Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old September 28th, 2011 (6:40 AM).
jornoboy11's Avatar
jornoboy11 jornoboy11 is offline
     
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 65
    hello guys,

    This is my first tutorial so don't be angry if my tutorial isn't professional. I am not english/american or whatever so maybe I make some (or a lot of) spelling mistakes.

    Everyone has the same problem. You are hacking a pokemon rom. You have made an excellent map, nice attacks, good items and all other things. You also have good sprites but there is one problem: ALL COLORS OF YOUR SPRITE WILL MESS UP WHILE INSERTING THEM. I had the same problems and I make this tutorial because nowhere you can find the answer on your question.

    So........

    [SIZE="6"]PREPARATION/SIZE]

    You download the programs graphicsgale, unlz gba and a pokemon ruby/sapphire/fire red/ leaf green rom. Install everything and go on to step 2

    DOING IT

    Open unlz gba. Click on open rom and select your pokemon rom (don't forget to unzip the pokemon rom to get a binary file). Now you will find all sprites of the game. Go to around number 600 (type in 600 and click ''go to''). Here you search for the sprite you want to replace for your own sprite. Click on ''save as'' and save it somewhere. Now open up gg (graphicsgale) 2 times. With one of the 2 gg's open your own sprite. With the other gg you open your pokemon you want to replace (the existing pokemon not your fake one). Now go to your own made sprite, go to the tab all frames and click color depth. Change the color depth of your pokemon to 16 colors. Make sure your pokemon hasn't to much colors. Now your pokemon has 16 colors. Now click on the tab view and click on palette (if you hadn't select it already). Now you see the 16 colors of your picture. Click (at palette) on the blue arrow and click on ''save pallete'' and save it somewhere in your files. Now go to the existing pokemon you want to replace. Open palette too. You will see this picture has 16 other colors. Now click on the blue arrow again and click ''load palette and open the palette from your own sprite. On the left side you will see the palette of your own made sprite and on the right side you will see the colors of the replacing pokemon. Now hold left mouse button and select all colors except for the background color of your own sprite and drag them to the right side. MAKE SURE YOU LEAVE THE BACKGROUND COLOR (MOSTLY GREY) OF THE REPLACING POKEMON IN THE 16 COLORS PALETTE. Now your picture can be inserted. Copy your sprite on top of the old sprite. Make sure you don't see anything of the old sprite. Now you make sure everything you want to be invisible is the old background color (mostly grey). And also make sure the picture is 64x64 and now you can save the picture.

    Finish

    Now you open unlz gba again. You click on import pokemon and you choose your pokemon. Now you will see your picture instead of the old picture (If not you messed everything up). Now click on write to rom and it's finished.

    I hope this tutorial will help you a lot.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old September 30th, 2011 (5:06 PM).
    tente2's Avatar
    tente2 tente2 is offline
    "Outta my way, dammit!"
       
      Join Date: Sep 2009
      Location: Snowpoint City
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bashful
      Posts: 403
      Hello, this was mostly useful but I have a problem: When I try to "Write to Rom", I get this message:

      Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.

      The sprite is 64x64, and it's 16 colors, so I don't know how what I did wrong or how it could be "too big".

      Otherwise, it was great.
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old September 30th, 2011 (5:10 PM).
      Missingyep Missingyep is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2010
        Posts: 275
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by tente2 View Post
        Hello, this was mostly useful but I have a problem: When I try to "Write to Rom", I get this message:

        Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.

        The sprite is 64x64, and it's 16 colors, so I don't know how what I did wrong or how it could be "too big".

        Otherwise, it was great.
        ...Could you perhaps post the sprite?
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old September 30th, 2011 (6:11 PM).
        tente2's Avatar
        tente2 tente2 is offline
        "Outta my way, dammit!"
           
          Join Date: Sep 2009
          Location: Snowpoint City
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bashful
          Posts: 403
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by DavidJCobb View Post
          ...Could you perhaps post the sprite?
          Here it is. Check the attachments.
          Attached Images
          File Type: png Bidoof.png‎ (640 Bytes, 2534 views) (Save to Dropbox)
          __________________
          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old September 30th, 2011 (10:39 PM).
          miksy91's Avatar
          miksy91 miksy91 is offline
          Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
             
            Join Date: Oct 2008
            Location: A small country in the North
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 1,435
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by tente2 View Post
            Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.
            Which tells exactly why it won't let you insert it.

