ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #21226    
Old May 8th, 2012 (8:51 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
  • Moderator
  • Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Age: 19
Posts: 5,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by miksy91 View Post
Search for the text code in a hex editor and locate the pointer to it.
That pointer is likely a normal "message script" command and you ought to find a command for playing the fanfare close to it.

*Sometimes script commands are looked from other script commands, not always ASM
I tried that, but the ROM didn't point to the message in the conventional sense of the offset reversed + 08. :/
__________________

A Pokemon that is discriminated!
Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.

Relevant Advertising!

  #21227    
Old May 8th, 2012 (8:58 AM).
redriders180's Avatar
redriders180 redriders180 is offline
Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 540
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by GoogleAndroid View Post
    Is there a hack of Pokemon Black for any GBA Pokémon game? I can't play a DS emulator all too well and don't really have money to buy a DS, cheap as it is.
    Do you mean a hack that is exactly the same as Pokemon Black, but for the GBA, or a demake? No to the first, and I think at least a few people are working on doing the second.
    __________________


    I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


      #21228    
    Old May 8th, 2012 (11:03 AM).
    BlazeFinneganIII's Avatar
    BlazeFinneganIII BlazeFinneganIII is offline
    OG Trainer
       
      Join Date: Apr 2012
      Location: Bocca Raton
      Age: 30
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 9
      What types of tools are available for hacking DS Pokemon ROMs? I’m new to hacking and would very much like to start creating my own ROM Hack. Ideally I’d like to use the newer generation of Pokemon Games to do this. There appears to be a lot of tools for the 3rd generation or GBA games, but what about the DS games, D/P/PL and B/W? Is there a map editor for the DS versions like advance map is for the GBA games?
        #21229    
      Old May 8th, 2012 (11:38 AM). Edited May 8th, 2012 by droomph.
      droomph's Avatar
      droomph droomph is offline
      weeb
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Sep 2011
      Location: nowhere spectacular
      Age: 20
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Impish
      Posts: 4,291
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by BlazeFinneganIII View Post
      What types of tools are available for hacking DS Pokemon ROMs? I’m new to hacking and would very much like to start creating my own ROM Hack. Ideally I’d like to use the newer generation of Pokemon Games to do this. There appears to be a lot of tools for the 3rd generation or GBA games, but what about the DS games, D/P/PL and B/W? Is there a map editor for the DS versions like advance map is for the GBA games?
      We can do everything but edit maps (we can move the buildings however) as of now. Unless you really know what you're doing I think you'll have to stick to gen III.

      But if you still want to, you can check out the two basic tools, Tinke and PPRE. Google them. They're not that hard to use, so I think you can figure stuff out from there.

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by GoogleAndroid View Post
      Is there a hack of Pokemon Black for any GBA Pokémon game? I can't play a DS emulator all too well and don't really have money to buy a DS, cheap as it is.
      Why would you want to play that on a GBA anyways? The graphics (especially the cutscenes) are vital to the feel of the game and the GBA can't capture that feel. Go save up money, $200 isn't that hard to scrape up (and especially if you're past he legal working age) if you really try.
      __________________
      did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
      o i forgot 5
      uraqt


        #21230    
      Old May 8th, 2012 (1:01 PM).
      BlazeFinneganIII's Avatar
      BlazeFinneganIII BlazeFinneganIII is offline
      OG Trainer
         
        Join Date: Apr 2012
        Location: Bocca Raton
        Age: 30
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Jolly
        Posts: 9
        Thanks for answering my question droomph. That has been bugging for weeks. I would like to fully edit maps so I will most likely stick with hacking in Gen 3.


        My next question is then; where can I find some good palettes that resemble the DS Pokemon games for advanced map? Is there a thread or database for palates somewhere? I’ve found a few online but I don’t want to steal anyone’s hard work and would be more than willing to give credit to whoever created them.
          #21231    
        Old May 8th, 2012 (1:12 PM).
        Mana's Avatar
        Mana Mana is offline
        • Platinum Tier
         
        Join Date: Jan 2009
        Location: UK
        Gender: Female
        Posts: 10,005
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by BlazeFinneganIII View Post
        Thanks for answering my question droomph. That has been bugging for weeks. I would like to fully edit maps so I will most likely stick with hacking in Gen 3.


