Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #876    
Old May 19th, 2013 (10:25 AM).
red5677 red5677 is offline
Non-Existent Elite Four Champ
     
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: California, United States
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Brave
    Posts: 20
    I need help with a starter event, is there a flag that does that, because I want a local gym leader to do it instead of professor oak. (Fire Red) Can anyone please help me with that?
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #877    
    Old May 19th, 2013 (10:54 AM).
    LaDestitute's Avatar
    LaDestitute LaDestitute is offline
    Razor Sharp
       
      Join Date: Apr 2013
      Location: West Coast, USA
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Calm
      Posts: 84
      Do you mean the opening intro with Professor Oak?
      Reply With Quote
        #878    
      Old May 19th, 2013 (11:25 AM).
      Trev's Avatar
      Trev Trev is offline
      starting my comeback tour
         
        Join Date: May 2012
        Location: anywhere as long as I have dogs
        Age: 20
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Sassy
        Posts: 1,192
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by red5677 View Post
        I need help with a starter event, is there a flag that does that, because I want a local gym leader to do it instead of professor oak. (Fire Red) Can anyone please help me with that?
        The starter event isn't controlled by a flag (flags are involved though). It's just an extremely advanced code written as a level script. Go into Oak's Lab on AdvanceMap (4.3), click on Header at the top, go to the Map Script section, hit the Up arrow on the Script no. box until you get to the third script, open it with whatever coding thing you're using, and there's your starter code.
        Reply With Quote
          #879    
        Old May 19th, 2013 (8:26 PM). Edited May 19th, 2013 by red5677.
        red5677 red5677 is offline
        Non-Existent Elite Four Champ
           
          Join Date: Jun 2008
          Location: California, United States
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Brave
          Posts: 20
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by PJBottomz View Post
          The starter event isn't controlled by a flag (flags are involved though). It's just an extremely advanced code written as a level script. Go into Oak's Lab on AdvanceMap (4.3), click on Header at the top, go to the Map Script section, hit the Up arrow on the Script no. box until you get to the third script, open it with whatever coding thing you're using, and there's your starter code.
          So basically if I copy that I can paste it onto whoever I wantz? Gee Thanks! I've been looking for that everywhere! And can I just edit the message of the rivals and the professor to my needs or....?
          Reply With Quote
            #880    
          Old May 19th, 2013 (8:29 PM).
          Shadowraze's Avatar
          Shadowraze Shadowraze is offline
          ur mum
             
            Join Date: Apr 2013
            Location: ur mum
            Age: 18
            Gender: Other
            Nature: Lonely
            Posts: 798
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by red5677 View Post
            So basically if I copy that I can paste it onto whoever I wantz? Gee Thanks! I've been looking for that everywhere! And can I just edit the message of the rivals and the professor to my needs or....?
            You have to repoint the new text if the newer one is longer than the previous one.
            Reply With Quote
              #881    
            Old May 19th, 2013 (8:52 PM).
            red5677 red5677 is offline
            Non-Existent Elite Four Champ
               
              Join Date: Jun 2008
              Location: California, United States
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Brave
              Posts: 20
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Shadowraze View Post
              You have to repoint the new text if the newer one is longer than the previous one.
              So I actually just tried copy and pasting it, but it doesn't work. I put the same offset onto the person and when I talk to him nothing happens. I wanted to edit the script so that the first gym leader gives me the pokemon and goes inside so i can battle him....... I know that's too much to ask but I'm just putting it out there...
              Reply With Quote
                #882    
              Old May 19th, 2013 (9:09 PM).
              LaDestitute's Avatar
              LaDestitute LaDestitute is offline
              Razor Sharp
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2013
                Location: West Coast, USA
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Calm
                Posts: 84
                Why not just change the OW sprite and change the text using XSE's text adjuster?
                Reply With Quote
                  #883    
                Old May 19th, 2013 (11:28 PM).
                Shadowraze's Avatar
                Shadowraze Shadowraze is offline
                ur mum
                   
                  Join Date: Apr 2013
                  Location: ur mum
                  Age: 18
                  Gender: Other
                  Nature: Lonely
                  Posts: 798
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by red5677 View Post
                  So I actually just tried copy and pasting it, but it doesn't work. I put the same offset onto the person and when I talk to him nothing happens. I wanted to edit the script so that the first gym leader gives me the pokemon and goes inside so i can battle him....... I know that's too much to ask but I'm just putting it out there...
                  ...