            If you're trying to replace Bidoof with another pokemon and write its data in the same place where the original pokemon's sprite was, the data of the new sprite must not exceed the data of the original sprite and as UNLZ is done well so that you won't get bugs with sprites of other pokemon, it won't let you insert it.

            Let's say the size of the original sprite is 500 bytes and the size of the new sprite is (as UNLZ points out) 0x2D0 (hex) bytes which is 720 bytes.
            --> The inserted sprite of Bidoof takes 220 bytes of the data following the original sprite --> If you want to avoid bugs, you must insert the sprite of Bidoof in blank space.
            __________________
            My Rom Hack



            Fixing bugs in a ROM hack
            CP of encountered pokemon in GO

            Learn how to hack GB/C games:

            Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
            -The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations
            Reply With Quote
              #6    
            Old October 15th, 2011 (8:07 AM).
            Sephiroth2009 Sephiroth2009 is offline
            Banned
               
              Join Date: Oct 2011
              Posts: 18
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by tente2 View Post
              Hello, this was mostly useful but I have a problem: When I try to "Write to Rom", I get this message:

              Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.

              The sprite is 64x64, and it's 16 colors, so I don't know how what I did wrong or how it could be "too big".

              Otherwise, it was great.
              Goto FSF. Open up Calculator, choose scientific mode and choose Hex. Type "2D0" and click dec. That number you put into FSF where "needed bytes are". Click search beginning of rom. Than turn that 16 number into 1. Hit search. That offset will be used in UNLZ. Write to rom, check the pointers box, and insert the new offset into the image area. Click ok and it should work.

              I never tested this with a Pokemon before, but I did it with the into sprite of the hero. I don't see how it'd be any different.

              And by the way, when it auto aborts...DO NOT CLICK OK, click CANCEL.
              Reply With Quote
                #7    
              Old November 18th, 2011 (6:32 PM).
              Shiny Charmander's Avatar
              Shiny Charmander Shiny Charmander is offline
                 
                Join Date: Nov 2011
                Location: LALA Land
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Docile
                Posts: 2
                somebody please help me,
                I am pretty new to this site
                I would really like to know how to insert the professor oak sprite without getting a big black and blue mess
                that would be great
                thank you
                Reply With Quote
                  #8    
                Old November 25th, 2011 (4:50 AM).
                ShadowGrey's Avatar
                ShadowGrey ShadowGrey is offline
                Graphix Master
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2011
                  Location: England
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Relaxed
                  Posts: 49
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Shiny Charmander View Post
                  somebody please help me,
                  I am pretty new to this site
                  I would really like to know how to insert the professor oak sprite without getting a big black and blue mess
                  that would be great
                  thank you
                  There are more sprite inserting tutorials on this site than fish in the sea, head to the home page, emulation then tutorials, any tutorial called 'inserting a sprite/pokemon' etc will work, just remember to repoint your data.
                  __________________



                  http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267674
                  Reply With Quote
                    #9    
                  Old January 22nd, 2012 (9:03 AM).
                  xephos's Avatar
                  xephos xephos is offline
                  xephos Inc.
                     
                    Join Date: Jan 2012
                    Location: U.S.A
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Quiet
                    Posts: 14
                    Thanks, saved my title screen from a BSOD look alike.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #10    
                    Old October 21st, 2012 (4:03 PM).
                    Chaos Devil Chaos Devil is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2012
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 1
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by tente2 View Post
                      Hello, this was mostly useful but I have a problem: When I try to "Write to Rom", I get this message:

                      Compressed size is: 2D0. Which is too big. Aborting.

                      The sprite is 64x64, and it's 16 colors, so I don't know how what I did wrong or how it could be "too big".

