ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22926    
Old October 12th, 2012 (1:11 AM). Edited October 12th, 2012 by Dylanrockin.
Dylanrockin's Avatar
Dylanrockin Dylanrockin is offline
That guy
     
    Join Date: May 2011
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Timid
    Posts: 277
    I'm having troubles editing Pokemon Trainers, A-Trainer keeps giving me the "Subscript out of range" bs, and PET sometimes wont let me fully edit the Pokemon, and by that I mean it wont let me edit their movesets, and abilities. For example: I hover over the moves that the Pokemon can learn, and the scroll bar does not appear.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    This is the specific problem: Subscript out of range [email protected]
    Someone said it had something to do with sprites, first off I disagree, because I ran this on a clean rom, and it did not matter at all.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #22927    
    Old October 12th, 2012 (7:44 AM).
    raging-inferno-1986 raging-inferno-1986 is offline
       
      Join Date: Jul 2012
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 21
      Hi, does anyone know of a Fire Red patch with full decapitalisation (one that includes the scripts)?

      Thank you.
        #22928    
      Old October 12th, 2012 (8:07 AM).
      .parado✗'s Avatar
      .parado✗ .parado✗ is offline
      paranormal user
         
        Join Date: Sep 2012
        Location: Ha✗land
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Gentle
        Posts: 38
        Only for the german firered on board.romresources.net
        But you can easily do it in 3 Steps.
        1: Take Amplifier, open the name changer and export the item/pokemon/whatever list.

        2:Open Excel or Openoffice and change all letters except the first of each line. In both there is a function for it.

        3: Import the list with amplifier and click "patch".

        Then you are finished!
        __________________
        If you are interested in a german romhacker forum, go to

        www.board.romresources.net

        I'm registered under the name: "Laz0r" there.
          #22929    
        Old October 12th, 2012 (8:43 AM).
        itman itman is offline
        Back to ROM hacking. :D
           
          Join Date: May 2007
          Age: 23
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 100
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by raging-inferno-1986 View Post
          Hi, does anyone know of a Fire Red patch with full decapitalisation (one that includes the scripts)?

          Thank you.
          Look in the Rom Hacking Resources thread, I'm pretty sure somebody posted one a while ago. But doing it yourself doesn't take as long as you would think.

          YAPE to decapitalize the pokemon names.
          Download "Move Editor" which has an option to decapitalize all the moves for you.
          A-text for things such as "RUN" and "FIGHT"
          Item editors can easily do the items.
          This way you can modify it without the possibility of your work being messed up...
            #22930    
          Old October 12th, 2012 (9:50 AM).
          PunsAreFun PunsAreFun is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2012
            Posts: 13
            Hey all, my friend and I both use emulators to play fire red. They have macs and their speed up maxes out around 200% while my pc version and almost touch 1000%. Is there a way to allow there's to be as fast as mine? What causes the difference?
              #22931    
            Old October 12th, 2012 (9:52 AM).
            Spherical Ice's Avatar
            Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Nov 2007
            Location: Bristol, UK
            Age: 19
            Posts: 5,235
            Try turning the sound off; not muting it, but turning it off. Though it may depend on your computer's specs etc.
            __________________

            A Pokemon that is discriminated!
            Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
              #22932    
            Old October 12th, 2012 (10:11 AM).
            LugiaMZ's Avatar
            LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
               
              Join Date: Dec 2011
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 74
              I have a quick question, when I use overworld editor to import my Raichu sprite and I checked import sprite and import pallet, but after import my imported Raichu colour are diffrent with my original Raichu sprite, for example : before


              After:


              Can everyone say with me what happen is this? I already checked import pallet but why same pallet is not same of my Raichu?

              Thanks.
              Attached Images
              File Type: png dif.PNG‎ (398 Bytes, 65 views) (Save to Dropbox)
              File Type: png orgn.png‎ (408 Bytes, 65 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                #22933    
              Old October 13th, 2012 (12:30 AM).
              Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
              Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
              Memento Mori
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Jul 2008
              Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
              Age: 25
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 14,508
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by LugiaMZ View Post
              I have a quick question, when I use overworld editor to import my Raichu sprite and I checked import sprite and import pallet, but after import my imported Raichu colour are diffrent with my original Raichu sprite, for example : before


              After:


              Can everyone say with me what happen is this? I already checked import pallet but why same pallet is not same of my Raichu?

