ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23001    
Old October 19th, 2012 (11:34 PM).
IamInnocent's Avatar
IamInnocent IamInnocent is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2012
    Location: Internetz :D
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 8
    Hi there, I'm not an experienced hacker so I'm here to ask some questions:

    1. Is it possible to edit/hack the Intro script in Pokemon Ruby so that rather than choosing you are a boy or girl and insert your name, you get to answer some personality questions or choose where you want to start off and stuff.
    2. Is it possible to add Emerald's 2v2 trainer spotting system to Pokemon Ruby?
    3. Is it possible to make Pokemon Ruby to choose custom character's appearance in the intro section? Like Yu-Gi-Oh! 5ds World Championship 2011 Over the Nexus that you are able to choose multiple character features.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #23002    
    Old October 20th, 2012 (12:03 AM).
    Skara's Avatar
    Skara Skara is offline
    THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Location: Manchester, England
      Age: 22
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Timid
      Posts: 350
      OK, I've added Johto leaders in my hack as trainers on Five Island. I want the champion music to play when you battle them. How do I do that? At the moment it plays the standard battle theme.
      __________________
      I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
        #23003    
      Old October 20th, 2012 (3:44 AM).
      PokemonMasters's Avatar
      PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
      Always Remember Forever&After
         
        Join Date: Jun 2012
        Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 403
        i need help. first go to tools. then click save block palette picture and save it. how do i import that to a new rom?
        __________________

        +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
          #23004    
        Old October 20th, 2012 (6:11 AM).
        MrSandman64's Avatar
        MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
        Pokemon Moon Creator
           
          Join Date: Jul 2012
          Location: Massachusetts
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 28
          I edited Pallet Town and removed all the person events from the outside map
          and for some reason whenever I add a new overworld onto the map they always apear on the same spot on the map even if I place them on the other side of the map in advance map
          can someone help?
            #23005    
          Old October 20th, 2012 (7:07 AM).
          itman itman is offline
          Back to ROM hacking. :D
             
            Join Date: May 2007
            Age: 23
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 100
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Skara View Post
            OK, I've added Johto leaders in my hack as trainers on Five Island. I want the champion music to play when you battle them. How do I do that? At the moment it plays the standard battle theme.
            The trainer class needs to be set to "Champion".

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
            i need help. first go to tools. then click save block palette picture and save it. how do i import that to a new rom?
            I'm confused as to whawt you're asking. If you want to save a tileset, you click save tileset 0 or 1, and to load them, you click load tileset 0 or 1.

            For blocks, it's the same thing. There's a load block button right next to the save block button.

            Quote:
            Originally Posted by MrSandman64 View Post
            I edited Pallet Town and removed all the person events from the outside map
            and for some reason whenever I add a new overworld onto the map they always apear on the same spot on the map even if I place them on the other side of the map in advance map
            can someone help?
            A-map sometimes messes up with that. Close it, reopen it, and try again. It also does it a lot when another tool is open using the same ROM, specifically a hex editor.
              #23006    
            Old October 20th, 2012 (8:35 AM).
            MrSandman64's Avatar
            MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
            Pokemon Moon Creator
               
              Join Date: Jul 2012
              Location: Massachusetts
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 28
              I tried it and it diddnt work also I should add that the person number is faded even when I add a new person
                #23007    
              Old October 20th, 2012 (10:50 AM).
              Skara's Avatar
              Skara Skara is offline
              THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2008
                Location: Manchester, England
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Timid
                Posts: 350
                How do I make it so more than one trainer class can have gym leader music or champion music?
                __________________
                I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                  #23008    
                Old October 20th, 2012 (12:05 PM).
                PokemonMasters's Avatar
                PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                Always Remember Forever&After
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2012
                  Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 403
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by itman View Post

                  I'm confused as to whawt you're asking. If you want to save a tileset, you click save tileset 0 or 1, and to load them, you click load tileset 0 or 1.

