The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #24176    
Old March 25th, 2013 (2:56 AM).
BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2012
    Age: 20
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Quirky
    Posts: 543
    Umm..... Why isn't anyone answering my questions? Did I turn into a ghost without me noticing? Ooooooohhh...... Spooky.

    Quote:
    Hey there! Another question how about this:

    How do I edit it? I tried 2013 in Unlz gba and it looked like that but when I edited it, it remain unchanged. I guess that number isn't right. Do you know the right offset?

    Quote:
    Hey guys! You know how to remove Pikachu on the top-left from the "In the world blah..blah..blah.." intro?

    I tried to remove it using NSE's bookmarked offsets and managed to remove Pikachu's body and eyes but the ears are still there! Does anybody know the offset? Please help!
      #24177    
    Old March 25th, 2013 (3:39 AM).
    Reygok's Avatar
    Reygok Reygok is offline
    Beginning Hacker
       
      Join Date: Sep 2009
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 60
      And how much is "two bytes"? I tried what you sad, kid, but then I seem to add two glitched moves by myself.
        #24178    
      Old March 25th, 2013 (3:46 AM).
      Spherical Ice's Avatar
      Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
       
      Join Date: Nov 2007
      Location: Bristol, UK
      Age: 20
      Posts: 5,225
      00 00 is two bytes.

      It could be FF FF or FD 12, or any number of letter between A - F.
      __________________

      A Pokemon that is discriminated!
      Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
        #24179    
      Old March 25th, 2013 (4:14 AM). Edited March 25th, 2013 by Reygok.
      Reygok's Avatar
      Reygok Reygok is offline
      Beginning Hacker
         
        Join Date: Sep 2009
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 60
        Then, one move takes more than 2 bytes, because starting at the offset where I inserted my moveset, there are 38 used bytes, and I set 11 moves. Well, I'll try again.

        Okay, now it works. Thanks dudes.
          #24180    
        Old March 25th, 2013 (6:01 AM).
        U.Flame's Avatar
        U.Flame U.Flame is offline
        Meowna Fan
         
        Join Date: Jun 2008
        Location: Sapphire City in future Hoenn
        Age: 23
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Jolly
        Posts: 1,272
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
        The problem is the one I encountered in my OW editing tutorial. There is a set of 16 or so Dynamic OW's in every room that you can place decorations. These OWs "morph" or "change" into your decorations after you place them. Go into a secret base and you will notice the OWs lined up on the side of the room. Mimic them exactly and you should be in buisness.
        Makes sense, so I did exactly that. Mimicked everything, the sprite, the placement, the Person ID, the Event Number, etc. But instead of being invisible and doing their job, they show up as Brendan sprites and the problem still persists. I copied everything about them, so there must be more to it. What am I missing?
        Attached Images
        File Type: png event.png‎ (7.5 KB, 11 views) (Save to Dropbox)
        File Type: png Pokemon Sapphire.png‎ (5.0 KB, 12 views) (Save to Dropbox)
        __________________
        Hacks I'm working on:
        Pokemon Sapphire Hoenn's Rebirth - My own hack, making progress whenever possible.
        3rd Gen Multiplayer Project - Research and development, occasionally testing, sometimes with support.
        Pokemon Cursed/Creepy White - Group project, on hiatus for now with plans to return eventually.
        Animal Crossing Wild World playing as an animal - experimental, messing with models and textures

        Hacks I've worked on in the past:
        Pokemon Ruby Destiny Broken Timeline (pre-reboot) - Assisted with maps
        Pokemon HeartGold Prince Boo Edition - Experimental project with three small changes. Made at the request of YouTube LPer PrinceBoo21.

        Been super busy with work, life, and laptop problems. Hopefully I can get back into it soon, I fear I'm already rusty. Meanwhile I'm considering writing some of my hacks as a series of fanfics.

