The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #24551    
Old April 9th, 2013 (7:53 AM).
hinkage's Avatar
hinkage hinkage is offline
Everyone currently in an argument with this member: I really suggest you stop.
  • Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 21
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by trafalgar View Post
So in fire red is not possible? Someone would not be able to do it with asm?

You can without asm, using \c\h10\h02 which has basically the same effect: transparent textbox except for the border, only this makes the textbox transparent from the start, rather than the text itself having a transparent background. I have no idea why anyone would want to do this, it's ugly, but alright.

It's something like that, anyway. I'm not home so I can't check for sure, but I wanted to answer now so I wouldn't forget lawlz
__________________
(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

Relevant Advertising!

  #24552    
Old April 9th, 2013 (8:46 AM).
trafalgar's Avatar
trafalgar trafalgar is offline
FireBlast
     
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 15
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by hinkage View Post
    You can without asm, using \c\h10\h02 which has basically the same effect: transparent textbox except for the border, only this makes the textbox transparent from the start, rather than the text itself having a transparent background. I have no idea why anyone would want to do this, it's ugly, but alright.

    It's something like that, anyway. I'm not home so I can't check for sure, but I wanted to answer now so I wouldn't forget lawlz
    Thanks for the reply, but I just tried using the code that you said and it does not work the same.
      #24553    
    Old April 9th, 2013 (2:35 PM).
    verysuperfamous verysuperfamous is offline
       
      Join Date: Apr 2013
      Posts: 5
      I was editing Fire Red and when I tried to load it up after making a few changes it wouldn't load, it would give me a white screen. So
      #1 Does this mean the file is corrupted?
      #2 Anyone know a way of fixing it or preventing it in the future?
        #24554    
      Old April 9th, 2013 (3:45 PM).
      karatekid552's Avatar
      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
      What happens if I push it?....
         
        Join Date: Nov 2012
        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Bold
        Posts: 1,766
        Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by verysuperfamous View Post
        I was editing Fire Red and when I tried to load it up after making a few changes it wouldn't load, it would give me a white screen. So
        #1 Does this mean the file is corrupted?
        #2 Anyone know a way of fixing it or preventing it in the future?
        1. Yes.
        2. Make a back-up.

        I have done this with hundreds of roms, it is all a part of learning, so always back up and make a list of changes so you can figure out where you went wrong.
        __________________

        Paired with Simba
          #24555    
        Old April 9th, 2013 (4:57 PM). Edited April 9th, 2013 by verysuperfamous.
        verysuperfamous verysuperfamous is offline
           
          Join Date: Apr 2013
          Posts: 5
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
          1. Yes.
          2. Make a back-up.

          I have done this with hundreds of roms, it is all a part of learning, so always back up and make a list of changes so you can figure out where you went wrong.
          NVM got it myself.

          Anyway, how does one change the groups of towns? I did it once by accident so I know it's possible.
            #24556    
          Old April 9th, 2013 (5:05 PM).
          karatekid552's Avatar
          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
          What happens if I push it?....
             
            Join Date: Nov 2012
            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Bold
            Posts: 1,766
            Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by verysuperfamous View Post
            I have 2 backups and hopefully one of them is good. How do I go from BAK to ROM? Figured out I could load the backup but it's not found by the emulator so hopefully it's good.
            Change the file extension:

            PokemonFireRed.gba -> PokemonFireRed.bak -> PokemonFireRed.gba

            Also, don't trust programs to back up for you. Do it yourself also.
            __________________

            Paired with Simba
              #24557    
            Old April 9th, 2013 (9:31 PM).
            AXELXu7's Avatar
            AXELXu7 AXELXu7 is offline
            Kusari Ninja
               
              Join Date: Apr 2013
              Location: Sorry, no.
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Quirky
              Posts: 38
              First off, why do so many people use Firered as a base? Is it easier? I'm using Emerald as my hack due to the real time clock (For day/night cycle) and large soundtrack, but is Firered better?

