ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #20426    
Old January 28th, 2012 (3:25 PM).
Speedster's Avatar
Speedster Speedster is offline
The Unknown
     
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Location: In the depths of space...
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 134
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
    Yes, I am.
    What do you mean, a bunch of different sources? I've tried about 10-15 different offsets (is that the right term? Ugh) and none of them work.
    I mean get a different FireRed English ROM from many different 'websites' if that explains it better. If the offsets still do not work tell me. It could be that they are using a different language of the ROM or you aren't searching thee offsets right.
    __________________

    .:Aegis:.
    ~coming soon~

    Relevant Advertising!

      #20427    
    Old January 28th, 2012 (5:25 PM).
    OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
    OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
    För Sverige i tiden
       
      Join Date: Mar 2010
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 49
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
      I mean get a different FireRed English ROM from many different 'websites' if that explains it better. If the offsets still do not work tell me. It could be that they are using a different language of the ROM or you aren't searching thee offsets right.
      I found what was wrong.
      Is there a maximum to the amount of new overworlds we can put into the game?
      Also, in this topic it says, "Okay back to the second sprite data with our large offset we need to make this a pointer by reversing the bytes so for me it would be 00 00 82 08 next we need data size which is equal to (height*width)/2 with the bytes reversed."
      What does this mean? It's talking about making new overworlds.
      Sorry for so many questions, I'm new at this.
        #20428    
      Old January 28th, 2012 (5:49 PM).
      droomph's Avatar
      droomph droomph is offline
      weeb
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Sep 2011
      Location: nowhere spectacular
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Impish
      Posts: 4,291
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
      I found what was wrong.
      Is there a maximum to the amount of new overworlds we can put into the game?
      Also, in this topic it says, "Okay back to the second sprite data with our large offset we need to make this a pointer by reversing the bytes so for me it would be 00 00 82 08 next we need data size which is equal to (height*width)/2 with the bytes reversed."
      What does this mean? It's talking about making new overworlds.
      Sorry for so many questions, I'm new at this.
      Bah, try this one.
      __________________
      did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
      o i forgot 5
      uraqt


        #20429    
      Old January 29th, 2012 (7:27 AM).
      Puffle754's Avatar
      Puffle754 Puffle754 is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2011
        Location: Ridge Island
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Timid
        Posts: 48
        I am rather new to the hacking world, and I have 2 very basic questions:

        1: How do I make a patch for a game?
        2: Whenever I play a save file of a pokemon game, I recieve a "The file has been currupted. The previous save file will be loaded" message. How to I fix this, and could this have any effect on gameplay (Such as game deleating after E4)?

        ~Thanks~
          #20430    
        Old January 29th, 2012 (7:47 AM).
        Speedster's Avatar
        Speedster Speedster is offline
        The Unknown
           
          Join Date: Dec 2011
          Location: In the depths of space...
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 134
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Puffle754 View Post
          I am rather new to the hacking world, and I have 2 very basic questions:

          1: How do I make a patch for a game?
          2: Whenever I play a save file of a pokemon game, I recieve a "The file has been currupted. The previous save file will be loaded" message. How to I fix this, and could this have any effect on gameplay (Such as game deleating after E4)?

          ~Thanks~
          1: Its usually the same for IPS, UPS, or APS. Just download either A-Ptch, UPS Patcher, or Lunar-IPS. Then you have to open one up, click "Create Patch," then select the original file you didn't modified (Blank FireRed, Ruby, ect.), then select the game you did modify and finally pick a place to save the patch at.