        Times I've been ninja'd: 18
        Times I've ninja'd people: 3
          #24181    
        Old March 25th, 2013 (6:04 AM).
        karatekid552's Avatar
        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
        What happens if I push it?....
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 1,766
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by U_Flame View Post
          Makes sense, so I did exactly that. Mimicked everything, the sprite, the placement, the Person ID, the Event Number, etc. But instead of being invisible and doing their job, they show up as Brendan sprites and the problem still persists. I copied everything about them, so there must be more to it. What am I missing?
          The fact that they show up as brendan sprites means you are close. Make sure there aren't any map scripts that would hide them, and make sure you are using the same Hidden movement type. There are at least 3 different Hidden types. Make sure they are the right one.
          __________________

          Paired with Simba
            #24182    
          Old March 25th, 2013 (8:48 AM).
          Reygok's Avatar
          Reygok Reygok is offline
          Beginning Hacker
             
            Join Date: Sep 2009
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 60
            Well, I made my first trainer, and I appearantly failed hard.

            The battle only works when I interact directly with the trainer, but when I walk in front of him, the script activates before I even cross his lign of sight, and it gets all glitchy. the same happens when I speak to him, and defeat him.

            Could it be that the first 20 or so slots in A-trainer are left free for a reason :P?

            Or is a mistake in my script:
            Quote:
            #dynamic 0x800000

            '---------------
            #org @start
            textcolor 0x2
            trainerbattle 0x0 0x1 0x0 @string1 @string2
            msgbox @string3 MSG_FACE '"You are good for a newbie!"
            release
            end


            '---------
            ' Strings
            '---------
            #org @string1
            = Hey!\nI never saw you before.\lAre you a new trainer?

            #org @string2
            = Blown away!

            #org @string3
            = You are good for a newbie!
              #24183    
            Old March 25th, 2013 (9:56 AM).
            karatekid552's Avatar
            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
            What happens if I push it?....
               
              Join Date: Nov 2012
              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bold
              Posts: 1,766
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Reygok View Post
              Well, I made my first trainer, and I appearantly failed hard.

              The battle only works when I interact directly with the trainer, but when I walk in front of him, the script activates before I even cross his lign of sight, and it gets all glitchy. the same happens when I speak to him, and defeat him.

              Could it be that the first 20 or so slots in A-trainer are left free for a reason :P?

              Or is a mistake in my script:
              When a trainer is activated by walking in front of him, think of it like this: it doesn't even read the trainerbattle command, it just assumes and skips to the next part where it reads what trainer battle to start. This is why it didn't work. Now, it doesn't happen exactly that way, but it is a good way to remember to start with the trainerbattle first. No text color command. I believe you can do text color directly in the message itself, but I always used to hack Ruby (I recently switched) so I don't know much about working with text color. But, just remove the text color line and you should be fine.
              __________________

              Paired with Simba
                #24184    
              Old March 25th, 2013 (10:34 AM).
              inthenameofDT's Avatar
              inthenameofDT inthenameofDT is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2009
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 9
                Hi. Is there a list anywhere of 100% completed rom hacks? I'm interesting in finding some new ones to play. If it helps, I could even provide a list of hacks I've played to make answering this easier. I tried searching several key words, but was unable to find what I was looking for. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
                  #24185    
                Old March 25th, 2013 (11:39 AM).
                Reygok's Avatar
                Reygok Reygok is offline
                Beginning Hacker
                   
                  Join Date: Sep 2009
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 60
                  Hm, well that sucks. But thanks again, kid ^^
                    #24186    
                  Old March 25th, 2013 (2:03 PM).
                  BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                  BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2012
                    Age: 20
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quirky
                    Posts: 543
                    A page has passed so... Please I need your help. I'm currently stuck on my hack!

                    Quote:
                    Umm..... Why isn't anyone answering my questions? Did I turn into a ghost without me noticing? Ooooooohhh...... Spooky.

                    Quote:
                    Hey there! Another question how about this:

                    How do I edit it? I tried 2013 in Unlz gba and it looked like that but when I edited it, it remain unchanged. I guess that number isn't right. Do you know the right offset?

                    Quote:
                    Hey guys! You know how to remove Pikachu on the top-left from the "In the world blah..blah..blah.." intro?

                    I tried to remove it using NSE's bookmarked offsets and managed to remove Pikachu's body and eyes but the ears are still there! Does anybody know the offset? Please help!
                      #24187    
                    Old March 25th, 2013 (2:33 PM).
                    Spherical Ice's Avatar
                    Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2007
                    Location: Bristol, UK
                    Age: 20
                    Posts: 5,225
                    The Pikachu sprites are:

                    0x8462D34: The two frames for the animated ears.
                    0x8462E18: The two frames for the animated eyes.
                    0x8462B74: The base sprite of the whole body.