              Next question, can you kill the script that makes you spawn in a truck/ makes the truck sound/screen shaking? It makes no sense for my story.
              __________________
              This signature has been disabled.
              Signature too tall.
              Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

              You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

              Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                #24558    
              Old April 9th, 2013 (9:39 PM).
              BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
              BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                 
                Join Date: Sep 2012
                Age: 19
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quirky
                Posts: 529
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by AXELXu7 View Post
                First off, why do so many people use Firered as a base? Is it easier? I'm using Emerald as my hack due to the real time clock (For day/night cycle) and large soundtrack, but is Firered better?

                Next question, can you kill the script that makes you spawn in a truck/ makes the truck sound/screen shaking? It makes no sense for my story.
                FireRed is a bit better since it has this new moves, new animations hack, BW2 Repel System, Mugshot System, etc.

                For your second question, the search bar, Google and Yahoo are your friends.
                __________________

                  #24559    
                Old April 10th, 2013 (2:37 AM).
                karatekid552's Avatar
                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                What happens if I push it?....
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 1,766
                  Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by AXELXu7 View Post
                  First off, why do so many people use Firered as a base? Is it easier? I'm using Emerald as my hack due to the real time clock (For day/night cycle) and large soundtrack, but is Firered better?

                  Next question, can you kill the script that makes you spawn in a truck/ makes the truck sound/screen shaking? It makes no sense for my story.
                  There is a specific thread for this in the main Rom Hacking section. We also have a program called DNS which inserts an RTC into any rom, so RSE's clocks are useless.

                  There are several ways. The easiest is a program called "Truck Remover". It is slightly buggy on Emerald, but give it a try.
                  __________________

                  Paired with Simba
                    #24560    
                  Old April 10th, 2013 (2:49 AM).
                  BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                  BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2012
                    Age: 19
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quirky
                    Posts: 529
                    I have another question. How do I find the offset of a certain sprite using only VBA?

                    Is it safe to replace an Image with FF using a hex editor if I know the exact number of bytes?

                    When I use another border block in Palette town specifically the black empty tile, it turns like some glitchy blue wavy tiles. Why is that? How to fix?
                    __________________

                      #24561    
                    Old April 10th, 2013 (4:03 AM).
                    karatekid552's Avatar
                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                    What happens if I push it?....
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bold
                      Posts: 1,766
                      Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                      I have another question. How do I find the offset of a certain sprite using only VBA?

                      Is it safe to replace an Image with FF using a hex editor if I know the exact number of bytes?

                      When I use another border block in Palette town specifically the black empty tile, it turns like some glitchy blue wavy tiles. Why is that? How to fix?
                      1) Open up the tile viewer and find the sprite. See the location it is in the memory, now go to that location in memory viewer and search for the bytes you find there in a hex editor.

                      2) Yes, as long as nothing trys to use that image after you erase it, but still be very careful.

                      3) That isn't a black tile, it is a transparent tile. You need to find an actualy black tile. (I'm not sure if Palette Town has one, but many maps do.) Also, you could try making your own black tile.
                      __________________

                      Paired with Simba
                        #24562    
                      Old April 10th, 2013 (3:44 PM).
                      AXELXu7's Avatar
                      AXELXu7 AXELXu7 is offline
                      Kusari Ninja
                         
                        Join Date: Apr 2013
                        Location: Sorry, no.
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 38
                        Thanks for the help Karate Kid. Robin, the condescension is not required. I prefer to ask people than machines for help because as a rule, people are more creative.
                        __________________
                        This signature has been disabled.
                        Signature too tall.
                        Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

                        You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

                        Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
                          #24563    
                        Old April 10th, 2013 (5:39 PM).
                        destinedjagold's Avatar
                        destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                        Oh Hai Thar~
                        • Silver Tier
                         
                        Join Date: May 2007
                        Location: Philippines
                        Age: 26
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Careful
                        Posts: 8,507
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by AXELXu7 View Post
                        can you kill the script that makes you spawn in a truck/ makes the truck sound/screen shaking? It makes no sense for my story.
                        If you haven't yet, here's the program/tool I use to remove the truck animation.
                        Clicky~
                        __________________


                        FC: 0061-1111-6462
                        TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                          #24564    
                        Old April 10th, 2013 (11:23 PM). Edited April 10th, 2013 by kearnseyboy6.
                        kearnseyboy6's Avatar
                        kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
                        Aussie's Toughest Mudder
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2008
                          Posts: 300
                          If I was to place a script on wild grass (or a similar behavior) what will happen in what order? Is there a chance I could enter a battle? Or do scripts always take precedence?

