The PokéCommunity Forums Pokémon: Main Series Games Fourth Generation
4th Gen Help Thread

Fourth Generation Diamond, Pearl, and Platinum kicked off the fourth generation of Pokémon. Two years later, fans of the Johto region were treated to a remastered adventure in HeartGold & SoulSilver. Discuss the games, explore the features, share your experiences, and help other players out!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #701    
Old March 27th, 2013 (8:45 PM).
Aslan's Avatar
Aslan Aslan is offline
the pretender
  • Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sydney
Age: 15
Gender: Female
Nature: Modest
Posts: 2,180
Hmm for me I found it easy grinding in Union Cave with water-types, grass-types, types that work well against rock and ground. It takes patience but that's the best place I can think of so far, you can also try and battle the gym leader, if you win you get a gleaming badge and get some tougher training spots like the route above Ilex Forest, if you lose at least you might get some decent EXP from it. So yeah, it all depends really on what level your Pokemon are around. :>
__________________

A Pokemon that is discriminated!
Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.

Relevant Advertising!

  #702    
Old March 27th, 2013 (8:55 PM).
Sydian's Avatar
Sydian Sydian is offline
≫ the emperor ≪
  • Super Moderator
  • Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Age: 24
Nature: Timid
Posts: 31,997
Oh my god this internet is terrible. Take two.

Try occupying yourself while you grind in the grass outside Union Cave, or in Slowpoke Well. Have a tv show on or a YouTube video up, or even listen to music and just mindlessly grind. It makes it go a lot faster (I do it myself). Also, make sure you register everyone in your PokeGear that offers it and answer when they call, as that's a potential rematch. A bit of a hassle, but rematches could be the keys between you and the levels you want to achieve at certain points in the game.
__________________
≫ this is my other self!
persona | gun
  #703    
Old March 28th, 2013 (8:56 AM).
DarkArcanine's Avatar
DarkArcanine DarkArcanine is offline
     
    Join Date: May 2008
    Location: Denmark
    Gender:
    Posts: 42
    Hi eerrbody

    I'v just ordered a 3ds and Heartgold(Yea, I'm always rolling with the new stuff) and I really would like some pokémon for my playthrouhg that I have to get through trade(Or mystery gift eg. Pikachu). So where can one inquire a person for such information?
    __________________
    Friend Code: 2595-0537-7544 - Please PM if you've added me

    Currently looking for: Charizardite X, Treecko, Mudkip, and Shinx.
      #704    
    Old March 28th, 2013 (10:08 AM).
    PlatinumDude's Avatar
    PlatinumDude PlatinumDude is online now
    Nyeh?
    • Gold Tier
     
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Location: Canada
    Age: 23
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Hasty
    Posts: 12,808
    Send a message via Yahoo to PlatinumDude
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DarkArcanine View Post
    Hi eerrbody

    I'v just ordered a 3ds and Heartgold(Yea, I'm always rolling with the new stuff) and I really would like some pokémon for my playthrouhg that I have to get through trade(Or mystery gift eg. Pikachu). So where can one inquire a person for such information?
    Try the Trade Corner right in this very Pokécommunity forum.
    __________________

      #705    
    Old March 31st, 2013 (9:27 AM). Edited March 31st, 2013 by Sonikkts.
    Sonikkts's Avatar
    Sonikkts Sonikkts is offline
       
      Join Date: Feb 2013
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 139
      Hello everyone,

      I've searched intensely before deciding to post here.

      I've come across a problem. I'm trying to 'finally' complete my Platinum game but hit a snag. When I insert Fire Red and Platinum to allow me to encounter additional Pokémon I can't find them. It works with Ruby, having caught Zangoose and Seedot. The Fire Red game doesn't seem to bring out these Pokémon. Is it possible I have a fake game? I can migrate from Fire Red directly though, which I believe is a sure sign of it being a real game. I'm confused and frustrated.

      (I hope I posted this in the correct section).

      *Edit

      Now I'm even more confused (I'm new to Gen IV). Does it differ at all in Platinum or Diamond? I just inserted Ruby, found several Pokémon, then inserted Leaf Green/Sapphire/Emerald and can't find anything.

      Very confused.
      __________________
        #706    
      Old March 31st, 2013 (4:31 PM).
      curiousnathan's Avatar
      curiousnathan curiousnathan is offline
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Sep 2009
      Location: Australia
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 7,828
      I'll move this over to the 4th Gen Help Thread!

