ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22851    
Old September 29th, 2012 (1:46 PM).
DaleH771's Avatar
DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
I know who you are.
     
    Join Date: Oct 2011
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 126
    Ive tested Johtomap as a map and event editor for a Pokemon Silver ROM, I like the tool, its amazing for map editing.

    However, I face a few issues, such as Map name changing (To a custom name), some issues with tileset editing but the main problem is events. I do not know how to add my own events and ARGH.

    Is there an alternative to Johtomap people can link me to please? I searched but can't find anything... Cheers!
    __________________

    Demo coming soon!

    Relevant Advertising!

      #22852    
    Old September 29th, 2012 (2:01 PM).
    MrSandman64's Avatar
    MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
    Pokemon Moon Creator
       
      Join Date: Jul 2012
      Location: Massachusetts
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 28
      @shinyabsol1:Thanks for the response but how would I go about doing that?
        #22853    
      Old September 29th, 2012 (2:06 PM).
      Sark Sark is offline
         
        Join Date: Mar 2012
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 37
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
        Hmmm. That's really strange. I'm on Windows 7 so that's not the problem. I don't know about Microsoft .net 3.5, but I doubt it's the problem.
        If only Wichu was still here... Anyway, tried on XP, it works... However, I can't use the xp computer... Any ideas on what's the problem? My computer? :/
          #22854    
        Old September 29th, 2012 (2:58 PM).
        tajaros's Avatar
        tajaros tajaros is offline
        Hi I'm dawg
           
          Join Date: Apr 2012
          Location: Philippines
          Age: 18
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Timid
          Posts: 857
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Sark View Post
          If only Wichu was still here... Anyway, tried on XP, it works... However, I can't use the xp computer... Any ideas on what's the problem? My computer? :/
          Try downloading .net 4.0 and if it still doesn't work try downloading the older versions of .net framework...
          __________________
            #22855    
          Old September 29th, 2012 (5:32 PM).
          PokemonMasters's Avatar
          PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
          Always Remember Forever&After
             
            Join Date: Jun 2012
            Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 403
            if your using the day and night system, and its night time, is it possible to make light to come up through some spaces? (like windows and lamps)
            __________________

            +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
              #22856    
            Old September 29th, 2012 (5:46 PM).
            shinyabsol1's Avatar
            shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
            Pokemon DarkJasper!?
               
              Join Date: Aug 2010
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 330
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by MrSandman64
              @shinyabsol1:Thanks for the response but how would I go about doing that?
              Open the .raw file in a hex editor, go to the bottom, and make a new row of 16 00s. Save. Then insert the .raw.

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by PokemonMasters
              if your using the day and night system, and its night time, is it possible to make light to come up through some spaces? (like windows and lamps)
              Yes. There is a tutorial in the tutorial section (by Wesley FG, I believe) on how to do this.
                #22857    
              Old September 29th, 2012 (6:07 PM).
              Felgrand89 Felgrand89 is offline
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 15
                Is there any other way to change the original name of a pokemon inn Platinum version, because PPRE is not working for me.
                  #22858    
                Old September 29th, 2012 (6:36 PM).
                Circaoffire's Avatar
                Circaoffire Circaoffire is offline
                Clueless Scripter :/
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 48
                  I was wondering how I would go about making the night cycle the only cycle in my ROM hack of Fire Red w/JPAN's patch. Would it require ASM, XSE, or just simply hex editing? I can try and go from there. Thanks in advance!
                    #22859    
                  Old September 29th, 2012 (9:14 PM).
                  PokemonMasters's Avatar
                  PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                  Always Remember Forever&After
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2012
                    Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 403
                    How do you make pokemon appear that arent in grass? like your in a forest and theirs no grass but when you walk wild pokemon appear.
                    __________________

                    +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                      #22860    
                    Old September 29th, 2012 (10:12 PM).
                    itman itman is offline
                    Back to ROM hacking. :D
                       
                      Join Date: May 2007
                      Age: 23
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 100
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
                      How do you make pokemon appear that arent in grass? like your in a forest and theirs no grass but when you walk wild pokemon appear.
                      Go to block editor.

                      Click the tile you want to have the wild pokemon effect on.

                      Ctrl + Right click on the blocks to take the whole thing.

                      Click on an empty tile and and paste, to make a copy of that tile.