              Thanks.
              I don't exactly know what are you asking but if you are asking why the OW changes when you import the original Raichu it's because you're importing Raichu without the new pallete.
              You don't have many palletes, though so I would be careful with importing palletes
              .
              __________________
              ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

              Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                #22934    
              Old October 13th, 2012 (4:44 AM).
              MrSandman64's Avatar
              MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
              Pokemon Moon Creator
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2012
                Location: Massachusetts
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 28
                Can someone help?

                I've inserted my Prof. sprite in the intro and for some reason these pixels apeared on him.Cedar Intro.PNG


                Also when he releases the pokeball the whole screen flashes white for a second instead of just those little yellow lines appearing.intro problem.PNG
                Thanks in advance for the help
                  #22935    
                Old October 13th, 2012 (5:08 AM).
                Skara's Avatar
                Skara Skara is offline
                THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                  Location: Manchester, England
                  Age: 22
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Timid
                  Posts: 350
                  OK, I want to import overworld sprites for some 5th Gen Pokemon into a FireRed rom. How do I do it? I have Overworld Editor but I run into all sorts of problems.
                  I also need to know how to replace a trainer sprite?
                  __________________
                  I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                    #22936    
                  Old October 13th, 2012 (6:52 AM).
                  Lugia_Da_Boss's Avatar
                  Lugia_Da_Boss Lugia_Da_Boss is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2012
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 78
                    I'm having problems with Advanced Text. I can't delete text from the game. So far all attempts at it have just led to the text being removed from Advanced Text but still being ingame. So, how do I properly delete text? Do I just remove all the text from one of those files things(like "Rival 1") instead of deleting the file? Or would that cause a blank textbox to appear ingame?
                      #22937    
                    Old October 13th, 2012 (8:34 AM).
                    Rumille's Avatar
                    Rumille Rumille is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2012
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 72
                      So, I'm using the JPAN Hacked Engine for Fire Red. Mainly, because I need to use his Runtime Trainer Customization function. I kinda figured out how it works through the .doc, but I have a problem with the way it works. I used the Overworld Editor - Rebirth Edition to edit the basic hero sprites (hero standing and hero walking). I figured that by the time I use my Runtime Trainer Customization script, I still don't have my Running Shoes, Bike, VS Seeker or Fishing Rod, so why change those sprites. I wanted to use the first command (Setvar 0x4054) to change my walking/standing Hero to the original look. I would change the look of a random NPC to that of the original Hero, so that when I use the 'Setvar 0x4054' command, my hero would have the original look again. To pre-test it, I just used the 'Setvar 0x4054'-command on a random NPC. I gave myself the Running Shoes, to see how it would look. When I went outside and ran, I didn't get the old Hero look though, it was the random NPC 'gliding'. No running animation, just the basic standing sprite moving through the screen.

                      How can I get it to work that I start the game with my 'new' Hero look, then have the command change my appearance, so that the rest of the game I look like the old/normal Hero?
                        #22938    
                      Old October 13th, 2012 (9:04 AM).
                      itman itman is offline
                      Back to ROM hacking. :D
                         
                        Join Date: May 2007
                        Age: 23
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 100
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Rumille View Post
                        So, I'm using the JPAN Hacked Engine for Fire Red. Mainly, because I need to use his Runtime Trainer Customization function. I kinda figured out how it works through the .doc, but I have a problem with the way it works. I used the Overworld Editor - Rebirth Edition to edit the basic hero sprites (hero standing and hero walking). I figured that by the time I use my Runtime Trainer Customization script, I still don't have my Running Shoes, Bike, VS Seeker or Fishing Rod, so why change those sprites. I wanted to use the first command (Setvar 0x4054) to change my walking/standing Hero to the original look. I would change the look of a random NPC to that of the original Hero, so that when I use the 'Setvar 0x4054' command, my hero would have the original look again. To pre-test it, I just used the 'Setvar 0x4054'-command on a random NPC. I gave myself the Running Shoes, to see how it would look. When I went outside and ran, I didn't get the old Hero look though, it was the random NPC 'gliding'. No running animation, just the basic standing sprite moving through the screen.

                        How can I get it to work that I start the game with my 'new' Hero look, then have the command change my appearance, so that the rest of the game I look like the old/normal Hero?
                        Two ways you could do this. (Second is better)

                        One would be to make the "original" hero (OW #0) you're edited hero so you start out with it automatically, and then change it to the normal one when you want.

