ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22676    
Old September 4th, 2012 (9:53 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
     
    Join Date: May 2012
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 154
    What does it mean in A-map when it says "AvancedMapError(5): Value $FFFFFFFF is not a pointer!"? And how do I fix it? It's messing up all of my gameplay for that map. All I did was remove the wild pkmn data.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #22677    
    Old September 5th, 2012 (12:33 AM).
    Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
    Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
    Memento Mori
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
    Age: 24
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 14,475
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
    What does it mean in A-map when it says "AvancedMapError(5): Value $FFFFFFFF is not a pointer!"? And how do I fix it? It's messing up all of my gameplay for that map. All I did was remove the wild pkmn data.
    NEVER remove wild Pokémon data... this is what happens... if you don't want Pokémon to appear, just set the frequency to 0% but NEVER remove it...

    @Ksiazek Bartlomiej: Jambo's working on patch. So far it's not possible throughout normal meanings.
    __________________
    ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

    Anime List | PSN Trophy List
      #22678    
    Old September 5th, 2012 (6:33 AM).
    SpadeEdge16's Avatar
    SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
       
      Join Date: May 2012
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 154
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post

      NEVER remove wild Pokémon data... this is what happens... if you don't want Pokémon to appear, just set the frequency to 0% but NEVER remove it...

      @Ksiazek Bartlomiej: Jambo's working on patch. So far it's not possible throughout normal meanings.
      Yeah, trust me, won't happen again. The only thing I'm worried about, is that a similar thing happened to me before, where I deleted a map connection (which I also won't do again), and it started messing with other maps, completely distorting maps and tilesets. To fix the wild pkmn data problem, I just re-inserted the same map into the bank, and that one works fine. So, as long as I leave the other one that messed up alone, everything else should continue to work fine, right?
        #22679    
      Old September 5th, 2012 (7:19 AM).
      Jambo51's Avatar
      Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
      Glory To Arstotzka
         
        Join Date: Jun 2009
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quiet
        Posts: 732
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post

        NEVER remove wild Pokémon data... this is what happens... if you don't want Pokémon to appear, just set the frequency to 0% but NEVER remove it...

        @Ksiazek Bartlomiej: Jambo's working on patch. So far it's not possible throughout normal meanings.
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
        Yeah, trust me, won't happen again. The only thing I'm worried about, is that a similar thing happened to me before, where I deleted a map connection (which I also won't do again), and it started messing with other maps, completely distorting maps and tilesets. To fix the wild pkmn data problem, I just re-inserted the same map into the bank, and that one works fine. So, as long as I leave the other one that messed up alone, everything else should continue to work fine, right?
        Actually, by definition in the ROM, it isn't possible to set the frequency to 0. It automatically raises it to a base value if you set it to 0.
        __________________
        Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
          #22680    
        Old September 5th, 2012 (7:35 AM).
        Rogue42's Avatar
        Rogue42 Rogue42 is offline
        Ninja
           
          Join Date: Aug 2012
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 9
          Hey I'm working on a ruby game for me and my friends and I want to change the rival's name so when you type [rival] it says something different
          __________________
            #22681    
          Old September 5th, 2012 (8:53 AM).
          liam16's Avatar
          liam16 liam16 is offline
             
            Join Date: May 2010
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 1
            Hey, does anyone know how i can edit the professor in the beginning of Pokemon Emerald when he is introducing the game and asking who you are.
              #22682    
            Old September 5th, 2012 (11:10 AM).
            DaleH771's Avatar
            DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
            I know who you are.
               
              Join Date: Oct 2011
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 126
              Hey.

              Can anyone link me to a download for a GBA Pokemon Trainer Editor please?

              The toolbox section of this website is awful, 80% of the links are outdated or broken... Downloading programs is a pain. Every PET and A-Trainer download I have tried has been instantly been removed by Mcafe for being a trojan.
              __________________

              Demo coming soon!
                #22683    
              Old September 5th, 2012 (11:50 AM).
              Spherical Ice's Avatar
              Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
              • Moderator
              • Silver Tier
               
              Join Date: Nov 2007
              Location: Bristol, UK
              Age: 19
              Posts: 5,179
              Um, that's not the sections fault. Many of the tool creators have moved on, it's not our fault that the links expire.