                      Otherwise, it was great.
                      You Need Free Space Finder.
                      Go To File-Load rom, Load Your Rom And Click Search From The Begging Of The Rom, Then In The Bottom Right Hand Corner There Are 2 BoxsThe Bottom One But The Code In So 2D0 And The Find And The Copy The When You Try To Upload The Picture Press Write To Rom Then You Will See The Image Offset Remove All The Numbers Except For The 2 00 Then Copy The Code Into It And Click Auto Abort Fix Pointers And Export Image Then Press Ok And It Shud Work
                      Reply With Quote
                        #11    
                      Old November 3rd, 2012 (12:14 PM).
                      Gandan Gandan is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 5
                        This tutorial mostly worked...except I get a black screen when I encounter the pokemon whose sprite I replaced. I didn't receive any kind of error message from UNLZ, so I have no clue what I did wrong. Has anyone else had this problem?
                        Reply With Quote
                          #12    
                        Old November 14th, 2012 (5:59 PM).
                        Shadow Libra's Avatar
                        Shadow Libra Shadow Libra is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2012
                          Location: Texas,Houston
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 13
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Chaos Devil View Post
                          You Need Free Space Finder.
                          Go To File-Load rom, Load Your Rom And Click Search From The Begging Of The Rom, Then In The Bottom Right Hand Corner There Are 2 BoxsThe Bottom One But The Code In So 2D0 And The Find And The Copy The When You Try To Upload The Picture Press Write To Rom Then You Will See The Image Offset Remove All The Numbers Except For The 2 00 Then Copy The Code Into It And Click Auto Abort Fix Pointers And Export Image Then Press Ok And It Shud Work
                          I did exactly as he said but it didn't Insert
                          can anyone help.
                          __________________

                          Wisdom doesn't come with age it comes with experience thats why i'm proud to be 11.
                          Reply With Quote
                            #13    
                          Old April 13th, 2013 (6:50 AM). Edited April 13th, 2013 by tayub121.
                          tayub121's Avatar
                          tayub121 tayub121 is offline
                          Inventor
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2012
                            Location: Indiana
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Naive
                            Posts: 26
                            Hello.
                            I can definitely remember having these problems!
                            The black screen is an overloaded offset basically so make sure that you have a transparent color and 15 other colors in your palette and the picture is 64x64. Now, for just a second, pretend you have no transparent color. The new sprite should be on top of the old one when indexed (If the picture is 60x60 and two pixels away from the 64x64 boundary, make sure the new sprite is 60x60 and in the same location on the 64x64 boundary.)

                            *COLOR CHANGING*
                            APE Advanced Palette Editor is the way to change those colors. I usually import my new sprite and then go through and change the palette with APE to get the colors I want. Basically (emphasis on this) it's easier to change sprite colors outside of UNLZ-GBA. You can't only use that one program for all your sprite editing.

                            Conclusion
                            This was the most frustrating thing for me when I couldn't figure it out. I hope I kind of helped because this can be complicated. I recommend checking YouTube for some helpful tutorials.

                            Good Luck!
                            Happy Hacking!
                            Reply With Quote
                              #14    
                            Old May 27th, 2013 (9:18 AM).
                            Ninja-Bunny Ninja-Bunny is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2013
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 2
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by Gandan View Post
                              This tutorial mostly worked...except I get a black screen when I encounter the pokemon whose sprite I replaced. I didn't receive any kind of error message from UNLZ, so I have no clue what I did wrong. Has anyone else had this problem?
                              Hey I also have this problem, did you find out how to fix it
                              Reply With Quote
                                #15    
                              Old June 15th, 2013 (1:28 PM).
                              EpicJeffrey EpicJeffrey is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Jan 2013
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 2
                                I think it means you unchecked auto abort if new data is bigger.
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #16    
                                Old June 20th, 2013 (9:03 AM).
                                rigirock's Avatar
                                rigirock rigirock is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2012
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 2
                                  I'm confused, everything was working fine, but when i tried to obtain the pokemon with the sprite, (starter pokemon) My game froze, anyone know what's up?
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #17    
                                  Old October 29th, 2013 (10:12 PM).
                                  Golden Empoleon Golden Empoleon is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2011
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 13
                                    @Gandan @Ninja-Bunny @rigirock: I'm having the same exact problem now and if one of you know please help me out. Thanks
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #18    
                                    Old November 7th, 2013 (8:19 PM).
                                    PokeHackMon1's Avatar
                                    PokeHackMon1 PokeHackMon1 is offline
                                    Rom Hacker
                                       
                                      Join Date: Oct 2013
                                      Location: Somewhere,USA
                                      Age: 20
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Brave
                                      Posts: 5
                                      when i import a fenniken picture all is okay and i write to rom when i check the picture it all scrambled up
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #19    
                                      Old November 8th, 2013 (5:49 PM). Edited November 8th, 2013 by King Haxxo.
                                      King Haxxo King Haxxo is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2013
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 5
                                        Ok, I'm going to try to address the black screen problem. When you click "Write to Rom" make sure you ALWAYS have "Auto abort if new data is bigger" checked because that will tell you with a pop-up if the new data is bigger.