          2: I'm not 100% but I could recommened going to Options>Emulator>Save Type>Flash 128K
          __________________

          .:Aegis:.
          ~coming soon~
            #20431    
          Old January 29th, 2012 (9:02 AM).
          OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
          OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
          För Sverige i tiden
             
            Join Date: Mar 2010
            Gender: Female
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 49
            I feel so stupid.
            When I insert sprites in the Overworld editor, I can insert one, but when I insert the other, the first one's palette gets really messed up. When I go back and reimport it, the other one's palette gets messed up in turn.
            Am I importing them incorrectly?
              #20432    
            Old January 29th, 2012 (9:05 AM).
            Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
            Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
            hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
               
              Join Date: May 2008
              Age: 23
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bashful
              Posts: 3,487
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
              I feel so stupid.
              When I insert sprites in the Overworld editor, I can insert one, but when I insert the other, the first one's palette gets really messed up. When I go back and reimport it, the other one's palette gets messed up in turn.
              Am I importing them incorrectly?
              If I recall, OverWorld sprites share a certain number of pallettes, so by changing the pallette of one, it changes it for others too, as the number of pallettes are restricted so they share.
              __________________


              Temmie vibrates intensely.

              awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

              OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

              can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

              RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                #20433    
              Old January 29th, 2012 (9:35 AM).
              OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
              OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
              För Sverige i tiden
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2010
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 49
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
                If I recall, OverWorld sprites share a certain number of pallettes, so by changing the pallette of one, it changes it for others too, as the number of pallettes are restricted so they share.
                It does that even between frames of the same sprite, though.
                  #20434    
                Old January 29th, 2012 (9:56 AM).
                Speedster's Avatar
                Speedster Speedster is offline
                The Unknown
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2011
                  Location: In the depths of space...
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Jolly
                  Posts: 134
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
                  It does that even between frames of the same sprite, though.
                  I had this same problem awhile ago. Its because they have the same colors in there pallet but the colors are in a different order. To fix this you can use NSE 2.X and the Color Match Plug-in. Just open the first frame first and then open the others and color match them.
                  __________________

                  .:Aegis:.
                  ~coming soon~
                    #20435    
                  Old January 29th, 2012 (10:45 AM). Edited January 29th, 2012 by redriders180.
                  redriders180's Avatar
                  redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                  Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2010
                    Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quirky
                    Posts: 540
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by droomph View Post
                    Bah, try this one.
                    Just a question related to this tutorial, because it doesn't explain how to make different sized OWs. In most cases, a 32x32 sprite (which is what was taught in the tutorial) works fine, but I need to make a couple 64x64 sprites for my Rom Hack. Can anyone tell me how to do this?

                    Also, in reference to the saving question above. Whenever I save in my hack, it says "Save error, please exchange the backup memory". The memory is set at flash 128k, and it continues to happen. I also tried ShinyGold, and IT wouldn't let me save either, citing the same error. Is it the emulator that's the problem? I don't know of any other emulators with a RTC...

                    Edit: I'm using VBA
                    __________________


                    I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                      #20436    
                    Old January 29th, 2012 (11:01 AM).
                    OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
                    OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
                    För Sverige i tiden
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2010
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 49
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
                      I had this same problem awhile ago. Its because they have the same colors in there pallet but the colors are in a different order. To fix this you can use NSE 2.X and the Color Match Plug-in. Just open the first frame first and then open the others and color match them.
                      Ooh, okay. Thanks! I'll try that.
                        #20437    
                      Old January 29th, 2012 (12:07 PM).
                      Speedster's Avatar
                      Speedster Speedster is offline
                      The Unknown
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2011
                        Location: In the depths of space...
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 134
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                        Just a question related to this tutorial, because it doesn't explain how to make different sized OWs. In most cases, a 32x32 sprite (which is what was taught in the tutorial) works fine, but I need to make a couple 64x64 sprites for my Rom Hack. Can anyone tell me how to do this?

                        Also, in reference to the saving question above. Whenever I save in my hack, it says "Save error, please exchange the backup memory". The memory is set at flash 128k, and it continues to happen. I also tried ShinyGold, and IT wouldn't let me save either, citing the same error. Is it the emulator that's the problem? I don't know of any other emulators with a RTC...

