ROM (palettes that aren't multiples of 8)?

            I'm recoloring it myself. :D
            __________________
              #20333    
            Old January 12th, 2012 (4:44 AM).
            lukasz_pro's Avatar
            lukasz_pro lukasz_pro is offline
            Saiyan Prince
               
              Join Date: Oct 2008
              Location: Poland,Gdańsk
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Hardy
              Posts: 226
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
              Nameless Sprite Editor allows you to put in an offset for a picture, and draw different tiles. However, I just use Microsoft Paint, and A-map. Click the purple puzzle piece in A-map to open up the block editor. Going to picture->save tileset 1 will save the top tileset, while save tileset 2 will save the bottom tileset. After you save the tileset, you can open it in paint, and draw whatever you want. Then load the sprite into the block editor by going picture -> load tileset 1 (or tileset 2), and selecting the edited tileset. The edited tileset has to include the same colors as the pallate, or else it won't load.

              If you don't understand this, then I'd wait until you have more experience and try again.
              i changed the grass and palet , i try change tress but didint work (look at screen) , and why some parts of ground in cities are black ? (look at screen)
              saved tiles set looks like sh*t i dont know why , and how do i change grass animation ? http://imageshack.us/f/140/beztytuumsn.jpg/
              and why i dont have other blocks ? (water , ground etc)
                #20334    
              Old January 12th, 2012 (6:35 AM).
              redriders180's Avatar
              redriders180 redriders180 is offline
              Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2010
                Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quirky
                Posts: 540
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by lukasz_pro View Post
                i changed the grass and palet , i try change tress but didint work (look at screen) , and why some parts of ground in cities are black ? (look at screen)
                saved tiles set looks like sh*t i dont know why , and how do i change grass animation ? http://imageshack.us/f/140/beztytuumsn.jpg/
                and why i dont have other blocks ? (water , ground etc)
                The grass is a weird color because it's color is wrong. The tree's are acting like that because they use different parts of the tileset. The best way to fix that is to go to your tree tiles, and use the block editor to put parts of your new tree where there are leftover parts from the old tree. All tiles from tileset one are in that tileset, including water and ground tiles. Since you're using Pallate 1, everything shows up with a green or brown coloring. Pallate 4 has the water colors
                __________________


                I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                  #20335    
                Old January 12th, 2012 (8:17 AM).
                Squibbid's Avatar
                Squibbid Squibbid is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2010
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 9
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                  The layout of all the cave tile's tiles are always the same (in firered, at least). Starting when tileset 2 begins, there's a black tile, the normal ground tile, two different rocks, stairs, a ladder going down, a hole, and then a tile that looks exactly like the normal ground tile, but it's actually the arrow-down tile. Here's a picture:

                  Spoiler:
                  Something silly about having 15 posts for links.
                  Many many thanks you, comrade. I haff feelings of kissing you the way man kisses woman.

                  Seriously, though, thanks so much! This stupid cave was frustrating me to the point of tears.
                  __________________

                  Soaking up the thirst of the land
                    #20336    
                  Old January 12th, 2012 (9:43 AM).
                  EngelDerRisse's Avatar
                  EngelDerRisse EngelDerRisse is offline
                  www.poilkjmn.info
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2008
                    Location: Hyannis, MA
                    Nature: Lonely
                    Posts: 61
                    I'm looking for a way to change the Shiny Pallette Pointers to point to a new seperate sprite and pallette. Is there a way to do this?

