ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25201    
Old May 25th, 2013 (9:21 PM).
Herpahermaderp's Avatar
Herpahermaderp Herpahermaderp is offline
I liek Mudkipz
     
    Join Date: Jul 2012
    Location: USA
    Age: 19
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 66
    Where's the player's sprite data, backsprite data, and trainer card sprite data stored at?
    __________________
    Y: Roak || 1177-8023-4387

    Relevant Advertising!

      #25202    
    Old May 25th, 2013 (11:21 PM).
    SKRON SKRON is offline
       
      Join Date: May 2013
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 10
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
      Then try using the kitchen sink. Maybe that can be the answer. Even small things that look like very worthless can be useful when used right.

      And as I said try messing with it like randomly setting this to that, that to this.
      My friend, thank you for your time, unfortunately, it does not look like this will work
        #25203    
      Old May 26th, 2013 (3:03 AM).
      GoldXD GoldXD is offline
         
        Join Date: Feb 2013
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 15
        Hello everyone.I downloaded Advance Map,but i can't export pictures.

        It says:

        ERROR: (EFCreateError)Unable to create file"C:\Users\?????\Desktop\Tileset.dib"
          #25204    
        Old May 26th, 2013 (3:32 AM).
        giradialkia's Avatar
        giradialkia giradialkia is offline
        • Crystal Tier
         
        Join Date: Apr 2009
        Location: Ireland
        Age: 24
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Timid
        Posts: 1,566
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
        @giradialkia
        Just follow my tut on music hacking to get your own instruments.
        Yeah, tried that. I'm generally unlucky with tutorials- this is one of those cases, it just hasn't worked for me and doesn't look like it's going to. I have a method to change the instruments (within the song, not the ROM) that works absolutely fine, I just want to know exactly what instruments can be worked with in Ruby so I know how to compose around that; it's an odd way to go about it, but it works for me (so long as I know, again, what instruments I'm working with).
        __________________

        I'm working on an album of Pokémon-inspired music. Check out the Soundcloud link if you're interested!


        This is my Soundcloud | | This is my bandcamp
          #25205    
        Old May 26th, 2013 (1:37 PM).
        kablam kablam is offline
           
          Join Date: May 2013
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 21
          When I set XSE as the script editor in Advance Map and proceed to open up a script, it opens for less than a second and then closes out. This happens no matter what script I try and open.

          edit: This actually happens when I open up XSE in its respective file location as well. I have tried downloading from a different source with no luck.
            #25206    
          Old May 26th, 2013 (1:49 PM).
          ~Anbuja's Avatar
          ~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
          Let's Keep It Simple
             
            Join Date: Oct 2010
            Location: In Snorlax Stomach
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 321
            Quote:
            When I set XSE as the script editor in Advance Map and proceed to open up a script, it opens for less than a second and then closes out. This happens no matter what script I try and open.

            edit: This actually happens when I open up XSE in its respective file location as well. I have tried downloading from a different source with no luck.
            Uhm as far as I know it has somehting todo with the Setting.ini in you XSE folder.
            I've forgot which value had to be set to 0 so I'm inculding my Settings.ini in that spoiler.
            Just copy paste that over your Settings.ini after opening it in notepad.