      Woosh
      __________________
      Former moderator of First Generation, Second Generation and Fourth Generation
        #707    
      Old March 31st, 2013 (4:39 PM).
      vaporeon7's Avatar
      vaporeon7 vaporeon7 is offline
      My life would suck without you
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Aug 2010
      Location: Preparing for trouble and making it double.
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Adamant
      Posts: 5,154
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Sonkitts View Post
      Hello everyone,

      I've searched intensely before deciding to post here.

      I've come across a problem. I'm trying to 'finally' complete my Platinum game but hit a snag. When I insert Fire Red and Platinum to allow me to encounter additional Pokémon I can't find them. It works with Ruby, having caught Zangoose and Seedot. The Fire Red game doesn't seem to bring out these Pokémon. Is it possible I have a fake game? I can migrate from Fire Red directly though, which I believe is a sure sign of it being a real game. I'm confused and frustrated.

      (I hope I posted this in the correct section).

      *Edit

      Now I'm even more confused (I'm new to Gen IV). Does it differ at all in Platinum or Diamond? I just inserted Ruby, found several Pokémon, then inserted Leaf Green/Sapphire/Emerald and can't find anything.

      Very confused.
      A probably silly question, but did you turn the game off and on between game inserts?
      __________________
        #708    
      Old March 31st, 2013 (7:37 PM).
      Sydian's Avatar
      Sydian Sydian is offline
      ≫ the emperor ≪
      • Super Moderator
      • Crystal Tier
       
      Join Date: Feb 2008
      Location: Alabama
      Age: 24
      Nature: Timid
      Posts: 31,997
      Also a silly addition, but I recall this happening to me a few times. Make sure the game is fully inserted. I've sometimes put in a GBA game and thought it was snug in there, but on the main DS menu, it says there's no GBA game inserted. So maybe it's that and you've overlooked it. But aside from that and what the poster above me mentioned, idk what it could be.
      __________________
      ≫ this is my other self!
      persona | gun
        #709    
      Old April 1st, 2013 (5:44 AM).
      Sonikkts's Avatar
      Sonikkts Sonikkts is offline
         
        Join Date: Feb 2013
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 139
        Having done more research, my games are fake.

        The Leaf Green cartridge deletes the data when trying to migrate, which is definitive proof that it's a fake game. The Fire Red doesn't give me the Pokémon (Arbok in the Great Marsh), nor can I migrate but the game works fine. I can trade freely to other versions on Gen III games, just not direct migration. My Sapphire version is the same as Fire Red.

        I'll likely buy other cartridge versions (perfectionism and OCD taking over) now that I know how to spot a fake.
        __________________
          #710    
        Old April 2nd, 2013 (1:04 AM).
        ISNorden's Avatar
        ISNorden ISNorden is offline
        Teddiursa
           
          Join Date: Feb 2013
          Location: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Gentle
          Posts: 152
          Send a message via Yahoo to ISNorden
          I've caught the other two lake guardians in Platinum, and installed the Marking Map app on my Pokétch--which means that pesky Mesprit is now leading me all over Sinnoh on a wild goose chase. Even when the map app shows my position and Mesprit's overlapping, I can't see Mesprit (let alone catch it) nearby. Am I doing something wrong or overlooking a step? Please help if you can!
          __________________
          ========================

          Ingeborg S. Nordén

          " Coming this fall to Jubilife TV: Lost Beyond Space!"
            #711    
          Old April 2nd, 2013 (1:24 AM).
          Aslan's Avatar
          Aslan Aslan is offline
          the pretender
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Mar 2013
          Location: Sydney
          Age: 15
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Modest
          Posts: 2,180
          Ah I've had this as well before! From my memory you're not missing a step or doing something wrong. The only time you wouldn't find a roaming legendary on the conditions you're using is because you're in a cave. Otherwise even though it appears you're spot on where Mespirit is just move around a bit in the grass or if it's on water surf around. Eventually it'll appear, so yeah hope this helped! :)
          __________________

          A Pokemon that is discriminated!
          Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
            #712    
          Old April 2nd, 2013 (1:47 PM).
          LuxLax's Avatar
          LuxLax LuxLax is offline
          Want-To-Be Master
             