                      Put Behavior Bytes: 02 02

                      Put Background byte 00 01

                      Click save block.
                        #22861    
                      Old September 29th, 2012 (10:52 PM). Edited September 29th, 2012 by AtecainCorp..
                      AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
                      AtecainCorp. AtecainCorp. is offline
                      Rejishan awake...
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2008
                        Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
                        Age: 24
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Hardy
                        Posts: 1,245
                        Game - Pokemon Ruby
                        Task - How add new Pokedex Entries for 27 empty Pokemon Slots... I know how add new Pokemon to that slots... But when I catch them i have crash becouse those Pokemons do not have Pokedex Entries... Some one can help me with this?

                        " How do you make pokemon appear that arent in grass? like your in a forest and theirs no grass but when you walk wild pokemon appear. "

                        You can do it easier PokemonMaster... Go to Advanced Map and in the FOREST click in the Map Detalis... In there change type from Road to Cave... And presto... Pokemon start atacking you during walking throught forest without grass.
                        __________________
                        - My new Project comming Soon
                          #22862    
                        Old September 29th, 2012 (11:19 PM).
                        miksy91's Avatar
                        miksy91 miksy91 is offline
                        Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2008
                          Location: A small country in the North
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 1,435
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by DaleH771 View Post
                          Ive tested Johtomap as a map and event editor for a Pokemon Silver ROM, I like the tool, its amazing for map editing.

                          However, I face a few issues, such as Map name changing (To a custom name), some issues with tileset editing but the main problem is events. I do not know how to add my own events and ARGH.

                          Is there an alternative to Johtomap people can link me to please? I searched but can't find anything... Cheers!
                          Johtomap supports doing most stuff and is actually the best map editor out for Gold and Silver. I do things such as changing area names with a hex editor along with all the event data editing which I just finish with Johtomap.

                          If you're going to make an overhaul of G/S, you're going to have to learn to deal with lots of "problems" you wouldn't run into when hacking 3rd gen games (such as space for writing data and such). I've made several video tutorials in youtube so you may want to check them out (others in skeetendo inc. have said they're good so I could as well favour them to you too).
                          __________________
                          My Rom Hack



                          Fixing bugs in a ROM hack
                          CP of encountered pokemon in GO

                          Learn how to hack GB/C games:

                          Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
                          -The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
                            #22863    
                          Old September 30th, 2012 (12:01 AM).
                          AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
                          AtecainCorp. AtecainCorp. is offline
                          Rejishan awake...
                             
                            Join Date: Jun 2008
                            Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Hardy
                            Posts: 1,245
                            miksy91... I have for you question... How Add 4 new Pokemon, and Edit sprites on Pokemon Silver... I want make DEMAKE of my project named POKEMON DIRTY SUN <In GBC version that should called Pokemon Dirt>
                            __________________
                            - My new Project comming Soon
                              #22864    
                            Old September 30th, 2012 (4:35 PM).
                            mewmasterify's Avatar
                            mewmasterify mewmasterify is offline
                            Actual Mew
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2011
                              Location: Faraway Island
                              Age: 17
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 71
                              is it possible to make the Pokemon game where you can choose a Hard Mode or Easy Mode like what they did on Black 2 and White 2?
                              __________________
                                #22865    
                              Old September 30th, 2012 (5:48 PM).
                              Renegade's Avatar
                              Renegade Renegade is offline
                              Time for real life...
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2011
                                Location: United States
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Careful
                                Posts: 998
                                I have a question. Hope someone can answer!

                                What is the size of the Pokemon Fire Red background? Thanks for your time in advance!
                                  #22866    
                                Old September 30th, 2012 (6:40 PM).
                                awipe1's Avatar
                                awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 215
                                  I was wondering if anyone could teach me how to make in gametrade scripts.
                                  I'm pretty decent at scripting, I wouldn't call myself advanced but I know the use of variables and flags and such yada yada yada. So if you are able to teach me how to make in game trades, I would love it =) Or if you could send me to a tutorial that shows that kinda stuff too that would be awesome! =)
                                    #22867    
                                  Old September 30th, 2012 (9:00 PM).
                                  KingEddy's Avatar
                                  KingEddy KingEddy is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Feb 2012
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 4
                                    Hi guys, Im working on my first Rom hack ever, anyway my question is how to a make it so the player can only pick one starter from prof oak. Also I wish for there to be just one pokeball on the table. Im using a Fire Red rom
                                      #22868    
                                    Old September 30th, 2012 (9:30 PM).
                                    Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                                    Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                                    Memento Mori
                                    • Gold Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                                    Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                                    Age: 24
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Calm
                                    Posts: 14,477
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by mewmasterify View Post
                                    is it possible to make the Pokemon game where you can choose a Hard Mode or Easy Mode like what they did on Black 2 and White 2?
                                    Actually... that's possible... It would reduce the number of trainers, though...
                                    My point is that you can make event at the beginning and let players choose which mode they want. If they want Hard mode, then set a specific flag you will check everytime trainer will be about to battle. If it's set, player will battle a harder version of trainer.
                                    As I said, it would reduce the number of trainers because each trainer would have to have 1 "clone" which would be the harder version of him/herself.
                                    __________________
                                    ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                                    Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                                      #22869    
                                    Old October 1st, 2012 (1:35 AM).
                                    suryabharat's Avatar
                                    suryabharat suryabharat is offline
                                    Koolbuddy85
                                       
