The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #27951    
Old January 1st, 2014 (6:18 AM).
Aruaruu Aruaruu is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 199
Does anybody know how to edit base stats of Deoxys? In the various editors I tried, it just showed the stats of the normal form, which is used during the battle against it I am guessing.
I opened the ROM in a hex editor and searched for the base stats of the speed form (Since my ROM is Emerald,) but it didn't find anything.

Relevant Advertising!

  #27952    
Old January 1st, 2014 (8:02 AM).
~Pokedude~'s Avatar
~Pokedude~ ~Pokedude~ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 64
How can I make the script wait, until the assembler code is finished?
I tried waitstate after the callasm but the script just crashes then
  #27953    
Old January 1st, 2014 (9:11 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Pokedude~ View Post
How can I make the script wait, until the assembler code is finished?
I tried waitstate after the callasm but the script just crashes then
It should wait automatically. GBA doesn't support multi-threading, so it literally has to. Can I see your asm?
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #27954    
Old January 1st, 2014 (9:18 AM). Edited January 1st, 2014 by Tlachtli.
Tlachtli's Avatar
Tlachtli Tlachtli is offline
Crit happens.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faraway place
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Pokedude~ View Post
As far as i know, this is only one image in the ROM, which gamefreak changes it's color
depending on the type of the attack.
Hrm, any idea where this image might be located then? The dragon- and ???-type ones are multicolored so it may be split into two half images, but again I didn't find the base for them even with the unLZ deep scan. I figured they'd be with or near the Type/Power/Accuracy images, but I couldn't find those either

I'm betting they'll be part of a menu tilemap or something
__________________
Pokemon Sigma Σmerald:
(now under management by DraconianWing)

A Gen 3 remake de-make, featuring many new encounters and Gen VI mechanics

  #27955    
Old January 1st, 2014 (9:34 AM).
tommyonline's Avatar
tommyonline tommyonline is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Gender:
Posts: 15
Is there an overworld sprite editor for Diamond\Pearl yet?
  #27956    
Old January 1st, 2014 (9:57 AM).
LuxrayHacker's Avatar
LuxrayHacker LuxrayHacker is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Narnia
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
Posts: 181
How do you make a scripted loss? Like for example in the beginning of my hack I want a fight with a level 70 Giratina right after getting your starter but I want it to be when you lose the game continues instead of making you continue the battle until you win. Like right after your pokemon faint you would "wake up" in your room... How would I do this?
  #27957    
Old January 1st, 2014 (10:39 AM).
Tlachtli's Avatar
Tlachtli Tlachtli is offline
Crit happens.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faraway place
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tlachtli View Post
Hrm, any idea where this image might be located then? The dragon- and ???-type ones are multicolored so it may be split into two half images, but again I didn't find the base for them even with the unLZ deep scan. I figured they'd be with or near the Type/Power/Accuracy images, but I couldn't find those either

I'm betting they'll be part of a menu tilemap or something
Well I feel silly. I couldn't find them in unLZ because they weren't compressed images After sorting through a couple regions of interest in NSE, I managed to find them.

In BPEE they're found at 0xDC4378 and use the palette at 0xDC4338, in case anyone else is curious. PNG attached below.
Attached Images
File Type: png DC4378 (DC4338).png‎ (2.8 KB, 6 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
Pokemon Sigma Σmerald:
(now under management by DraconianWing)

A Gen 3 remake de-make, featuring many new encounters and Gen VI mechanics

  #27958    
Old January 1st, 2014 (11:46 AM). Edited January 1st, 2014 by Kawaii Shoujo Duskull.
Kawaii Shoujo Duskull's Avatar
Kawaii Shoujo Duskull Kawaii Shoujo Duskull is offline
The Cutest Duskull
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Far too deep in my thoughts.
Age: 20
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luxray1 View Post
How do you make a scripted loss? Like for example in the beginning of my hack I want a fight with a level 70 Giratina right after getting your starter but I want it to be when you lose the game continues instead of making you continue the battle until you win. Like right after your pokemon faint you would "wake up" in your room... How would I do this?
Hmm, that could be tricky.