                    I want to do this, so that I can have a different Sprite show up when a "shiny" pokemon appears in the wild/when sending out

                    Working In RUBY USA
                    __________________
                    ~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~
                    Pokemon Hack
                    T^T Files Were Lost, Starting Over T^T
                    Super Mario Bro Hack
                    Super Engel Bros BETA (Just Scroll Down To Get It)
                    ~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~
                      #20337    
                    Old January 12th, 2012 (10:51 AM).
                    lukasz_pro's Avatar
                    lukasz_pro lukasz_pro is offline
                    Saiyan Prince
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2008
                      Location: Poland,Gdańsk
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Hardy
                      Posts: 226
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                      The grass is a weird color because it's color is wrong. The tree's are acting like that because they use different parts of the tileset. The best way to fix that is to go to your tree tiles, and use the block editor to put parts of your new tree where there are leftover parts from the old tree. All tiles from tileset one are in that tileset, including water and ground tiles. Since you're using Pallate 1, everything shows up with a green or brown coloring. Pallate 4 has the water colors
                      forget about shiny gold , i want use those tiles now http://chimcharsfireworkd.deviantart.com/art/BW-Citrine-Tileset-Resized-227350418?offset=10 , what i must do too make it work ? because paint thing didint work this time ;p
                        #20338    
                      Old January 12th, 2012 (12:11 PM).
                      redriders180's Avatar
                      redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                      Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2010
                        Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 540
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by lukasz_pro View Post
                        forget about shiny gold , i want use those tiles now http://chimcharsfireworkd.deviantart.com/art/BW-Citrine-Tileset-Resized-227350418?offset=10 , what i must do too make it work ? because paint thing didint work this time ;p
                        All I can say is pallate editing, recoloring those sprites, and assembling them in the block editor. The same process I've described before applies to all tiles.
                        __________________


                        I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                          #20339    
                        Old January 12th, 2012 (2:12 PM).
                        DrFuji's Avatar
                        DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                        Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2009
                        Location: Downia-upside
                        Age: 24
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 1,328
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by EngelDerRisse View Post
                        I'm looking for a way to change the Shiny Pallette Pointers to point to a new seperate sprite and pallette. Is there a way to do this?

                        I want to do this, so that I can have a different Sprite show up when a "shiny" pokemon appears in the wild/when sending out

                        Working In RUBY USA
                        In short, not easily. Pokemon do not have a separate pointer to their sprite in the case that they are shiny, they use the exact same sprite as their regular coloured counter-parts but the pallet is loaded from elsewhere. You would need quite a lot of ASM in order to do what you what.
                        __________________
                          #20340    
                        Old January 12th, 2012 (2:52 PM).
                        Dane Maiatsu Puffizard Dane Maiatsu Puffizard is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2011
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 63
                          Wonder Card edit. Copy paste no work. Tile allows 4 words only. Description? Nothing.
                            #20341    
                          Old January 12th, 2012 (10:56 PM).
                          Candra Software's Avatar
                          Candra Software Candra Software is offline
                          PKHeX User
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2012
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Docile
                            Posts: 86
                            What's the National Pokédex flag for Ruby/Sapphire? I've been Googling for it and couldn't find the solution.
                              #20342    
                            Old January 12th, 2012 (11:19 PM).
                            EngelDerRisse's Avatar
                            EngelDerRisse EngelDerRisse is offline
                            www.poilkjmn.info
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2008
                              Location: Hyannis, MA
                              Nature: Lonely
                              Posts: 61
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Lorenzo The Comic View Post
                              What's the National Pokédex flag for Ruby/Sapphire? I've been Googling for it and couldn't find the solution.
                              Check Attachment for National Dex script for Ruby
                              Attached Images
                              File Type: jpg NationalDex Script Ruby.jpg‎ (32.6 KB, 19 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                              __________________
                              ~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~
                              Pokemon Hack
                              T^T Files Were Lost, Starting Over T^T
                              Super Mario Bro Hack
                              Super Engel Bros BETA (Just Scroll Down To Get It)
                              ~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~~+~+~+~+~
                                #20343    
                              Old January 13th, 2012 (12:23 AM).
                              Candra Software's Avatar
                              Candra Software Candra Software is offline
                              PKHeX User
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Docile
                                Posts: 86
                                Holy smokes it worked! Thanks! YouTube ID is CAVMMO-KCjw
                                  #20344    
                                Old January 13th, 2012 (5:30 AM).
                                SKRoy SKRoy is offline
                                Pokémon Hacker
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2010
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 66
                                  I add some new pokémons to my Fire Red hack and I set Piplup, Chimchar and Turtwig as starter pokémons. Everything works until they are going to evolve. The evolving proces started but then it stops and happends what you can see on the picture... In YAPE I set the evoltions, so it has to work, but it didn't work... How can I fix this?

