Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old March 1st, 2013 (1:37 PM).
Sichlor's Avatar
Sichlor Sichlor is offline
     
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 48
    Hey guys,
    I've been trying to imitate the effect from the Seafoam-Islands,
    where when you push a boulder through a hole,
    it falls into the streaming water and creates still, surfable water behind it.
    As the "surfable" effect only affects a few tiles i had no problem implementing that,
    but changing the animated autotiles from streaming to still water for a big area of water was a bigger problem.
    I managed to create a workaround with animated character graphics for the still water,
    but that made the map lag a lot, as it meant to create about 200 animated events for the affected area.
    The perfect solution would be to change the autotile graphic for the affected events scriptwise.

    I already found a general solution for RPGXP (http://save-point.org/thread-4205.html),
    but as the map/tile script was changed in Essentials, the mentioned script produces errors.
    Did anyone of you guys mess with these script sections enough to tell me what i would need to do to achieve
    the desired effect?

    Any hint would be appreciated.

    Cheers, Sichlor
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old March 1st, 2013 (1:53 PM).
    Rayd12smitty's Avatar
    Rayd12smitty Rayd12smitty is offline
    Shadow Maker
       
      Join Date: Dec 2011
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 647
      I have an idea but I'm not sure if you will like it as it isn't what you are looking for. I plan on having a similar place it one of my maps, and I came up with this idea.

      You make different maps for each possible way the map could look. This could be a lot depending on how many boulders you have. If you have 3 boulders, you would need 8 maps, since there are 7 possible combinations and the normal one without any boulders pushed.
      none
      1
      2
      3
      1,2
      1,3
      2,3
      1,2,3

      Each time you push a boulder down the hole, you have it activate a switch. You will need a switch for each boulder. Any entrances to this map will have conditional branches for the transfer player part. If no switches are on, it goes to the normal map, if switch 1 is on, you transport to the first new version, if switches 2 and 3 are on, you transfer to that map.

      This should work fine, but only if all entrances to the map are doors, and not just open connections.
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old March 1st, 2013 (2:19 PM).
      Sichlor's Avatar
      Sichlor Sichlor is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2010
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 48
        Well, thinking about it, that could actually be an alternative, I wouldn't even need more maps,
        but make the map a little larger. As the change only occurs if the stream is fully blocked (in my map 2 boulders),
        I'd only need to create one more version of the map, right below the original one, and transport to these coordinates, once both boulders are pushed. It's an acceptable workaround (and I might use it until I get the script working) thanks!
        But as you pointed out already, I would love to do it perfectly with the script changes
        So I hope somebody can still help me with it.

        Cheers,
        Sichlor
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old March 1st, 2013 (2:31 PM).
        Rayd12smitty's Avatar
        Rayd12smitty Rayd12smitty is offline
        Shadow Maker
           
          Join Date: Dec 2011
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 647
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Sichlor View Post
          Well, thinking about it, that could actually be an alternative, I wouldn't even need more maps,
          but make the map a little larger. As the change only occurs if the stream is fully blocked (in my map 2 boulders),
          I'd only need to create one more version of the map, right below the original one, and transport to these coordinates, once both boulders are pushed. It's an acceptable workaround (and I might use it until I get the script working) thanks!
          But as you pointed out already, I would love to do it perfectly with the script changes
          So I hope somebody can still help me with it.

          Cheers,
          Sichlor

          I didn't even think of that. Yep you could definitely just make the map bigger and have a copy of it below. I hope someone helps you with the script glad i could help in some way
          __________________
          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old March 1st, 2013 (3:31 PM).
          Maruno's Avatar
          Maruno Maruno is offline
          Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
             
            Join Date: Jan 2008
            Location: England
            Posts: 5,171
            I honestly think using copies of the map which display different boulders having been pushed into position is the best way forward. There's no need for scripts, it's just copying/tweaking maps, and it's all-round easy.

            Since you're using switches to decide which boulders have been pushed down holes anyway (see the example maps for... examples), you could even get away with just two different maps - one with flowing water and one with still water. There are "pushed boulder" events on both maps which display accordingly. You only go to the still water map if all boulders are pushed.
            __________________
            Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

            | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
            | All Animations Project |

            Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


            Reply With Quote
              #6    
            Old March 1st, 2013 (5:01 PM).
            Sichlor's Avatar
            Sichlor Sichlor is offline
               
              Join Date: Aug 2010
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 48
              True. This specific problem is not as complicated as I thought it to be.

              It would be handy though, to be able to change tile graphics with a simple script call.
              That would make resource-friendly, variable maps child's play.
              Reply With Quote
              Reply
              Quick Reply

              Sponsored Links
              Thread Tools

              Posting Rules
              You may not post new threads
              You may not post replies
              You may not post attachments
              You may not edit your posts

              BB code is On
              Smilies are On
              [IMG] code is On
              HTML code is Off

              Forum Jump


              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:17 PM.