ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23326    
Old December 12th, 2012 (10:53 PM).
xxcandyvioletxx's Avatar
xxcandyvioletxx xxcandyvioletxx is offline
Pink eevee <3
     
    Join Date: Jun 2011
    Age: 23
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Docile
    Posts: 6
    Thanks for your help!
    I'll definitely do that so that I'm not stuck in the house anymore.
    As for my next problem though, I can't get through route 2 without going into the house....So does anyone know how to help me in that area as far as the advance map portion of my question goes?

    Relevant Advertising!

      #23327    
    Old December 13th, 2012 (12:14 AM).
    PokemonMasters's Avatar
    PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
    Always Remember Forever&After
       
      Join Date: Jun 2012
      Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Calm
      Posts: 403
      How do I convert mp3 files to midi?
      __________________

      +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
        #23328    
      Old December 13th, 2012 (2:21 AM).
      Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
      Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
      hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
         
        Join Date: May 2008
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Bashful
        Posts: 3,487
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
        How do I convert mp3 files to midi?
        There are programs on the internet for that if you google MP3 to MIDI, but none are that good. The only way is to compose a MIDI file yourself that sounds like the MP3, or see if there is already a MIDI version by searching on Google. Sorry.
        __________________


        Temmie vibrates intensely.

        awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

        OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

        can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

        RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

          #23329    
        Old December 13th, 2012 (8:15 AM).
        xxcandyvioletxx's Avatar
        xxcandyvioletxx xxcandyvioletxx is offline
        Pink eevee <3
           
          Join Date: Jun 2011
          Age: 23
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Docile
          Posts: 6
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by xxcandyvioletxx View Post
          Thanks for your help!
          I'll definitely do that so that I'm not stuck in the house anymore.
          As for my next problem though, I can't get through route 2 without going into the house....So does anyone know how to help me in that area as far as the advance map portion of my question goes?
          SO.....I still really, really need help with this...Please, anyone! I'm desperate. haha.
            #23330    
          Old December 13th, 2012 (10:10 AM).
          Ptzery's Avatar
          Ptzery Ptzery is offline
          Skitty trainer
             
            Join Date: Dec 2012
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Careful
            Posts: 40
            Does anyone know of a sprite editor for stuff like grass and trees?
            __________________
            Meet a guy that wants to be a rom hacker.
            Just trying... I'm probably not even 1% as good as most people, but I'm trying!
            Also, I have pokemon soulsilver to play, but I do not do trades, battles or anything online.
            Of course, you can ask me stuff, but I won't usually know the answer
            You like my signature? If you do, I owe you 100 bucks. Just messing with ya!
            Oh yeah, I have super pokemon rumble too. All of you guys are awesome
            Skitty smiley!
              #23331    
            Old December 13th, 2012 (12:30 PM).
            MissDigitalis's Avatar
            MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
               
              Join Date: Dec 2011
              Gender: Female
              Posts: 115
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Ptzery View Post
              Does anyone know of a sprite editor for stuff like grass and trees?

              Nameless Sprite Editor. (NSE 2.0)
              __________________

                #23332    
              Old December 13th, 2012 (4:50 PM).
              Noossab Blue's Avatar
              Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2012
                Location: USA
                Gender: Female
                Nature: Quirky
                Posts: 240
                Is there a tool or relatively simple way to edit which pokemon can learn move tutor moves in firered?
                __________________
                IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
                3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

                Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
                Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

                  #23333    
                Old December 13th, 2012 (5:02 PM).
                MissDigitalis's Avatar
                MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2011
                  Gender: Female
                  Posts: 115
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
                  Is there a tool or relatively simple way to edit which pokemon can learn move tutor moves in firered?
                  The best one I've found is YAPE. (yet another pokemon editor)
                  __________________

                    #23334    
                  Old December 13th, 2012 (5:24 PM).
                  DrFuji's Avatar
                  DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                  Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2009
                  Location: Downia-upside
                  Age: 24
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Jolly
                  Posts: 1,328
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
                  Is there a tool or relatively simple way to edit which pokemon can learn move tutor moves in firered?
                  Unfortunately no, everything has to be done by hand in a HEX editor. This post shows you how to go about doing it if you're still interested though (down in the Tips and Tricks section).

                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by MissDigitalis View Post
                  The best one I've found is YAPE. (yet another pokemon editor)
                  YAPE doesn't have a way to change which move tutor moves can be taught to Pokemon...
                  __________________
                    #23335    
                  Old December 13th, 2012 (5:27 PM).
                  Noossab Blue's Avatar
                  Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2012
                    Location: USA
                    Gender: Female
                    Nature: Quirky
                    Posts: 240
                    EDIT: OK thanks! I'll look into that.
                    __________________
                    IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
                    3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

                    Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
                    Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

                      #23336    
                    Old December 13th, 2012 (5:36 PM).
                    MissDigitalis's Avatar
                    MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2011
                      Gender: Female
                      Posts: 115
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post

                      YAPE doesn't have a way to change which move tutor moves can be taught to Pokemon...