                  For blocks, it's the same thing. There's a load block button right next to the save block button.
                  If I try to load the block for tileset number 2 A-Map crashes... how do I not make it crash?
                  __________________

                  +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                    #23009    
                  Old October 20th, 2012 (6:39 PM).
                  YogiBerra YogiBerra is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2010
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 48
                    Does anybody know how to add new TMs, over existing items perhaps, or just new TMs in general? Thank you.
                      #23010    
                    Old October 20th, 2012 (6:42 PM). Edited October 20th, 2012 by PokemonMasters.
                    PokemonMasters's Avatar
                    PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                    Always Remember Forever&After
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2012
                      Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Calm
                      Posts: 403
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by YogiBerra View Post
                      Does anybody know how to add new TMs, over existing items perhaps, or just new TMs in general? Thank you.
                      check this his thread : http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7374717#post7374717

                      i need help. whenever i try to import the block for tileset 2 it crashes help?
                      __________________

                      +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                        #23011    
                      Old October 21st, 2012 (2:01 AM).
                      DisesioN's Avatar
                      DisesioN DisesioN is offline
                      Most powerful pokemon trainer
                         
                        Join Date: Mar 2012
                        Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
                        Age: 20
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Gentle
                        Posts: 21
                        What I should do? I can't insert tiles because they became nothing.

                        __________________
                        This signature has been disabled.
                        Exceeding width limit
                        Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                        You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                        Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                          #23012    
                        Old October 21st, 2012 (10:56 AM). Edited October 21st, 2012 by Hacker Bisharp.
                        Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
                        Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
                        Bug reporter
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2011
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Gentle
                          Posts: 334
                          How do I change this? http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/96/1350465464.png/
                          help please
                          __________________
                          Hacks I support:

                          And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

                            #23013    
                          Old October 21st, 2012 (11:40 AM).
                          Renegade's Avatar
                          Renegade Renegade is offline
                          Time for real life...
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2011
                            Location: United States
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Careful
                            Posts: 998
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Hacker Bisharp View Post
                            The link is broken. Maybe you can explain your problem?
                              #23014    
                            Old October 21st, 2012 (11:56 AM).
                            Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
                            Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
                            Bug reporter
                               
                              Join Date: Dec 2011
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Gentle
                              Posts: 334
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                              The link is broken. Maybe you can explain your problem?
                              I have corrected the link.
                              __________________
                              Hacks I support:

                              And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

                                #23015    
                              Old October 21st, 2012 (1:42 PM).
                              Skara's Avatar
                              Skara Skara is offline
                              THIS. IS. SEMPITERNAL.
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2008
                                Location: Manchester, England
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Timid
                                Posts: 350
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Skara View Post
                                How do I make it so more than one trainer class can have gym leader music or champion music?
                                This question has yet to be answered.
                                __________________
                                I'VE LEFT THIS ACCOUNT. Here is my new profile
                                  #23016    
                                Old October 21st, 2012 (1:58 PM).
                                Renegade's Avatar
                                Renegade Renegade is offline
                                Time for real life...
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2011
                                  Location: United States
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Careful
                                  Posts: 998
                                  I have a question. Hope someone can answer.

                                  In the Black Editor tab on Advanced Map, what is the difference between the Picture and the Block tab?
                                  __________________
                                    #23017    
                                  Old October 21st, 2012 (2:39 PM).
                                  DrFuji's Avatar
                                  DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                                  Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Sep 2009
                                  Location: Downia-upside
                                  Age: 24
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Jolly
                                  Posts: 1,328
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by MrSandman64 View Post
                                  I edited Pallet Town and removed all the person events from the outside map
                                  and for some reason whenever I add a new overworld onto the map they always apear on the same spot on the map even if I place them on the other side of the map in advance map
                                  can someone help?
                                  Have you removed all of the level scripts from the map? Pallet Town's level scripts have a few movesprite2 commands in them which are the most likely reason why your sprite appears to be teleporting across the map.

