Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old October 10th, 2012 (1:00 AM).
Pike15's Avatar
Pike15 Pike15 is offline
     
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 168
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by VERGUNDAI View Post
    I thought of it, about RSE remake and I made littleroot town.
    Then again I thought about LOL this won't make any difference.

    Since I used HGSS, i used the build from Pallet Town to start off, since it had the Pallet Town 3D Building data. But I also wanted to use the New Bark 3D building datas which had the appropriate models to load the houses.

    And the models from New Bark won't load on Pallet Town.
    i wanna some of you´re maps please sir. Becuase i wanna see what you can do with this tools
    __________________
    This signature has been disabled.
    Exceeding 350px height limit
    Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

    You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

    Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #52    
    Old October 25th, 2012 (12:33 PM).
    Beike Beike is offline
       
      Join Date: Sep 2012
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 12
      Hey, I'd like to say thanks for the tutorial, it's really clear and helpful. However, I have a small problem. Your maps seem to open with textures automatically in Sketchup. Well, mine don't... For the record, I'm using HGSS maps. I've tried several, but none of them work. I'm using Sketchup 8, the free version. Anyone would happen to know the solution to this?
      Reply With Quote
        #53    
      Old October 25th, 2012 (12:38 PM).
      Incineroar's Avatar
      Incineroar Incineroar is offline
      the spirit of the fighter
      • Moderator
      • Platinum Tier
      • Developer
       
      Join Date: May 2009
      Location: Iki Town
      Age: 22
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Brave
      Posts: 13,453
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Beike View Post
      Hey, I'd like to say thanks for the tutorial, it's really clear and helpful. However, I have a small problem. Your maps seem to open with textures automatically in Sketchup. Well, mine don't... :nervous: For the record, I'm using HGSS maps. I've tried several, but none of them work. I'm using Sketchup 8, the free version. Anyone would happen to know the solution to this?
      They should. Make sure that Ignore Material Library?: is set to No when you are importing the map. Setting this to Yes will make it be all white.
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #54    
      Old October 25th, 2012 (8:35 PM).
      VERGUNDAI's Avatar
      VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
      RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
         
        Join Date: Dec 2009
        Location: Pokemon Universe :)
        Age: 21
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quiet
        Posts: 109
        There's a bug sometimes, you need to reinstall it, or clear the Skecthup caches.
        __________________
        Vergundai_ace_gailon
        Reply With Quote
          #55    
        Old October 25th, 2012 (8:39 PM).
        Incineroar's Avatar
        Incineroar Incineroar is offline
        the spirit of the fighter
        • Moderator
        • Platinum Tier
        • Developer
         
        Join Date: May 2009
        Location: Iki Town
        Age: 22
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Brave
        Posts: 13,453
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by VERGUNDAI View Post
        There's a bug sometimes, you need to reinstall it, or clear the Skecthup caches.
        I never knew that it had a cache in the first place. But just try playing a bit with your settings.
        __________________
        Reply With Quote
          #56    
        Old October 26th, 2012 (9:54 AM).
        Beike Beike is offline
           
          Join Date: Sep 2012
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 12
          Afraid the suggestions didn't solve my problem. Ignore Material Library is set to no, I've tried reinstalling both the plugin and Google Sketchup itself, but I still get all black/white textures. I am sure these maps have textures because they show up in MKDS. Any suggestions ?
          Reply With Quote
            #57    
          Old October 26th, 2012 (9:56 AM).
          Incineroar's Avatar
          Incineroar Incineroar is offline
          the spirit of the fighter
          • Moderator
          • Platinum Tier
          • Developer
           
          Join Date: May 2009
          Location: Iki Town
          Age: 22
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Brave
          Posts: 13,453
          Perhaps it might be because I've seen that Sketchup was changed to Trimble Sketchup. I'll see if there is a plugin for that.
          __________________
          Reply With Quote
            #58    
          Old October 27th, 2012 (12:57 AM).
          Platinum Lucario's Avatar
          Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
          The Legendary Master of Light!
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 1,561
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
          Perhaps it might be because I've seen that Sketchup was changed to Trimble Sketchup. I'll see if there is a plugin for that.
          Actually, it has nothing to do with the name. 'Cause I've used Trimble Sketchup (the free version) with the same plugin that you're using, and it imported all the textures into the map.

