Off-Topic Hang out with people and talk about whatever. Feel free to suggest a better description for this forum as everyone seems to have an opinion. :D

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 15th, 2013 (1:07 PM).
RainbowNebula's Avatar
RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is offline
Colour
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 679
Ok, so some people may have seen my previous post about wanting to dual boot Windows 8 and Ubuntu, and I did that, without wiping my hard drive. I then restarted hoping to access windows 8, however I booted straight into ubuntu. I went into the BIOS and straight away re-enabled the Secure Boot settings. It says there are no available boot devices. Now I can only boot into Ubuntu. Help.
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old February 15th, 2013 (3:41 PM).
danice123's Avatar
danice123 danice123 is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 14
    You boot only into Ubuntu? No Grub?
    Reply With Quote
      #3    
    Old February 15th, 2013 (4:19 PM).
    Liliana Vess's Avatar
    Liliana Vess Liliana Vess is offline
    My Secrecy. My Advantage.
    • Platinum Tier
     
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: «UK»
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 1,983
    Whilst in Ubuntu when you open a file manager do you see a separate drivce partition that you can open and see all the windows program files? If not then chances are you installed Ubuntu over it and maybe just imported files or something.
    __________________


    "I am confident that if anyone actually penetrates our facades, even the most perceptive would still be fundamentally unprepared for the truth of House Dimir."
    -Szadek, Lord of Secrets

    Reply With Quote
      #4    
    Old February 15th, 2013 (11:23 PM).
    RainbowNebula's Avatar
    RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is offline
    Colour
    • Crystal Tier
     
    Join Date: Apr 2009
    Location: UK
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Lonely
    Posts: 679
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Hybrid Trainer View Post
    Whilst in Ubuntu when you open a file manager do you see a separate drivce partition that you can open and see all the windows program files? If not then chances are you installed Ubuntu over it and maybe just imported files or something.
    Yes, all the Windows program files are there. It's only the bootmgr.dll that is missing.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by danice123 View Post
    You boot only into Ubuntu? No Grub?
    Sorry, I boot into GRUB and get a choice to boot to:
    Ubuntu
    Ubunu Advanced Options
    Mem Test
    Mem Test (Load of numbers)
    Reply With Quote
      #5    
    Old February 16th, 2013 (1:26 AM).
    twocows's Avatar
    twocows twocows is offline
    Mostly Benign
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Location: Michigan
    Age: 26
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Lax
    Posts: 4,170
    Add Windows to GRUB. For some reason GRUB didn't detect it automatically. http://erickoo.wordpress.com/2009/06/14/how-to-add-vista-partition-to-grub-2-ubuntu-9-10-karmic-koala/
    __________________
    8values
    Political Simulator
    Reply With Quote
      #6    
    Old February 16th, 2013 (7:48 AM).
    danice123's Avatar
    danice123 danice123 is offline
       
      Join Date: Sep 2007
      Age: 23
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 14
      Make sure you find the right partition also, many times windows creates two partitions, a boot and the actual windows partition. You cannot boot the actual partition, so if you have a separate boot partition for windows, you have to point GRUB at that. It should be around 100MB in size (or something similar).
      Reply With Quote
        #7    
      Old February 16th, 2013 (1:21 PM).
      Marth Marth is offline
      ...
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Feb 2013
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 2,527
      Check your grub-directorys. One of them has scripts in it in a particuliar form like "10_headers" and stuff. There should be a script like "10_os-prober", if there is no file with os-prober in it, than thats the reason your Windows isn't recognized, since this script is looking for active operating systems. Try 'sudo apt-get install os-prober' followed with 'sudo grub-update' and that should do it.
      __________________

      Reply With Quote
        #8    
      Old February 17th, 2013 (6:32 AM).
      Catalyst.'s Avatar
      Catalyst. Catalyst. is offline
      Nothing of significance
         
        Join Date: Nov 2012
        Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 126
        You could give the "easy way" a try too:

        Boot into Ubuntu.

        Open up Terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T).

        Type:
        
        Code:
        sudo add-apt-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair && sudo apt-get update
        Press Enter.

        Then type:
        Code:
        sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && boot-repair
        Press Enter.

        Now, launch "Boot Repair" from the Unity Dash, and hit recommended repair. Your problem should be fixed.
        Reply With Quote
          #9    
        Old February 17th, 2013 (8:23 AM).
        twocows's Avatar
        twocows twocows is offline
        Mostly Benign
        • Gold Tier
         
        Join Date: Mar 2009
        Location: Michigan
        Age: 26
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Lax
        Posts: 4,170
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Catalyst. View Post
        You could give the "easy way" a try too:

        Boot into Ubuntu.

        Open up Terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T).

        Type:
        
        Code:
        sudo add-apt-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair && sudo apt-get update
        Press Enter.

        Then type:
        Code:
        sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && boot-repair
        Press Enter.

