Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old January 22nd, 2012 (8:58 AM).
xephos's Avatar
xephos xephos is offline
xephos Inc.
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Location: U.S.A
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quiet
    Posts: 14
    Thanks so much for this. I could not find any guides like this.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #27    
    Old April 8th, 2012 (3:40 PM).
    Arkania's Avatar
    Arkania Arkania is offline
       
      Join Date: Sep 2009
      Posts: 1
      hey has anyone figured out a way to get this to work on windows 7? if not could i post my image here and have someone index it?
      __________________
      continue on with your valiant fight, fight till the last breath.
      Reply With Quote
        #28    
      Old April 9th, 2012 (4:29 AM).
      AwsomeMew's Avatar
      AwsomeMew AwsomeMew is offline
      <-- WTF?! WURMPLE!
         
        Join Date: Jul 2011
        Location: UNI
        Age: 28
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 26
        Really nice Tutorial, But a lots of Download's
        __________________
        Hacks i support!
        :
        Reply With Quote
          #29    
        Old April 9th, 2012 (9:01 AM).
        Pandora_Destiny's Avatar
        Pandora_Destiny Pandora_Destiny is offline
           
          Join Date: May 2011
          Location: Lake Isle
          Age: 27
          Gender: Female
          Posts: 3
          "Open it back up in Irfanview to check if the BG colour is the same as the first colour in the palette"

          What if it doesn't change? What if its the same as it was before? What would I be doing wrong?
          __________________
          I love Pokemon. Deal with it!
          Reply With Quote
            #30    
          Old April 12th, 2012 (4:22 AM).
          bensgraphicdesign bensgraphicdesign is offline
             
            Join Date: Apr 2012
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 48
            I follow the guide correctly, I corrected the pallete to come out with the messed up image, I then opened it up in paint and clicked 'Ctrl + V' to paste it, then I saved it and reopened it in Irfanview as the corrected image, but the pallete is the same as when I first opened it in Irfanview. What am I doing wrong? Help is appreciated!
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #31    
            Old May 19th, 2012 (6:17 PM).
            pokemetalhead_96's Avatar
            pokemetalhead_96 pokemetalhead_96 is offline
            Enigma
               
              Join Date: Feb 2012
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 7
              Any idea what to do if, when the compressed size is too big, the number that shows up contains a letter, like "3E4"?
              Reply With Quote
                #32    
              Old May 19th, 2012 (8:21 PM).
              droomph's Avatar
              droomph droomph is offline
              weeb
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Sep 2011
              Location: nowhere spectacular
              Age: 20
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Impish
              Posts: 4,291
              As long as it doesn't get to "G" or further, it just means it is in hexadecimal; just deal with it normally.
              __________________
              did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
              o i forgot 5
              uraqt


              Reply With Quote
                #33    
              Old May 22nd, 2012 (10:19 AM).
              Jcscheper Jcscheper is offline
                 
                Join Date: May 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 3
                I did everything you did, but when I try to open my hacked version of the game, it just stays white. I did also try with flash 128K. How can I fix this? (I did also try this with multiple VBA's and an other game)
                Reply With Quote
                  #34    
                Old May 22nd, 2012 (11:09 AM).
                Zilvereyes's Avatar
                Zilvereyes Zilvereyes is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Mar 2012
                  Location: Denmark
                  Age: 36
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 29
                  Really nice share, thanks, especially for the unLZ & APE stuff ;-)
                  __________________
                  Zilvereyes - Newbie
                  Hacking: Pokémon Fire Red

                  [Guides]:
                  Adding 0x0 - 0x57 Name Header to FireRed - Incomplete (Still working on it though [10-05-2012])
                  Reply With Quote
                    #35    
                  Old July 6th, 2013 (5:41 PM).
                  patar4097's Avatar
                  patar4097 patar4097 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 19
                    I couldn't index the image correctly. I did everything right more than eight times, but not once did it work. I use Windows 7 by the way. What could I be doing wrong? It could be because of the step where you paste the original image into paint. Are you supposed to save it after you paste it?
                    __________________
                    All hail Goomy!!
                    Reply With Quote
                      #36    
                    Old July 17th, 2013 (6:35 AM). Edited July 17th, 2013 by patar4097.
                    patar4097's Avatar
                    patar4097 patar4097 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2010
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Quiet
                      Posts: 19
                      I think I might have figured out part of it. The background color isn't the fourth option for editing the pallet. So am I supposed to just edit the fourth color option anyways, or do I have to do something to get that to happen?