              Anyway, here's a link to A-Trainer. http://www.sendspace.com/file/29eu58
              __________________

              A Pokemon that is discriminated!
              Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                #22684    
              Old September 5th, 2012 (12:17 PM).
              MrSandman64's Avatar
              MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
              Pokemon Moon Creator
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2012
                Location: Massachusetts
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 28
                Does anybody know the unLZ number for the exclamation mark that comes up over OW's heads cause mine some how became orange
                  #22685    
                Old September 5th, 2012 (12:48 PM).
                Spherical Ice's Avatar
                Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                • Moderator
                • Silver Tier
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2007
                Location: Bristol, UK
                Age: 19
                Posts: 5,179
                You can edit the images by downloading NSE Classic. There is a Bookmark under the Hero Interactions folder, called Exclamations, that has the image for your editing pleasure :D
                __________________

                A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                  #22686    
                Old September 5th, 2012 (8:13 PM).
                passarbye's Avatar
                passarbye passarbye is offline
                Just passin' thru
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 19
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by passarbye View Post
                  your right, it comes with ComCTL32.ocx, but it says that it needs (or something isn't working with) ComDLG.ocx
                  and where do i paste the files to? the INI folder for A-Text?
                  i found a solution!
                  (ONLY for windows 7, i can't help if you're on a different OS)

                  all you have to do is download the file that A-Text says it has a problem with, then paste it in the folder that A-Text is in.
                  after that, copy/paste it in your system32 folder (windows 7) and run A-Text as administrator!

                  FINALLY!

                  +1000 internets to the person that posted this on wiki.answers
                    #22687    
                  Old September 5th, 2012 (10:50 PM).
                  SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                  SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                     
                    Join Date: May 2012
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 154
                    Can anyone link me to a ASM download? Sorry I'm asking again, but the toolbox doesn't seem to have it, and I can't move forward with my hack without it. It would be very appreciated.
                      #22688    
                    Old September 6th, 2012 (12:11 AM).
                    Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                    Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                    Memento Mori
                    • Gold Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                    Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                    Age: 24
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 14,475
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by passarbye View Post
                    i found a solution!
                    (ONLY for windows 7, i can't help if you're on a different OS)

                    all you have to do is download the file that A-Text says it has a problem with, then paste it in the folder that A-Text is in.
                    after that, copy/paste it in your system32 folder (windows 7) and run A-Text as administrator!
                    That was really a problem for someone? o.O
                    It works for every Windows OS, if you download the missing part and put it into system32 A-Text will work.

                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by SpadeEdge16 View Post
                    Can anyone link me to a ASM download? Sorry I'm asking again, but the toolbox doesn't seem to have it, and I can't move forward with my hack without it. It would be very appreciated.
                    ASM isn't downloadable... ASM is a programming language.
                    __________________
                    ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                    Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                      #22689    
                    Old September 6th, 2012 (12:23 AM).
                    SpadeEdge16's Avatar
                    SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: May 2012
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 154
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post

                      That was really a problem for someone? o.O
                      It works for every Windows OS, if you download the missing part and put it into system32 A-Text will work.


                      ASM isn't downloadable... ASM is a programming language.
                      Then how would I go about editing it in my hack?
                        #22690    
                      Old September 6th, 2012 (12:38 AM).
                      PokemonMasters's Avatar
                      PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                      Always Remember Forever&After
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2012
                        Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 403
                        any link to a door manager tutorial?
                        __________________

                        +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                          #22691    
                        Old September 6th, 2012 (9:27 AM).
                        TheConfuZzledDude's Avatar
                        TheConfuZzledDude TheConfuZzledDude is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2012
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 3
                          Is there anyway to create a level condition for item-evolutions, so they need to be a certain level before they can evolve with an item?
                          __________________

                          I'm working on a secret hack project. Think Robots.
                            #22692    
                          Old September 6th, 2012 (10:26 AM). Edited September 6th, 2012 by passarbye.
                          passarbye's Avatar
                          passarbye passarbye is offline
                          Just passin' thru
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2012
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 19
                            I'm having a small issue with the intro sprite for Prof. Oak (intro speech sprite).
                            i've found the sprite (342 and 256 color mode in unLZ) but i can't find the right palette for it.
                            is there anything special i need to do in order to find the correct palette, or am i just doing something wrong?

