ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Draconius GO
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #26301    
Old August 24th, 2013 (7:28 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Bold
    Posts: 1,766
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Henakuo View Post
    Oh thank you very much for the resources! I'll give it a shot, if all decides to blow up in my face again you can expect to see my charred face up on the threads again x3
    Dude, I have done soooo much work with OWs, it isn't funny. I have expanded them, made them change by var instantly, swap pallettes, everything (except make them walk diagnoaly, that may come eventually:p Jambo found the movement table had 9 slots not 4. It would seem that late in development, then diagnol movement was cut, hence the test sumo wrestler in Ruby.)

    However, after all of that, I have no clear idea what would cause your issue. I think the same OW loader that is used in those screens is the same as the normal one. I do have a theory though: the routine which loads OW palettes here MAY have been corrupted so that it doesn't load the palettes (maybe the branch out to the decompressor was noped by accident?) What I want you to do, is get to the intro in VBA. Go Tools->Palette Viewer and check the box "automatic update". Now, go backto the game and go through the intro watching the palettes on the right. The Hero should be the first palette slot (the first row). I can't remember which palette slot the rival is (the numbers 2 and 4 stick out in my head, but I'm not sure), but by your description, it should be apparent which slot he is using. Now, look at the other palettes. Do you see the correct palettes in there? If you don't, then it is a loading issue. If you do, but the OWs aren't using them, then it is a slot issue.
    __________________

    Paired with Simba

    Relevant Advertising!

      #26302    
    Old August 24th, 2013 (10:46 AM).
    LarzI LarzI is offline
       
      Join Date: Aug 2007
      Posts: 17
      If I want to edit some of the dialogue in the game, let's say whatever Professor Oak in FireRed says when he gives you the Pokédex, would I have to make a script and assign it to a new offset, or can I just simply edit the string in the already-existing script? (Using XSE)
        #26303    
      Old August 24th, 2013 (10:47 AM).
      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
      • Gold Tier
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Earth
      Age: 19
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 2,477
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by LarzI View Post
      If I want to edit some of the dialogue in the game, let's say whatever Professor Oak in FireRed says when he gives you the Pokédex, would I have to make a script and assign it to a new offset, or can I just simply edit the string in the already-existing script? (Using XSE)
      Do a new offset because if you accidentally mess up and go over the original limit, then you get corrupted data, and your game dies... So always use new offsets no matter what your doing so you avoid ROM failure.
      __________________
      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

      Support me at my site!
      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
        #26304    
      Old August 24th, 2013 (11:14 AM).
      kelewele_ kelewele_ is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2013
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 25
        could someone explain to me how exactly vars work?
        i've been searching for days bt i haven't quite found the answer
        basically i want to make a script where this character only appears on five island after interacting with him somewhere else... vars are the way to go about this right?
          #26305    
        Old August 24th, 2013 (11:16 AM).
        GoGoJJTech's Avatar
        GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
        (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
        • Gold Tier
         
        Join Date: Nov 2012
        Location: Earth
        Age: 19
        Gender: Female
        Nature: Jolly
        Posts: 2,477
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by kelewele_ View Post
        could someone explain to me how exactly vars work?
        i've been searching for days bt i haven't quite found the answer
        basically i want to make a script where this character only appears on five island after interacting with him somewhere else... vars are the way to go about this right?
        Vars are (like) flags in the way that they store info. But a flag is either 0 or 1, unset and set. Vars are whatever you want them to be, from 0 to 65535, so you could use like 2 vars for a hack. More info: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=302347
        __________________
        I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
        The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
        Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

        Support me at my site!
        Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
          #26306    
        Old August 24th, 2013 (11:28 AM).
        kelewele_ kelewele_ is offline
           
          Join Date: May 2013
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 25
          yeh i got that much, i think i understand what they are just not how to use them properly, just really need to know how to use it for this script ><... but thanks alot though
            #26307    
          Old August 24th, 2013 (11:31 AM).
          GoGoJJTech's Avatar
          GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
          (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
          • Gold Tier
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Earth
          Age: 19
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 2,477
          Well for the script you could have this:
          .....
          setvar 0x40ff 0x1
          .....
          So when the event finishes, var 40ff has a value of 1.
          Then in the island, have a level script:
          .....
          compare 0x40ff 0x1
          if 0x1 goto @keep_him
          goto @hide_him
          release
          end