                  Why won't you read the whole tutorial and try the things being taught on the way so you will understand it better.

                  Also I think it will be better if you don't edit that script and rewrite the script and just make that old script as a guide into making your script.
                  Reply With Quote
                    #884    
                  Old May 20th, 2013 (10:03 AM).
                  red5677 red5677 is offline
                  Non-Existent Elite Four Champ
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2008
                    Location: California, United States
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Brave
                    Posts: 20
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Shadowraze View Post
                    ...

                    Why won't you read the whole tutorial and try the things being taught on the way so you will understand it better.

                    Also I think it will be better if you don't edit that script and rewrite the script and just make that old script as a guide into making your script.
                    You don't think I read it lol? I couldn't find anything on the starter pokemon event so I asked. Plus I'm really having a hard time understanding all of the flags and stuff.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #885    
                    Old May 25th, 2013 (2:38 AM).
                    Marty152 Marty152 is offline
                       
                      Join Date: May 2013
                      Posts: 13
                      I have a question.

                      I made this code to stop the player from continuing without a pokedex in pokemon Ruby.
                      This happens when he is standing on a certain tile. I've changed the var number to 4050 in a-map and I tried the unknown to 300, but there only fit 2 numbers, but when I look at other script tiles with applymovement, they use var value 0003, so I did that too, but my script will not activate on the tile. Here is my code:

                      #dynamic 0x800000
                      #org @start
                      checkflag 0x801
                      if 0x1 goto @done
                      msgbox @1 0x6
                      applymovement 0x07 @move1
                      waitmovement 0x0
                      msgbox @2 0x6
                      applymovement 0xFF @move2
                      applymovement 0x07 @move3
                      waitmovement 0x0
                      msgbox @3 0x6
                      applymovement 0x07 @move4
                      waitmovement 0x0
                      release
                      end

                      #org @done
                      release
                      end

                      #org @move1
                      #raw 0x0A
                      #raw 0x0A
                      #raw 0xFE

                      #org @move2
                      #raw 0x09
                      #raw 0x00
                      #raw 0xFE

                      #org @move3
                      #raw 0x0A
                      #raw 0x01
                      #raw 0xFE

                      #org @move4
                      #raw 0x0B
                      #raw 0x0B
                      #raw 0x0B
                      #raw 0x02
                      #raw 0xFE

                      #org @1
                      = Waaaaaaaaaaiiiiit!!!!!

                      #org @2
                      = You cannot go there

                      #org @3
                      = Get a pokedex first


                      If anyone could help me, that'd be great
                      Reply With Quote
                        #886    
                      Old May 25th, 2013 (2:49 AM).
                      BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                      BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Sep 2012
                        Age: 19
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Quirky
                        Posts: 533
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Marty152 View Post
                        I have a question.

                        I made this code to stop the player from continuing without a pokedex in pokemon Ruby.
                        This happens when he is standing on a certain tile. I've changed the var number to 4050 in a-map and I tried the unknown to 300, but there only fit 2 numbers, but when I look at other script tiles with applymovement, they use var value 0003, so I did that too, but my script will not activate on the tile. Here is my code:

                        Code:
                        #dynamic 0x800000
                        #org @start
                        checkflag 0x801
                        if 0x1 goto @done
                        msgbox @1 0x6
                        applymovement 0x07 @move1
                        waitmovement 0x0
                        msgbox @2 0x6
                        applymovement 0xFF @move2
                        applymovement 0x07 @move3
                        waitmovement 0x0
                        msgbox @3 0x6
                        applymovement 0x07 @move4
                        waitmovement 0x0
                        release 
                        end
                        
                        #org @done
                        release
                        end
                        
                        #org @move1
                        #raw 0x0A
                        #raw 0x0A
                        #raw 0xFE
                        
                        #org @move2
                        #raw 0x09
                        #raw 0x00
                        #raw 0xFE
                        
                        #org @move3
                        #raw 0x0A
                        #raw 0x01
                        #raw 0xFE
                        
                        #org @move4
                        #raw 0x0B
                        #raw 0x0B
                        #raw 0x0B
                        #raw 0x02
                        #raw 0xFE
                        
                        #org @1
                        = Waaaaaaaaaaiiiiit!!!!!
                        