                        Second, if you want to keep hero #0 the original OW (for reasons such as when you're naming your character, this is the one that shows up, etc...actualy this option is better), make the first map you go to a black screen that covers the player (Edit one of the tiles in any palette to include a black tile that isn't a background). Then make a level script in that black map that will setvar 0x4054 0x0 and then warp you to your original starting map, and then continue from there.

                        Since JPAN's hack doesn't work with Start Map Chooser Advance, I would just Map 4.1 (starting map) the black map, and then just edit the map that was there to another one (CTRL + right click for grosser block so you can completely copy the old map).
                          #22939    
                        Old October 13th, 2012 (9:29 AM).
                        Rumille's Avatar
                        Rumille Rumille is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2012
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 72
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by itman View Post
                          Two ways you could do this. (Second is better)

                          One would be to make the "original" hero (OW #0) you're edited hero so you start out with it automatically, and then change it to the normal one when you want.

                          Second, if you want to keep hero #0 the original OW (for reasons such as when you're naming your character, this is the one that shows up, etc...actualy this option is better), make the first map you go to a black screen that covers the player (Edit one of the tiles in any palette to include a black tile that isn't a background). Then make a level script in that black map that will setvar 0x4054 0x0 and then warp you to your original starting map, and then continue from there.

                          Since JPAN's hack doesn't work with Start Map Chooser Advance, I would just Map 4.1 (starting map) the black map, and then just edit the map that was there to another one (CTRL + right click for grosser block so you can completely copy the old map).
                          I tried the first way, but that caused the problem of my Hero 'gliding' after using setvar. The running sprites didn't copy, since (when you use Overworld Editor you'll see it very well) most OW-sprites don't have the running animation programmed. The second way could work, I kinda thought of that (the use the script before anything else-method), but didn't really knew how. Using black tiles seems like a good idea.

                          And SMCA doesn't work with JPAN's hack, but I already knew which map was going to be the starter map, so I first used SMCA, thén JPAN's hack. Seems to work.

                          I'll try your method, I'll let you know if it worked.
                            #22940    
                          Old October 13th, 2012 (9:36 AM).
                          LugiaMZ's Avatar
                          LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2011
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 74
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
                            I don't exactly know what are you asking but if you are asking why the OW changes when you import the original Raichu it's because you're importing Raichu without the new pallete.
                            You don't have many palletes, though so I would be careful with importing palletes.
                            After I import the original Raichu to my rom, it's became the after Raichu at my rom, I wonder is the Rom missing some palletes? If it I can add palletes to the Rom?

                            P.S. Sorry for my bad english, Thanks.
                              #22941    
                            Old October 13th, 2012 (11:56 AM).
                            itman itman is offline
                            Back to ROM hacking. :D
                               
                              Join Date: May 2007
                              Age: 23
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 100
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by LugiaMZ View Post
                              After I import the original Raichu to my rom, it's became the after Raichu at my rom, I wonder is the Rom missing some palletes? If it I can add palletes to the Rom?

                              P.S. Sorry for my bad english, Thanks.
                              Use NSE (the older version).
                              Import the palette and the not the image.
                              Go to Edit>Palette and look at the first color (top left).
                              Change that to the background color and change the background color wherever that is with the color you just replaced (example, if 0000 was in the top left, and the intended background is C439, swap the two wherever they may be. So the first color would be C439 and the old C439 becomes 0000).
                              Export the blank image with that palette.
                              Open that up in paint.
                              Post your Raichu in it.
                              Then re import.

                              BY THE WAY if you are using Windows 7, the new paint does NOT support indexed images. If you want to know how to put the old version of paint on your computer, ask me (since it's impossible to do any of this with Windows 7 paint).
                                #22942    
                              Old October 13th, 2012 (12:03 PM).
                              Skara's Avatar
                              Skara Skara is offline
                              THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2008
                                Location: Manchester, England
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Timid
                                Posts: 350
                                If I patch the hacked engine to my almost fully edited rom, will anything terrible happen?
                                __________________
                                I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                                  #22943    
                                Old October 13th, 2012 (12:59 PM).
                                Lugia_Da_Boss's Avatar
                                Lugia_Da_Boss Lugia_Da_Boss is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 78
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Skara View Post
                                  If I patch the hacked engine to my almost fully edited rom, will anything terrible happen?
                                  Best way to find out is to make a copy of your rom and patch the copy.
                                    #22944    
                                  Old October 13th, 2012 (8:00 PM).
                                  itman itman is offline
                                  Back to ROM hacking. :D
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2007
                                    Age: 23
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 100
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Skara View Post
                                    If I patch the hacked engine to my almost fully edited rom, will anything terrible happen?
                                    Just use the tool included and pick the space it wants you to use. That's what it was made for.
                                      #22945    
                                    Old October 13th, 2012 (8:12 PM).
                                    tajaros's Avatar
                                    tajaros tajaros is offline
                                    Hi I'm dawg
                                       