          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Beike View Post
          Afraid the suggestions didn't solve my problem. Ignore Material Library is set to no, I've tried reinstalling both the plugin and Google Sketchup itself, but I still get all black/white textures. I am sure these maps have textures because they show up in MKDS. Any suggestions ?
          The reason why your map doesn't have any textures showing up in it... is quite simple: You didn't export the NSBMD with the textures. The only way to do so is by using SDSME and under "3D Model", click on "Export with Textures". Then you'll be able to export the NSBMD with the textures, then open it up in MKDS Course Modifier and export as .obj.
          __________________
          [Platinum Lucario's Signature]
          If you need to disable my signature, please give me some advice on how to improve the CSS-DIV code. Thanks!
          Signature Status: Strikes: 1/3 | Infractions: 0/3
          It's time to change the future...
          to a positive direction!

          Let's prevent things from getting bad!

          I'm a ROM and ISO Researcher
          Current Project: Researching Pokémon Mystery Dungeon Adventure Squad games (WiiWare)
          Reply With Quote
            #59    
          Old November 7th, 2012 (8:50 AM). Edited November 8th, 2012 by giradialkia.
          Beike Beike is offline
             
            Join Date: Sep 2012
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 12
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by PokémonShinySilver View Post
            Actually, it has nothing to do with the name. 'Cause I've used Trimble Sketchup (the free version) with the same plugin that you're using, and it imported all the textures into the map.



            The reason why your map doesn't have any textures showing up in it... is quite simple: You didn't export the NSBMD with the textures. The only way to do so is by using SDSME and under "3D Model", click on "Export with Textures". Then you'll be able to export the NSBMD with the textures, then open it up in MKDS Course Modifier and export as .obj.
            Sadly, it's not that simple. I double-checked it by exporting it again using that option, and on top of that, the textures show up in MKDS Converter, so I am sure they are there. It's not the game either, since I tried DPP maps as well, and they won't open with textures either :(

            Edit: It doesn't seem to be Sketchup? Textures won't open in Blender either...

            Edit2: Not my computer's fault, doesn't work on other computers either. I've tried about everything I could think of, so I'm pretty much stuck... I'm still getting the models all white (and squarey) and the ground all grey. Anyone willing to upload a correctly textured HGSS map (or DPP if you want to) to see if I can open that?

            Would anyone be able to help me?
            Reply With Quote
              #60    
            Old November 11th, 2012 (6:19 PM).
            Incineroar's Avatar
            Incineroar Incineroar is offline
            the spirit of the fighter
            • Moderator
            • Platinum Tier
            • Developer
             
            Join Date: May 2009
            Location: Iki Town
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Brave
            Posts: 13,453
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Beike View Post
            Sadly, it's not that simple. I double-checked it by exporting it again using that option, and on top of that, the textures show up in MKDS Converter, so I am sure they are there. It's not the game either, since I tried DPP maps as well, and they won't open with textures either :(

            Edit: It doesn't seem to be Sketchup? Textures won't open in Blender either...

            Edit2: Not my computer's fault, doesn't work on other computers either. I've tried about everything I could think of, so I'm pretty much stuck... I'm still getting the models all white (and squarey) and the ground all grey. Anyone willing to upload a correctly textured HGSS map (or DPP if you want to) to see if I can open that?

            Would anyone be able to help me?
            Are you sure you're exporting your map with textures?
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #61    
            Old November 12th, 2012 (7:11 AM). Edited November 16th, 2012 by Beike.
            Beike Beike is offline
               
              Join Date: Sep 2012
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 12
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
              Are you sure you're exporting your map with textures?
              The textures show up in both SDSME and MKDS Converter, so yeah, I think I can say I'm sure enough. I'm thinking it has to do something with MKDS Converter, but I've got no clue what I would be looking for.