                            here's a pic of what it looks like with the default palette for it.

                            TL;DR is there any way to get the right palette for this?
                            (btw, i've already tried using the Next Pal and Previous Pal buttons, and all the palettes that load don't look like they are for oak.)
                            Attached Images
                            File Type: png introprob.png‎ (32.0 KB, 13 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                              #22693    
                            Old September 6th, 2012 (3:57 PM).
                            MrSandman64's Avatar
                            MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
                            Pokemon Moon Creator
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2012
                              Location: Massachusetts
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 28
                              Does anyone know how to fix the part when the hero shrinks down into the over world?
                              It is supposed to be all white but for some reason mine has black squares in it.
                              Can someone help?
                                #22694    
                              Old September 6th, 2012 (10:40 PM).
                              surfer treecko surfer treecko is offline
                              help, how do I...?
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2012
                                Posts: 21
                                Is there a quick and easy way to make items in the overworld? The way I've been doing it is using setflag after you pick up the item, but I'm pretty sure that's not what the game does... (and it sometimes causes things to disappear before I've even picked them up)
                                  #22695    
                                Old September 7th, 2012 (1:56 AM). Edited September 7th, 2012 by KhaosKnight.
                                KhaosKnight's Avatar
                                KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
                                The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2007
                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                  Posts: 355
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by liam16 View Post
                                  Hey, does anyone know how i can edit the professor in the beginning of Pokemon Emerald when he is introducing the game and asking who you are.
                                  Use A-Text, there are 9 strings that make up his entire intro speech. They are located at the following, in order:
                                  0x2C89FB
                                  0x5E8692
                                  0x2C8A1F
                                  0x2c8bD0
                                  0x2C8BDD
                                  0x2C8BFF
                                  0x2C8C1C
                                  0x2CEC2A
                                  0x2C8C7A

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by passarbye View Post
                                  I'm having a small issue with the intro sprite for Prof. Oak (intro speech sprite).
                                  i've found the sprite (342 and 256 color mode in unLZ) but i can't find the right palette for it.
                                  is there anything special i need to do in order to find the correct palette, or am i just doing something wrong?

                                  here's a pic of what it looks like with the default palette for it.

                                  TL;DR is there any way to get the right palette for this?
                                  (btw, i've already tried using the Next Pal and Previous Pal buttons, and all the palettes that load don't look like they are for oak.)
                                  I don't think the palette that Oak uses in the intro is unLZ compressed, at least Birch in Ruby/Emerald isn't, so I don't think it will be found in unLZ. You can use VBA's palette viewer and APE's search feature to pinpoint the offset where his palette is. Since the image is 256 colors it can be a bit tricky to find, which is why the offset hasn't been posted around here.

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by surfer treecko View Post
                                  Is there a quick and easy way to make items in the overworld? The way I've been doing it is using setflag after you pick up the item, but I'm pretty sure that's not what the game does... (and it sometimes causes things to disappear before I've even picked them up)
                                  The games simply uses the "giveitem" command followed by "end". Place that script in the Pokeball OW sprite on your map and it should work.
                                  __________________