                                        If enough people need it, I can make a step by step tutorial of how to get rid of black screen.
                                        __________________


                                        Pokemon - Tainted Black
                                        A darkness has fallen over Kanto... Will you be the one to vanquish it?
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #20    
                                        Old November 9th, 2013 (1:51 AM).
                                        Rycanthropy's Avatar
                                        Rycanthropy Rycanthropy is offline
                                        Professional Lurker
                                           
                                          Join Date: Mar 2009
                                          Location: India
                                          Age: 21
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Sassy
                                          Posts: 116
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by PokeHackMon1 View Post
                                          when i import a fenniken picture all is okay and i write to rom when i check the picture it all scrambled up
                                          You probably wrote a bigger picture with the auto abort checkbox unchecked which has ruined your sprite. You can use Free Space Finder to find free space and repoint the picture to that location. An easier way would be to just use Advanced Sprite Editor or Nameless Sprite Editor 2.x, both have automatic repointing features.
                                          __________________
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #21    
                                          Old November 9th, 2013 (3:25 AM).
                                          Sniper's Avatar
                                          Sniper Sniper is offline
                                          ふゆかい
                                             
                                            Join Date: Nov 2013
                                            Location: Philippines
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Quiet
                                            Posts: 1,453
                                            It still messed up some colors, I don't understand o-o
                                            __________________


                                            Reply With Quote
                                              #22    
                                            Old July 31st, 2014 (4:46 PM).
                                            haafnpe haafnpe is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Jul 2014
                                              Posts: 1
                                              Hey, if i may just dig out this thread: i'm having a (seemingly unique) problem:
                                              when i change a pokemons sprite in unLZ the spirte itself looks flawless, but it keeps messing up the colors of the blue bar that comes up when you press start (the one where the different menu options are explained)...the white text stays the way it is, but the background gets messed up...

                                              any ideas, anyone? :D
                                              Reply With Quote
                                                #23    
                                              Old August 29th, 2014 (8:26 PM).
                                              WebWandere's Avatar
                                              WebWandere WebWandere is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Aug 2014
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Adamant
                                                Posts: 6
                                                I am having an issue that I may have seen in only one other spot on this thread, and yes, I'm new to this.

                                                I've followed all of the steps on writing a new sprite to the ROM using unLZ, FSF, Paint, and IrfanView.

                                                Everything appears to go through fine, yet when I walk out of the house or try to withraw the Potion from my box, the game freezes!

                                                Can anyone help me out here? I am obviously doing something wrong, but I havent found an answer anywhere, just other people with the same problem.

                                                Btw, I am using a Pokemon FireRed rom.
                                                Reply With Quote
                                                  #24    
                                                Old August 29th, 2014 (8:28 PM).
                                                WebWandere's Avatar
                                                WebWandere WebWandere is offline
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Aug 2014
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Nature: Adamant
                                                  Posts: 6
                                                  Let me re-iterate that...

                                                  When I try to pull the Potion out of my box, the game freezes and the Visual Boy Advance emulator ranks up to 380%

                                                  When I walk out of my house, the game restarts...
                                                  Reply With Quote
                                                    #25    
                                                  Old August 30th, 2014 (7:56 PM).
                                                  DarkenedEclipse's Avatar
                                                  DarkenedEclipse DarkenedEclipse is offline
                                                  Project Oak
                                                     
                                                    Join Date: Jun 2014
                                                    Location: Sinnoh
                                                    Gender: Male
                                                    Nature: Bold
                                                    Posts: 210
                                                    Quote:
                                                    Originally Posted by WebWandere View Post
                                                    Let me re-iterate that...

                                                    When I try to pull the Potion out of my box, the game freezes and the Visual Boy Advance emulator ranks up to 380%

                                                    When I walk out of my house, the game restarts...
                                                    Just use NSE to put in sprites, also use Chaos Rushs sprite resource which can be found here:



                                                    http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267728


                                                    You won't have anymore errors putting in sprites the backs and Shinies work as well


                                                    ~DarkenedEclipse
                                                    __________________
                                                    Reply With Quote
                                                    Reply
                                                    Quick Reply

                                                    Sponsored Links
                                                    Thread Tools

                                                    Posting Rules
                                                    You may not post new threads
                                                    You may not post replies
                                                    You may not post attachments
                                                    You may not edit your posts

                                                    BB code is On
                                                    Smilies are On
                                                    [IMG] code is On
                                                    HTML code is Off

                                                    Forum Jump


                                                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 2:53 AM.