Maybe make it so the player's location after losing the battle(where they'll reappear, like when you lose a battle and return just outside of a pokemon center) is the bed in their room or something.
If that doesn't work out, then ASM might be needed to create some alternative battle form or something...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aruaruu View Post
Does anybody know how to edit base stats of Deoxys? In the various editors I tried, it just showed the stats of the normal form, which is used during the battle against it I am guessing.
I opened the ROM in a hex editor and searched for the base stats of the speed form (Since my ROM is Emerald,) but it didn't find anything.


There is only one form of deoxys in each version of the GBA games(sorta).
- attack and defense go for FR and LG(forget which gets which)
- R/S get speed I think
- emerald gets normal.


So there is only one deoxys form in emerald.
(correct me if I'm wrong somebody)

Now for another question of my own.


I can't recall if I saw anything that helped with this or not.


Okay, lets say I have a hack that's already been started a bit, but on a regular FR rom (BPRE). If I wanted to add JPAN's hacked engine, would I patch the rom with the hack followed by the engine, or would I patch the engine on first? Or (and I'd expect this) is there some other process to follow to apply the hack and hacked engine onto a rom?
Or is that just not possible?


I have the same question for MrDollSteak's decapped rom base.


Thank you to anybody who decides to help here.
  #27959    
Old January 1st, 2014 (1:47 PM).
~Pokedude~'s Avatar
~Pokedude~ ~Pokedude~ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 64
JPAN made a hack-tool-applier, which is included in his zip-folder.
You simply choose which hacks you want to insert, it automatically searches new offsets for it.

@karatekid: I fixed it myself, but thanks for that information
  #27960    
Old January 1st, 2014 (2:26 PM).
Kawaii Shoujo Duskull's Avatar
Kawaii Shoujo Duskull Kawaii Shoujo Duskull is offline
The Cutest Duskull
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Far too deep in my thoughts.
Age: 20
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Pokedude~ View Post
JPAN made a hack-tool-applier, which is included in his zip-folder.
You simply choose which hacks you want to insert, it automatically searches new offsets for it.

@karatekid: I fixed it myself, but thanks for that information


So it can be applied to a hack in progress then? And does the order they're applied matter?
  #27961    
Old January 1st, 2014 (3:25 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merak View Post
So it can be applied to a hack in progress then? And does the order they're applied matter?
Yes, it can be applied to a hack in progress. If another hack is required as a prerequisite, it will tell you.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #27962    
Old January 1st, 2014 (6:29 PM).
Aruaruu Aruaruu is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merak View Post
There is only one form of deoxys in each version of the GBA games(sorta).
- attack and defense go for FR and LG(forget which gets which)
- R/S get speed I think
- emerald gets normal.


So there is only one deoxys form in emerald.
(correct me if I'm wrong somebody)
FR = Attack
LG = Defense
R/S = Normal
E = Speed

But that still doesn't answer how to change the stats of the one you get when you catch it.
When you battle it, it uses it's normal form. =\
  #27963    
Old January 1st, 2014 (8:13 PM).
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug Le pug is offline
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery / Fat Kid
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 783
anyone know how to change the actual animation of the pokemon in emerald? like if i replace lunatone with another pokemon, the pokemon will sway back and forth like lunatone but i want the animation to be like lets say jolteon.. how would i go about doing this
__________________







/// Pokémon: Discovery
/// Pokémon: Fat Kid
/// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
/// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
/// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
/// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
/// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
  #27964    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (2:11 AM).
Eminence's Avatar
Eminence Eminence is offline
Pokemon Eminence
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Posts: 19
I was inserting new indoor tiles, everything went smooth, in Advance map it shows the border to be a really dark blue, but when I go in-game it's a fluro pink. How would I go about fixing this?
__________________

http://nupzdeviant.deviantart.com/
  #27965    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (2:18 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 8,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eminence View Post
I was inserting new indoor tiles, everything went smooth, in Advance map it shows the border to be a really dark blue, but when I go in-game it's a fluro pink. How would I go about fixing this?
In Ruby, use the other one for your border block.