                                    #22696    
                                  Old September 7th, 2012 (5:38 AM).
                                  botnaeasy's Avatar
                                  botnaeasy botnaeasy is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2009
                                    Posts: 10
                                    Hey, i have some weird trouble with XSE, when i turn on XSE this morning, it after one second turn off. this is first time, when XSE did taht. I using XSE 1.11 I saw that, when i turn on it, it turn off and delate file command.dat (if that file is with XSE in the same catalog). Any resets did any results. Has anyone any idea?
                                    If wrong thread, sorry, and please move it to correct thread.
                                      #22697    
                                    Old September 7th, 2012 (11:10 AM). Edited September 7th, 2012 by passarbye.
                                    passarbye's Avatar
                                    passarbye passarbye is offline
                                    Just passin' thru
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2012
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 19
                                      [also posted this in the request thread]
                                      can someone link me to a working download (or the thread) of JPAN's clean Fire Red patch?
                                      (the one that removes all scripts and stuff)

                                      i can't seem to find it anywhere. :\
                                      (already did much searching along with going through most of JPAN's posts)
                                        #22698    
                                      Old September 7th, 2012 (11:50 AM).
                                      Panda-monium Panda-monium is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Aug 2012
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 3
                                        Bumping this, because it never got a response when I posted it a couple of pages ago, and also because the subsequent thread I made was never approved and posted by a moderator (for reasons still unbeknownst to me).

                                        Quote:
                                        TLDR: I need help modifying the properties of specific moves in HG/SS. Could someone walk me through it, please?

                                        Full: Ok, so I understand that there really isn't a specific attack editor for HG/SS, yet. At least, the one in PPRE isn't finished. Anyway, I heard that it's possible to take a rom of Diamond/Pearl and use Attack Editor DS to modify specific moves in those games, extract the waza.tbl.narc file, and then replace the corresponding a/0/1/1 file in HG/SS with the waza.tbl.narc one. Two issues with this.

                                        First, I've tried using Attack Editor DS with a clean Diamond rom, but nothing ever saves. I even attempted to modify one attack at a time, saving and closing out of the program before moving onto the next attack. No dice.

                                        Second, I've very, very little experience with hex editing programs like Crystal Tile 2. More like clueless, actually. Upon opening the rom file in CT2, I'm never quite sure when to extract/input certain files, or even search for specific things within directories. Like, I've seen posts were people will say to search for pointer/offset (as an example) 0x123456a, but I can't for the life of me find any sort of thing in that format. All the offsets I see are in a 012345678 (no "x") format.

                                        So, hypothetically speaking, say I wanted to modify the attack "Pound" from base 40 power to base 50 in my Soul Silver rom. Could someone walk me through the process of doing that, with the assumption that I have the mental capacity of a 10 year-old?
                                          #22699    
                                        Old September 7th, 2012 (6:26 PM).
                                        The_Show The_Show is offline
                                        Banned
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jan 2012
                                          Location: Carracosta Rock, Akmin Region
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Sassy
                                          Posts: 43
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                                          You probably can't find it because it's just plain text . It's stored at 0x42C5B5, I believe.
                                          I was trying to find a way to edit the word "HOENN" that appears when looking at a regular map. redriders180 stated that the text was stored at 0x42C5B5, but my question is, how do I edit that stored text?
                                            #22700    
                                          Old September 7th, 2012 (6:48 PM).
                                          KhaosKnight's Avatar
                                          KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
                                          The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
                                             
                                            Join Date: Dec 2007
                                            Nature: Relaxed
                                            Posts: 355
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by The_Show View Post
                                            I was trying to find a way to edit the word "HOENN" that appears when looking at a regular map. redriders180 stated that the text was stored at 0x42C5B5, but my question is, how do I edit that stored text?
                                            You can probably go to that offset in A-Text and edit it there. Or, you can use a Ruby char table to convert your text to hex, although A-Text does that for you.
                                            __________________





                                            Closed Thread
                                            Quick Reply

                                            Sponsored Links
                                            Thread Tools

                                            Posting Rules
                                            You may not post new threads
                                            You may not post replies
                                            You may not post attachments
                                            You may not edit your posts

                                            BB code is On
                                            Smilies are On
                                            [IMG] code is On
                                            HTML code is Off

                                            Forum Jump


                                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:08 AM.