Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old August 14th, 2013 (10:22 AM).
unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
     
    Join Date: Aug 2013
    Posts: 29
    hello, would need a list of script
    to make a translation.

    example, in PokemonOption, this text options

    I want to know if there is a list, or someone make a list of all places in the script where there is text, as part of the game, menu, bag, pokedex eth.

    every place where text.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old August 14th, 2013 (1:38 PM).
    Maruno's Avatar
    Maruno Maruno is offline
    Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
       
      Join Date: Jan 2008
      Location: England
      Posts: 5,173
      http://pokemonessentials.wikia.com/wiki/Translating_the_game

      Says it all, really. This'll get you a text file containing all the text in the game for translation.

      Translation should be the absolute last thing you do for your game. You should also keep a copy of the extracted text file (intl.txt) just in case.
      __________________
      Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

      | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
      | All Animations Project |

      Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old August 14th, 2013 (5:29 PM).
      unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2013
        Posts: 29
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Maruno View Post
        http://pokemonessentials.wikia.com/wiki/Translating_the_game

        Says it all, really. This'll get you a text file containing all the text in the game for translation.

        Translation should be the absolute last thing you do for your game. You should also keep a copy of the extracted text file (intl.txt) just in case.

        try to do it that way, but it gives compile error.

        so wondering if they have a list of every part of the game, menu, bag, eth. to do it that way.
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old August 15th, 2013 (5:57 AM).
        Maruno's Avatar
        Maruno Maruno is offline
        Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: England
          Posts: 5,173
          Does the "Extract Text" option work properly and give you an intl.txt file, but you got an error when using the "Compile Text" option? If so, you must have mucked something up during your translation (and you didn't copy-paste the error).

          I think it's better to try to resolve whatever error you're getting than to try to work around it, because I know for a fact that what the wiki says works properly.
          __________________
          Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

          | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
          | All Animations Project |

          Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old August 15th, 2013 (7:42 PM).
          unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
             
            Join Date: Aug 2013
            Posts: 29
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Maruno View Post
            Does the "Extract Text" option work properly and give you an intl.txt file, but you got an error when using the "Compile Text" option? If so, you must have mucked something up during your translation (and you didn't copy-paste the error).

            I think it's better to try to resolve whatever error you're getting than to try to work around it, because I know for a fact that what the wiki says works properly.

            'pokemonsystem! ? 94 ??? typerror ?

            cannot convert fixnum into string
            Reply With Quote
              #6    
            Old August 16th, 2013 (2:43 AM).
            Maruno's Avatar
            Maruno Maruno is offline
            Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
               
              Join Date: Jan 2008
              Location: England
              Posts: 5,173
              That leads me to believe you didn't fill in the LANGUAGES array properly. Here's an example of what it should look like:

              Code:
              LANGUAGES = [  
                ["English","english.dat"],
                ["Deutsch","deutsch.dat"]
              ]
              __________________
              Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

              | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
              | All Animations Project |

              Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


              Reply With Quote
                #7    
              Old August 16th, 2013 (8:14 AM).
              unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2013
                Posts: 29
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Maruno View Post
                That leads me to believe you didn't fill in the LANGUAGES array properly. Here's an example of what it should look like:

                Code:
                LANGUAGES = [  
                  ["English","english.dat"],
                  ["Deutsch","deutsch.dat"]
                ]
                well, now I run and appear languages

                but there is another problem

                what is not translate in the game

                text change does not change the game.

                and re-create another file messages.dat every time you start the game.
                Reply With Quote
                  #8    
                Old August 16th, 2013 (9:47 AM).
                Maruno's Avatar
                Maruno Maruno is offline
                Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                  Location: England
                  Posts: 5,173
                  messages.dat is the backup/default set of messages. Leave it alone. If you've chosen a language, it's going to use that language's file (if it exists).

                  I'm going to have to ask you again to follow the instructions, because they work, and you've already shown once that you failed to do so. Try starting again.
                  __________________
                  Go to the Pokémon Essentials Wiki

                  | Downloads | Tutorials | Fangames |
                  | All Animations Project |

                  Follow me on Twitter: @maruno42


                  Reply With Quote
                    #9    
                  Old August 16th, 2013 (12:35 PM).
                  unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2013
                    Posts: 29
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Maruno View Post
                    messages.dat is the backup/default set of messages. Leave it alone. If you've chosen a language, it's going to use that language's file (if it exists).

                    I'm going to have to ask you again to follow the instructions, because they work, and you've already shown once that you failed to do so. Try starting again.
                    revise and often

                    LANGUAGES = [
                    ["English","english.dat"],
                    ["Español","espanol.dat"]
                    ]

                    section appears languages

                    choose Spanish, with the file to modify espanol.dat formerly called
                    intl.dat

                    I compile from Intl.txt, that translated with notepad ++

                    but the option to choose language, only returning to game boot menu and nothing changes.

                    original texts are in English and not my changes.

                    it is as if no language will.
                    Reply With Quote
                      #10    
                    Old August 18th, 2013 (6:43 PM).
                    unmaestropokemon unmaestropokemon is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Aug 2013
                      Posts: 29
                      achieve run the translation

                      but I have another problem very grave

                      when I choose the initial pokemon appears with question marks, as well as the pokemon in the grass and are not attacks.


                      but when I speak with underside of mother in my house, and gives the Pokemon level 20, gives no problems.

                      the problem is in the laboratory to choose the pokemon.

                      rename only laboratory map, I returned to put its original name but nothing happens.

                      must be another problem, but not what is.

                      image

                      Reply With Quote
                        #11    
                      Old August 19th, 2013 (1:49 AM).
                      Pharetra's Avatar
                      Pharetra Pharetra is offline
                      zzzz
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2011
                        Age: 21
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 455
                        RPG Maker XP has limited support for .gif files, which causes the sprite to flicker. Try using another sprite (PokéCheck's work fine for me).

                        Also, you might want to resize the sprite ;)
                        Reply With Quote
                        Reply
                        Quick Reply

                        Sponsored Links
                        Thread Tools

                        Posting Rules
                        You may not post new threads
                        You may not post replies
                        You may not post attachments
                        You may not edit your posts

                        BB code is On
                        Smilies are On
                        [IMG] code is On
                        HTML code is Off

                        Forum Jump


                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:17 AM.