ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

TrollandToad.com
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25801    
Old July 8th, 2013 (1:35 AM).
miksy91's Avatar
miksy91 miksy91 is offline
Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
     
    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: A small country in the North
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Relaxed
    Posts: 1,438
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Garuga17 View Post
    I have a question, how do you repoint the moves table in a-trainer? I have new move table repointed, but it seems that a-trainer uses the old movetable, so that i can't make trainer to use new moves....

    any idea?

    i tried searching this thread and find no luck
    That'd be very tricky to do unless you've the source code of the program, and thus, could open the source and modify it. If you've only got the program itself, the situation might be hopeless.

    You could try opening it with a hex editor, and search if the original offset is mentioned anywhere in an understandable format. If not, there's not much you can do about it.
    __________________
    My Rom Hack



    Fixing bugs in a ROM hack
    CP of encountered pokemon in GO

    Learn how to hack GB/C games:

    Check my GameBoy/Color hacking videos in Youtube
    -The video set uses Pokemon Silver (U) rom for demonstrations

    Relevant Advertising!

      #25802    
    Old July 8th, 2013 (1:24 PM).
    Unimpressed_Tyranitar's Avatar
    Unimpressed_Tyranitar Unimpressed_Tyranitar is offline
       
      Join Date: Jun 2013
      Location: New Jersey
      Age: 18
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Calm
      Posts: 14
      Hey. I'm new to this site as well as ROM editing, and I was wondering how to make the "hero's" sprite a different sprite, like Gary, throughout the entire game. Thanks in advance
        #25803    
      Old July 8th, 2013 (1:40 PM).
      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
      • Gold Tier
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Earth
      Age: 19
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 2,477
      Use NSE to edit in-game OWs, trainers, items, whatever.
      __________________
      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

      Support me at my site!
      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
        #25804    
      Old July 8th, 2013 (1:47 PM).
      Unimpressed_Tyranitar's Avatar
      Unimpressed_Tyranitar Unimpressed_Tyranitar is offline
         
        Join Date: Jun 2013
        Location: New Jersey
        Age: 18
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 14
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
        Use NSE to edit in-game OWs, trainers, items, whatever.

        Huh? Sorry, it's just like I said, I'm new to this. Very new to this
          #25805    
        Old July 8th, 2013 (1:50 PM).
        GoGoJJTech's Avatar
        GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
        (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
        • Gold Tier
         
        Join Date: Nov 2012
        Location: Earth
        Age: 19
        Gender: Female
        Nature: Jolly
        Posts: 2,477
        Go into the Tools section and find NSE (nameless sprite editor)
        The one you want is NSE classic.
        __________________
        I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
        The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
        Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

        Support me at my site!
        Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
          #25806    
        Old July 8th, 2013 (1:56 PM).
        Unimpressed_Tyranitar's Avatar
        Unimpressed_Tyranitar Unimpressed_Tyranitar is offline
           
          Join Date: Jun 2013
          Location: New Jersey
          Age: 18
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 14
          Ok.Done. How would I change my characters sprite to Gary? This confuses me sorry
            #25807    
          Old July 8th, 2013 (1:57 PM).
          GoGoJJTech's Avatar
          GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
          (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Earth
          Age: 19
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 2,477
          Well Gary does not have fishing, bike, or running frames, so you need to get those. PM me if you want a full explanation.
          __________________
          I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
          The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
          Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

          Support me at my site!
          Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
            #25808    
          Old July 8th, 2013 (10:07 PM).
          Sky93's Avatar
          Sky93 Sky93 is offline
             
            Join Date: Dec 2007
            Location: GA, USA
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Relaxed
            Posts: 72
            So im fairly sure this is a simple problem but I can't figure it out. I have a script dependent on a person, and everything looks fine in Amap:
            Spoiler:


            but when I go into the game, he is in the wrong place before the script is even triggered:

            Spoiler:

            any tips?
            __________________



            ROMs I Support:
              #25809    
            Old July 9th, 2013 (12:24 AM).
            destinedjagold's Avatar
            destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
            Oh Hai Thar~
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: May 2007
            Location: Philippines
            Age: 27
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Careful
            Posts: 8,573
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Sky93 View Post
            So im fairly sure this is a simple problem but I can't figure it out. I have a script dependent on a person, and everything looks fine in Amap:


            but when I go into the game, he is in the wrong place before the script is even triggered:


            any tips?
            It's probably caused by a level script on the map.
            On Advance Map, simply go to the ‘Header’ tab of the map, then check out the ‘Map Script/s’ and see if one of those scripts are the cause of moving your NPC to another spot.
            Or, if you're being lazy, then just simply change the NPC's ‘Person Event Number’.

            :3
            __________________


            FC: 0061-1111-6462
            TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

              #25810    
            Old July 9th, 2013 (1:36 AM). Edited July 9th, 2013 by MasterWarlord.
            MasterWarlord's Avatar
            MasterWarlord MasterWarlord is offline
               
              Join Date: May 2010
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 17
              Alright, so I've been going around my Fire Red rom replacing various Pokemon with 4th/5th gen pokemon. Totaled up to around 100. Got in all their sprites and icons fine. I've been making use of the 25 Unown slots between Celebi and Treecko as various extra mons.