                      Maybe I'm misunderstanding something here but... ?



                      __________________

                        #23337    
                      Old December 13th, 2012 (5:45 PM).
                      Darthatron's Avatar
                      Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                      巨大なトロール。
                      • Silver Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2006
                      Location: Melbourne, Australia
                      Age: 26
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 1,152
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by MissDigitalis View Post


                      Maybe I'm misunderstanding something here but... ?



                      Spoiler:
                      That's which TMs a Pokemon can learn, not which Move Tutor moves can be taught to a Pokemon.
                      __________________
                      あなた は しきしゃ です
                      わたし は ばか です
                        #23338    
                      Old December 13th, 2012 (5:50 PM).
                      MissDigitalis's Avatar
                      MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2011
                        Gender: Female
                        Posts: 115
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                        That's which TMs a Pokemon can learn, not which Move Tutor moves can be taught to a Pokemon.
                        Oh ok. My bad. Thanks for clearing that up.
                        __________________

                          #23339    
                        Old December 14th, 2012 (9:00 AM).
                        raging-inferno-1986 raging-inferno-1986 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2012
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 21
                          Fire Red question.

                          I have added npc's that give the player the Mystic and Aurora tickets, but how can i get the sailor in Vermillion to notice i have them?

                          Thank you.
                            #23340    
                          Old December 14th, 2012 (5:51 PM). Edited December 14th, 2012 by karatekid552.
                          karatekid552's Avatar
                          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                          What happens if I push it?....
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bold
                            Posts: 1,766
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by raging-inferno-1986 View Post
                            Fire Red question.

                            I have added npc's that give the player the Mystic and Aurora tickets, but how can i get the sailor in Vermillion to notice i have them?

                            Thank you.

                            Just looking at the script, for the Mystic Ticket to work, flag 0x2F0 needs to be clear. For the Aurora Ticket, flag 0x2F1 needs to be clear. So, just clear those flags when the item is given and you should be all set.
                              #23341    
                            Old December 15th, 2012 (11:36 AM).
                            raging-inferno-1986 raging-inferno-1986 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 21
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                              Just looking at the script, for the Mystic Ticket to work, flag 0x2F0 needs to be clear. For the Aurora Ticket, flag 0x2F1 needs to be clear. So, just clear those flags when the item is given and you should be all set.
                              Thank you, very helpful..
                                #23342    
                              Old December 15th, 2012 (12:14 PM).
                              Nara567's Avatar
                              Nara567 Nara567 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2010
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Careful
                                Posts: 34
                                I've inserted about 30 new sprites so far, and then I get to a Drapion sprite, and it breaks.

                                What I mean by that is, when I look at it in-game, it's not a Drapion. At first, it's a blank sprite. However, I went to another Pokemon (Lucario, in this case) and back to Drapion. The sprite became that of Lucario's with Drapion's palette.

                                I'm not sure what happened, since all of the other sprites have worked fine thus far.

                                Fire Red, if it matters.
                                  #23343    
                                Old December 15th, 2012 (12:20 PM). Edited December 21st, 2012 by karatekid552.
                                karatekid552's Avatar
                                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                What happens if I push it?....
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Bold
                                  Posts: 1,766
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by Nara567 View Post
                                  I've inserted about 30 new sprites so far, and then I get to a Drapion sprite, and it breaks.

                                  What I mean by that is, when I look at it in-game, it's not a Drapion. At first, it's a blank sprite. However, I went to another Pokemon (Lucario, in this case) and back to Drapion. The sprite became that of Lucario's with Drapion's palette.

                                  I'm not sure what happened, since all of the other sprites have worked fine thus far.

                                  Fire Red, if it matters.
                                  Just wondering, what are you using to insert these sprites? I've had this problem plenty of times with Pokepic, mostly because I didn't repoint.

                                  Okay, so I'm trying to increase the number of OW's in Pokemon Ruby to 255. So far, I've repointed the first OW table (at 0x36DC58) that is just 217 pointers in a row, (I also changed the single pointer that points to it). I also have repointed the entire table it points to (0x37????, the table that OWERE reads) and then went back to the previous table and changed all of the pointers to match the new ones. Then I expanded both to have 255 values. I also adjusted the .ini in OWERE to the new locations. I can edit the first 217 OW's fine, but as soon as I try to edit the ones 218+, I get a "Error #9; subscript out of range" error message.

                                  I tried to see if it was poor hex coding by me, so, I repointed slot 255 to go to Brandons sprite and it worked fine in the game. However, when I went to look at it, I got the same error message. This leads me to believe that OWERE has a cap on the number of OW's you can have. Is there any way I can remove this?
                                    #23344    
                                  Old December 15th, 2012 (12:38 PM).
                                  Nara567's Avatar
                                  Nara567 Nara567 is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Dec 2010
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Careful
                                    Posts: 34
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                    Just wondering, what are you using to insert these sprites? I've had this problem plenty of times with Pokepic, mostly because I didn't repoint.
                                    Hacked unLZ.