              Edit: Just read Spiky got an OBJ converter working. I guess I'll wait for that and try out whether that does work.
              Reply With Quote
                #62    
              Old November 17th, 2012 (7:16 AM).
              Incineroar's Avatar
              Incineroar Incineroar is offline
              the spirit of the fighter
              • Moderator
              • Platinum Tier
              • Developer
               
              Join Date: May 2009
              Location: Iki Town
              Age: 22
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Brave
              Posts: 13,453
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Beike View Post
              The textures show up in both SDSME and MKDS Converter, so yeah, I think I can say I'm sure enough. I'm thinking it has to do something with MKDS Converter, but I've got no clue what I would be looking for.

              Edit: Just read Spiky got an OBJ converter working. I guess I'll wait for that and try out whether that does work.
              Well, when I get a copy of the program that exports .obj, I'll be sure to update the tutorial.
              __________________
              Reply With Quote
                #63    
              Old November 24th, 2012 (1:04 PM).
              Beike Beike is offline
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2012
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 12
                So, I downloaded the new version of Spiky's DS Map Editor and tried opening a directly exported OBJ in Sketchup and Blender...still doesn't work. I'll post a link to a picture of what I'm getting, if that's OK. I think it's something trivial, but who knows...
                http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/1268/sketchupissue.png
                Reply With Quote
                  #64    
                Old November 25th, 2012 (10:36 AM).
                Incineroar's Avatar
                Incineroar Incineroar is offline
                the spirit of the fighter
                • Moderator
                • Platinum Tier
                • Developer
                 
                Join Date: May 2009
                Location: Iki Town
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Brave
                Posts: 13,453
                I've updated the tutorial to SDSME 1.5.0, so be sure to check out the revised portion for exporting maps!
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Beike View Post
                So, I downloaded the new version of Spiky's DS Map Editor and tried opening a directly exported OBJ in Sketchup and Blender...still doesn't work. I'll post a link to a picture of what I'm getting, if that's OK. I think it's something trivial, but who knows...
                http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/1268/sketchupissue.png
                Unless your textures aren't exporting correctly, I don't know what could cause it. Are there textures in the same folder as the model?
                __________________
                Reply With Quote
                  #65    
                Old November 30th, 2012 (6:12 PM).
                Incineroar's Avatar
                Incineroar Incineroar is offline
                the spirit of the fighter
                • Moderator
                • Platinum Tier
                • Developer
                 
                Join Date: May 2009
                Location: Iki Town
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Brave
                Posts: 13,453
                I've added a link to an Italian translation, and I've also found a third plugin for a 3D modelling program called "Softimage3D". I'm not documenting how it's used, as I'm not downloading a third program to add to the tutorial, but if someone wants to, provide me instructions for it and I'll add it later on when I include model importing.
                __________________
                Reply With Quote
                  #66    
                Old December 2nd, 2012 (6:10 AM).
                TheWaffleKiing's Avatar
                TheWaffleKiing TheWaffleKiing is offline
                Pokemon Lets Player :)
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 19
                  is this really hard cause i wnana get into making my own hack for a game
                  Reply With Quote
                    #67    
                  Old December 15th, 2012 (9:10 PM).
                  andibad's Avatar
                  andibad andibad is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2010
                    Location: Indonesia
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 33
                    thank you teamfail, you always give good tutorial (and also for all was researching this part) . well is seems work for me (yeah is need SDK)....

                    for now i not focused in this part so i can't help :/, i focused on my course XD
                    but is seems awesome i will try it later :3

                    and on 3ds max 7 , the plugin is seems working ....

                    if i have a lot time, i try update my youtube channel again XD,and maybe try map hacking (is seems interesting). i have all for this so no need searching again XP
                    Reply With Quote
                      #68    
                    Old December 15th, 2012 (9:17 PM).
                    Incineroar's Avatar
                    Incineroar Incineroar is offline
                    the spirit of the fighter
                    • Moderator
                    • Platinum Tier
                    • Developer
                     