            Hope this helps


            Spoiler:
            Quote:
            [MRUList]
            1=Kinglerscript.rbc
            2=stdattacks.rbh
            3=std.rbh
            4=Gym Guy (Inside).rbc
            5=Bug Catcher Kian.rbc
            6=Picnicker Suzie.rbc
            7=Final (1).rbc
            8=BugTrader.rbc
            9=BugTrader.rbc
            10=Kaplan.rbc
            [MRUPath]
            1=C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\AdvanceMap\Ini\
            2=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\XSE\
            3=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\XSE\
            4=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripts\Galug Town\
            5=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripts\Dusk Forest\
            6=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripts\Dusk Forest\
            7=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripts\Dusk Forest\
            8=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scary\Galug Town\
            9=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scary\Galug Town\Shades\
            10=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\[New]\New Scripts (TC4+)\Poliberg\Gym\
            [Templates]
            LastPath=C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\AdvanceMap\XSE
            [Options]
            HexViewerFilter=0
            AlwaysOnTop=0
            MinimizeToSystemTray=0
            RememberSize=0
            IgnoreChanges=0
            LineNumbers=1
            MenuBar=1
            StatusBar=1
            Sidebar=1
            SidebarAlignment=1
            ShowNotes=1
            ShowRecentFiles=1
            CalcMode=0
            InlineHelp=1
            AutoUpdateCheck=0
            NoLog=0
            [Format]
            BackgroundColor=-2147483643
            ForegroundColor=-2147483640
            FontName=Courier New
            FontBold=0
            FontItalic=0
            FontSize=9
            [Batch]
            LastFile=C:\Users\Admin\Downloads\Get Together 2011\Scripting.gba
            FilePath=C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\AdvanceMap\XSE
            STD=1
            STDItems=1
            STDPoke=1
            STDAttacks=1
            [TextAdjuster]
            TextLimit=34
            __________________
              #25207    
            Old May 26th, 2013 (4:11 PM).
            shinyabsol1's Avatar
            shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
            Pokemon DarkJasper!?
               
              Join Date: Aug 2010
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 330
              Is there any way to check what direction the hero is facing from a script?
                #25208    
              Old May 26th, 2013 (4:24 PM).
              Spherical Ice's Avatar
              Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Nov 2007
              Location: Bristol, UK
              Age: 19
              Posts: 5,227
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
              Is there any way to check what direction the hero is facing from a script?
              compare PLAYERFACING FACE_UP works if you have XSE and std.rbh installed, but it doesn't always work. Darthatron actually helped me find the location of it which can be manipulated with wbto but try that first.
              __________________

              A Pokemon that is discriminated!
              Support squirtle and make it everyone's favourite.
                #25209    
              Old May 26th, 2013 (4:28 PM).
              Trev's Avatar
              Trev Trev is offline
              starting my comeback tour
                 
                Join Date: May 2012
                Location: anywhere as long as I have dogs
                Age: 20
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Sassy
                Posts: 1,233
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
                Is there any way to check what direction the hero is facing from a script?
                Yes, there is. There's a variable called PLAYERFACING (0x800C) that checks the player's direction and stores it to that variable. It stores the values as 1 (down), 2 (up), 3 (left), or 4 (right). To apply it you could use something like this:

                Code:
                compare PLAYERFACING 0x1 'Checks if the player is facing down
                if 0x1 goto @down 'Checks if the player is facing down. 0x1 = yes, 0x0 = no.
                You can use it 4 times to check every direction, simply replacing the 0x1 in the first line with 0x2, 0x3, or 0x4, to check up, left, or right, respectively.
                  #25210    
                Old May 26th, 2013 (4:56 PM).
                shinyabsol1's Avatar
                shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
                Pokemon DarkJasper!?
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2010
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Calm
                  Posts: 330
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by PJBottomz
                  Yes, there is. There's a variable called PLAYERFACING (0x800C) that checks the player's direction and stores it to that variable. It stores the values as 1 (down), 2 (up), 3 (left), or 4 (right).
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Spherical Ice
                  compare PLAYERFACING FACE_UP works if you have XSE and std.rbh installed, but it doesn't always work. Darthatron actually helped me find the location of it which can be manipulated with wbto but try that first.
                  Ah! I knew there was a way to do it, but I couldn't remember. I'll give it a try.