                      EDIT: Well, that's not it. Not even what shows in the tutorial.

                      EDIT #2: I got it working! I didn't notice I needed the old version of paint. But still one more question: if I were to start playing, and then in the middle, I edited a sprite, would it still show the new sprite even on my old game data that existed first?

                      But I also got a problem with the next step. When writing the new picture to the rom, it came up as 0x2c4 for the compressed size. What's going on?
                      __________________
                      All hail Goomy!!
                      Reply With Quote
                        #37    
                      Old August 11th, 2013 (10:21 AM).
                      EdensElite's Avatar
                      EdensElite EdensElite is offline
                      No0b, but getting there.
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2011
                        Location: UK
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 190
                        Yeah Windows 7 Paint doesn't work aha . Nooope it wouldn't show because the sprite is stored in the RAM I think? It might change/freeze if you refresh the screen though but I'm not very sure. 0x2C4 seems like a legitimate hexadecimal number to me? Just use that normally.
                        __________________

                        ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

                        That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
                        Reply With Quote
                          #38    
                        Old August 21st, 2013 (4:57 AM).
                        freddy f1shf1nger's Avatar
                        freddy f1shf1nger freddy f1shf1nger is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2013
                          Location: Melbourne Australia
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 86
                          I have found that the easiest way to edit trainers of no particular importance is to leave them there and just edit their teams using VsTrainer. For important trainers or trainers that revert to the game that is being hacked over unfortunately you can't do this though.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #39    
                          Old September 12th, 2013 (8:57 PM).
                          steveoabm steveoabm is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2013
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Quiet
                            Posts: 2
                            i will post something if it worked for me.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #40    
                            Old November 30th, 2013 (7:19 AM).
                            patar4097's Avatar
                            patar4097 patar4097 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Oct 2010
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 19
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by EdensElite View Post
                              Yeah Windows 7 Paint doesn't work aha :). Nooope it wouldn't show because the sprite is stored in the RAM I think? It might change/freeze if you refresh the screen though but I'm not very sure. 0x2C4 seems like a legitimate hexadecimal number to me? Just use that normally.
                              This is what I was talking about. Here's what I get for this picture. There is no way I can put that into the FSF, so is it something to do with the picture I put in?
                              __________________
                              All hail Goomy!!
                              Reply With Quote
                                #41    
                              Old June 25th, 2014 (1:44 PM).
                              64smashmaster3ds's Avatar
                              64smashmaster3ds 64smashmaster3ds is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2013
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Quiet
                                Posts: 58
                                Do anyone know the offset for FR HP bar and box for in battle in APE? Also how to make the hp bar in battle the same size like the one in emerald.
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #42    
                                Old June 25th, 2014 (7:31 PM).
                                Uikri's Avatar
                                Uikri Uikri is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2013
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 23
                                  Holy crap, you are a life saver. I could not figure out what I was doing wrong for the life of me, but your tutorial solved everything for me! Thank you so much! Can I ask where the in-game sprites are for the main character?
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #43    
                                  Old August 23rd, 2014 (11:08 AM).
                                  DNAEmperorX DNAEmperorX is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2014
                                    Posts: 2
                                    I followed every step but my sprite has a black square behind her
                                    Attached Images
                                    File Type: png black square.PNG‎ (9.1 KB, 3 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #44    
                                    Old November 13th, 2014 (10:11 AM).
                                    Ayonn-'s Avatar
                                    Ayonn- Ayonn- is offline
                                    The Unbelivable
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2014
                                      Location: FRANCE
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Jolly
                                      Posts: 199
                                      Hi ! How can I change the sprites in Oak's Intro in Fire Red please??
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #45    
                                      Old November 13th, 2014 (10:55 AM).
                                      anonyboy's Avatar
                                      anonyboy anonyboy is offline
                                      Pokemon Aerial Emerald Creator&Pokemon Hybrid Co-Creator
                                         
                                        Join Date: Sep 2013
                                        Location: Israel
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Adamant
                                        Posts: 277
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Ayonn- View Post
                                        Hi ! How can I change the sprites in Oak's Intro in Fire Red please??
                                        Well There is a Tutorial Buried around PC, and this thread is for EM, Not FR.
                                        __________________
                                        Pokemon....

                                        A new Dawn of ROM Hacking.....
                                        Reply With Quote
                                        Reply
                                        Quick Reply

                                        Sponsored Links
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:45 PM.