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by DisesioN View Post
                                  What I should do? I can't insert tiles because they became nothing.

                                  When you're inserting a tile into a tileset they have to match the palette completely or else they appear like your picture. You just have 15 colours with which to make your tiles, any colours beyond that won't function.

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Hacker Bisharp View Post
                                  I have corrected the link.
                                  Image is still dead for me :P

                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                                  I have a question. Hope someone can answer.

                                  In the Black Editor tab on Advanced Map, what is the difference between the Picture and the Block tab?
                                  While they look and perform similarly, they perform very different and useful roles. The picture tab allows you to load and save the tileset for editing in something like Paint or Photoshop, while the Block tab saves the 'blockset' which is mainly used within Advance Map itself. A good example to demonstrate what the blockset does is if you wanted to replace one tileset with a completely different tileset (eg replacing FR's default tileset 0 with the one used in the Safari Zone). Once you overwrite tileset 0 you will see that something horrible has happened - While the right-hand box of the block editor looks fine, the left appears to have been in a car crash. It would take quite a while to rebuild the blockset by hand, but it is far easier to go back to the Safari Zone, save its blockset and then overwrite tileset 0's just like you did with the tiles.

                                  I guess you could say that if a tileset was a puzzle, the tiles would be the pieces and the blocks would tell them where to go and how to fit in with everything else; that's the best analogy :P
                                  __________________
                                    #23018    
                                  Old October 22nd, 2012 (4:25 AM).
                                  Platinum Lucario's Avatar
                                  Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
                                  The Legendary Master of Light!
                                  • Crystal Tier
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                                  Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 1,561
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by DisesioN View Post
                                  What I should do? I can't insert tiles because they became nothing.

                                  Yep, as pretty much DrFuji said. So you'll basically need to use MS Paint to make the colours of the tile you inserted the same palette of the tileset image. It may take some trial and error, but here's good way of getting it to match the palettes... is by using the Colour Picker tool in Paint and then use the pencil or paintbucket to fill in those colours of that tile you inserted to match all the other colours in the tileset image.
                                  __________________
                                  [Platinum Lucario's Signature]
                                  If you need to disable my signature, please give me some advice on how to improve the CSS-DIV code. Thanks!
                                  Signature Status: Strikes: 1/3 | Infractions: 0/3
                                  It's time to change the future...
                                  to a positive direction!

                                  Let's prevent things from getting bad!

                                  I'm a ROM and ISO Researcher
                                  Current Project: Researching Pokémon Mystery Dungeon Adventure Squad games (WiiWare)
                                    #23019    
                                  Old October 22nd, 2012 (4:29 PM).
                                  Herpahermaderp's Avatar
                                  Herpahermaderp Herpahermaderp is offline
                                  I liek Mudkipz
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2012
                                    Location: USA
                                    Age: 19
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Relaxed
                                    Posts: 66
                                    I don't know if this has been asked before, or if it has, if it's been answered, but what is the offset for the ASM routine where you pick your gender and name? I'm making a hack and I want the player to pick their name after a certain event happens.
                                    __________________
                                    Y: Roak || 1177-8023-4387
                                      #23020    
                                    Old October 23rd, 2012 (2:04 AM).
                                    Peter The Insane's Avatar
                                    Peter The Insane Peter The Insane is offline
                                    The Insane
                                       