                          Edit: Also how do I know which maps display the picture (eg Mt. Moon displays a cave) on entering a map? Can you rid of them!?

                          Thanks!
                          __________________
                          HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
                            #24565    
                          Old April 10th, 2013 (11:47 PM). Edited April 11th, 2013 by Kurapika.
                          Kurapika's Avatar
                          Kurapika Kurapika is offline
                          Grudgebearer
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2013
                            Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Naughty
                            Posts: 406
                            I want to decapitalize some words by hex editing, but some words are small and I am afraid I would modify some data I shouldn't touch. Can I get some tips/help please?

                            EDIT: Also, does anyone know how to tell if a specific byte is actually part of some text or part of something else...? (other than converting a whole part of hex into text and verify if it makes a senseful sentence/word. >.<)
                            __________________
                              #24566    
                            Old April 11th, 2013 (1:56 AM).
                            destinedjagold's Avatar
                            destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                            Oh Hai Thar~
                            • Silver Tier
                             
                            Join Date: May 2007
                            Location: Philippines
                            Age: 26
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Careful
                            Posts: 8,507
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
                            If I was to place a script on wild grass (or a similar behavior) what will happen in what order? Is there a chance I could enter a battle? Or do scripts always take precedence?

                            Thanks!
                            So far, from experience, it's the script that always takes priority before the wild grass tile.
                            __________________


                            FC: 0061-1111-6462
                            TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                              #24567    
                            Old April 11th, 2013 (3:59 AM).
                            dkp dkp is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Sep 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 17
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Kurapika View Post
                              I want to decapitalize some words by hex editing, but some words are small and I am afraid I would modify some data I shouldn't touch. Can I get some tips/help please?

                              EDIT: Also, does anyone know how to tell if a specific byte is actually part of some text or part of something else...? (other than converting a whole part of hex into text and verify if it makes a senseful sentence/word. >.<)
                              I can't post links yet, but bear with me.

                              Download a text editor with support for table files.

                              romhacking dot net slash utilities slash 204

                              (dot = . ; slash = / )

                              Then copy the table in diegoisawesome's scripting guide:


                              showthread.php?t=164276


                              Into a text file, and name it with the extension .tbl

                              Open your rom with goldfinger, then from the same menu there will be another option to open one of multiple tables. Open your table.

                              In goldfinger, then press F7 (the equivalent of ctrl-F) and then ctrl-TAB (this switches it from hex mode to character mode). Then carefully search one at a time.

                              Technically, there isn't a way to tell. However, generally text is around other text and ends in the byte FF (\x per HackMew's syntax). If it's something like RACECAR and immeadiately surrounding it is taR and /-ç and a bunch of garbage characters it's likely command chains. If it's something like YES and next to it is two \x s with the words NO\x, MAYBE\x, SEE YA\x etc around you *might* have found the multichoice menu.

                              You might have to make a back up (don't rely on the text editor to do it for you) and make a yolo edit and pray the game still works - in such a case you might not notice if it's causing the rom problems or not. If in doubt, just accept it's unknown and don't change it.
                              __________________
                              Hey! If you're a tool maker or you have a resource to contribute, but you're not up to trying to make a guide, I'll be happy to try and write one up for you if you want. All I need is a pm and the offsets.
                                #24568    
                              Old April 11th, 2013 (7:11 PM). Edited April 12th, 2013 by BlackWhiteRobin.
                              BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                              BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2012
                                Age: 19
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Quirky
                                Posts: 529
                                I have a few questions.

