ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23351    
Old December 19th, 2012 (4:52 AM).
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp Herpahermaderp is offline
I liek Mudkipz
     
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Location: USA
    Age: 19
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 66
    Ok, I've been repeatedly trying to insert this sprite

    Using Advanced Pokemon Sprite Editor. Everything goes well when I insert it, it's just when I try to fix the palette's, it crashes. No errors, just closes out the program. It does this with Kapurimon as well. Any ideas on how to make it stop?
    __________________
    Y: Roak || 1177-8023-4387

    Relevant Advertising!

      #23352    
    Old December 19th, 2012 (5:07 AM).
    Gamer2020's Avatar
    Gamer2020 Gamer2020 is offline
    Accept no Imitations!
       
      Join Date: Jun 2008
      Location: Distant Land
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 910
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Noossab Blue View Post
      What is the easiest way to edit attack descriptions in fire red?
      Use Pokemon Game Editor or a hex editor or both.
      __________________

        #23353    
      Old December 19th, 2012 (12:18 PM).
      karatekid552's Avatar
      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
      What happens if I push it?....
         
        Join Date: Nov 2012
        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Bold
        Posts: 1,766
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Munsie View Post
        Soooo I'm brand new to ROM hacking, and having a little bit of trouble understanding how to add events and such. I'm messing around with LeafGreen (I hope this isn't a problem, I don't see many posts referencing it, but I assume it works the same as FireRed). I added a house on Route 1, and was going to include a warp to it's interior...

        To test I could even make a working warp, I just wanted it to send you into Oak's Lab back in Pallet Town, so I set the Warp No to 0, Map Bank to 4, Map to 3. File->Save. Then I try to change which map I'm editing, and it keeps prompting me to save the map... I click yes, it just keeps me on Route 1, try to change again: Save? Yes. Back to route 1... I booted the ROM up to test and it most definitely hasn't saved...

        Sorry if this is a bit ramble-ish, but I'd like to know why this isn't working, or how to actually save my new event? :x
        Did you get any type of error message at any point? If not, close Advance Map, (which I'm going to assume your using), open up your game and test it out. If it did indeed save, then it is probably just a small bug that probably won't happen again after you restart Advance Map. If it didn't save, still, just try it again. Also, what version of A-map are you using? The newest one (1.95) was a beta and has a few bugs. If there was a specific error message, its number and description would be appreciated.
          #23354    
        Old December 19th, 2012 (4:34 PM).
        MissDigitalis's Avatar
        MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
           
          Join Date: Dec 2011
          Gender: Female
          Posts: 115
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Herpahermaderp View Post
          Ok, I've been repeatedly trying to insert this sprite

          Using Advanced Pokemon Sprite Editor. Everything goes well when I insert it, it's just when I try to fix the palette's, it crashes. No errors, just closes out the program. It does this with Kapurimon as well. Any ideas on how to make it stop?
          I'm not sure if this is the issue or not but it seems to work better when you insert each one at a time instead of 2 at a time. Either that or you insert all 4 in a single picture. Are you sure that it's sized properly too?
          __________________

            #23355    
          Old December 19th, 2012 (7:21 PM).
          Munsie Munsie is offline
             
            Join Date: Dec 2012
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 3
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
            Did you get any type of error message at any point? If not, close Advance Map, (which I'm going to assume your using), open up your game and test it out. If it did indeed save, then it is probably just a small bug that probably won't happen again after you restart Advance Map. If it didn't save, still, just try it again. Also, what version of A-map are you using? The newest one (1.95) was a beta and has a few bugs. If there was a specific error message, its number and description would be appreciated.
            Ty for the reply.

            No errors, just won't save for me. I tested in-game and my changes weren't there.

            I ended up running 1.92 (via GBA Pokemon Game Editor (super nifty collection of tools, I might add)) and I haven't had any issues adding/removing/changing scripts/warps/events and such. Guess I'll just have to juggle back and forth between versions depending on what I want to do.

            Now to dive into the nitty-gritty of scripting, hoorah. :D
              #23356    
            Old December 19th, 2012 (8:23 PM). Edited December 19th, 2012 by Eveveelution.
            Eveveelution's Avatar
            Eveveelution Eveveelution is offline
               
              Join Date: Dec 2012
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 2
              I am currently working on my first rom hack, and while testing it i found some bugs that I did not know how to repair. (I'm hacking fire red btw)

              1) I had set Route 1's pokemon to what i wanted them to be. But at some point when I changed it it gave me some kind of error thing. It went away so I thought nothing of it. But when I went to test what i had done so far the only pokemon there was a Sunflora, randing from level 0 to 100. When i go into advanced map the pokemon i want there are still set there. (the pokemon i wanted there had been there before when i went to go test in game.

