Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Draconius GO
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old November 9th, 2012 (10:15 AM). Edited November 9th, 2012 by ~JV~.
~JV~'s Avatar
~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
Dev of Pokémon Uranium
     
    Join Date: Aug 2007
    Location: Rio de Janeiro
    Age: 23
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 715
    Hey guys, this issue happened on the last few weeks and it's one of the first times I have NO IDEA on what's going on and how to fix. As the title says, trainer BGM isn't working nad I've already narrowed down the problem, but still can't find a solution. Here is what I know:

    -It has nothing to do with scripts, I tried using the default Essentials script files and it still doesn't work (I never made changes to any audio related script...).

    -It has nothing to do with the mp3 file.

    -When I do a DEBUG trainer battle THE BGM PLAYS.

    -In Gym/Rival battles IT WORKS (can this be related to pbtrainerend or pbnoticeplayer etc??).

    -Wild battles are fine.

    -Cries, menu sounds... everything else plays just fine, it's just the bgm that has problems.


    Don't come suggesting workaround please, I need solutions =/. BTW, I get no error windows...
    __________________
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old November 9th, 2012 (12:50 PM).
    Luka S.J.'s Avatar
    Luka S.J. Luka S.J. is offline
    Jealous Croatian
       
      Join Date: Dec 2008
      Location: Croatia
      Age: 24
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 1,106
      Check the bit-rate of the mp3 file. If it is something like 320 kbps it won't work. I had the same problems. I found that 128 kbps works the best with RMXP, but if you want higher quality, 220 kbps worked for me as well. I haven't tested out too many mp3 files, but higher than that, never worked for me.

      If the problem is what I suggested, Audacity can easily export your mp3 files in 128 kbps bit-rate.
      __________________

      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old November 9th, 2012 (1:08 PM).
      ~JV~'s Avatar
      ~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
      Dev of Pokémon Uranium
         
        Join Date: Aug 2007
        Location: Rio de Janeiro
        Age: 23
        Nature: Relaxed
        Posts: 715
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Luka S.J. View Post
        Check the bit-rate of the mp3 file. If it is something like 320 kbps it won't work. I had the same problems. I found that 128 kbps works the best with RMXP, but if you want higher quality, 220 kbps worked for me as well. I haven't tested out too many mp3 files, but higher than that, never worked for me.

        If the problem is what I suggested, Audacity can easily export your mp3 files in 128 kbps bit-rate.
        I've tried that... I've tried using midis, using .ogg... nothing works. It isn't script, it isn't pbs, it isn't the audio file. No matter what I do, regular trainer bgm won't play. I have no idea if a file could have gotten corrupted or something. This is the weirdest bug I faced since 2008. =/
        __________________
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old November 9th, 2012 (1:11 PM).
        Luka S.J.'s Avatar
        Luka S.J. Luka S.J. is offline
        Jealous Croatian
           
          Join Date: Dec 2008
          Location: Croatia
          Age: 24
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 1,106
          Try replacing or removing the Audio dll. I don't know what else to say, at first it sounded just like simple RMXP incompatibility. Is it like that for all Trainer Battle BGMs or just one?
          __________________

          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old November 9th, 2012 (2:17 PM).
          ~JV~'s Avatar
          ~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
          Dev of Pokémon Uranium
             
            Join Date: Aug 2007
            Location: Rio de Janeiro
            Age: 23
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 715
            Audio.dll isn't part of Essentials anymore. I noticed the game hangs for a couple of seconds the first time I get noticed by a trainer. This probably has to do with it since it didn't use to happen.
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #6    
            Old November 9th, 2012 (7:09 PM).
            ambalance's Avatar
            ambalance ambalance is offline
            Vorpal_Rabbit
               
              Join Date: Apr 2008
              Location: N/a
              Gender:
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 9
              I've recently encountered the same issue. As in, the exact same. My trainer battle BGM doesn't work for any trainers, save for a BUG CATCHER. I attempted reimporting the music files, testing to see if other extensions would work, changing the unique BGM for each trainer, each map and even trying to play a BGM with a script. Nothing worked.
              I even copied my entire game's data to the updated version of Essentials, but I am having the same issue. Can anyone help us?

              I'm pretty sure it isn't down to the bitrate of the BGM files, seeing as my desired BGM works in a battle with a bug catcher, but not for a youngster, firebreather, cooltrainer, etc.
              __________________
              Signature:
              Writer/Mapper/Eventing/Scripter/Spriter.