                    Join Date: May 2009
                    Location: Iki Town
                    Age: 22
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Brave
                    Posts: 13,453
                    Thanks. I'm currently working on importing models. I'm getting close, but I'm not getting the textures to display properly. It's kinda getting to me.
                    __________________
                    Reply With Quote
                      #69    
                    Old December 26th, 2012 (4:48 AM). Edited December 26th, 2012 by SolusX.
                    SolusX's Avatar
                    SolusX SolusX is offline
                    Poké Hacker Noob
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2012
                      Location: New York
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 18
                      Is the importing section near completion? I'm having a bit of trouble.
                      I'm not sure what specific question to ask, but I'm having problems with the end result. When I create the final .nsbmd it seems to be a little bit off of where it should be axiswise and the tilesets don't appear like they once did on that particular edit

                      Some notes on it:
                      When I run NNS_Batch_Export_Maya70 it produced an error stating: "Error: n3be file is not specified." However I do see "NINTENDO NITRO system" in Maya and can export as .imd with it. Occasionally it gives a file length error as well.
                      I'm using Maya 7.0.1 for the conversion from .obj to .imd
                      I'm not moving any maps when loaded in Google Sketchup or Maya (as an attempt to keep it aligned within the axis)
                      Altered previews tiles (Tileset 2 normally displayed the town fine; now it shows flower bushes on the preview and a glitchy floor)
                      There is a black floor when the ROM is loaded, movement permissions not aligned with the map (or so it'd seem since I cannot approach the water in New Bark Town, as if there was a 4x4 obstacle)

                      edit: I apologize if I am asking in the wrong place.
                      Reply With Quote
                        #70    
                      Old December 26th, 2012 (5:46 AM).
                      Incineroar's Avatar
                      Incineroar Incineroar is offline
                      the spirit of the fighter
                      • Moderator
                      • Platinum Tier
                      • Developer
                       
                      Join Date: May 2009
                      Location: Iki Town
                      Age: 22
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Brave
                      Posts: 13,453
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by SolusX View Post
                      Is the importing section near completion? I'm having a bit of trouble.
                      I'm not sure what specific question to ask, but I'm having problems with the end result. When I create the final .nsbmd it seems to be a little bit off of where it should be axiswise and the tilesets don't appear like they once did on that particular edit

                      Some notes on it:
                      When I run NNS_Batch_Export_Maya70 it produced an error stating: "Error: n3be file is not specified." However I do see "NINTENDO NITRO system" in Maya and can export as .imd with it. Occasionally it gives a file length error as well.
                      I'm using Maya 7.0.1 for the conversion from .obj to .imd
                      I'm not moving any maps when loaded in Google Sketchup or Maya (as an attempt to keep it aligned within the axis)
                      Altered previews tiles (Tileset 2 normally displayed the town fine; now it shows flower bushes on the preview and a glitchy floor)
                      There is a black floor when the ROM is loaded, movement permissions not aligned with the map (or so it'd seem since I cannot approach the water in New Bark Town, as if there was a 4x4 obstacle)

                      edit: I apologize if I am asking in the wrong place.
                      I'm still working on it, as I've gotten the model to import, but it's textureless. I've been told why, so I still have to check it out and investigate. As well, I'm not using 7.0 myself, so I'm not sure what the errors are about. As for the off-centeredness, I'll have to see what could be causing that, and movement permissions would have to be modified to cause that, so check your movement permissions.
                      __________________
                      Reply With Quote
                        #71    
                      Old December 26th, 2012 (5:56 AM). Edited December 28th, 2012 by SolusX.
                      SolusX's Avatar
                      SolusX SolusX is offline
                      Poké Hacker Noob
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2012
                        Location: New York
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Modest
                        Posts: 18
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
                        I'm still working on it, as I've gotten the model to import, but it's textureless. I've been told why, so I still have to check it out and investigate. As well, I'm not using 7.0 myself, so I'm not sure what the errors are about. As for the off-centeredness, I'll have to see what could be causing that, and movement permissions would have to be modified to cause that, so check your movement permissions.
                        I've managed to get it back to the center. I just have the same problem that you're having so I'll wait on your expertise to solve it while tinkering with the programs myself. It was merely my fault. I wasn't positioning map correctly.
                        Reply With Quote
                          #72    
                        Old December 27th, 2012 (1:40 PM).
                        YORAMRW YORAMRW is offline
                        8-bit producer & Pokémon GB music hacker
                           