              Most of the Unown slots are evolutions of existing gen 1 and 2 mons in the rom. I can add in some of the evolutions fine, but adding in others somehow causes YAPE to crash. I have multiple Unown slots functioning 100% fine, but others are weird.



              I have not tampered with the rom whatsoever outside of editing Pokemon and attacks, so I very much doubt I've overwritten something.

              These "bugged" Unown slots are functional to some awkward degrees. . .I can go in and edit them if I go to them directly without going to an evolution. The current evolution table where I previously was stays, though, and I can't go to any other Pokemon after going to this Pokemon, having to close and reopen it. I also cannot make these bugged slots evolve themselves, even into "normal" slots.

              Weirder still, I overwrote Celebi, a normal Pokemon, with a new Pokemon. Sure, it's right next to the Unown slots, but it should be normal, right? Nope, Celebi's slot is one of the "broken" ones. The regular Pokemon in the rom are fine, but yes.

              One of the Unown slots even somehow has had random evolutions assigned to it, evolving into Entei and Beedrill somehow. They can be removed and this particular slot functions fine but it's weird enough that it's making me panic something was overwritten.

              My best guess is something along the lines of there only being so many evolutions being allowed in the game and I broke the table by adding too many and/or the Unown slots just being really trippy. Looking for an explanation as to why this happened more than anything, pretty much assumed the rom is screwed.
                #25811    
              Old July 9th, 2013 (2:45 AM).
              akihiko123's Avatar
              akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
                 
                Join Date: May 2013
                Location: Philippines
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Quiet
                Posts: 57
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                What is the entire script? Both of them, for both events? and no, I didn't forget you
                the script of the TRAINERFLAG is 803647
                __________________
                Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
                I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
                I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
                So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

                So, give me what you got!

                Like my page on Facebook : LINK
                  #25812    
                Old July 9th, 2013 (3:15 AM).
                karatekid552's Avatar
                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                What happens if I push it?....
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 1,766
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by akihiko123 View Post
                  the script of the TRAINERFLAG is 803647
                  No, can you post both scripts. The whole things. Open up both of them in XSE and copy and paste them here. The offset tells me absolutely nothing.
                  __________________

                  Paired with Simba
                    #25813    
                  Old July 9th, 2013 (7:28 AM).
                  Glitch Kitty Glitch Kitty is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2011
                    Gender: Female
                    Posts: 137
                    I used a tool to randomise Roms of Pokemon Gold and Silver but the tool doesn't make a log file of its randomisation...is there a tool I could use to open my roms and see how/when my pokemon evolve now ?
                    __________________
                      #25814    
                    Old July 9th, 2013 (3:24 PM).
                    SevilitheArcanine's Avatar
                    SevilitheArcanine SevilitheArcanine is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2012
                      Location: 'Murica
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 10
                      How would I go about making a new script for the Elite 4 (solely so I could give them different text)? I was thinking I would somehow edit a gym leader script so that they could be re-matched (after beating the league and returning they could be battled again, but with higher level Pokemon). I'd also like to do the same with the champion, but I don't see how I'd be able to re-create every step he takes and how he enters you into the Hall of Fame. This is for Ruby, by the way.
                      __________________
                        #25815    
                      Old July 9th, 2013 (4:01 PM).
                      karatekid552's Avatar
                      karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                      What happens if I push it?....
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Bold
                        Posts: 1,766
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by SevilitheArcanine View Post
                        How would I go about making a new script for the Elite 4 (solely so I could give them different text)? I was thinking I would somehow edit a gym leader script so that they could be re-matched (after beating the league and returning they could be battled again, but with higher level Pokemon). I'd also like to do the same with the champion, but I don't see how I'd be able to re-create every step he takes and how he enters you into the Hall of Fame. This is for Ruby, by the way.
                        They are all map scripts, found in the header, except for the battles themselves, which are attached to the people. To create a rematch script, just use the checkflag command and then set a flag after the first battle, so it is skipped the second time and a different battle is loaded.
                        __________________

                        Paired with Simba
                          #25816    
                        Old July 9th, 2013 (7:17 PM). Edited July 9th, 2013 by FlamingMelon.
                        FlamingMelon FlamingMelon is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2013
                          Posts: 2
                          EDIT: I actually found one in the deep recesses of the archives, disregard this!
                          Does ANYONE out there have a Leaf Green .ini for the Advance Series tools? Can't find one anywhere on the FACE of the EARTH, and the closest I've gotten is using a slightly-reconfigured Fire Red (which only got as far as opening the rom).
                            #25817    
                          Old July 9th, 2013 (8:02 PM).
                          GengarSlayer's Avatar
                          GengarSlayer GengarSlayer is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Apr 2013
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 5
                            So i'm creating a pokemon fire red hack and i want the first pokemon that the player recieves to be an egg. any ideas how i can get an egg at the beginning??
                              #25818    
                            Old July 9th, 2013 (9:21 PM).
                            SevilitheArcanine's Avatar
                            SevilitheArcanine SevilitheArcanine is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Aug 2012
                              Location: 'Murica
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 10
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
                              They are all map scripts, found in the header, except for the battles themselves, which are attached to the people. To create a rematch script, just use the checkflag command and then set a flag after the first battle, so it is skipped the second time and a different battle is loaded.
                              I see what you mean, and I edited the gym battle script, except for one problem: how do I know what flag to use?
                              __________________
                                #25819    
                              Old July 9th, 2013 (9:47 PM). Edited July 9th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                              karatekid552's Avatar
                              karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                              What happens if I push it?....
                                 