          #org @hide_him
          hidesprite 0xXX
          release
          end

          #org @keep_him
          release
          end
          .....
          __________________
          I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
          The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
          Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

          Support me at my site!
          Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
            #26308    
          Old August 24th, 2013 (1:35 PM).
          kelewele_ kelewele_ is offline
             
            Join Date: May 2013
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 25
            I tried using a hidesprite command earlier but i got this
            'Warning: Unknown command "hidesprite"' in the compiler log, which is what made me think i needed vars in the first place... and i got again using your script >.< , i'm using PKSV

            and by level script do u mean the 'setmaptile' script or one the 'on entering map...' scripts in the header view of the map
              #26309    
            Old August 24th, 2013 (5:07 PM).
            GoGoJJTech's Avatar
            GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
            (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
            • Gold Tier
             
            Join Date: Nov 2012
            Location: Earth
            Age: 19
            Gender: Female
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 2,477
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by kelewele_ View Post
            I tried using a hidesprite command earlier but i got this
            'Warning: Unknown command "hidesprite"' in the compiler log, which is what made me think i needed vars in the first place... and i got again using your script >.< , i'm using PKSV

            and by level script do u mean the 'setmaptile' script or one the 'on entering map...' scripts in the header view of the map
            Well I thought you were using XSE... Anyway, PKSV and XSE differ in commands.
            __________________
            I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
            The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
            Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

            Support me at my site!
            Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
              #26310    
            Old August 24th, 2013 (8:17 PM).
            Le pug's Avatar
            Le pug Le pug is offline
            Creator of Pokémon: Discovery / Fat Kid
            • Crystal Tier
             
            Join Date: Aug 2013
            Location: Le bed
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Bold
            Posts: 784
            I'm using Pokemon FireRed and I'm trying to put a Team Aqua member from Pokemon Ruby into Pokemon FireRed via Overworld Sprite Editor Rebirth Edition and I imported the sprites and it shows it normal in the program but when I am in AdvanceMap and I try to put a sprite event on the map, the sprite is like completely different colors, mostly blue like.. if you inverted the color or something. Anyone know why?
            __________________







            /// Pokémon: Discovery
            /// Pokémon: Fat Kid
            /// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
            /// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
            /// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
            /// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
            /// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
              #26311    
            Old August 24th, 2013 (9:28 PM).
            awipe1's Avatar
            awipe1 awipe1 is offline
               
              Join Date: Aug 2012
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 215
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
              I'm using Pokemon FireRed and I'm trying to put a Team Aqua member from Pokemon Ruby into Pokemon FireRed via Overworld Sprite Editor Rebirth Edition and I imported the sprites and it shows it normal in the program but when I am in AdvanceMap and I try to put a sprite event on the map, the sprite is like completely different colors, mostly blue like.. if you inverted the color or something. Anyone know why?
              Because in advanced map, the palettes that go with the original sprite will always stick.

              For example, let's say I change the first sprites palette to 3, and the original palette for that sprite is 0. When you open the sprite it Advanced map, it will have the palette of 0 and not 3. However, in game, the palette will be correct. This is only an issue for when you are editing, no one else will see this problem.
              __________________
              Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
                #26312    
              Old August 24th, 2013 (9:30 PM).
              Le pug's Avatar
              Le pug Le pug is offline
              Creator of Pokémon: Discovery / Fat Kid
              • Crystal Tier
               
              Join Date: Aug 2013
              Location: Le bed
              Age: 25
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bold
              Posts: 784
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
              Because in advanced map, the palettes that go with the original sprite will always stick.