                                      Join Date: Apr 2012
                                      Location: Philippines
                                      Age: 18
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Timid
                                      Posts: 857
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Skara View Post
                                      If I patch the hacked engine to my almost fully edited rom, will anything terrible happen?
                                      No, nothing horrible will happen the only thing that will happen is all the old scripts from FireRed will be gone but, as for everything else nothing bad will happen... But, you may be using the old scripts so it's best to keep a backup of your Rom. Just In Case you don't like the result...
                                      __________________
                                        #22946    
                                      Old October 14th, 2012 (4:40 AM). Edited October 14th, 2012 by Rumille.
                                      Rumille's Avatar
                                      Rumille Rumille is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Feb 2012
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 72
                                        Is there a good Hex editing for Pokemon Fire Red tutorial out there? Want to get it all figured out.

                                        I remember reading a post here which explained perfectly how to use pointers in Hex Editor (changing 900000 to 00 00 90 08 or something like that for example).
                                          #22947    
                                        Old October 14th, 2012 (5:15 AM).
                                        Lugia_Da_Boss's Avatar
                                        Lugia_Da_Boss Lugia_Da_Boss is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2012
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 78
                                          How do I delete text in Advanced Text without leaving a blank textbox in game where the text used to be?
                                            #22948    
                                          Old October 14th, 2012 (6:39 AM).
                                          LugiaMZ's Avatar
                                          LugiaMZ LugiaMZ is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Dec 2011
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 74
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by itman View Post
                                            Use NSE (the older version).
                                            Import the palette and the not the image.
                                            Go to Edit>Palette and look at the first color (top left).
                                            Change that to the background color and change the background color wherever that is with the color you just replaced (example, if 0000 was in the top left, and the intended background is C439, swap the two wherever they may be. So the first color would be C439 and the old C439 becomes 0000).
                                            Export the blank image with that palette.
                                            Open that up in paint.
                                            Post your Raichu in it.
                                            Then re import.

                                            BY THE WAY if you are using Windows 7, the new paint does NOT support indexed images. If you want to know how to put the old version of paint on your computer, ask me (since it's impossible to do any of this with Windows 7 paint).
                                            Thanks you ! Finally I fixed this problem, thanks.
                                              #22949    
                                            Old October 14th, 2012 (6:55 AM).
                                            miksy91's Avatar
                                            miksy91 miksy91 is offline
                                            Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
                                               
                                              Join Date: Oct 2008
                                              Location: A small country in the North
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Relaxed
                                              Posts: 1,438
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by Rumille View Post
                                              Is there a good Hex editing for Pokemon Fire Red tutorial out there? Want to get it all figured out.

                                              I remember reading a post here which explained perfectly how to use pointers in Hex Editor (changing 900000 to 00 00 90 08 or something like that for example).
                                              Here is a simple explanation of how GBA pointers work:
                                              http://datacrystal.romhacking.net/wiki/Pointer#Game_Boy_Advance_Pointers

                                              What you also want to know that the pointers in every GBA pokemon game are little-endian. Not sure whether I should link you directly into that tutorial but whatever. If moderators happen to remove the link, search "datacrystal pointer" through google.
                                              __________________
                                              My Rom Hack



                                              Fixing bugs in a ROM hack
                                              CP of encountered pokemon in GO

                                              Learn how to hack GB/C games:

                                              Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
                                              -The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
                                                #22950    
                                              Old October 14th, 2012 (12:10 PM).
                                              Andrut's Avatar
                                              Andrut Andrut is offline
                                              Collecting dust since 1898
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Dec 2009
                                                Location: Warsaw, Poland
                                                Age: 19
                                                Posts: 286
                                                What's the palette offset for this box in the battle screen [in Emerald]?

                                                Also, is there a different way to change the regional Dex in Emerald and Fire Red than changing the National Dex? It makes the descriptions switch up.
                                                Closed Thread

                                                Quick Reply

                                                Join the conversation!

                                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                Sponsored Links
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:37 AM.