                                1) Is it possible to port the POKeNAV to POKeMON FireRed? Not the one like in Liquid Crystal. I mean having it appear on the START MENU.
                                2) Is it not possible to import POKeMON or Trainer sprites larger than 64x64 pixels?
                                3) How to hack the Video RAM? I wanted to make Battle Box similar to BW but it needs a reposition of the HP and EXP Bar.
                                4) Sideview Battles?
                                5) Is it possible to insert 16 color sprites in the intro? I use FR
                                6) Is it not possible to make 2 savedata slots for FR?
                                7) How do I reposition where the Pokeball appears in the intro? My sprite had it's hand higher.
                                __________________

                                  #24569    
                                Old April 12th, 2013 (5:47 AM).
                                madlukas971 madlukas971 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Dec 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 2
                                  hay guys
                                  i´m a german hacker
                                  and i try to set new flight/healing places @pkm Emerald german version.
                                  The problem is that ididnt find the mo...fuuu. offset to edit the bytes .
                                  so i want to ask after the Englich offsets.
                                  Than i could maybe research and get the offsets to set new Flight/healing places in german smaragd roms.

                                  So i´m happy
                                  if you had this offsets.

                                  mfg madlukas971

                                  edit sry for this bad english
                                    #24570    
                                  Old April 12th, 2013 (5:47 AM).
                                  BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                                  BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2012
                                    Age: 19
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Quirky
                                    Posts: 529
                                    Please help. Even just for how I insert 16 color sprites for intro.
                                    __________________

                                      #24571    
                                    Old April 12th, 2013 (5:58 AM).
                                    madlukas971 madlukas971 is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2012
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 2
                                      When you use the you must replace the nidoran against the intro desired pkm
                                      then you must also re-sort the pokedex with cpe and nidoran give to another agency, and insert both pkm the status values ​​and adjust the attacks.
                                      should now appear in the desired intron pkm


                                      sry its translate with google translator

                                      mfg mad
                                        #24572    
                                      Old April 12th, 2013 (6:05 AM).
                                      BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                                      BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Sep 2012
                                        Age: 19
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Quirky
                                        Posts: 529
                                        No I meant change the position of where the Main Pokeball appears from Prof.'s hand.

                                        Thanks for trying to help though.
                                        __________________

                                          #24573    
                                        Old April 12th, 2013 (12:43 PM).
                                        Liquid crystal fan Liquid crystal fan is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jun 2011
                                          Posts: 53
                                          I have some questions

                                          1. How do I add Pokemon to the game? How do you give them their official cry?

                                          2.Is it possible to quickly replace an entire tileset in a ROM. For example is there a way to quickly switch out one Pokemon Center design with another?

                                          3. How do you change OW's?

                                          4. Is it possible to make Pokemon walk with you? How would you do that?

                                          5. How do hackers edit the save-file type? The thing that causes some hacks to only work on VBA and not the actual GBA.
                                            #24574    
                                          Old April 12th, 2013 (12:52 PM).
                                          TweenyTodd TweenyTodd is offline
                                          Quitting cuz i got a job
                                             
                                            Join Date: Feb 2013
                                            Location: NOYB
                                            Nature: Sassy
                                            Posts: 95
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by Liquid crystal fan View Post
                                            I have some questions

                                            1. How do I add Pokemon to the game? How do you give them their official cry?

                                            2.Is it possible to quickly replace an entire tileset in a ROM. For example is there a way to quickly switch out one Pokemon Center design with another?

                                            3. How do you change OW's?

                                            4. Is it possible to make Pokemon walk with you? How would you do that?

                                            5. How do hackers edit the save-file type? The thing that causes some hacks to only work on VBA and not the actual GBA.
                                            A lot of these can be answered by threads already open, so be sure to check next time.
                                            First, always say the ROM you are using.
                                            In Order:
                                            1. Here's a tutorial: Tutorial
                                            2. I'm not sure. Don't work too much with tilesets myself.
                                            3. Another tutorial: Inserting new OWs
                                            4. Research and Development on that, called the Follow Me Script: R+D
                                            5. IDK about that either.
                                              #24575    
                                            Old April 12th, 2013 (12:59 PM).
                                            Liquid crystal fan Liquid crystal fan is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jun 2011
                                              Posts: 53
                                              Thanks! I looked but I couldn't find the info. And if anyone would be answer my second and fifth question that'd be cool.
                                              Closed Thread
                                              Quick Reply

                                              Sponsored Links
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:15 PM.