                                      Join Date: Oct 2012
                                      Location: India
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Bold
                                      Posts: 8
                                      Can you guys tell me how to hack games?
                                      I dont know that script and all and all thingies so can any1 help me?
                                      Sorry,I'm just 12 yrs old LOL.
                                      __________________
                                        #23021    
                                      Old October 23rd, 2012 (4:02 AM).
                                      IStreamSandwich's Avatar
                                      IStreamSandwich IStreamSandwich is offline
                                      Probably IV/HA/Shiny Breeding
                                      • Platinum Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Oct 2012
                                      Location: Torquay, England
                                      Age: 24
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Timid
                                      Posts: 122
                                      Hey, quick question here.
                                      In AdvanceMap, where you can edit the amount of Events, if i remove them all does that completely remove them from the game ?
                                      I'm looking to start completely afresh and want to get rid of the scripts.
                                      Also, with the Route Names/Map Names, how do i insert a map with its own name instead of the same name as another one ?
                                      __________________
                                        #23022    
                                      Old October 23rd, 2012 (4:11 AM). Edited October 23rd, 2012 by Herpahermaderp.
                                      Herpahermaderp's Avatar
                                      Herpahermaderp Herpahermaderp is offline
                                      I liek Mudkipz
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jul 2012
                                        Location: USA
                                        Age: 19
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Relaxed
                                        Posts: 66
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by PokeInfuse View Post
                                        Hey, quick question here.
                                        In AdvanceMap, where you can edit the amount of Events, if i remove them all does that completely remove them from the game ?
                                        I'm looking to start completely afresh and want to get rid of the scripts.
                                        Also, with the Route Names/Map Names, how do i insert a map with its own name instead of the same name as another one ?
                                        Taking out all the events will remove them from the game,yes,but it will not remove their scripts,that has to be done manually. And the answer to your Map Header question is right here http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=212492. Unless if you just want to edit the headers you already have,then you can just rename them in the Header tab of A-Map.

                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Varaddude630 View Post
                                        Can you guys tell me how to hack games?
                                        I dont know that script and all and all thingies so can any1 help me?
                                        Sorry,I'm just 12 yrs old LOL.
                                        You should check out the Tutorial section in Emulation then have fun learning about hacking.
                                          #23023    
                                        Old October 23rd, 2012 (4:32 AM).
                                        IStreamSandwich's Avatar
                                        IStreamSandwich IStreamSandwich is offline
                                        Probably IV/HA/Shiny Breeding
                                        • Platinum Tier
                                         
                                        Join Date: Oct 2012
                                        Location: Torquay, England
                                        Age: 24
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Timid
                                        Posts: 122
                                        Everytime i add a new map with Advancemap then try changing the name, it also changes the name of the map that i was on.
                                        __________________
                                          #23024    
                                        Old October 23rd, 2012 (4:43 AM).
                                        Herpahermaderp's Avatar
                                        Herpahermaderp Herpahermaderp is offline
                                        I liek Mudkipz
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jul 2012
                                          Location: USA
                                          Age: 19
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Relaxed
                                          Posts: 66
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by PokeInfuse View Post
                                          Everytime i add a new map with Advancemap then try changing the name, it also changes the name of the map that i was on.
                                          That is because there are alot of maps that use the same header. If you change 3.0 (Pallet Town) to something else, it will also change all of 4.0-4.5,because those all use Pallet Town as their header.
                                            #23025    
                                          Old October 23rd, 2012 (6:43 AM).
                                          Krika Krika is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Oct 2011
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 16
                                            When I try and load my Emerald ROM in A-Trainer, I get an error message saying "Subscript is out of range - [email protected]", and then I can't proceed any farther? This is the first time that this has happened when I've used it, so I'm not sure what the issue is. It isn't just my modified ROM, a clean one gets the same message.

                                            Also, the Bug.txt file gets this printed out into it: "20121016|224113|6.1.7601|0.9.1|DrawTile8|9|modLZ77|Subscript out of range|4" if that helps identify the problem.

                                            This is kinda a big deal, so if someone could help me fix this, I'd really appreciate it.
                                            Closed Thread
                                            Quick Reply

                                            Sponsored Links
                                            Thread Tools

                                            Posting Rules
                                            You may not post new threads
                                            You may not post replies
                                            You may not post attachments
                                            You may not edit your posts

                                            BB code is On
                                            Smilies are On
                                            [IMG] code is On
                                            HTML code is Off

                                            Forum Jump


                                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:18 PM.