        My next question is then; where can I find some good palettes that resemble the DS Pokemon games for advanced map? Is there a thread or database for palates somewhere? I’ve found a few online but I don’t want to steal anyone’s hard work and would be more than willing to give credit to whoever created them.
        What you could do, fairly easily, is find a screenshot of B/W and put it in a paint-program to work out the RGB values of the colours. Then all you need to do is go into A-Map and change the palette to match B/W.
          #21232    
        Old May 8th, 2012 (1:17 PM).
        BlazeFinneganIII's Avatar
        BlazeFinneganIII BlazeFinneganIII is offline
        OG Trainer
           
          Join Date: Apr 2012
          Location: Bocca Raton
          Age: 30
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 9
          So you're basically saying to recolor the palette already available based on the colors from the B/W image, right?
          I also thought of just grabbing a high res image and cutting out squares to make my own palette. I've never made a palette before however and have no idea if that would work.
            #21233    
          Old May 8th, 2012 (1:54 PM).
          droomph's Avatar
          droomph droomph is offline
          weeb
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Sep 2011
          Location: nowhere spectacular
          Age: 20
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Impish
          Posts: 4,291
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by BlazeFinneganIII View Post
          So you're basically saying to recolor the palette already available based on the colors from the B/W image, right?
          I also thought of just grabbing a high res image and cutting out squares to make my own palette. I've never made a palette before however and have no idea if that would work.
          No, the pallet is actually a sequence of twenty or so numbers. The programs just separate them into squares for easy access so you don't have to enter a number every time you want to use that color. What he was saying was to go look at the RGB values of the colors (there's many ways you can do that, not that hard to find out) and translate them into GBA format.

          If you want to make a pallet there's some very good pallet making tutorials on PC, you could search for them. I suggest HackMew's, go look for that.
          __________________
          did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
          o i forgot 5
          uraqt


            #21234    
          Old May 8th, 2012 (2:32 PM).
          BlazeFinneganIII's Avatar
          BlazeFinneganIII BlazeFinneganIII is offline
          OG Trainer
             
            Join Date: Apr 2012
            Location: Bocca Raton
            Age: 30
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 9
            K, sounds like a plan. Thanks for the help.
            __________________
              #21235    
            Old May 8th, 2012 (9:02 PM).
            ElBlocko ElBlocko is offline
               
              Join Date: May 2012
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 1
              Hello everyone. I'm trying to hack Gen I for my first Pokemon hacking experience, Red specifically. One thing I'm doing is completely revamping most of the moves and changing types, power, accuracy, etc.

              One thing that's stumping me is how Quick Attack is coded to be a priority move. When I look at the move effect, it's "00", meaning that it does damage and nothing else. However, nothing in the move data indicates that it's a priority move, meaning the priority move routine is stuffed away somewhere else in the code. I've also looked around the RAM map without much success, too. I'd like to change a few moves (specifically Bone Club, Comet Punch, and Mist) to be priority damaging moves.

              Also, to that effect, what makes SonicBoom and Dragon Rage have set damage? Their effect is "28", which is exactly what Seismic Toss and Night Shade have, only SB and DR are hard-coded for 20 and 40 damage respectively.

              Any help would be greatly appreciated!
                #21236    
              Old May 9th, 2012 (2:33 PM).
              droomph's Avatar
              droomph droomph is offline
              weeb
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Sep 2011
              Location: nowhere spectacular
              Age: 20
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Impish
              Posts: 4,291
              Where can I find an ASM compiler that isn't command-prompt based?
                #21237    
              Old May 9th, 2012 (4:10 PM).
              redriders180's Avatar
              redriders180 redriders180 is offline
              Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2010
                Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quirky
                Posts: 540
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by droomph View Post
                Where can I find an ASM compiler that isn't command-prompt based?
                The NO$GBA debugger has an option to replace current ASM, as well as making more, without a command prompt.
                __________________


                I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                  #21238    
                Old May 9th, 2012 (5:05 PM).
                vanillagfx's Avatar
                vanillagfx vanillagfx is offline
                   
                  Join Date: May 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 90
                  Alright so I made a remake of little root. How do I add more sprite people to the map?
                    #21239    
                  Old May 9th, 2012 (5:17 PM).
                  TheOrangePichu's Avatar
                  TheOrangePichu TheOrangePichu is offline
                  Currently working on new hack
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2011
                    Location: Earth
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 49
                    Hello there! This is a question regarding Wichu's Advance Sprite Editor. I was wondering, after I write the sprite to the rom, it looks completely fine. Nothing is messed up, but once I open the sprite again the picture is blank and in-game it looks like a bunch of messed up pixels. Can anyone help with this problem?
                      #21240    
                    Old May 9th, 2012 (5:50 PM).
                    redriders180's Avatar
                    redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                    Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2010
                      Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Quirky
                      Posts: 540
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by TheOrangePichu View Post
                      Hello there! This is a question regarding Wichu's Advance Sprite Editor. I was wondering, after I write the sprite to the rom, it looks completely fine. Nothing is messed up, but once I open the sprite again the picture is blank and in-game it looks like a bunch of messed up pixels. Can anyone help with this problem?
                      I'd make sure you aren't writing over something...try writing it to a different offset.