                                    #20345    
                                  Old January 13th, 2012 (5:46 AM).
                                  Darthatron's Avatar
                                  Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                                  巨大なトロール。
                                  • Silver Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2006
                                  Location: Melbourne, Australia
                                  Age: 26
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Modest
                                  Posts: 1,152
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by SKRoy View Post
                                  I add some new pokémons to my Fire Red hack and I set Piplup, Chimchar and Turtwig as starter pokémons. Everything works until they are going to evolve. The evolving proces started but then it stops and happends what you can see on the picture... In YAPE I set the evoltions, so it has to work, but it didn't work... How can I fix this?

                                  Something to do with the national dex, I'm guessing. Is it enabled? Have you patched the ROM to work with updating the pokedex correctly for new Pokemon? If I recall, it crashes when updating the pokedex flags in a clean ROM.
                                  __________________
                                  あなた は しきしゃ です
                                  わたし は ばか です
                                    #20346    
                                  Old January 13th, 2012 (6:16 AM).
                                  SKRoy SKRoy is offline
                                  Pokémon Hacker
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2010
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 66
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                                    Something to do with the national dex, I'm guessing. Is it enabled? Have you patched the ROM to work with updating the pokedex correctly for new Pokemon? If I recall, it crashes when updating the pokedex flags in a clean ROM.
                                    I didn't change anything to the pokédex, so how can I fix it?
                                      #20347    
                                    Old January 13th, 2012 (6:27 AM).
                                    Darthatron's Avatar
                                    Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                                    巨大なトロール。
                                    • Silver Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2006
                                    Location: Melbourne, Australia
                                    Age: 26
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Modest
                                    Posts: 1,152
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by SKRoy View Post
                                    I didn't change anything to the pokédex, so how can I fix it?
                                    http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=249530

                                    Read that thread. Warning: It's a little complex.
                                    __________________
                                    あなた は しきしゃ です
                                    わたし は ばか です
                                      #20348    
                                    Old January 13th, 2012 (6:38 AM).
                                    SKRoy SKRoy is offline
                                    Pokémon Hacker
                                       
                                      Join Date: Mar 2010
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 66
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                                      http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=249530

                                      Read that thread. Warning: It's a little complex.
                                      Oké, its complex... I don't understand what they mean with:
                                      Evolutions work without National Dex: Spoiler:
                                      At 0xCE91A change the next 4 bytes to 00 00 14 E0. This makes the previously conditional branch into an unconditional branch, which fixes the evolutions.




                                      Can you explain this?
                                        #20349    
                                      Old January 13th, 2012 (6:56 AM).
                                      Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                                      Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                                      Memento Mori
                                      • Gold Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jul 2008
                                      Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                                      Age: 25
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Calm
                                      Posts: 14,508
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by SKRoy View Post
                                      Can you explain this?
                                      Change those 4 bytes to those 4 mentioned, it cannot be easier :D
                                      But I would suggest you to enable National Dex... that could be easier I guess
                                      __________________
                                      ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                                      Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                                        #20350    
                                      Old January 13th, 2012 (8:20 AM).
                                      SKRoy SKRoy is offline
                                      Pokémon Hacker
                                         
                                        Join Date: Mar 2010
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 66
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post

                                        Change those 4 bytes to those 4 mentioned, it cannot be easier :D
                                        But I would suggest you to enable National Dex... that could be easier I guess
                                        Oké, but what does that mean, where and how can I change that?
                                        Closed Thread

                                        Quick Reply

                                        Join the conversation!

                                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:38 PM.