        Now, launch "Boot Repair" from the Unity Dash, and hit recommended repair. Your problem should be fixed.
        That's hardly much easier than the ways already described. Also, I prefer using aptitude CLI over apt-get. It's not much different these days, but it removes unused dependency packages when you remove a package and you don't need to remember half a dozen different names for apt-get to do various things.
        Reply With Quote
          #10    
        Old February 17th, 2013 (9:19 AM).
        Archenoth's Avatar
        Archenoth Archenoth is offline
        The arch foe
           
          Join Date: Jan 2012
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Lonely
          Posts: 467
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by twocows View Post
          That's hardly much easier than the ways already described. Also, I prefer using aptitude CLI over apt-get. It's not much different these days, but it removes unused dependency packages when you remove a package and you don't need to remember half a dozen different names for apt-get to do various things.
          I beg to differ really... There is a lot more "automagic" going on with those two commands than there would be with the above methods. You type two commands and then run a program.

          How is that not easier than playing with GRUB settings if the guy is just starting out playing with Linux? I think that his initial impression likely isn't the greatest because of this little "hiccup". So telling him to add something to GRUB is something I doubt he wants to hear.


          Additionally, apt-get will tell you what it will remove if it removes unneeded dependencies... It also warns you when there are packages that are no longer required and allows you to autoremove them. I hear you on the multiple apt names though like "apt-get", "apt-cache", or "apt-add-repository", etc... But I never had much of a problem with that.
          Reply With Quote
            #11    
          Old February 17th, 2013 (1:41 PM).
          twocows's Avatar
          twocows twocows is offline
          Mostly Benign
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Mar 2009
          Location: Michigan
          Age: 26
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Lax
          Posts: 4,170
          It's not that hard to add like one line to GRUB that points at Windows manually.
          Reply With Quote
            #12    
          Old February 17th, 2013 (2:14 PM).
          RainbowNebula's Avatar
          RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is offline
          Colour
          • Crystal Tier
           
          Join Date: Apr 2009
          Location: UK
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Lonely
          Posts: 679
          Tried every single method offered in this thread now, and I can say with all honesty, none worked. So I guess I'm stuck with ubuntu. forever.
          Reply With Quote
            #13    
          Old February 17th, 2013 (3:27 PM).
          Archenoth's Avatar
          Archenoth Archenoth is offline
          The arch foe
             
            Join Date: Jan 2012
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 467
            Hm... Well, what about this..?
            Code:
            sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
            sudo update-grub
            This should re-run the detection process and hopefully detect your Windows partition...

            Additionally, could you go to a terminal and post the output of the above commands and "df" here if that doesn't work?
            Reply With Quote
              #14    
            Old February 17th, 2013 (3:28 PM).
            twocows's Avatar
            twocows twocows is offline
            Mostly Benign
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Mar 2009
            Location: Michigan
            Age: 26
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lax
            Posts: 4,170
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by The Explorer Of Destiny View Post
            Tried every single method offered in this thread now, and I can say with all honesty, none worked. So I guess I'm stuck with ubuntu. forever.
            You could copy/paste the terminal output here, you know. That way we'd actually be able to say where you went wrong.
            Reply With Quote
              #15    
            Old February 17th, 2013 (3:37 PM).
            RainbowNebula's Avatar
            RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is offline
            Colour
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Apr 2009
            Location: UK
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 679
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Archenoth View Post
            Hm... Well, what about this..?
            Code:
            sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
            sudo update-grub
            This should re-run the detection process and hopefully detect your Windows partition...

            Additionally, could you go to a terminal and post the output of the above commands and "df" here if that doesn't work?
            Didn't detect my windows; Heres my output

            [email protected]:~$ sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
            Installation finished. No error reported.
            [email protected]:~$ sudo update-grub
            Generating grub.cfg ...
            Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.5.0-17-generic
            Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.5.0-17-generic
            Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin

            and for "df"

            [email protected]:~$ df
            Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
            /dev/sda2 7689384 5031412 2267368 69% /
            udev 2955724 12 2955712 1% /dev
            tmpfs 1185972 940 1185032 1% /run
            none 5120 0 5120 0% /run/lock
            none 2964924 224 2964700 1% /run/shm
            none 102400 36 102364 1% /run/user
            /dev/sr0 226938 226938 0 100% /media/harvey/Recovery
            /dev/sdb1 390708800 288671832 102036968 74% /media/harvey/100C8B2A0C8B09C4
            Reply With Quote
              #16    
            Old February 17th, 2013 (4:02 PM).
            Archenoth's Avatar
            Archenoth Archenoth is offline
            The arch foe
               
              Join Date: Jan 2012
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lonely
              Posts: 467
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by The Explorer Of Destiny View Post
              /dev/sdb1 390708800 288671832 102036968 74% /media/harvey/100C8B2A0C8B09C4
              Aha! There's your problem..!
              I got you to type a command to detect OSes on your first hard drive, not your second.