              Then there is the worse one.
              In my version of Viridian city I deleted the man with the PokeTV because anyone that was going to play my ROM would probably already know what to do. But now when I try to leave the city from the north towards the forest, the game freezes and in the backround I can see a sprite pop up that was not there before, and i cant find him on A-Map. I can leave the city from the west without any problems though.

              Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

              I am currently working on my first rom hack, and while testing it i found some bugs that I did not know how to repair. (I'm hacking fire red btw)

              1) I had set Route 1's pokemon to what i wanted them to be. But at some point when I changed it it gave me some kind of error thing. It went away so I thought nothing of it. But when I went to test what i had done so far the only pokemon there was a Sunflora, ranging from level 0 to 100. When i go into advanced map the pokemon i want there are still set there. (the pokemon i wanted there had been there before when i went to go test in game.

              Then there is the worse one.
              In my version of Viridian city I deleted the man with the PokeTV because anyone that was going to play my ROM would probably already know what to do. But now when I try to leave the city from the north towards the forest, the game freezes, I can see a sprite pop up that was not there before that is behind me, and i cant find him on A-Map. I can leave the city from the west without any problems though.
                #23357    
              Old December 20th, 2012 (11:04 AM).
              Terrac's Avatar
              Terrac Terrac is offline
              Scrambled Egg
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2009
                Location: SoCal
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quirky
                Posts: 3
                Hi! Me and a friend (fireguy135) are working on a new rom hack (our first official one, but we've had a bit of experience poking around with tools and stuff), and we were wondering, is there any way to delete a map in advancemap without it adding new blank banks and just moving it around? everytime we try to delete a map we end up with extra banks and we don't know what went wrong... any help would be appreciated, thanks! and we're hacking emerald and using advancemap 1.90.
                  #23358    
                Old December 20th, 2012 (12:38 PM).
                Pedroizt Pedroizt is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 5
                  How to expand Fire Red Pokedex to 209 Pokemons?
                    #23359    
                  Old December 20th, 2012 (4:59 PM).
                  Joexv's Avatar
                  Joexv Joexv is offline
                  WHO ARE YOU PEOPLE
                  • Silver Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Oct 2012
                  Location: Oregon
                  Age: 20
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Sassy
                  Posts: 1,024
                  Ok I'd didn't have time to go through 900 pages of this so I don't know if my question has been answered.
                  When I edit most maps with advanced map in pokemon ruby it will mess up my game by making it start up with a white screen. I've tried thee hole 128k save file thing and it didn't work. I won't even edit the script and it gets screwed up. All I will do is change the size (sometimes), or add people or just change the ground. On routes an that kind of thing I have no problem with but if I change let's say little root town it screws up. I usually try to put in my own maps and just use that but I can't add the chose pokemon script or the poked script or any other specials without it getting messed up. I would love some help on figuring out why.
                  Thx in advance!!!!
                  __________________
                  I'm bored
                  Jesus Christ is my Savior
                  Bros with Percy

                  My Rom hacks
                  A New Dawn---Gentlemon
                  Not in Production:
                  Blackened Night---Holiday Hacks
                    #23360    
                  Old December 22nd, 2012 (3:50 AM).
                  TaichiWind's Avatar
                  TaichiWind TaichiWind is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2012
                    Location: in my house
                    Gender: Other
                    Nature: Lax
                    Posts: 175
                    What is the offset for the "come out of truck and your mom greets you" script in Pokemon Ruby?
                    __________________

                    In your own Steven-y way.
                      #23361    
                    Old December 22nd, 2012 (8:31 AM).
                    karatekid552's Avatar
                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                    What happens if I push it?....
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bold
                      Posts: 1,766
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by TaichiWind View Post
                      What is the offset for the "come out of truck and your mom greets you" script in Pokemon Ruby?
                      The offset is at $14D5EF.
                        #23362    
                      Old December 23rd, 2012 (2:03 PM).
                      DarkFire7777 DarkFire7777 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 5
                        Anyone know how to add a complete new tileset in Advance Map? I'm hacking Emerald and I want to add DP and Platinum tiles into it, but I don't want to damage or change any of the prexisting Emerald tiles. I've seen some people with whole new customs tilesets (with insanely large tileset numbers), but aren't that many tutorials out there. I did see LU-HO's tutorial, but it is closed and most of the links and pictures are broken. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :3
                          #23363    
                        Old December 23rd, 2012 (3:42 PM).
                        PincherD's Avatar
                        PincherD PincherD is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2012
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 4
                          Yeah..., it's been a while ever since I posted last...
                          >Though... Question...