                        #org @2
                        = You cannot go there
                        
                        #org @3
                        = Get a pokedex first
                        If anyone could help me, that'd be great
                        First thing I noticed, there is no lock effect. Does it freeze? A script can't release if it doesn't have anything locked therefore resulting in a freeze. And you did put 0300 in the unknown right? Not 300? Oh, and try not putting anything in the unknown box.

                        NOTE: In the screenshot, he was using A-Map 1.92 so maybe you are using 1.95 so you see only two digits fit there. Try putting 00 on the unknown field but fill out the Var Number Section with 4050.
                        __________________

                        Reply With Quote
                          #887    
                        Old May 25th, 2013 (3:11 AM).
                        Marty152 Marty152 is offline
                           
                          Join Date: May 2013
                          Posts: 13
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                          First thing I noticed, there is no lock effect. Does it freeze? A script can't release if it doesn't have anything locked therefore resulting in a freeze. And you did put 0300 in the unknown right? Not 300? Oh, and try not putting anything in the unknown box.

                          NOTE: In the screenshot, he was using A-Map 1.92 so maybe you are using 1.95 so you see only two digits fit there. Try putting 00 on the unknown field but fill out the Var Number Section with 4050.
                          The game doesn't freeze, I can just walk over the script tile, but the script itself won't trigger. I tried the 0300. I"m also using 1.95 and I tried what you said, but it does not do anything in the game, I can still walk over the script tile...
                          Reply With Quote
                            #888    
                          Old May 25th, 2013 (3:22 AM).
                          BlackWhiteRobin's Avatar
                          BlackWhiteRobin BlackWhiteRobin is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2012
                            Age: 19
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Quirky
                            Posts: 533
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Marty152 View Post
                            The game doesn't freeze, I can just walk over the script tile, but the script itself won't trigger. I tried the 0300. I"m also using 1.95 and I tried what you said, but it does not do anything in the game, I can still walk over the script tile...
                            As I said put a lock at the beginning of your script. And also, download 1.92. It's less buggy and that way you can follow the tutorial.
                            __________________

                            Reply With Quote
                              #889    
                            Old May 25th, 2013 (3:40 AM).
                            Marty152 Marty152 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: May 2013
                              Posts: 13
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by robin22gongon View Post
                              As I said put a lock at the beginning of your script. And also, download 1.92. It's less buggy and that way you can follow the tutorial.
                              I downloaded 1.92 and put the lock in it, but I can still walk normally over the tile. Even when I changed unknown to 0300. Just tried to give the same script to a person and the script does run when I talk to her, but still not on the tile...
                              Reply With Quote
                                #890    
                              Old May 25th, 2013 (1:58 PM).
                              Trev's Avatar
                              Trev Trev is offline
                              starting my comeback tour
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2012
                                Location: anywhere as long as I have dogs
                                Age: 20
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Sassy
                                Posts: 1,192
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Marty152 View Post
                                I downloaded 1.92 and put the lock in it, but I can still walk normally over the tile. Even when I changed unknown to 0300. Just tried to give the same script to a person and the script does run when I talk to her, but still not on the tile...
                                I compiled your script in a fresh ROM and tested it myself. For some reason, it really doesn't work. I tested both with the variable / unknown and without, and neither works. Sorry to burst the bubble, but if it only works on a person event, that's what you should do.
                                Reply With Quote
                                  #891    
                                Old May 25th, 2013 (10:04 PM).
                                Marty152 Marty152 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2013
                                  Posts: 13
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by PJBottomz View Post
                                  I compiled your script in a fresh ROM and tested it myself. For some reason, it really doesn't work. I tested both with the variable / unknown and without, and neither works. Sorry to burst the bubble, but if it only works on a person event, that's what you should do.
                                  Okay, thanks for trying. Guess I'll put an annoying group of toddlers there, which want to see a pokedex.
                                  Reply With Quote
                                    #892    
                                  Old May 28th, 2013 (12:59 PM).
                                  RCCola RCCola is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Sep 2012
                                    Posts: 1
                                    Is it possible to overwrite old scripts? It seems that every time I make a small adjustment to a script, I have to compile it to a different offset. This is bothering me because I'm worried about eating up a ton of free space with constant editing.
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #893    
                                    Old May 28th, 2013 (6:17 PM).
                                    destinedjagold's Avatar
                                    destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                                    Oh Hai Thar~
                                    • Silver Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: May 2007
                                    Location: Philippines
                                    Age: 26
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Careful
                                    Posts: 8,512
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by RCCola View Post
                                    Is it possible to overwrite old scripts? It seems that every time I make a small adjustment to a script, I have to compile it to a different offset. This is bothering me because I'm worried about eating up a ton of free space with constant editing.
                                    you can manually delete them by using a hex editor. go to your script's address and rewrite 'em.
                                    __________________


