ROM Hacking Help Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22826    
Old October 19th, 2012 (5:44 AM).
Krika Krika is offline
     
    Join Date: Oct 2011
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 16
    When I try and load my Emerald ROM in A-Trainer, I get an error message saying "Subscript is out of range - DrawTile8@ModLZ77", and then I can't proceed any farther? This is the first time that this has happened when I've used it, so I'm not sure what the issue is. It isn't just my modified ROM, a clean one gets the same message.

    Also, the Bug.txt file gets this printed out into it: "20121016|224113|6.1.7601|0.9.1|DrawTile8|9|modLZ77|Subscript out of range|4" if that helps identify the problem.

    This is kinda a big deal, so if someone could help me fix this, I'd really appreciate it.
      #22827    
    Old October 19th, 2012 (10:36 AM).
    MrSandman64's Avatar
    MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
    Pokemon Moon Creator
       
      Join Date: Jul 2012
      Location: Massachusetts
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 28
      How do you change the cry in the fire red title screen (when you press start)
        #22828    
      Old October 19th, 2012 (12:46 PM).
      Renegade's Avatar
      Renegade Renegade is offline
      Time for real life...
         
        Join Date: Nov 2011
        Location: United States
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Careful
        Posts: 998
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by MrSandman64 View Post
        How do you change the cry in the fire red title screen (when you press start)
        Use a little somethin' called Title Screen Cry Changer:

        http://www.mediafire.com/?7n5uje5bh3nh946
          #22829    
        Old October 19th, 2012 (3:22 PM).
        awipe1's Avatar
        awipe1 awipe1 is offline
           
          Join Date: Aug 2012
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 215
          Is there a way to create new routes in advanced map?
          I have routes 1-25 but when I create a new map and give it a new route, it will just change the name of the map that I originally used.
          Can someone give me very detailed instructions on how to create a new route. Please and thank you.
          __________________
          Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
            #22830    
          Old October 19th, 2012 (3:41 PM).
          itman itman is offline
          Back to ROM hacking. :D
             
            Join Date: May 2007
            Age: 24
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 100
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
            Is there a way to create new routes in advanced map?
            I have routes 1-25 but when I create a new map and give it a new route, it will just change the name of the map that I originally used.
            Can someone give me very detailed instructions on how to create a new route. Please and thank you.
            Are you trying to add more routes, as in route#26, or trying to just make a new route in general?

            For the names, you can only replace the names; you can't add more. So if you wanted to make a "Route 26", you'd have to change that map to an existing name, and then edit that name. So if you changed it to, let's say "Tanoby Ruins" and then edited it to say "Route 26", that name will now permanently be "Route 26" for any map using the old "Tanoby Ruins" name.
              #22831    
            Old October 19th, 2012 (7:38 PM).
            awipe1's Avatar
            awipe1 awipe1 is offline
               
              Join Date: Aug 2012
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 215
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by itman View Post
              Are you trying to add more routes, as in route#26, or trying to just make a new route in general?

              For the names, you can only replace the names; you can't add more. So if you wanted to make a "Route 26", you'd have to change that map to an existing name, and then edit that name. So if you changed it to, let's say "Tanoby Ruins" and then edited it to say "Route 26", that name will now permanently be "Route 26" for any map using the old "Tanoby Ruins" name.
              Oh there is no possible way to add mroe? =(
              __________________
              Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
                #22832    
              Old October 19th, 2012 (11:34 PM).
              IamInnocent's Avatar
              IamInnocent IamInnocent is offline
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2012
                Location: Internetz :D
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quirky
                Posts: 8
                Hi there, I'm not an experienced hacker so I'm here to ask some questions:

                1. Is it possible to edit/hack the Intro script in Pokemon Ruby so that rather than choosing you are a boy or girl and insert your name, you get to answer some personality questions or choose where you want to start off and stuff.
                2. Is it possible to add Emerald's 2v2 trainer spotting system to Pokemon Ruby?
                3. Is it possible to make Pokemon Ruby to choose custom character's appearance in the intro section? Like Yu-Gi-Oh! 5ds World Championship 2011 Over the Nexus that you are able to choose multiple character features.
                  #22833    
                Old October 20th, 2012 (12:03 AM).
                Skara's Avatar
                Skara Skara is offline
                THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                  Location: Manchester, England
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Timid
                  Posts: 350
                  OK, I've added Johto leaders in my hack as trainers on Five Island. I want the champion music to play when you battle them. How do I do that? At the moment it plays the standard battle theme.
                  __________________
                  I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                    #22834    
                  Old October 20th, 2012 (3:44 AM).
                  PokemonMasters's Avatar
                  PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                  Always Remember Forever&After
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2012
                    Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 403
                    i need help. first go to tools. then click save block palette picture and save it. how do i import that to a new rom?
                    __________________