In FireRed, it's this one.
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #27966    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (1:15 PM). Edited January 2nd, 2014 by Ambushwhack.
Ambushwhack's Avatar
Ambushwhack Ambushwhack is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturnus View Post
No. Not that I have known. There isn't. You just gotta enhance your skills if you're not that good yet.
But the harder you try, the better the results.
That's annoying. I'm pushing to get a beta ready for my own hack, but it has a few Fakemon (all of them fusions or forced evolutions, with plot relevance). I've put in a couple now, but they look dishearteningly bad. Considering my struggles with spriting and scripting, I've been considering asking a couple people to join me on a team. What can people tell me about the etiquette of looking to assemble a team with an already-in-progress hack? I'm inclined to think not many people would want to join a newbie hacker on his pet project, and that the team-building forum is more for skilled specialists to get together to build top-tier hacks. Is that impression correct?

...Yeah, that's kind of a meta question for this board. Oh well.

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
PET is super old. Use Advance Trainer of Jambo51's trainer editor instead.
This basically covers another question I was going to ask. Here's the thing, A-Trainer keeps crashing on me once it opens. Could this be because I already edited some trainers in PET? Did the changes made in PET render the trainer data unopenable by A-Trainer or something like that? Also, I'm not even sure if editing the rival is the most effective way of handling this. Sometime after the third Gym, I plan on the protagonist getting a chance to rescue a Charmander, Bulbasaur, or Squirtle from a mad science lab. The mad scientist becomes a recurring villain, using among other things, a fully evolved fusion of the two you were unable to rescue. Do you think think it would be better to move the choose starter scripts to later in the game and repurpose the rival, or am I better making new scripts entirely?
__________________
Friend code 2896-0480-0978. I don't know what type my friend safari is yet. Vivillon collector, Polar Pattern native. I stand no chance of ever getting a Poke Ball pattern. I see one on GTS asking for a Mew. I'd do that trade in an instant if I had one. If I had any event Pokémon, Genesect is the only one I wouldn't trade in a heartbeat for Poke Ball pattern. And even then, I might.
  #27967    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (1:26 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ambushwhack View Post
This basically covers another question I was going to ask. Here's the thing, A-Trainer keeps crashing on me once it opens. Could this be because I already edited some trainers in PET? Did the changes made in PET render the trainer data unopenable by A-Trainer or something like that?
Probably. First, try opening a clean rom. Then try Jambo51's Trainer Editor.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #27968    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (4:56 PM).
Kawaii Shoujo Duskull's Avatar
Kawaii Shoujo Duskull Kawaii Shoujo Duskull is offline
The Cutest Duskull
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Far too deep in my thoughts.
Age: 20
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 278
Alright, back again.(I know, annoying right?)


So basicly, I've got a program issue. I don't know why, but no matter what rom I open,, when I go into GBAPGE's pokemon editer after loading the rom it lags for a few minutes and then gives a popup for JIT debugging. If I select to continue, it lags a bit but brings up the pokemon editer pretty quick anyway. If I try to scroll even one pokemon down the selection, it stops working, as in (Not responding). If I let it wait, it doesn't do anything, just stays there like that.


At first, I thought it was the hacked roms I tried(I tried with the 649 patch but gave up after several failed attempts to get PGE to work. Also tried with a hack I'm working with), but it won't even work with a clean FR US [BPRE] rom.