            Join Date: Apr 2013
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 25
            Hi, it's the new user no one knows about... Just Kidding! Anyway, what's the tree that most commonly has a Munchlax appear in Pokemon Diamond?
              #713    
            Old April 2nd, 2013 (3:55 PM).
            curiousnathan's Avatar
            curiousnathan curiousnathan is offline
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Sep 2009
            Location: Australia
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Adamant
            Posts: 7,828
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by LuxLax View Post
            Hi, it's the new user no one knows about... Just Kidding! Anyway, what's the tree that most commonly has a Munchlax appear in Pokemon Diamond?
            There's 21 Honey Trees altogether around Sinnoh, but only four of them have a chance of attracting a Munchlax. There's no set trees unfortunately, as the trees that attract Munchlax are decided randomly by your player information when the game begins. My best advice would to be really persistent, and to buy a lot of honey. As even if you do find a tree (you can't tell which trees attract which Pokemon), there's only a 1% chance of finding a Munchlax. Tough odds, but it isn't impossible!
            __________________
            Former moderator of First Generation, Second Generation and Fourth Generation
              #714    
            Old April 2nd, 2013 (4:31 PM).
            LuxLax's Avatar
            LuxLax LuxLax is offline
            Want-To-Be Master
               
              Join Date: Apr 2013
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Gentle
              Posts: 25
              Thanks for encouragement? Also, how do I find my secret ID?
                #715    
              Old April 2nd, 2013 (5:51 PM).
              Sydian's Avatar
              Sydian Sydian is offline
              ≫ the emperor ≪
              • Super Moderator
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Feb 2008
              Location: Alabama
              Age: 24
              Nature: Timid
              Posts: 31,997
              A way to get your secret ID is to use pokecheck.org by sending a Pokemon of your OT from the game you want to know the SID of and when it's on Pokecheck, you can see the SID (among other things as well, like IVs). The steps to do that are on the website itself, so you can check that out if you want to do that. Wifi is needed, of course.

              If you can't, there is another way, but it's much more difficult and requires having already caught a shiny on the game you want the SID for.
              __________________
              ≫ this is my other self!
              persona | gun
                #716    
              Old April 3rd, 2013 (6:45 AM).
              EnderBrandon EnderBrandon is offline
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2013
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 4
                Hey guys.
                Im sorry if i posted this in the wrong forum. This topic is the main reason why i signed up, i will post things here sometimes, but i wont be a player that will use the forum alot.

                Well, i do own a R4 Card, and so far i know its legal, as long i have the game original (and i do). I have stuff like Diamond, Platinum, HG, White and the old Emerald on it. When i was studieng the Pokemon Code (in other words, cheating stuff in) i realized something...

                Before i continue with this- i DO own Pokemon Platinum.

                Is it still "Legal" if i cheat Pokemon in on my Pokemon Platinum on my R4, and then transfer them over to my Pokemon Platinum that is original? That makes it legal to cheat Pokemons in, right? So far i know cheating in Pokemon is allowed, it just illegal to have a game on a R4 that you dont own.

                Anyone haves a idea?
                  #717    
                Old April 3rd, 2013 (12:52 PM).
                LuxLax's Avatar
                LuxLax LuxLax is offline
                Want-To-Be Master
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2013
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Gentle
                  Posts: 25
                  Do you need a WEP connection, because then Munchlax will only be a dream.(I have a WPA 2 KEY)
                    #718    
                  Old April 3rd, 2013 (1:19 PM).
                  Sydian's Avatar
                  Sydian Sydian is offline
                  ≫ the emperor ≪
                  • Super Moderator
                  • Crystal Tier
                   