                    I have no idea about the little Poké Ball icons though, sorry.
                    __________________

                    A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                    Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                      #24188    
                    Old March 25th, 2013 (3:06 PM).
                    BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                    BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2012
                      Age: 20
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Quirky
                      Posts: 543
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                      The Pikachu sprites are:

                      0x8462D34: The two frames for the animated ears.
                      0x8462E18: The two frames for the animated eyes.
                      0x8462B74: The base sprite of the whole body.

                      I have no idea about the little Poké Ball icons though, sorry.
                      Okay! Thanks! You're a great dude!
                        #24189    
                      Old March 25th, 2013 (3:16 PM).
                      karatekid552's Avatar
                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                      What happens if I push it?....
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 1,766
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by inthenameofDT View Post
                        Hi. Is there a list anywhere of 100% completed rom hacks? I'm interesting in finding some new ones to play. If it helps, I could even provide a list of hacks I've played to make answering this easier. I tried searching several key words, but was unable to find what I was looking for. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
                        Go into the Hacks Showcase sections of Emulation. Most of these hacks are complete or at least close enough for you to enjoy them. (I'm guessing you are not one of the beta tester types) Good luck!
                        __________________

                        Paired with Simba
                          #24190    
                        Old March 25th, 2013 (4:31 PM).
                        BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                        BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Sep 2012
                          Age: 20
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Quirky
                          Posts: 543
                          Hey guys, another question. For example, I would put a Lugia event where you battle him and because of the hidesprite command, he will disappear after the battle. My question is, how do I make it respawn like after beating it, the sprite will disappear, I leave the map and go back again and he will be there again. Is there a possible way to do this? How?
                            #24191    
                          Old March 25th, 2013 (4:34 PM).
                          Spherical Ice's Avatar
                          Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2007
                          Location: Bristol, UK
                          Age: 20
                          Posts: 5,225
                          Make a level script on the maps outside where Lugia spawns and clear the flag that you set for his Person ID.
                          __________________

                          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                            #24192    
                          Old March 25th, 2013 (4:39 PM).
                          BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                          BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2012
                            Age: 20
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Quirky
                            Posts: 543
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                            Make a level script on the maps outside where Lugia spawns and clear the flag that you set for his Person ID.
                            Umm.... Can you make it a bit simpler?....
                              #24193    
                            Old March 25th, 2013 (5:04 PM).
                            karatekid552's Avatar
                            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                            What happens if I push it?....
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Bold
                              Posts: 1,766
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                              Umm.... Can you make it a bit simpler?....
                              When you made Lugia disappear, you set a flag that was the same as its person ID in A-map, correct? Now, create a map script outside of that room which clears that flag. This will make Lugia show up again the next time you go back into the room which Lugia resides in. This will be infinate unless you set another flag to prevent this script from happening again, or changing the var whcih is attached to the map script.
                              __________________

                              Paired with Simba
                                #24194    
                              Old March 25th, 2013 (5:48 PM).
                              BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                              BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2012
                                Age: 20
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Quirky
                                Posts: 543
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                When you made Lugia disappear, you set a flag that was the same as its person ID in A-map, correct? Now, create a map script outside of that room which clears that flag. This will make Lugia show up again the next time you go back into the room which Lugia resides in. This will be infinate unless you set another flag to prevent this script from happening again, or changing the var whcih is attached to the map script.
                                What command do I use in A-map for the level script?
                                How about a sample? Not specifically for it. I just want to see its structure.
                                  #24195    
                                Old March 25th, 2013 (6:22 PM).
                                karatekid552's Avatar
                                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                What happens if I push it?....
                                   