              Also, writer.
              Reply With Quote
                #7    
              Old November 10th, 2012 (5:14 AM).
              ~JV~'s Avatar
              ~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
              Dev of Pokémon Uranium
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2007
                Location: Rio de Janeiro
                Age: 23
                Nature: Relaxed
                Posts: 715
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by ambalance View Post
                I've recently encountered the same issue. As in, the exact same. My trainer battle BGM doesn't work for any trainers, save for a BUG CATCHER. I attempted reimporting the music files, testing to see if other extensions would work, changing the unique BGM for each trainer, each map and even trying to play a BGM with a script. Nothing worked.
                I even copied my entire game's data to the updated version of Essentials, but I am having the same issue. Can anyone help us?

                I'm pretty sure it isn't down to the bitrate of the BGM files, seeing as my desired BGM works in a battle with a bug catcher, but not for a youngster, firebreather, cooltrainer, etc.
                What bugs me more is that debug trainer battle works, so does when you use the change battle bgm command. what is even worse is that it happens with unedited Essentials script. (but it doesn't happen when I play the raw Essentials example game)
                __________________
                Reply With Quote
                  #8    
                Old November 10th, 2012 (9:49 PM).
                ambalance's Avatar
                ambalance ambalance is offline
                Vorpal_Rabbit
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2008
                  Location: N/a
                  Gender:
                  Nature: Jolly
                  Posts: 9
                  I thought maybe it might have something to do with my map sizes, seeing as I have large maps. I thought it might have something to do with lag, but it seems it doesn't. Still bugging me. I'm out of options!!
                  __________________
                  Signature:
                  Writer/Mapper/Eventing/Scripter/Spriter.

                  Also, writer.
                  Reply With Quote
                    #9    
                  Old November 11th, 2012 (3:41 AM).
                  ~JV~'s Avatar
                  ~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
                  Dev of Pokémon Uranium
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2007
                    Location: Rio de Janeiro
                    Age: 23
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 715
                    I FOUND THE SOLUTION!

                    Find this line in PoemonUtilities:
                    Code:
                     pbMEPlay(bgm)
                    Comment it and add this:
                    Code:
                     Audio.bgm_play("Audio/ME/#{bgm.name}",bgm.volume,bgm.pitch)
                    There you go, it's fixed for good. pbMEPlay is just a bad method. For some reason it tends to f*** with what comes next (the battle bgm) because of unknow reasons that have to do with the trainer intro ME (which I noticed having some lag at the first time it plays). Audio.bgm_play was the one used the most in older versions of Essentials, and so far it has been way more realiable to me :)
                    __________________
                    Reply With Quote
                      #10    
                    Old November 11th, 2012 (8:22 AM).
                    ActionReplayer's Avatar
                    ActionReplayer ActionReplayer is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2012
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 44
                      Wait. So, you substituted
                      Quote:
                      pbMEPlay(bgm)
                      for
                      Quote:
                      Audio.bgm_play("Audio/ME/#{bgm.name}",bgm.volume,bgm.pitch)
                      or did you put the second one after the first?
                      Reply With Quote
                        #11    
                      Old November 11th, 2012 (1:48 PM).
                      ~JV~'s Avatar
                      ~JV~ ~JV~ is offline
                      Dev of Pokémon Uranium
                         
                        Join Date: Aug 2007
                        Location: Rio de Janeiro
                        Age: 23
                        Nature: Relaxed
                        Posts: 715
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by ActionReplayer View Post
                        Wait. So, you substituted

                        for


                        or did you put the second one after the first?
                        substituted, however I added the "#" before it because I prefer to have original code commented
                        __________________
                        Reply With Quote
                          #12    
                        Old November 18th, 2012 (2:02 AM).
                        ambalance's Avatar
                        ambalance ambalance is offline
                        Vorpal_Rabbit
                           
                          Join Date: Apr 2008
                          Location: N/a
                          Gender:
                          Nature: Jolly
                          Posts: 9
                          YES! That worked! Thanks so much. I'm glad it worked for you too.
                          __________________
                          Signature:
                          Writer/Mapper/Eventing/Scripter/Spriter.

                          Also, writer.
                          Reply With Quote
                          Reply

                          Quick Reply

                          Join the conversation!

                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                          Create a PokéCommunity Account

                          Sponsored Links
                          Thread Tools

                          Posting Rules
                          You may not post new threads
                          You may not post replies
                          You may not post attachments
                          You may not edit your posts

                          BB code is On
                          Smilies are On
                          [IMG] code is On
                          HTML code is Off

                          Forum Jump


                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:41 PM.