                          Join Date: Oct 2012
                          Location: Netherlands
                          Age: 19
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Gentle
                          Posts: 48
                          Maybe, Spiky-Eared Pichu/Markitus95 will make an OBJ to NSBMD tool soon, so we don't have to pay for something anymore!
                          Reply With Quote
                            #73    
                          Old December 28th, 2012 (2:34 AM). Edited December 28th, 2012 by SolusX.
                          SolusX's Avatar
                          SolusX SolusX is offline
                          Poké Hacker Noob
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2012
                            Location: New York
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Modest
                            Posts: 18
                            I've been doing a lot of testing and have come up with an area to focus on fixing. What I most suspect to be the problem with this is Maya and the Nitro plugin OR G3DCVTR. Considering G3DCVTR has been in use for a long time, it could be Maya and/or the Nitro Plugin. I just obtained 3DS Max 6 and the Nitro plugin for that and will test it momentarily. I'd say if it has the same problem, there could be a bug with importing in the program.

                            edit: Hitting a dead end. 3DS Max 6 doesn't run on Windows 7, and it's giving me issues on an XP Virtual machine. I have no way to test it.
                            Reply With Quote
                              #74    
                            Old January 3rd, 2013 (9:06 AM).
                            Trifindo's Avatar
                            Trifindo Trifindo is offline
                            POKEMON OMICRON CREATOR
                               
                              Join Date: May 2011
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 46
                              Hello I´m not very good at english but I think that this can help you.

                              There is a programme called SM64DSe, you can download it here: http://kuribo64.cjb.net/archive/board/thread.php?id=12
                              It can import .obj files in SUPER MARIO 64 DS roms and the results are really good!
                              You can check an old video I made: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qF98OwnnK9w&list=UUqmrpUDHWBUrwskKMr_aI_w&index=1
                              Well I don´t know if it is posible to do it in a Pokemon rom. =/

                              Thanks a lot for the tutorial!!
                              Reply With Quote
                                #75    
                              Old January 3rd, 2013 (9:14 AM).
                              Incineroar's Avatar
                              Incineroar Incineroar is offline
                              the spirit of the fighter
                              • Moderator
                              • Platinum Tier
                              • Developer
                               
                              Join Date: May 2009
                              Location: Iki Town
                              Age: 22
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Brave
                              Posts: 13,453
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Trifindo View Post
                              Hello I´m not very good at english but I think that this can help you.

                              There is a programme called SM64DSe, you can download it here: http://kuribo64.cjb.net/archive/board/thread.php?id=12
                              It can import .obj files in SUPER MARIO 64 DS roms and the results are really good!
                              You can check an old video I made: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qF98OwnnK9w&list=UUqmrpUDHWBUrwskKMr_aI_w&index=1
                              Well I don´t know if it is posible to do it in a Pokemon rom. =/

                              Thanks a lot for the tutorial!!
                              I've heard of the editor before, but I don't think the 3D Model types are the same. Since the games were developed at different times, newer filetypes have been made, so the formats would be vastly different. As well, the 3D engines in each game are vastly different, so one model probably wouldn't work on the other.

                              It'd be interesting to see if the creator of SM64DSe could perhaps make a model importer tool for the Pokémon DS games though.
                              __________________
                              Reply With Quote
                              Reply
                              Quick Reply

                              Sponsored Links
                              Thread Tools

                              Posting Rules
                              You may not post new threads
                              You may not post replies
                              You may not post attachments
                              You may not edit your posts

                              BB code is On
                              Smilies are On
                              [IMG] code is On
                              HTML code is Off

                              Forum Jump


                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:36 AM.