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by vanillagfx View Post
                      Alright so I made a remake of little root. How do I add more sprite people to the map?
                      What you're hacking would be useful to know...
                      __________________


                      I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                        #21241    
                      Old May 9th, 2012 (5:51 PM). Edited May 9th, 2012 by vanillagfx.
                      vanillagfx's Avatar
                      vanillagfx vanillagfx is offline
                         
                        Join Date: May 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 90
                        oh sorry, pokemon emerald.
                        So yeah is there a way to add or to delete events and player sprites already on there?

                        Edit: Nvm I had the an old version of advanced map.
                          #21242    
                        Old May 9th, 2012 (6:15 PM).
                        TheOrangePichu's Avatar
                        TheOrangePichu TheOrangePichu is offline
                        Currently working on new hack
                           
                          Join Date: Jun 2011
                          Location: Earth
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Jolly
                          Posts: 49
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                          I'd make sure you aren't writing over something...try writing it to a different offset.


                          Thank you for your help. Sadly the problem keeps occuring, even if I find free space.
                            #21243    
                          Old May 10th, 2012 (1:11 AM).
                          CliveKoopa CliveKoopa is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Jan 2009
                            Location: Coventry, United Kingdom
                            Age: 32
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Calm
                            Posts: 597
                            What other text editors are there besides Advance Text? For some reason I am unable to unzip that. I can download it okay but it just won't let me unzip it. Same with Advance Trainer.
                            __________________
                              #21244    
                            Old May 10th, 2012 (1:14 AM).
                            chrunch chrunch is offline
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Oct 2009
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 1,349
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by CliveKoopa View Post
                            What other text editors are there besides Advance Text? For some reason I am unable to unzip that. I can download it okay but it just won't let me unzip it. Same with Advance Trainer.
                            I think Advance Text is the only text editor, I'm not sure though. It would be better if you used XSE, Advance Text can mess up your ROM. ;;
                              #21245    
                            Old May 10th, 2012 (1:23 AM).
                            CliveKoopa CliveKoopa is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2009
                              Location: Coventry, United Kingdom
                              Age: 32
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Calm
                              Posts: 597
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by chrunch View Post
                              I think Advance Text is the only text editor, I'm not sure though. It would be better if you used XSE, Advance Text can mess up your ROM. ;;
                              Okay, I have XSE downloaded and looked through a few tutorials but I can't find how to load up certain text. How would I find certain bits of text like Birch's opening text for example?
                              __________________
                                #21246    
                              Old May 10th, 2012 (12:27 PM).
                              miksy91's Avatar
                              miksy91 miksy91 is offline
                              Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2008
                                Location: A small country in the North
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 1,435
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by CliveKoopa View Post
                                Okay, I have XSE downloaded and looked through a few tutorials but I can't find how to load up certain text. How would I find certain bits of text like Birch's opening text for example?
                                There is this tutorial linked to my description (that has nothing to do with XSE though).
                                __________________
                                My Rom Hack



                                Fixing bugs in a ROM hack
                                CP of encountered pokemon in GO

                                Learn how to hack GB/C games:

                                Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
                                -The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
                                  #21247    
                                Old May 10th, 2012 (12:56 PM).
                                CliveKoopa CliveKoopa is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2009
                                  Location: Coventry, United Kingdom
                                  Age: 32
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 597
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by miksy91 View Post
                                  There is this tutorial linked to my description (that has nothing to do with XSE though).
                                  What description? Do you mean those links in your sig?
                                  __________________
                                    #21248    
                                  Old May 10th, 2012 (2:48 PM).
                                  droomph's Avatar
                                  droomph droomph is offline
                                  weeb
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Sep 2011
                                  Location: nowhere spectacular
                                  Age: 20
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Impish
                                  Posts: 4,291
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by CliveKoopa View Post
                                  What description? Do you mean those links in your sig?
                                  Use a scripting program that can look for text and then just look for the phrase "Sorry to keep you waiting!" and then on a text decompiler decompile that offset and change it.
                                  __________________
                                  did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                                  o i forgot 5
                                  uraqt


                                    #21249    
                                  Old May 10th, 2012 (6:55 PM). Edited May 10th, 2012 by vanillagfx.
                                  vanillagfx's Avatar
                                  vanillagfx vanillagfx is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2012
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 90
                                    Using smart map chooser advance, If I made a custom map instead of editing over another one for my main town you start in. How would I go about doing this? I currently have the map I want under map files in Advance map. Pokemon firered.
                                      #21250    
                                    Old May 10th, 2012 (8:29 PM).
                                    droomph's Avatar
                                    droomph droomph is offline
                                    weeb
                                    • Crystal Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2011
                                    Location: nowhere spectacular
                                    Age: 20
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Impish
                                    Posts: 4,291
                                    Look for the bank.map. Find the coordinates that you want to put the player in, then enter all that info into SMCA. It's that simple really.
                                    __________________
                                    did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
                                    o i forgot 5
                                    uraqt


                                    Closed Thread
                                    Quick Reply

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:50 PM.