                                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Bold
                                  Posts: 1,766
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                                  What command do I use in A-map for the level script?
                                  How about a sample? Not specifically for it. I just want to see its structure.
                                  It is really this simple:

                                  #Dynamic 0x800000
                                  #org @start
                                  clearflag 0x[Person ID of Lugia]
                                  end


                                  This will make lugia infinately appear in that cave. If you want to make it only reapear once:

                                  #Dynamic 0x800000
                                  #org @start
                                  checkflag 0x[a flag]
                                  if 0x0 goto @Lugia
                                  end

                                  #org @Lugia
                                  clearflag 0x[Person ID of Lugia]
                                  setflag 0x[a flag]
                                  end

                                  Since this script only messes with flags, it will work best under map script type 03 in A-Map.
                                  __________________

                                  Paired with Simba
                                    #24196    
                                  Old March 25th, 2013 (7:19 PM). Edited March 25th, 2013 by BlackWhiteRobin.
                                  BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                                  BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2012
                                    Age: 20
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Quirky
                                    Posts: 543
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                                    It is really this simple:

                                    #Dynamic 0x800000
                                    #org @start
                                    clearflag 0x[Person ID of Lugia]
                                    end


                                    This will make lugia infinately appear in that cave. If you want to make it only reapear once:

                                    #Dynamic 0x800000
                                    #org @start
                                    checkflag 0x[a flag]
                                    if 0x0 goto @Lugia
                                    end

                                    #org @Lugia
                                    clearflag 0x[Person ID of Lugia]
                                    setflag 0x[a flag]
                                    end

                                    Since this script only messes with flags, it will work best under map script type 03 in A-Map.
                                    So if Lugia's person ID is 1, I put 0x001?
                                    And the flag is any fromm 0x1 to 0x8C2 right?

                                    Also, if I want multiple of them, do I make one for each of them?
                                      #24197    
                                    Old March 26th, 2013 (2:00 AM).
                                    kearnseyboy6's Avatar
                                    kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
                                    Aussie's Toughest Mudder
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2008
                                      Posts: 300
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                                      So if Lugia's person ID is 1, I put 0x001?
                                      And the flag is any fromm 0x1 to 0x8C2 right?

                                      Also, if I want multiple of them, do I make one for each of them?
                                      Yes! you want to use flags between those values, any higher and you will mess with the games processing data I think, giving game glitches.

                                      You can find a list of used flags in the game in DIEGOISAWESOME's MEGA HUGE SCRIPTING TUTORIAL so I suggest that so you don't accidently pick a flag like 0x820 (the boulderbadge). I would link but I can't yet! (Low post count)

                                      You can have as many Lugia events as you want, as long as you have a seperate flag for each.
                                        #24198    
                                      Old March 26th, 2013 (2:02 AM).
                                      Spherical Ice's Avatar
                                      Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2007
                                      Location: Bristol, UK
                                      Age: 20
                                      Posts: 5,225
                                      I believe flags from the 200 - 2FF range are perfectly usable, and Poké Ball events tend to use the flags in the 100 area so I'm guessing they might be safe too. But yeah, just use, say, flag 200 and flag 201 for the flags that karatekid gave you.
                                      __________________

                                      A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                                      Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                                        #24199    
                                      Old March 26th, 2013 (2:46 AM).
                                      karatekid552's Avatar
                                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                      What happens if I push it?....
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Bold
                                        Posts: 1,766
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                                        I believe flags from the 200 - 2FF range are perfectly usable, and Poké Ball events tend to use the flags in the 100 area so I'm guessing they might be safe too. But yeah, just use, say, flag 200 and flag 201 for the flags that karatekid gave you.
                                        Almost every flag is unuseable. The only guarenteed good ones are in the 200s. DavidJCobb did a lot of research on flags and vars.

                                        I have posted these links faaar to many times:


                                        They contain exactly what every flag does. You can tell by what they do whether they are temporary or not. (If they control cut trees and the like = temporary)


                                        -------------
                                        This Wario on my screen. It confuses me.....
                                        __________________

                                        Paired with Simba
                                          #24200    
                                        Old March 26th, 2013 (9:27 AM).
                                        Spherical Ice's Avatar
                                        Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2007
                                        Location: Bristol, UK
                                        Age: 20
                                        Posts: 5,225
                                        Is it safe to use the two Saffron City maps for two separate maps?
                                        __________________

                                        A Pokemon that is discriminated!
                                        Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                                        Closed Thread

                                        Quick Reply

                                        Join the conversation!

                                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                        Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                        Thread Tools

                                        Posting Rules
                                        You may not post new threads
                                        You may not post replies
                                        You may not post attachments
                                        You may not edit your posts

                                        BB code is On
                                        Smilies are On
                                        [IMG] code is On
                                        HTML code is Off

                                        Forum Jump


                                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:12 AM.