              For example, let's say I change the first sprites palette to 3, and the original palette for that sprite is 0. When you open the sprite it Advanced map, it will have the palette of 0 and not 3. However, in game, the palette will be correct. This is only an issue for when you are editing, no one else will see this problem.
              just proved this, thank you
              __________________







              /// Pokémon: Discovery
              /// Pokémon: Fat Kid
              /// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
              /// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
              /// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
              /// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
              /// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
                #26313    
              Old August 24th, 2013 (11:38 PM).
              rayandrew rayandrew is offline
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2013
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 2
                it seems stupid.
                But, is it possible if we add more entries in national pokedex gba version?
                I want to combine all the pokemon from all generation into one rom without change the original pokemon.
                Thank you in advance!
                  #26314    
                Old August 25th, 2013 (6:44 AM).
                awipe1's Avatar
                awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 215
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by rayandrew View Post
                  it seems stupid.
                  But, is it possible if we add more entries in national pokedex gba version?
                  I want to combine all the pokemon from all generation into one rom without change the original pokemon.
                  Thank you in advance!
                  Currently I don't think you will be able to add all the pokemon from gen4-gen5 into your game, Unless you are really skilled at ASM like Jambo51.

                  But Jambo51 is making a hack applier that adds a whole wack of stuff to the pokemon fire red game, including all the pokemon from gen4-5, all the moves form gen4-5 and a bunch of other stuff. This doesn't have a release date yet, but I would assume it would be sometime next year because it takes a lot of work.

                  I would recommend just waiting for one year for Jambo51s hack applier.

                  http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267584
                  Check this out^ it explains it all.
                  __________________
                  Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
                    #26315    
                  Old August 25th, 2013 (7:25 AM).
                  LaDestitute's Avatar
                  LaDestitute LaDestitute is offline
                  Razor Sharp
                     
                    Join Date: Apr 2013
                    Location: West Coast, USA
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 84
                    Haven't been around here in a while.
                    How would I go about creating a gust of wind, if the player gets in it's line of sight, will be pushed back without the player moving? How would I also make it so that things in front of the player (like a barrier) will negate the wind's effects, as long as they are behind it?
                      #26316    
                    Old August 25th, 2013 (7:43 AM).
                    GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                    GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                    (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                    • Gold Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                    Location: Earth
                    Age: 19
                    Gender: Female
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 2,477
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
                    I'm using Pokemon FireRed and I'm trying to put a Team Aqua member from Pokemon Ruby into Pokemon FireRed via Overworld Sprite Editor Rebirth Edition and I imported the sprites and it shows it normal in the program but when I am in AdvanceMap and I try to put a sprite event on the map, the sprite is like completely different colors, mostly blue like.. if you inverted the color or something. Anyone know why?
                    Plus oweditor rebirth is extremely old. NSE is way better than it.
                    __________________
                    I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                    The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                    Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                    Support me at my site!
                    Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                      #26317    
                    Old August 25th, 2013 (8:48 AM).
                    Le pug's Avatar
                    Le pug Le pug is offline
                    Creator of Pokémon: Discovery / Fat Kid
                    • Crystal Tier
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2013
                    Location: Le bed
                    Age: 25
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Bold
                    Posts: 784
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                    Plus oweditor rebirth is extremely old. NSE is way better than it.
                    You say that but I don't see any way of importing my sprites I edit in NSE back into the game, like the only purpose of it seems to be to just edit the palettes of the sprites
                    __________________







                    /// Pokémon: Discovery
                    /// Pokémon: Fat Kid
                    /// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
                    /// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
                    /// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
                    /// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
                    /// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
                      #26318    
                    Old August 25th, 2013 (9:24 AM). Edited August 25th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                    karatekid552's Avatar
                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                    What happens if I push it?....
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bold
                      Posts: 1,766
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by LaDestitute View Post
                      Haven't been around here in a while.
                      How would I go about creating a gust of wind, if the player gets in it's line of sight, will be pushed back without the player moving? How would I also make it so that things in front of the player (like a barrier) will negate the wind's effects, as long as they are behind it?
                      Umm, sliding tiles effects. It will be complicated but it would essentially be the down arrows in Mossdeep's gym in ruby. Just a lot of those, but of course without the arrows.

