ARCHIVED: Battle Center This forum is designed for all of your Pokémon battling needs! The main forum is meant for discussions, battle requests, battle logs, and other threads related to battling. Look to the sub-forums for events and team help.

 
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 14th, 2012 (6:50 AM).
ELVISTHEGUY's Avatar
ELVISTHEGUY ELVISTHEGUY is offline
Call me Dimentio.
     
    Join Date: Dec 2009
    Location: Egypt
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 32
    So just now I was battling someone in Random Matchup and I only had one pokemon left, which was paralyzed, anyways he switched into his Staraptor (which had full health) and Ohko'd me.
    So yeah, what's your opinion on the move?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old February 14th, 2012 (7:06 AM).
    Forever's Avatar
    Forever Forever is offline
    a sky full of lighters ☆
    • Moderator
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Location: Queensland
    Age: 25
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 35,121
    I'd say it depends on what uses it, tbh. Of course if it's something with low HP using it, definitely not, but from with lots of HP in general, probably. I don't really think it has much use though considering it's one-time and that you can't revive Pokemon in battle, and sacrificing one Pokemon just for that purpose seems kind of useless when you can take out threats with other methods. While Memento, on the other hand, makes sense, since you're actually "doing" something to the opponent (really with this, you're not even "attacking" it's more like a murder-suicide tbh) and... Final Gambit just seems like a waste of a Pokemon imo - and risky too, having to avoid being attacked first and all. ;x
    __________________

    we'll make our mark
    show the world what we can do

    [ moderator of isshunova ]
      #3    
    Old February 14th, 2012 (7:20 AM).
    Volcanix769's Avatar
    Volcanix769 Volcanix769 is offline
    Known as the Quilava Guy!
       
      Join Date: Nov 2011
      Location: NJ in the U.S
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Careful
      Posts: 613
      Kinda yes, but when I saw this Pokemon use Final Gambit, it didn't really kill the other one, yes it had very big damage, but it did not kill it in 1 hit.
      __________________
        #4    
      Old February 14th, 2012 (8:02 AM).
      XEL's Avatar
      XEL XEL is offline
      Lorem Ipsum
         
        Join Date: Sep 2007
        Age: 23
        Posts: 491
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Forever View Post
        I'd say it depends on what uses it, tbh. Of course if it's something with low HP using it, definitely not, but from with lots of HP in general, probably. I don't really think it has much use though considering it's one-time and that you can't revive Pokemon in battle, and sacrificing one Pokemon just for that purpose seems kind of useless when you can take out threats with other methods. While Memento, on the other hand, makes sense, since you're actually "doing" something to the opponent (really with this, you're not even "attacking" it's more like a murder-suicide tbh) and... Final Gambit just seems like a waste of a Pokemon imo - and risky too, having to avoid being attacked first and all. ;x
        This, pretty much. If you're going to sacrifice a Pokemon to try and kill your opponent's you might as well use something along the lines of a lead that uses Explosion, such as Azelf. Besides, if you're both down to your last Pokemon, it's kind of useless anyways if you play by the self destruction clause.

        Although imagine a team of 5 Blissey + 1 sweeper Granted a physically attacking team would completely wreck that, but still lol
          #5    
        Old February 14th, 2012 (4:54 PM).
        The Void's Avatar
        The Void The Void is offline
        hiiiii
           
          Join Date: May 2010
          Location: MOTHA RUSSIA
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 1,416
          Imagine if Blissey knew Final Gambit... I'd definitely consider that OHKO then lol
          btw, I figured out Shedinja can learn Final Gambit... should I add it or not? <sarcasm>
          __________________
          Όφις ην μη φάγη όφιν, δράκων ου γενήσεται.
            #6    
          Old February 14th, 2012 (7:52 PM).
          PlatinumDude's Avatar
          PlatinumDude PlatinumDude is offline
          Nyeh?
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Aug 2010
          Location: Canada
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Hasty
          Posts: 12,832
          Send a message via Yahoo to PlatinumDude
          It depends when you use it. When your HP is higher than your opponent's by the time you use the move, it's a surefire OHKO unless the opponent is a Ghost or Protected against the attack.
          __________________

            #7    
          Old February 17th, 2012 (9:01 PM). Edited February 18th, 2012 by Vrai.
          Vrai's Avatar
          Vrai Vrai is offline
          can you feel my heart?
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Jun 2008
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 2,893
          Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Vrai
          If you're talking about whether or not it's an OHKO move and therefore not allowed by the standard clauses, Final Gambit is very clearly not an OHKO move. Nearly all users of it have moderate to low HP anyway (Staraptor, Accelgor, Shedinja). It doesn't have the level requirements of other OHKO moves like Fissure, nor does it have a 30% accuracy.

          If you weren't asking about the OHKO clause, then I wonder what the purpose of this thread is.
          __________________
            #8    
          Old February 17th, 2012 (9:07 PM).
          Perriechu's Avatar
          Perriechu Perriechu is offline
          no more sad songs
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Apr 2009
          Location: England
          Age: 21
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 4,109
          uh nope. if it was a ohko move it would state in the effect that it will ohko the opponent like sheer cold, horn drill etc etc. :x final gambit doesn't. but final gambit isn't really that of a move, like vrai said all of it's users (except victini and maybe staraptor) all have below base 80 hp. victini can do something with it though since it can take down something with 404 and below.
          __________________
          twittertumblr ☂ 1349-6159-4149
            #9    
          Old February 17th, 2012 (11:09 PM).
          Tachikaze's Avatar
          Tachikaze Tachikaze is offline
          九番隊 // Earth-Severing Wind
             
            Join Date: Feb 2012
            Location: Soul Society
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 158
            It seems like more of a gimmick than anything else, to be honest. :/
             
            Quick Reply

            Sponsored Links
            Thread Tools

            Posting Rules
            You may not post new threads
            You may not post replies
            You may not post attachments
            You may not edit your posts

            BB code is On
            Smilies are On
            [IMG] code is On
            HTML code is Off

            Forum Jump


            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:03 AM.