                  Thanks!
                    #25211    
                  Old May 26th, 2013 (7:04 PM).
                  buckeyestilidie buckeyestilidie is offline
                     
                    Join Date: May 2013
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 34
                    Is there anyway to not allow people to enter cheats in the game? I'm making a game or switching some things around in my FR and plan on having a little competition with my friends and wanna make sure no one cheats to win lol is there a particular script or setting?
                      #25212    
                    Old May 26th, 2013 (8:55 PM).
                    Renegade's Avatar
                    Renegade Renegade is offline
                    Time for real life...
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2011
                      Location: United States
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Careful
                      Posts: 998
                      I took a brake from hacking for quite a long time, but now I'm back and I want to create a full hack. I already have years of experience so don't worry about skill level. Just a simple, quick, (YES OR NO ANSWER) question for ya'll: Is it worth the effort?
                      __________________
                        #25213    
                      Old May 26th, 2013 (9:04 PM).
                      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                      • Gold Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Earth
                      Age: 18
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 2,477
                      Heck yes. The thrill is like no other. Plus a few people got jobs or are studying to get jobs in game development companies from doing this kind of thing.
                      __________________
                      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                      Support me at my site!
                      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                        #25214    
                      Old May 26th, 2013 (9:26 PM).
                      Flandre Scarlet's Avatar
                      Flandre Scarlet Flandre Scarlet is offline
                      Free your mind.
                      • Gold Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Feb 2008
                      Location: Australia
                      Age: 21
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 355
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by giradialkia View Post
                      Yeah, tried that. I'm generally unlucky with tutorials- this is one of those cases, it just hasn't worked for me and doesn't look like it's going to. I have a method to change the instruments (within the song, not the ROM) that works absolutely fine, I just want to know exactly what instruments can be worked with in Ruby so I know how to compose around that; it's an odd way to go about it, but it works for me (so long as I know, again, what instruments I'm working with).
                      Not sure if your question has been answered, but here goes anyway.

                      So, basically you just want to know which voicegroups in Ruby play which instruments? There's a few documents around PC that Magnius wrote a while back that I still use to this very day. Here's a link to the RSE one:

                      http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=158512&highlight=document+voicegroup

                      You can also go in sappy, go to a battle song (where most of the good instruments are played like Trumpet, Strings, accordion and so forth) and note the voicegroup offset, and search for it in this document. There you will find all of the instruments that the voicegroup consists of. But, you could always just look through the document and find a voicegroup that suits your needs (whether you're composing a town/city theme, victory theme, battle theme etc.).

                      But just keep in mind that there can only be a certain amount of DirectSound instruments playing at once (I can't remember how many in Ruby though... I think it's like 4 or 5 or something?) and I think you need a certain amount of Square sounds/Wave sounds. But anyway, see how you go.

                      Hope that answers your question :)
                      __________________
                        #25215    
                      Old May 27th, 2013 (3:15 AM).
                      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                      • Gold Tier
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Earth
                      Age: 18
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 2,477
                      Ruby naturally plays five but following my tutorial you can make it play seven.
                      __________________
                      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                      Support me at my site!
                      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                        #25216    
                      Old May 27th, 2013 (4:23 AM).
                      kearnseyboy6's Avatar
                      kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
                      Aussie's Toughest Mudder
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2008
                        Posts: 300
                        Hi guys, If I have a map of 40x80 dimensions, I am aware increasing this to 40x100 will overwrite the next bytes and cause map glitches BUT can I safely change the dimensions to 60x60 (same area) without it glitches?

                        Or do I have to repoint the whole map? -.-

                        Thanks
                        __________________
                        HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
                          #25217    
                        Old May 27th, 2013 (4:29 AM).
                        GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                        GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                        (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                        • Gold Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Earth
                        Age: 18
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 2,477
                        Repointing has always been safer. Theres no loss obviously.
                        __________________
                        I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                        The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                        Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                        Support me at my site!
                        Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                          #25218    
                        Old May 27th, 2013 (5:54 AM).
                        kearnseyboy6's Avatar
                        kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
                        Aussie's Toughest Mudder
                           
                          Join Date: Dec 2008
                          Posts: 300
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                          Repointing has always been safer. Theres no loss obviously.
                          Thanks, I will do this!