                                    FC: 0061-1111-6462
                                    TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #894    
                                    Old May 29th, 2013 (1:00 AM).
                                    Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                                    Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                                    Memento Mori
                                    • Gold Tier
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2008
                                    Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                                    Age: 24
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Calm
                                    Posts: 14,466
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post
                                    you can manually delete them by using a hex editor. go to your script's address and rewrite 'em.
                                    Doesn't XSE allow this by "delete @offset" command or something?
                                    I'm not sure as I haven't scripted for a while...
                                    __________________
                                    ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                                    Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                                    Reply With Quote
                                      #895    
                                    Old June 2nd, 2013 (2:34 AM).
                                    Redzepon's Avatar
                                    Redzepon Redzepon is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jun 2013
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 2
                                      Great tutorial, only one small problem.
                                      when i do the first script, with the msgbox @1 0x6
                                      and set it on a script and talk to it ingame, the messagebox won't appear (but the lock and faceplayer do work)
                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #896    
                                      Old June 2nd, 2013 (3:32 AM).
                                      destinedjagold's Avatar
                                      destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                                      Oh Hai Thar~
                                      • Silver Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: May 2007
                                      Location: Philippines
                                      Age: 26
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Careful
                                      Posts: 8,512
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Redzepon View Post
                                      Great tutorial, only one small problem.
                                      when i do the first script, with the msgbox @1 0x6
                                      and set it on a script and talk to it ingame, the messagebox won't appear (but the lock and faceplayer do work)
                                      We can't really help you with that, unless you post your script here for us to see what is wrong. :3

                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Ash493 View Post
                                      Doesn't XSE allow this by "delete @offset" command or something?
                                      I'm not sure as I haven't scripted for a while...
                                      I haven't tried that code before, so I have no idea. :3
                                      __________________


                                      FC: 0061-1111-6462
                                      TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

                                      Reply With Quote
                                        #897    
                                      Old June 2nd, 2013 (3:37 AM).
                                      Redzepon's Avatar
                                      Redzepon Redzepon is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jun 2013
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 2
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post
                                        We can't really help you with that, unless you post your script here for us to see what is wrong. :3



                                        I haven't tried that code before, so I have no idea. :3
                                        Doesn't matter, i used emerald, and in emerald you have to do callstd 0x2 instead of release, i fixed it myself. but thank you anyway
                                        Reply With Quote
                                          #898    
                                        Old June 6th, 2013 (5:38 PM).
                                        Zemekis's Avatar
                                        Zemekis Zemekis is offline
                                        The Booze Cruise
                                           
                                          Join Date: Feb 2013
                                          Location: 'Murica
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 22
                                          Thanks so much for this tutorial Diego!!!
                                          Reply With Quote
                                            #899    
                                          Old June 8th, 2013 (3:35 AM).
                                          TheEpicMareep TheEpicMareep is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Jun 2013
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 1
                                            When i go into open, no roms are recognized, does anyone know why this is? thanks! <3
                                            Reply With Quote
                                              #900    
                                            Old June 20th, 2013 (7:09 AM).
                                            KableKandi KableKandi is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Oct 2012
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 3
                                              It always says that lock is an unknown key word. HELP!
                                              Reply With Quote
                                              Reply
                                              Quick Reply

                                              Sponsored Links
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:13 PM.