                                Join Date: Nov 2012
                                Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Bold
                                Posts: 1,766
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by SevilitheArcanine View Post
                                I see what you mean, and I edited the gym battle script, except for one problem: how do I know what flag to use?
                                For Ruby? That is a good question. Unlike FR, we don't have a list. I would instead use a var for this. Probably 0x40F8. That is usually pretty safe. If you need help with how to use vars, consult diegoisawsome's xse tutorial.

                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by GengarSlayer View Post
                                So i'm creating a pokemon fire red hack and i want the first pokemon that the player recieves to be an egg. any ideas how i can get an egg at the beginning??
                                A script that gives an egg. See diegoisawesome's XSE tutorial.
                                __________________

                                Paired with Simba
                                  #25820    
                                Old July 10th, 2013 (3:39 AM).
                                coolking49's Avatar
                                coolking49 coolking49 is offline
                                   
                                  Join Date: Aug 2009
                                  Location: Northfield, MN
                                  Age: 21
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Adamant
                                  Posts: 36
                                  I have a map with 26 person events, all of which are condensed in a small area, to act as a crowd/mob of people. When I actually enter the map, only the first few are seen, the rest don't seem to exist. Is there a limit to the number of sprites you can see at once?
                                  Spoiler:

                                  Map on AM:

                                  Map once I go into the game:
                                  __________________
                                  I'm a student at Carleton College, send me a message if you live around Northfield.
                                    #25821    
                                  Old July 10th, 2013 (5:38 AM).
                                  karatekid552's Avatar
                                  karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                  What happens if I push it?....
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                                    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bold
                                    Posts: 1,766
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by coolking49 View Post
                                    I have a map with 26 person events, all of which are condensed in a small area, to act as a crowd/mob of people. When I actually enter the map, only the first few are seen, the rest don't seem to exist. Is there a limit to the number of sprites you can see at once?
                                    Spoiler:

                                    Map on AM:

                                    Map once I go into the game:
                                    The game only allows for 15 on screen NPCs. It can only physically store that much data. Using the createsprite scripting command, you can add more, however the player will be able to walk through said sprites, and the only things you can do with them is make them face a different direction and walk/run/sprint in place. Do with that as you wish.
                                    __________________

                                    Paired with Simba
                                      #25822    
                                    Old July 10th, 2013 (5:06 PM).
                                    Sky93's Avatar
                                    Sky93 Sky93 is offline
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2007
                                      Location: GA, USA
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Relaxed
                                      Posts: 72
                                      Hey, I have a tile related question. I have a set of stairs that I inserted and I made sure all of the blocks were set to the right thing (i.e. covered by player, use door/warp etc) and I also have a mat the warps on left arrow press in front of the stairs. When I go into the game in vba, I cannot get the warp to work, and I'm just wondering what I'm doing wrong.
                                      __________________



                                      ROMs I Support:
                                        #25823    
                                      Old July 10th, 2013 (5:15 PM).
                                      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                                      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                                      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                                      • Gold Tier
                                       
                                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                                      Location: Earth
                                      Age: 19
                                      Gender: Female
                                      Nature: Jolly
                                      Posts: 2,477
                                      Use door/warp only works for moving up or down I think. I'm probably wrong.
                                      Set it to just use warp [61]
                                      __________________
                                      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                                      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                                      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                                      Support me at my site!
                                      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                                        #25824    
                                      Old July 10th, 2013 (5:20 PM).
                                      Sky93's Avatar
                                      Sky93 Sky93 is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2007
                                        Location: GA, USA
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Relaxed
                                        Posts: 72
                                        Quote:
                                        Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                                        Use door/warp only works for moving up or down I think. I'm probably wrong.
                                        Set it to just use warp [61]
                                        Just tried that and it still didn't work.
                                        __________________



                                        ROMs I Support:
                                          #25825    
                                        Old July 10th, 2013 (5:22 PM).
                                        magistovolt magistovolt is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2012
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 6
                                          Does someone know how in pokemon Ash Grey, all charmeleon and charizard individuals were made to disobey the player? I'm trying to do something similar in my hack. Thanks
                                          Closed Thread

                                          Quick Reply

                                          Join the conversation!

                                          Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                          Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                          Sponsored Links
                                          Thread Tools

                                          Posting Rules
                                          You may not post new threads
                                          You may not post replies
                                          You may not post attachments
                                          You may not edit your posts

                                          BB code is On
                                          Smilies are On
                                          [IMG] code is On
                                          HTML code is Off

                                          Forum Jump


                                          All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:54 AM.