                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
                      You say that but I don't see any way of importing my sprites I edit in NSE back into the game, like the only purpose of it seems to be to just edit the palettes of the sprites
                      NSE CLASSIC, not 2.X. Those are two completely different programs, both with their own genius uses.:p NSE Classic has the same interface as OWERE, but is far newer.
                      __________________

                      Paired with Simba
                        #26319    
                      Old August 25th, 2013 (9:51 AM).
                      kelewele_ kelewele_ is offline
                         
                        Join Date: May 2013
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 25
                        gogojjtech thanks for the help earlier btw, really appreciate it

                        btw does anyone else know the hidesprite command for PKSV??
                          #26320    
                        Old August 25th, 2013 (9:51 AM).
                        GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                        GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                        (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                        • Gold Tier
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Earth
                        Age: 19
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 2,477
                        Just use XSE for this script. It's in gamer2020's toolbox
                        __________________
                        I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                        The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                        Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                        Support me at my site!
                        Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                          #26321    
                        Old August 25th, 2013 (10:09 AM).
                        kelewele_ kelewele_ is offline
                           
                          Join Date: May 2013
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 25
                          i'd rather not having to keep switching back n fourth between the two, cause i quite like PKSV, there must be a way to do it plus everytime i download XSE i get this error message after i open it >.<... hmm but maybe i'll try it again for this script >.
                            #26322    
                          Old August 25th, 2013 (11:30 AM).
                          LarzI LarzI is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2007
                            Posts: 17
                            I want to add several tiles to my FireRed tileset, but I don't wanna remove the Nintendo ones. Is there any way to get more space for tiles in a tileset, or are you limited to the size they have by default?

                            I really would love to be able to get more treetiles, as I use a lot of trees in my maps.
                              #26323    
                            Old August 25th, 2013 (11:32 AM).
                            GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                            GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                            (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                            Location: Earth
                            Age: 19
                            Gender: Female
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 2,477
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by LarzI View Post
                            I want to add several tiles to my FireRed tileset, but I don't wanna remove the Nintendo ones. Is there any way to get more space for tiles in a tileset, or are you limited to the size they have by default?

                            I really would love to be able to get more treetiles, as I use a lot of trees in my maps.
                            Normally you shouldn't use advance map 1.95, but using it is the only way you can expand a tileset. So do it for that and then go to 1.92!
                            __________________
                            I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                            The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                            Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                            Support me at my site!
                            Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                              #26324    
                            Old August 25th, 2013 (11:39 AM).
                            Le pug's Avatar
                            Le pug Le pug is offline
                            Creator of Pokémon: Discovery / Fat Kid
                            • Crystal Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2013
                            Location: Le bed
                            Age: 25
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bold
                            Posts: 784
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                            Normally you shouldn't use advance map 1.95, but using it is the only way you can expand a tileset. So do it for that and then go to 1.92!
                            My question is how do you expand it.. because on some tilesets for tileset 2, I'll go under Block Editor > Blocks > Change amount

                            and there will be a set maximum sometimes like 382 or 512... how do I increase this number to what I personally want?
                            __________________







                            /// Pokémon: Discovery
                            /// Pokémon: Fat Kid
                            /// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
                            /// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
                            /// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
                            /// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
                            /// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
                              #26325    
                            Old August 25th, 2013 (11:41 AM).
                            GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                            GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                            (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                            • Gold Tier
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                            Location: Earth
                            Age: 19
                            Gender: Female
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 2,477
                            The set maximum is the limit the GBA can handle. So you need to keep them. Also, there's nothing, absolutely nothing, wrong with overwriting gamefreak's tiles. Plus they're really bad. Especially RS tiles
                            __________________
                            I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                            The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                            Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                            Support me at my site!
                            Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                            Closed Thread

                            Quick Reply

                            Join the conversation!

                            Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                            Create a PokéCommunity Account

                            Sponsored Links
                            Thread Tools

                            Posting Rules
                            You may not post new threads
                            You may not post replies
                            You may not post attachments
                            You may not edit your posts

                            BB code is On
                            Smilies are On
                            [IMG] code is On
                            HTML code is Off

                            Forum Jump


                            All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:27 PM.