                          How does one edit Abilities, (their effect in battle/name/description/etc.)?
                            #23364    
                          Old December 23rd, 2012 (8:42 PM).
                          Teh Blazer's Avatar
                          Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
                          Divider of Zero
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2009
                            Location: 'MERICA
                            Age: 22
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Relaxed
                            Posts: 772
                            Can somebody please explain to me the basics of tables and how to create them?
                            __________________
                            Being a hero is overrated anyways
                              #23365    
                            Old December 23rd, 2012 (9:18 PM).
                            itman itman is offline
                            Back to ROM hacking. :D
                               
                              Join Date: May 2007
                              Age: 23
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 100
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
                              Can somebody please explain to me the basics of tables and how to create them?
                              Locate the table, write down everything...
                                #23366    
                              Old December 23rd, 2012 (9:22 PM).
                              Teh Blazer's Avatar
                              Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
                              Divider of Zero
                                 
                                Join Date: Feb 2009
                                Location: 'MERICA
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Relaxed
                                Posts: 772
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by itman View Post
                                Locate the table, write down everything...
                                I mean, what's the basic structure and how would I make one?
                                __________________
                                Being a hero is overrated anyways
                                  #23367    
                                Old December 23rd, 2012 (9:25 PM).
                                Nara567's Avatar
                                Nara567 Nara567 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2010
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Careful
                                  Posts: 34
                                  I've got a few questions. Fire Red.

                                  Eevee. YAPE and Pokemon Editor included in the Pokemon Game Editor only allow for five evolutions max. Is there any way I can expand that to include Glaceon and Leafeon?
                                  Is there also any way for me to alter or add evolution methods? I don't mind hex editing, but I'd prefer not to.

                                  Is there a max number of trainer sprites I can have? I'm using the JPAN's Hacked Engine, if it makes a difference. I know there's a bunch of overworlds possible, but I don't recall reading anything about sprites.

                                  Is it possible to have tiles from a bunch of different tilesets in one map? Like the Celadon Department Story and Pewter's museum in one map?
                                    #23368    
                                  Old December 24th, 2012 (4:51 AM).
                                  Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                                  Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                                  hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2008
                                    Age: 23
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bashful
                                    Posts: 3,487
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Nara567 View Post
                                    I've got a few questions. Fire Red.

                                    Eevee. YAPE and Pokemon Editor included in the Pokemon Game Editor only allow for five evolutions max. Is there any way I can expand that to include Glaceon and Leafeon?
                                    Is there also any way for me to alter or add evolution methods? I don't mind hex editing, but I'd prefer not to.

                                    Is there a max number of trainer sprites I can have? I'm using the JPAN's Hacked Engine, if it makes a difference. I know there's a bunch of overworlds possible, but I don't recall reading anything about sprites.

                                    Is it possible to have tiles from a bunch of different tilesets in one map? Like the Celadon Department Story and Pewter's museum in one map?
                                    I think most of your questions require either ASM or editing the game engine, especially the restriction removal of number of evolutions. Max number of trainer sprites I think can be increased if you repoint the sprite the trainer data uses for each trainer (not sure on that though)

                                    As for your tileset data, unless you can fit all of those tiles into the same tileset, no unless you, again, edit the game engine or use ASM. My advice - get your favourite tiles from these and put them in as one tileset (but do not forget the pallette limitations that the GBA has as well in the games)
                                    __________________


                                    Temmie vibrates intensely.

                                    awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                                    OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                                    can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                                    RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                                      #23369    
                                    Old December 24th, 2012 (1:31 PM).
                                    Nara567's Avatar
                                    Nara567 Nara567 is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2010
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Careful
                                      Posts: 34
                                      Ah, that's what I thought. Unfortunately, I have no experience with ASM. =/

                                      I have some more questions, though. Fire Red, with JPAN's hacked engine.