                                      Join Date: Sep 2012
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 6
                                      I was searching all over internet for something which i cant find till now

                                      My aim is to add new trainers to a GBA Rom that means creat a new trainer ID like leaving all the default trainer IDs unchanged.

                                      It would be grateful if somebody replied.
                                        #22870    
                                      Old October 1st, 2012 (4:10 AM).
                                      awipe1's Avatar
                                      awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Aug 2012
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 215
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by suryabharat View Post
                                        I was searching all over internet for something which i cant find till now

                                        My aim is to add new trainers to a GBA Rom that means creat a new trainer ID like leaving all the default trainer IDs unchanged.

                                        It would be grateful if somebody replied.
                                        I think what you want is advanced trainer
                                          #22871    
                                        Old October 1st, 2012 (5:45 AM).
                                        suryabharat's Avatar
                                        suryabharat suryabharat is offline
                                        Koolbuddy85
                                           
                                          Join Date: Sep 2012
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 6
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
                                          I think what you want is advanced trainer

                                          Thankx awipe1 but I know how to update the trainer with new trainer spirite and replace the existing trainer ID with new trainer.

                                          What I want is, if u have say 300 trainers already in the Rom and no empty trainer ID slots now I want couple of extra trainers say 5 so total 305 trainers with their different trainer IDs. The better example is Emerald Rom which has no empty trainer ID slots where I want new trainers to be added to the Rom.

                                          Can any one help me out with solution.
                                            #22872    
                                          Old October 1st, 2012 (7:49 AM).
                                          Nick20Haunter Nick20Haunter is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Sep 2012
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 2
                                            well now im aware that theif only allows you to keep the item in a wild pokemon battle i need to make it so it keeps the item in trainer battles too. how can i make this possible for fire red?
                                              #22873    
                                            Old October 1st, 2012 (9:37 AM).
                                            Jambo51's Avatar
                                            Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
                                            Glory To Arstotzka
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jun 2009
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Quiet
                                              Posts: 732
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by suryabharat View Post
                                              I was searching all over internet for something which i cant find till now

                                              My aim is to add new trainers to a GBA Rom that means creat a new trainer ID like leaving all the default trainer IDs unchanged.

                                              It would be grateful if somebody replied.
                                              There's no easy way to do it, since the Trainers use up flags in memory, and adding any extra Trainers means the new Trainers' flags clash with standard flags used by the game.

                                              They need to be repointed for them to work, and that, my friend, requires a lot of ASM, and, what's more, is that ASM is unreliable at best *Bashes own code*
                                              __________________
                                              Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                                                #22874    
                                              Old October 1st, 2012 (11:20 AM).
                                              suryabharat's Avatar
                                              suryabharat suryabharat is offline
                                              Koolbuddy85
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Sep 2012
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 6
                                                Thank-you Jambo51 for giving this information I am new to hacking rom and now knowing that its little difficult right way to get into ASM stuff as u said I will skip this for time being ...
                                                  #22875    
                                                Old October 1st, 2012 (1:59 PM).
                                                Felgrand89 Felgrand89 is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Aug 2012
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Posts: 15
                                                  Is there any other way to change the original name of a pokemon inn Platinum version, because PPRE is not working for me.
                                                  Closed Thread
                                                  Quick Reply

                                                  Sponsored Links
                                                  Thread Tools

                                                  Posting Rules
                                                  You may not post new threads
                                                  You may not post replies
                                                  You may not post attachments
                                                  You may not edit your posts

                                                  BB code is On
                                                  Smilies are On
                                                  [IMG] code is On
                                                  HTML code is Off

                                                  Forum Jump


                                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:22 PM.