So, any ideas on what might be messing with PGE?
  #27969    
Old January 2nd, 2014 (8:29 PM).
HidoranBlaze's Avatar
HidoranBlaze HidoranBlaze is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 253
Is there a way to run advance map and other hacking programs here on a mac? I might get a mac soon, and I don't have the money to buy a windows license, so bootcamp is out of the question. Also, I heard wine doesn't support .net framework. Is there a way around this?
  #27970    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (6:36 AM).
CureYoshiDarkness's Avatar
CureYoshiDarkness CureYoshiDarkness is offline
CATCH PHRASE!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hoenn's Trumpet
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by pikapoke33 View Post
Is there a way to run advance map and other hacking programs here on a mac? I might get a mac soon, and I don't have the money to buy a windows license, so bootcamp is out of the question. Also, I heard wine doesn't support .net framework. Is there a way around this?
On a Mac? I don't believe so, without a windows license, I don't think there is a real way to run most hack programs on a Mac computer, however some programs are made to run on Mac and Windows. Plus, most hack programs need .NET framework, so without a Windows computer, you aren't going anywhere. Since a Mac computer and .NET are incompatible.
__________________


  #27971    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (7:38 AM). Edited January 3rd, 2014 by Nihilego.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,766
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by pikapoke33 View Post
Is there a way to run advance map and other hacking programs here on a mac? I might get a mac soon, and I don't have the money to buy a windows license, so bootcamp is out of the question. Also, I heard wine doesn't support .net framework. Is there a way around this?
I have successfully installed all programs under wine on Ubuntu. It took FAR too long and it doesn't run really well. (Linux itself runs awesome. It is the .NET framework having issues.) My computer is dual-booted with XP. That runs perfectly. I'm sure you can find a copy of XP on eBay or something really cheap.

This basically covers another question I was going to ask. Here's the thing, A-Trainer keeps crashing on me once it opens. Could this be because I already edited some trainers in PET? Did the changes made in PET render the trainer data unopenable by A-Trainer or something like that? Also, I'm not even sure if editing the rival is the most effective way of handling this. Sometime after the third Gym, I plan on the protagonist getting a chance to rescue a Charmander, Bulbasaur, or Squirtle from a mad science lab. The mad scientist becomes a recurring villain, using among other things, a fully evolved fusion of the two you were unable to rescue. Do you think think it would be better to move the choose starter scripts to later in the game and repurpose the rival, or am I better making new scripts entirely?[/QUOTE]

What you do, is check the starter via a var and then start a different battle based upon it. This is how GF did it. So, you create different battles for it.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #27972    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (9:43 AM).
Worldslayer608's Avatar
Worldslayer608 Worldslayer608 is offline
ಥдಥ
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 892
I have not had any luck finding the answer to what I am looking for XD.

How can I RIP the battle background and battle bases from the BW or BW2 ROMS?
__________________



SMEARGLE SOLO CHALLENGE
HARDCORE EDITION
To vanquish without peril is to triumph without glory...
Voted Best Game Designer 2011 on PC
  #27973    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (10:05 AM).
Rezordaxx's Avatar
Rezordaxx Rezordaxx is offline
Asks many questions!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 290
Does somebody know how to have standard names for your hero and rival, so you cant choose how to name them?
__________________

My hack
  #27974    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (11:42 AM).
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug Le pug is offline
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery / Fat Kid
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rezordaxx View Post
Does somebody know how to have standard names for your hero and rival, so you cant choose how to name them?
maybe just let them name the character... but carry on in the story by their nickname.... like if you chose to name your character Sam... just be like Hey Sam! Or Goku, as everyone knows you by...

idk lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
anyone know how to change the actual animation of the pokemon in emerald? like if i replace lunatone with another pokemon, the pokemon will sway back and forth like lunatone but i want the animation to be like lets say jolteon.. how would i go about doing this
quoting this again.
__________________







/// Pokémon: Discovery
/// Pokémon: Fat Kid
/// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
/// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
/// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
/// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
/// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
  #27975    
Old January 3rd, 2014 (3:21 PM).
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade Renegade is offline
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 998
Hello, people~
Is there a way to check what weather condition is occurring at a certain time? All I really need to do is check for a condition and if the result is true, I store it to a variable for later.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:52 PM.