                  Join Date: Feb 2008
                  Location: Alabama
                  Age: 24
                  Nature: Timid
                  Posts: 31,997
                  What system are you using? With a DSi and 3DS, it won't matter. But with a phat or a Lite, it will matter. I get the two connections confused though, so I'm not sure which one the phat/Lite needs to connect.
                  __________________
                  ≫ this is my other self!
                  persona | gun
                    #719    
                  Old April 3rd, 2013 (1:27 PM).
                  LuxLax's Avatar
                  LuxLax LuxLax is offline
                  Want-To-Be Master
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2013
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Gentle
                    Posts: 25
                    Dsi, it works with WEP but Diamond doesn't Trying to find my old Linksys, but an 11 year old won't have any luck...
                      #720    
                    Old April 3rd, 2013 (1:32 PM).
                    Sydian's Avatar
                    Sydian Sydian is offline
                    ≫ the emperor ≪
                    • Super Moderator
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Feb 2008
                    Location: Alabama
                    Age: 24
                    Nature: Timid
                    Posts: 31,997
                    Ah, that sucks. You could always consider asking in the Wifi Help Thread. It's in Technology and Internet, and you will probably get much better answers about wifi troubles there, and maybe some other options can be given to you.
                    __________________
                    ≫ this is my other self!
                    persona | gun
                      #721    
                    Old April 3rd, 2013 (1:35 PM).
                    ~RNC~'s Avatar
                    ~RNC~ ~RNC~ is offline
                    Mother Of All Pokemon!!
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2006
                      Location: Surfing With Blastoise!!
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Quirky
                      Posts: 8,725
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by LuxLax View Post
                      Dsi, it works with WEP but Diamond doesn't Trying to find my old Linksys, but an 11 year old won't have any luck...
                      Sorry what does this mean? I use my diamond and pearl games all the time and mine is WEP.
                      __________________
                      My Trading Thread ---> HERE
                      I Clone 6th & 7th Gen.
                      Name: ~RNC~ 3DS FC: 4012 5688 9276 Safari Pokes: Psychic: Espurr, Giraffic and Grumpig
                      My Thread Review ---> HERE
                        #722    
                      Old April 3rd, 2013 (2:07 PM).
                      LuxLax's Avatar
                      LuxLax LuxLax is offline
                      Want-To-Be Master
                         
                        Join Date: Apr 2013
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Gentle
                        Posts: 25
                        It means I can't do Global Trade with a WPA 2 PSK connection. I guess that's why there's friend's connection!;-)
                          #723    
                        Old April 3rd, 2013 (4:41 PM).
                        curiousnathan's Avatar
                        curiousnathan curiousnathan is offline
                        • Crystal Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2009
                        Location: Australia
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 7,828
                        Moving to the 4th Gen Help thread where this belongs!

                        [ Moved ]
                        __________________
                        Former moderator of First Generation, Second Generation and Fourth Generation
                          #724    
                        Old April 3rd, 2013 (4:47 PM).
                        Xaldin's Avatar
                        Xaldin Xaldin is offline
                        Big things come in Nice packages.
                           
                          Join Date: Feb 2013
                          Location: Mississippi
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 269
                          I recently evolved my Swablu to Altaria in Platinum. I do not,however,know what to nickname this fluffy dragon.What should I nickname it?
                          __________________
                            #725    
                          Old April 4th, 2013 (3:35 AM).
                          EnderBrandon EnderBrandon is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Apr 2013
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 4
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by EnderBrandon View Post
                            Hey guys.
                            Im sorry if i posted this in the wrong forum. This topic is the main reason why i signed up, i will post things here sometimes, but i wont be a player that will use the forum alot.

                            Well, i do own a R4 Card, and so far i know its legal, as long i have the game original (and i do). I have stuff like Diamond, Platinum, HG, White and the old Emerald on it. When i was studieng the Pokemon Code (in other words, cheating stuff in) i realized something...

                            Before i continue with this- i DO own Pokemon Platinum.

                            Is it still "Legal" if i cheat Pokemon in on my Pokemon Platinum on my R4, and then transfer them over to my Pokemon Platinum that is original? That makes it legal to cheat Pokemons in, right? So far i know cheating in Pokemon is allowed, it just illegal to have a game on a R4 that you dont own.

                            Anyone haves a idea?
                            Saw my post got moved into this. Still hoping for a answer.

                            Well, it does work. I tried to trade over a magikarp with no stats, abilities, EV/IVs and it worked (along with 5 other Pokemon that where rotting in my box).

                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by LiteSandwich View Post
                            I recently evolved my Swablu to Altaria in Platinum. I do not,however,know what to nickname this fluffy dragon.What should I nickname it?
                            Fluffy? Flaffy? Swabby?
                            Why should you actually nick it? Just nic it Altaria, lower-cased.
                            Closed Thread
                            Quick Reply

                            Sponsored Links
                            Thread Tools

                            Posting Rules
                            You may not post new threads
                            You may not post replies
                            You may not post attachments
                            You may not edit your posts

                            BB code is On
                            Smilies are On
                            [IMG] code is On
                            HTML code is Off

                            Forum Jump


                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:21 PM.