                                    I'm pretty sure I repointed correctly.
                                      #23345    
                                    Old December 15th, 2012 (1:43 PM). Edited December 15th, 2012 by karatekid552.
                                    karatekid552's Avatar
                                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                    What happens if I push it?....
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Bold
                                      Posts: 1,766
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Nara567 View Post
                                      Hacked unLZ.


                                      I'm pretty sure I repointed correctly.
                                      Okay, I've never used Hacked UnLZ for pokemon sprites, only for title screens, trainers, and recovering broken attacks. For pokemon sprites, the easiest are the Advanced Series Pokemon Sprite Editor or Wichu's Pokemon Sprite Editor.

                                      The problem your having is one that I personally experienced in Chaos Black, the first hack I ever played. When I opened it up with a sprite editor, I found that the sprites in which your particular problem occured, gave the error message "Data not LZZ compressed" and no sprite would be shown.

                                      I would first try a different tool. If you don't want to, that's fine. Then go make sure the image is correct, (64x64, 16 color; every once in a while I would accidently make it 64x65 and that causes problems too). Then just try to insert it again at a new offset.
                                        #23346    
                                      Old December 15th, 2012 (10:45 PM).
                                      Noossab Blue's Avatar
                                      Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2012
                                        Location: USA
                                        Gender: Female
                                        Nature: Quirky
                                        Posts: 240
                                        What is the easiest way to edit attack descriptions in fire red?
                                        __________________
                                        IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
                                        3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

                                        Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
                                        Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

                                          #23347    
                                        Old December 16th, 2012 (12:49 AM).
                                        miksy91's Avatar
                                        miksy91 miksy91 is offline
                                        Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
                                           
                                          Join Date: Oct 2008
                                          Location: A small country in the North
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Relaxed
                                          Posts: 1,438
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
                                          What is the easiest way to edit attack descriptions in fire red?
                                          If A-text (which I assume is the only text editor you could use) doesn't let you edit more than one description at a time and you would have to search for another one, one after another, don't use it.

                                          I recommend using a hex editor, possibly Translhextion or GoldFinger (I use GF myself but I can't say whether it's really the best hex editor out there, others like WindHex could be better too) and a FireRed table file.

                                          http://www.romhacking.net/forum/index.php/topic,13825.0.html

                                          What you've gotta do is to copy the contents from that site to a notepad file, and change the extension from .txt to .tbl. After you have done this, a hex editor can open up that file and use it for "translating" bytes to the language defined with the contents of the table file.
                                          __________________
                                          My Rom Hack



                                          Fixing bugs in a ROM hack
                                          CP of encountered pokemon in GO

                                          Learn how to hack GB/C games:

                                          Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
                                          -The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
                                            #23348    
                                          Old December 16th, 2012 (9:42 AM).
                                          karatekid552's Avatar
                                          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                          What happens if I push it?....
                                             
                                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                                            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Bold
                                            Posts: 1,766
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
                                            What is the easiest way to edit attack descriptions in fire red?
                                            There is a program called Move Editor by FinalZero. It can edit most everything about a move, except animations, including descriptions. I have used it myself and have had no problems so far.

                                            Here is his webpage:

                                            http://jc.tech-galaxy.com/
                                              #23349    
                                            Old December 18th, 2012 (3:06 PM).
                                            Renegade's Avatar
                                            Renegade Renegade is offline
                                            Time for real life...
                                               
                                              Join Date: Nov 2011
                                              Location: United States
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Careful
                                              Posts: 998
                                              I have a question. Hope someone can answer.

                                              How would I go about getting rid of the truck ANIMATION when you start up Pokemon Ruby? I know it's not a level script that is causing the animation to occur, so I'm guessing it involves some ASM hacking. Can anyone help me with this? Thanks in advance!
                                              __________________
                                                #23350    
                                              Old December 18th, 2012 (6:46 PM).
                                              Munsie Munsie is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Dec 2012
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 3
                                                Soooo I'm brand new to ROM hacking, and having a little bit of trouble understanding how to add events and such. I'm messing around with LeafGreen (I hope this isn't a problem, I don't see many posts referencing it, but I assume it works the same as FireRed). I added a house on Route 1, and was going to include a warp to it's interior...

                                                To test I could even make a working warp, I just wanted it to send you into Oak's Lab back in Pallet Town, so I set the Warp No to 0, Map Bank to 4, Map to 3. File->Save. Then I try to change which map I'm editing, and it keeps prompting me to save the map... I click yes, it just keeps me on Route 1, try to change again: Save? Yes. Back to route 1... I booted the ROM up to test and it most definitely hasn't saved...

                                                Sorry if this is a bit ramble-ish, but I'd like to know why this isn't working, or how to actually save my new event? :x
                                                Closed Thread

                                                Quick Reply

                                                Join the conversation!

                                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                Sponsored Links
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:31 AM.