                          Also I edited overlds (15 and 76 to be exact) and place their correct frames in the right place... But when ever I use them in scripts or applymovements specifically the move but their frame does not. Even if I set the overworld to look up they always have frame 0 applied to them.

                          Any reason for this or how to fix it?
                            #25219    
                          Old May 27th, 2013 (6:43 AM).
                          885ertd 885ertd is offline
                             
                            Join Date: May 2013
                            Gender: Female
                            Posts: 4
                            For some reason, Advance Map is not saving events. If I try to go to a different map, a box pops up that asks me to save. If I hit "Save" or "Cancel," nothing happens, while "No" takes me to the other map, without saving the first. What's going wrong?
                              #25220    
                            Old May 27th, 2013 (7:08 AM).
                            GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                            GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                            (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                            Location: Earth
                            Age: 18
                            Gender: Female
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 2,477
                            @kearnsneyboy6
                            It happens when you import an ow without repointing. Just importing and saving corrupts the frame loader.

                            @885ertd
                            There is a save button at the top left of the program.
                            __________________
                            I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                            The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                            Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                            Support me at my site!
                            Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                              #25221    
                            Old May 27th, 2013 (7:27 AM).
                            885ertd 885ertd is offline
                               
                              Join Date: May 2013
                              Gender: Female
                              Posts: 4
                              That one is the one not working.
                                #25222    
                              Old May 27th, 2013 (9:22 AM).
                              karatekid552's Avatar
                              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                              What happens if I push it?....
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2012
                                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 1,766
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by 885ertd View Post
                                That one is the one not working.
                                What version of A-map do you have?
                                __________________

                                Paired with Simba
                                  #25223    
                                Old May 27th, 2013 (9:27 AM).
                                AlexMonroe's Avatar
                                AlexMonroe AlexMonroe is offline
                                Demigod of Time
                                   
                                  Join Date: Oct 2011
                                  Location: NOT 27 Whitewood Road, Bayswater Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Hasty
                                  Posts: 40
                                  Hey, I was wondering if there was a way to change a type in Fire Red from being a physically-attacking type to a specially-attacking type or vise versa. Any info is helpful.

                                  Thanks!
                                  __________________
                                  Tom has never been the type to go out of his way looking for love—he'd much rather wait while all his friends start dating (and breaking up) in elementary school, junior high, and high school. However, when a special girl walks into his life, and has a good chance of never leaving, he finds himself struggling to deny his feelings for her. If only he knew what was coming soon after, he would never have changed his mind.


                                  (Working Title)

                                  A story about a boy who regrets the one thing he could never have changed.
                                    #25224    
                                  Old May 27th, 2013 (11:38 AM).
                                  Wewillburythem Wewillburythem is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2013
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 1
                                    Might anyone be as to so kind to tell me how to edit a sprite pallet in overworld editor (Rebirth)? And if it is impossible to do it in (Rebirth), then is there another possible way to edit a sprite palette? I have been searching for about 3 weeks now, so I joined this site to hope for an answer.
                                      #25225    
                                    Old May 27th, 2013 (12:02 PM).
                                    GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                                    GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                                    (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                                    • Gold Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                                    Location: Earth
                                    Age: 18
                                    Gender: Female
                                    Nature: Jolly
                                    Posts: 2,477
                                    use nse classic. it is better and does way more than your OWeditor program.
                                    __________________
                                    I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                                    The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                                    Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                                    Support me at my site!
                                    Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                    Closed Thread

                                    Quick Reply

                                    Join the conversation!

                                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                    Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                    Sponsored Links
                                    Thread Tools

                                    Posting Rules
                                    You may not post new threads
                                    You may not post replies
                                    You may not post attachments
                                    You may not edit your posts

                                    BB code is On
                                    Smilies are On
                                    [IMG] code is On
                                    HTML code is Off

                                    Forum Jump


                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:13 AM.