              Try:
              Code:
              sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sdb
              sudo update-grub
              Reply With Quote
                #17    
              Old February 18th, 2013 (12:26 AM).
              RainbowNebula's Avatar
              RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is offline
              Colour
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Apr 2009
              Location: UK
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lonely
              Posts: 679
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Archenoth View Post
              Aha! There's your problem..!
              I got you to type a command to detect OSes on your first hard drive, not your second.

              Try:
              Code:
              sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sdb
              sudo update-grub
              Normally that would work, but I'm pretty sure my "second hard drive" is my C: backup connected by USB.
              Reply With Quote
                #18    
              Old February 18th, 2013 (4:20 AM).
              Marth Marth is offline
              ...
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Feb 2013
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 2,527
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by The Explorer Of Destiny View Post
              [email protected]:~$ df
              Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
              /dev/sda2 7689384 5031412 2267368 69% /
              udev 2955724 12 2955712 1% /dev
              tmpfs 1185972 940 1185032 1% /run
              none 5120 0 5120 0% /run/lock
              none 2964924 224 2964700 1% /run/shm
              none 102400 36 102364 1% /run/user
              /dev/sr0 226938 226938 0 100% /media/harvey/Recovery
              /dev/sdb1 390708800 288671832 102036968 74% /media/harvey/100C8B2A0C8B09C4
              That's some strange layout you have there. So I guess your partitions are as following:
              /dev/sda Harddrive
              /dev/sda1 Windows 8
              /dev/sda2 Ubuntu

              Normally there should be another layout (at least what I experienced)
              /dev/sda Harddrive
              /dev/sda1 Windows Bootloader
              /dev/sda2 Windows 8
              /dev/sda3 Ubuntu

              Is 'sudo fdisk -l' showing you the above layout? if so, then maybe you somehow crashed/deleted your Windows Bootloader
              Reply With Quote
                #19    
              Old February 18th, 2013 (5:55 AM). Edited February 18th, 2013 by RainbowNebula.
              RainbowNebula's Avatar
              RainbowNebula RainbowNebula is offline
              Colour
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Apr 2009
              Location: UK
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lonely
              Posts: 679
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by R.F. View Post
              That's some strange layout you have there. So I guess your partitions are as following:
              /dev/sda Harddrive
              /dev/sda1 Windows 8
              /dev/sda2 Ubuntu

              Normally there should be another layout (at least what I experienced)
              /dev/sda Harddrive
              /dev/sda1 Windows Bootloader
              /dev/sda2 Windows 8
              /dev/sda3 Ubuntu

              Is 'sudo fdisk -l' showing you the above layout? if so, then maybe you somehow crashed/deleted your Windows Bootloader
              for sudo fdisk -l i get:

              [email protected]:~$ sudo fdisk -l
              [sudo] password for harvey:

              WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sda'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.


              Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
              255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
              Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
              Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
              I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
              Disk identifier: 0x375fed77

              Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
              /dev/sda1 1 976773167 488386583+ ee GPT

              Thanks for all your help guys, but I eventually just got a windows recovery disk anyway. This thread can now be closed.
              Reply With Quote
                #20    
              Old February 18th, 2013 (2:52 PM).
              twocows's Avatar
              twocows twocows is offline
              Mostly Benign
              • Gold Tier
               
              Join Date: Mar 2009
              Location: Michigan
              Age: 26
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Lax
              Posts: 4,170
              If you want to be able to boot into your Ubuntu partition after doing a Windows recovery, you might be able to use EasyBCD to do it.
              Reply With Quote
                #21    
              Old February 18th, 2013 (5:21 PM).
              Zet's Avatar
              Zet Zet is offline
              • Platinum Tier
               
              Join Date: Sep 2007
              Location: Brisbane, Australia
              Age: 27
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Jolly
              Posts: 7,754
              There's no easy way to make linux and windows 8 play nice, but one of these two options should help: http://www.neowin.net/news/two-windows-8-linux-boot-solutions-may-merge-efforts
              Reply With Quote
                #22    
              Old February 18th, 2013 (10:50 PM).
              Archenoth's Avatar
              Archenoth Archenoth is offline
              The arch foe
                 
                Join Date: Jan 2012
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Lonely
                Posts: 467
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by twocows View Post
                If you want to be able to boot into your Ubuntu partition after doing a Windows recovery, you might be able to use EasyBCD to do it.
                Indeed..! Or, as much as so many people seem to hate it, Wubi is another option... It is the autorun on a Ubuntu or Linux Mint CD when you try to open in in Windows.

                Shame we couldn't get a solution earlier to you though. Blech.
                Reply With Quote
                Reply
                Quick Reply

                Sponsored Links
                Thread Tools

                Posting Rules
                You may not post new threads
                You may not post replies
                You may not post attachments
                You may not edit your posts

                BB code is On
                Smilies are On
                [IMG] code is On
                HTML code is Off

                Forum Jump


                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:03 AM.