                                      Is there a way to store the player's party somewhere, temporarily change the OW and give a new party, and then when the OW is changed back, return the original party? As if you're "switching" players temporarily.

                                      Is there a way to have a partner battle, like Steven's in Emerald, in Fire Red? I don't recall there being any partner battles last time I played through, but I figure if FRLG were just deposits of RSE, it's probably in there somewhere.
                                        #23370    
                                      Old December 24th, 2012 (2:46 PM).
                                      PokemonMasters's Avatar
                                      PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                                      Always Remember Forever&After
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jun 2012
                                        Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Calm
                                        Posts: 403
                                        Can anyone please help me on inserting Battle Backgrounds?
                                        __________________

                                        +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                                          #23371    
                                        Old December 24th, 2012 (5:46 PM).
                                        monster6286 monster6286 is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2012
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 1
                                          How do you change where the player starts?
                                            #23372    
                                          Old December 25th, 2012 (10:31 AM).
                                          karatekid552's Avatar
                                          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                          What happens if I push it?....
                                             
                                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                                            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Bold
                                            Posts: 1,766
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by monster6286 View Post
                                            How do you change where the player starts?
                                            There are two programs I've come across, probably more I just haven't seen them, but there is Intro Editor by MewThree and Start Map Chooser Advance (SMCA) by HackMew. SMCA is far more in depth that Into Editor and is a much better option. Both are simple and easy to use.
                                              #23373    
                                            Old December 25th, 2012 (1:51 PM).
                                            FireFox's Avatar
                                            FireFox FireFox is offline
                                            Dialga Fangirl
                                               
                                              Join Date: Aug 2004
                                              Location: UK
                                              Age: 31
                                              Gender: Female
                                              Nature: Timid
                                              Posts: 58
                                              Hi folks, quick Q:

                                              How do I go about changing the music that's played when you fight a Gym Leader/Elite 4? I want the normal Trainer Battle theme to play instead.
                                              __________________
                                                #23374    
                                              Old December 25th, 2012 (6:45 PM).
                                              karatekid552's Avatar
                                              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                              What happens if I push it?....
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Nov 2012
                                                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Bold
                                                Posts: 1,766
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by FireFox View Post
                                                Hi folks, quick Q:

                                                How do I go about changing the music that's played when you fight a Gym Leader/Elite 4? I want the normal Trainer Battle theme to play instead.
                                                Intro Music (I believe that is what you mean by battle theme) can be changed right in Advance Trainer. Just search for their names and change their theme number to whatever a regular trainer has. If I remember correctly, the Intro Music option is directly next to the sprite, or at least in that general area.
                                                  #23375    
                                                Old December 25th, 2012 (7:39 PM).
                                                SchokoInc SchokoInc is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                                  Posts: 20
                                                  Quote:
                                                  Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                                  Intro Music (I believe that is what you mean by battle theme) can be changed right in Advance Trainer. Just search for their names and change their theme number to whatever a regular trainer has. If I remember correctly, the Intro Music option is directly next to the sprite, or at least in that general area.
                                                  I think the question wasn't how to change the intro music (which is quite clear) but how to change the music that plays during the battle :] This question was asked rather often but never actually answered :o And actually this is my question too and i searched the entire thread for an answer :< It was said once (about 100 pages before) that it is possible to change the music that is linked to a certain trainer class e.g. that the gym leader (battle) theme is played when you challenge a trainer of the class boss but i didn't find an answer to this :(

                                                  So here's my question: How can i change the music playing against a special class of trainers.

                                                  @FireFox: In the script helping thread and here:
                                                  sfc [dot] pokefans [dot] net / lesson [dot] php?id=13&lang=en (damn spam-filter i'm too new to post URLs or hyperlinks :< )
                                                  you can find a tutorial how to change the music that plays for a single battle :) As I'm planning to have a different battle music playing against the opposing team this would be too much :< but for your needs it seems to be enough :) Hope it helped :)
                                                  Closed Thread

                                                  Quick Reply

                                                  Join the conversation!

                                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                  Sponsored Links
                                                  Thread Tools

                                                  Posting Rules
                                                  You may not post new threads
                                                  You may not post replies
                                                  You may not post attachments
                                                  You may not edit your posts

                                                  BB code is On
                                                  Smilies are On
                                                  [IMG] code is On
                                                  HTML code is Off

                                                  Forum Jump


                                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:14 AM.