                    +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                      #22835    
                    Old October 20th, 2012 (6:11 AM).
                    MrSandman64's Avatar
                    MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
                    Pokemon Moon Creator
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2012
                      Location: Massachusetts
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 28
                      I edited Pallet Town and removed all the person events from the outside map
                      and for some reason whenever I add a new overworld onto the map they always apear on the same spot on the map even if I place them on the other side of the map in advance map
                      can someone help?
                        #22836    
                      Old October 20th, 2012 (7:07 AM).
                      itman itman is offline
                      Back to ROM hacking. :D
                         
                        Join Date: May 2007
                        Age: 24
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 100
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Skara View Post
                        OK, I've added Johto leaders in my hack as trainers on Five Island. I want the champion music to play when you battle them. How do I do that? At the moment it plays the standard battle theme.
                        The trainer class needs to be set to "Champion".

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
                        i need help. first go to tools. then click save block palette picture and save it. how do i import that to a new rom?
                        I'm confused as to whawt you're asking. If you want to save a tileset, you click save tileset 0 or 1, and to load them, you click load tileset 0 or 1.

                        For blocks, it's the same thing. There's a load block button right next to the save block button.

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by MrSandman64 View Post
                        I edited Pallet Town and removed all the person events from the outside map
                        and for some reason whenever I add a new overworld onto the map they always apear on the same spot on the map even if I place them on the other side of the map in advance map
                        can someone help?
                        A-map sometimes messes up with that. Close it, reopen it, and try again. It also does it a lot when another tool is open using the same ROM, specifically a hex editor.
                          #22837    
                        Old October 20th, 2012 (8:35 AM).
                        MrSandman64's Avatar
                        MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
                        Pokemon Moon Creator
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2012
                          Location: Massachusetts
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 28
                          I tried it and it diddnt work also I should add that the person number is faded even when I add a new person
                            #22838    
                          Old October 20th, 2012 (10:50 AM).
                          Skara's Avatar
                          Skara Skara is offline
                          THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2008
                            Location: Manchester, England
                            Age: 23
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Timid
                            Posts: 350
                            How do I make it so more than one trainer class can have gym leader music or champion music?
                            __________________
                            I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                              #22839    
                            Old October 20th, 2012 (12:05 PM).
                            PokemonMasters's Avatar
                            PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                            Always Remember Forever&After
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2012
                              Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Calm
                              Posts: 403
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by itman View Post

                              I'm confused as to whawt you're asking. If you want to save a tileset, you click save tileset 0 or 1, and to load them, you click load tileset 0 or 1.

                              For blocks, it's the same thing. There's a load block button right next to the save block button.
                              If I try to load the block for tileset number 2 A-Map crashes... how do I not make it crash?
                              __________________

                              +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                                #22840    
                              Old October 20th, 2012 (6:39 PM).
                              YogiBerra YogiBerra is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2010
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 48
                                Does anybody know how to add new TMs, over existing items perhaps, or just new TMs in general? Thank you.
                                  #22841    
                                Old October 20th, 2012 (6:42 PM). Edited October 20th, 2012 by PokemonMasters.
                                PokemonMasters's Avatar
                                PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                                Always Remember Forever&After
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2012
                                  Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 403
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by YogiBerra View Post
                                  Does anybody know how to add new TMs, over existing items perhaps, or just new TMs in general? Thank you.
                                  check this his thread : http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7374717#post7374717

                                  i need help. whenever i try to import the block for tileset 2 it crashes :( help?
                                  __________________

                                  +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                                    #22842    
                                  Old October 21st, 2012 (2:01 AM).
                                  DisesioN's Avatar
                                  DisesioN DisesioN is offline
                                  Most powerful pokemon trainer
                                     
                                    Join Date: Mar 2012
                                    Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
                                    Age: 21
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Gentle
                                    Posts: 21
                                    What I should do? I can't insert tiles because they became nothing.

                                    __________________
                                    This signature has been disabled.
                                    Exceeding width limit
                                    Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                                    You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                                    Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                                      #22843    
                                    Old October 21st, 2012 (10:56 AM). Edited October 21st, 2012 by Hacker Bisharp.
                                    Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
                                    Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
                                    Bug reporter
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2011
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Gentle
                                      Posts: 334
                                      How do I change this? http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/96/1350465464.png/
                                      help please :(
                                      __________________
                                      Hacks I support:

                                      And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

                                        #22844    
                                      Old October 21st, 2012 (11:40 AM).
                                      Renegade's Avatar
                                      Renegade Renegade is offline
                                      Time for real life...
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2011
                                        Location: United States
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Careful
                                        Posts: 998
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Hacker Bisharp View Post
                                        The link is broken. Maybe you can explain your problem?
                                          #22845    
                                        Old October 21st, 2012 (11:56 AM).
                                        Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
                                        Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
                                        Bug reporter
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2011
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Gentle
                                          Posts: 334
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                                          The link is broken. Maybe you can explain your problem?
                                          I have corrected the link.
                                          __________________
                                          Hacks I support:

                                          And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

                                            #22846    
                                          Old October 21st, 2012 (1:42 PM).
                                          Skara's Avatar
                                          Skara Skara is offline
                                          THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                                             
                                            Join Date: Dec 2008
                                            Location: Manchester, England
                                            Age: 23
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Timid
                                            Posts: 350
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by Skara View Post
                                            How do I make it so more than one trainer class can have gym leader music or champion music?
                                            This question has yet to be answered.
                                            __________________
                                            I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                                              #22847    
                                            Old October 21st, 2012 (1:58 PM).
                                            Renegade's Avatar
                                            Renegade Renegade is offline
                                            Time for real life...
                                               
                                              Join Date: Nov 2011
                                              Location: United States
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Careful
                                              Posts: 998
                                              I have a question. Hope someone can answer.

                                              In the Black Editor tab on Advanced Map, what is the difference between the Picture and the Block tab?
                                              __________________
                                                #22848    
                                              Old October 21st, 2012 (2:39 PM).
                                              DrFuji's Avatar
                                              DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                                              Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                                               
                                              Join Date: Sep 2009
                                              Location: Aussie
                                              Age: 25
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Jolly
                                              Posts: 1,489
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by MrSandman64 View Post
                                              I edited Pallet Town and removed all the person events from the outside map
                                              and for some reason whenever I add a new overworld onto the map they always apear on the same spot on the map even if I place them on the other side of the map in advance map
                                              can someone help?
                                              Have you removed all of the level scripts from the map? Pallet Town's level scripts have a few movesprite2 commands in them which are the most likely reason why your sprite appears to be teleporting across the map.

                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by DisesioN View Post
                                              What I should do? I can't insert tiles because they became nothing.

                                              When you're inserting a tile into a tileset they have to match the palette completely or else they appear like your picture. You just have 15 colours with which to make your tiles, any colours beyond that won't function.

                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by Hacker Bisharp View Post
                                              I have corrected the link.
                                              Image is still dead for me :P

                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                                              I have a question. Hope someone can answer.

                                              In the Black Editor tab on Advanced Map, what is the difference between the Picture and the Block tab?
                                              While they look and perform similarly, they perform very different and useful roles. The picture tab allows you to load and save the tileset for editing in something like Paint or Photoshop, while the Block tab saves the 'blockset' which is mainly used within Advance Map itself. A good example to demonstrate what the blockset does is if you wanted to replace one tileset with a completely different tileset (eg replacing FR's default tileset 0 with the one used in the Safari Zone). Once you overwrite tileset 0 you will see that something horrible has happened - While the right-hand box of the block editor looks fine, the left appears to have been in a car crash. It would take quite a while to rebuild the blockset by hand, but it is far easier to go back to the Safari Zone, save its blockset and then overwrite tileset 0's just like you did with the tiles.

                                              I guess you could say that if a tileset was a puzzle, the tiles would be the pieces and the blocks would tell them where to go and how to fit in with everything else; that's the best analogy :P
                                              __________________
                                                #22849    
                                              Old October 22nd, 2012 (4:25 AM).
                                              Platinum Lucario's Avatar
                                              Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
                                              The Legendary Master of <font color="#D8D48C">Light</font>!
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jan 2008
                                              Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
                                              Age: 25
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Calm
                                              Posts: 1,575
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by DisesioN View Post
                                              What I should do? I can't insert tiles because they became nothing.

                                              Yep, as pretty much DrFuji said. So you'll basically need to use MS Paint to make the colours of the tile you inserted the same palette of the tileset image. It may take some trial and error, but here's good way of getting it to match the palettes... is by using the Colour Picker tool in Paint and then use the pencil or paintbucket to fill in those colours of that tile you inserted to match all the other colours in the tileset image.
                                              __________________
                                              [Platinum Lucario's Signature]
                                              If you need to disable my signature, please give me some advice on how to improve the CSS-DIV code. Thanks!
                                              Signature Status: Strikes: 1/3 | Infractions: 0/3
                                              It's time to change the future...
                                              to a positive direction!

                                              Let's prevent things from getting bad!

                                              I'm a ROM and ISO Researcher
                                              Current Project: Researching Pokémon Mystery Dungeon Adventure Squad games (WiiWare)
                                                #22850    
                                              Old October 22nd, 2012 (4:29 PM).
                                              Herpahermaderp's Avatar
                                              Herpahermaderp Herpahermaderp is offline
                                              I liek Mudkipz
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Jul 2012
                                                Location: USA
                                                Age: 20
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Relaxed
                                                Posts: 66
                                                I don't know if this has been asked before, or if it has, if it's been answered, but what is the offset for the ASM routine where you pick your gender and name? I'm making a hack and I want the player to pick their name after a certain event happens.
                                                __________________
                                                Y: Roak || 1177-8023-4387
                                                Closed Thread

                                                Quick Reply

                                                Join the conversation!

                                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:25 AM.