                        Edit: I'm using VBA
                        Spoiler:
                        00 = Palette Number
                        11 02 11 = Sprite validation.
                        0200 = This is equal to the second 4 numbers in the Frame Data Pointer; this is the size of each frame
                        0010 = Width
                        0020 = Height
                        0110 and 0000 = oam data. Do not modify!
                        1@ 10373A08 = Points to @3.
                        2@ 9C373A08 = Void pointer\ unsure.
                        3@ 70343A08 = A pointer to @5 lol.
                        4@ A0003A08 = Sprite Pointer
                        5@ FC1C2308 = Pointer to pointers which point to code that loads the sprite through the ewram into the sprite block of the vram and its data into the oam.

                        This is the code for a OW given in the tutorial. Height and Width are given. 0010 by 0020 is the same as 16x32. So just do 0040 by 0040 for height and weight.

                        As for the save file I'm not sure right now but I know you could use the VBA Save Files instead of the in-game save files. I'll try to see what's the problem.
                        __________________

                        .:Aegis:.
                        ~coming soon~
                          #20438    
                        Old January 29th, 2012 (12:10 PM).
                        OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
                        OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
                        För Sverige i tiden
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2010
                          Gender: Female
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 49
                          I have a problem with Visual Boy Advance not exporting palettes as .act files.
                          It absolutely refuses to, even if I click the ".act" thing in the scrolldown.
                          If I click that, it exports it as a half-functioning .pal file that doesn't even open up right.
                          Help?
                          Ugh, this is hard ;A;
                            #20439    
                          Old January 29th, 2012 (12:22 PM).
                          Speedster's Avatar
                          Speedster Speedster is offline
                          The Unknown
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2011
                            Location: In the depths of space...
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 134
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
                            I have a problem with Visual Boy Advance not exporting palettes as .act files.
                            It absolutely refuses to, even if I click the ".act" thing in the scrolldown.
                            If I click that, it exports it as a half-functioning .pal file that doesn't even open up right.
                            Help?
                            Ugh, this is hard ;A;
                            I tried this and it doesn't work for me either. I'm not sure what you would need it for but if its Intro Sprites I think I can recommend an easier method.
                            __________________

                            .:Aegis:.
                            ~coming soon~
                              #20440    
                            Old January 29th, 2012 (12:45 PM).
                            OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
                            OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
                            För Sverige i tiden
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2010
                              Gender: Female
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 49
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
                              I tried this and it doesn't work for me either. I'm not sure what you would need it for but if its Intro Sprites I think I can recommend an easier method.
                              Yeah, it's for the intro sprites.
                              Is there really an easier method? It would be greatly appreciated if you would tell it to me :D
                                #20441    
                              Old January 29th, 2012 (1:10 PM).
                              EdensElite's Avatar
                              EdensElite EdensElite is offline
                              No0b, but getting there.
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2011
                                Location: UK
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 190
                                What's DS equivalent of Advance Map?
                                __________________

                                ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

                                That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
                                  #20442    
                                Old January 29th, 2012 (2:26 PM). Edited January 29th, 2012 by Speedster.
                                Speedster's Avatar
                                Speedster Speedster is offline
                                The Unknown
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2011
                                  Location: In the depths of space...
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Jolly
                                  Posts: 134
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
                                  Yeah, it's for the intro sprites.
                                  Is there really an easier method? It would be greatly appreciated if you would tell it to me :D
                                  Yes there is and its much easier. If you use NSE Classic or NSE 2.X there are included bookmarks where you can edit the pallets and sprites from the intro along with many other random sprites (Surfing Pokemon sprite, Ghost Sprite, Old Man back sprite, ect.). So that should help.

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
                                  What's DS equivalent of Advance Map?
                                  As far as now I believe there is not. The only way I can think of is mapping with Hex which is very agonizing and time consuming. So you'll have to wait until someone develops one.

                                  EDIT: This is what I'm guessing your looking for Eden so you might want to follow the project.
                                  __________________

                                  .:Aegis:.
                                  ~coming soon~
                                    #20443    
                                  Old January 29th, 2012 (2:31 PM). Edited January 29th, 2012 by droomph.
                                  droomph's Avatar
                                  droomph droomph is offline
                                  weeb
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Sep 2011
                                  Location: nowhere spectacular
                                  Age: 20
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Impish
                                  Posts: 4,291
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
                                  What's DS equivalent of Advance Map?
                                  On the topic of Hex Editing, check out this one.
                                  __________________
                                  did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                                  o i forgot 5
                                  uraqt


                                    #20444    
                                  Old January 29th, 2012 (6:20 PM).
                                  OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
                                  OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
                                  För Sverige i tiden
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2010
                                    Gender: Female
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 49
                                    unLZ-GBA still refuses to repoint my boot screen/boot screen tilemap. Is there any way to fix this? Any way at all?
                                      #20445    
                                    Old January 29th, 2012 (6:26 PM).
                                    Speedster's Avatar
                                    Speedster Speedster is offline
                                    The Unknown
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2011
                                      Location: In the depths of space...
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Jolly
                                      Posts: 134
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
                                      unLZ-GBA still refuses to repoint my boot screen/boot screen tilemap. Is there any way to fix this? Any way at all?
                                      Did you write everything to ROM (Image and Pallet)? There isn't much more to it.
                                      __________________

                                      .:Aegis:.
                                      ~coming soon~
                                        #20446    
                                      Old January 29th, 2012 (6:45 PM).
                                      OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
                                      OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
                                      För Sverige i tiden
                                         
                                        Join Date: Mar 2010
                                        Gender: Female
                                        Nature: Adamant
                                        Posts: 49
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
                                        Did you write everything to ROM (Image and Pallet)? There isn't much more to it.
                                        When I clicked "Write to palette" it screwed up the entire ROM.
                                        It works when I write other things, like the title screen and such, just never the boot screen.
                                          #20447    
                                        Old January 29th, 2012 (6:49 PM).
                                        Speedster's Avatar
                                        Speedster Speedster is offline
                                        The Unknown
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2011
                                          Location: In the depths of space...
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Jolly
                                          Posts: 134
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
                                          When I clicked "Write to palette" it screwed up the entire ROM.
                                          It works when I write other things, like the title screen and such, just never the boot screen.
                                          "Write to Palette?" You should just import the images you want into Unlz and then click "Write to ROM" and then pick a Image and Pallet Offset.
                                          __________________

                                          .:Aegis:.
                                          ~coming soon~
                                            #20448    
                                          Old January 30th, 2012 (2:18 PM).
                                          OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
                                          OMGWURMPLES! OMGWURMPLES! is offline
                                          För Sverige i tiden
                                             
                                            Join Date: Mar 2010
                                            Gender: Female
                                            Nature: Adamant
                                            Posts: 49
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by Speedster View Post
                                            "Write to Palette?" You should just import the images you want into Unlz and then click "Write to ROM" and then pick a Image and Pallet Offset.
                                            I clicked it by accident.
                                            It just... doesn't repoint my Tilemap, no matter what I do.
                                              #20449    
                                            Old January 30th, 2012 (5:22 PM).
                                            redriders180's Avatar
                                            redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                            Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jun 2010
                                              Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Quirky
                                              Posts: 540
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by OMGWURMPLES! View Post
                                              I clicked it by accident.
                                              It just... doesn't repoint my Tilemap, no matter what I do.
                                              Do you have "automatically fix pointers" checked?
                                              __________________


                                              I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                                                #20450    
                                              Old January 30th, 2012 (5:27 PM).
                                              masterquestmq's Avatar
                                              masterquestmq masterquestmq is offline
                                              Enthusiastic Rom Hacker
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Nov 2010
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 125
                                                working with JPAN's engine

                                                can't seem to make the S.S.Anne appear
                                                is ASM needed for this?
                                                Closed Thread
                                                Quick Reply

                                                Sponsored Links
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:00 AM.