Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old January 7th, 2014 (7:41 AM).
Negix's Avatar
Negix Negix is offline
     
    Join Date: Aug 2013
    Location: Puerto Rico AST Time Zone
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 189
    I dunno if it's possible to animate the pokemon in the rpg maker xp program. I know that it is possible in VX and VX Ace, however, in my long search I haven't found my answer. So here I am now asking, is it possible to animate them? I know rpgm doesn't support gifs so you have to add the sprites from scratch. But I'm still at doubt if rmxp is able to support the animations, or if there is anyway to add them.
    __________________
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #2    
    Old January 7th, 2014 (7:43 AM).
    Rayd12smitty's Avatar
    Rayd12smitty Rayd12smitty is offline
    Shadow Maker
       
      Join Date: Dec 2011
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 647
      Pokemon Essentials does support .gif battlers
      __________________
      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old January 7th, 2014 (7:51 AM).
      Negix's Avatar
      Negix Negix is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2013
        Location: Puerto Rico AST Time Zone
        Age: 22
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Jolly
        Posts: 189
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Rayd12smitty View Post
        Pokemon Essentials does support .gif battlers
        Well, that is most certainly interesting to know. Also, does it require a script or just the insertion is enough?
        __________________
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old January 7th, 2014 (8:51 AM).
        Rayd12smitty's Avatar
        Rayd12smitty Rayd12smitty is offline
        Shadow Maker
           
          Join Date: Dec 2011
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 647
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Negix View Post
          Well, that is most certainly interesting to know. Also, does it require a script or just the insertion is enough?
          .gifs work perfectly fine as battler sprites without any scripting changes, however they do freeze up a lot whenever an animation is playing or anything is working in the game pretty much. There is a way to fix this though, I don't remember exactly what it was. Search this forum for "animated battlers" or something like that and look through the posts where other people have asked this same question
          __________________
          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old January 7th, 2014 (9:24 AM).
          Worldslayer608's Avatar
          Worldslayer608 Worldslayer608 is offline
          ಥдಥ
          • Silver Tier
           
          Join Date: Mar 2008
          Location: San Diego
          Age: 27
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Calm
          Posts: 892
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Rayd12smitty View Post
          .gifs work perfectly fine as battler sprites without any scripting changes, however they do freeze up a lot whenever an animation is playing or anything is working in the game pretty much. There is a way to fix this though, I don't remember exactly what it was. Search this forum for "animated battlers" or something like that and look through the posts where other people have asked this same question
          This is not entirely correct. I am using the sprites in my signature just fine and they are anywhere from 40-200 frames for the file. The issues that I habe had were related to the image files being way too large when scaled up, mainly the backsprites. That can be fixed by just adjusting the zoom and not doubling the size of the sprites and keeping them below 200x200.

          It can be done, at least I have not had any issues that have not been fixable.
          __________________



          SMEARGLE SOLO CHALLENGE
          HARDCORE EDITION
          To vanquish without peril is to triumph without glory...
          Voted Best Game Designer 2011 on PC
          Reply With Quote
            #6    
          Old January 7th, 2014 (10:22 AM).
          Negix's Avatar
          Negix Negix is offline
             
            Join Date: Aug 2013
            Location: Puerto Rico AST Time Zone
            Age: 22
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Jolly
            Posts: 189
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by ЩѻƦḽᶑʂḽдƴƹƦ™ View Post
            This is not entirely correct. I am using the sprites in my signature just fine and they are anywhere from 40-200 frames for the file. The issues that I habe had were related to the image files being way too large when scaled up, mainly the backsprites. That can be fixed by just adjusting the zoom and not doubling the size of the sprites and keeping them below 200x200.

            It can be done, at least I have not had any issues that have not been fixable.
            So it is possible then as long as the size is correct and they're positioned correct. But doesn't it require a full sprite sheet of the Pokemon and its movements? I tried inserting one but all it did was sit still.
            __________________
            Reply With Quote
              #7    
            Old January 7th, 2014 (11:04 AM).
            Worldslayer608's Avatar
            Worldslayer608 Worldslayer608 is offline
            ಥдಥ
            • Silver Tier
             
            Join Date: Mar 2008
            Location: San Diego
            Age: 27
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 892
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Negix View Post
            So it is possible then as long as the size is correct and they're positioned correct. But doesn't it require a full sprite sheet of the Pokemon and its movements? I tried inserting one but all it did was sit still.
            You need to rewrite pokemonbattlersprite to use .gif files and then use a gif file as the animation.

            The size can be whatever you want, but keep in mind, the larger the file, the more lag you will have and the lag is harder to avoid with gifs than a .png file. It is pretty temperamental.
            __________________



            SMEARGLE SOLO CHALLENGE
            HARDCORE EDITION
            To vanquish without peril is to triumph without glory...
            Voted Best Game Designer 2011 on PC
            Reply With Quote
              #8    
            Old January 7th, 2014 (1:39 PM).
            Luka S.J.'s Avatar
            Luka S.J. Luka S.J. is offline
            Jealous Croatian
               
              Join Date: Dec 2008
              Location: Croatia
              Age: 23
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 1,087
              The reason you need to re-write the class to load GifSprites instead of regular Sprites, is that the bitmaps of regular Sprites get dumped into the system cache. This causes several problems. Another issue is the lag you encounter while initializing GIFs using normal bitmap methods. This question has been asked and answered several times. Please check this link out before you do anything else.

              You can do all sorts of stuff in RMXP with Essentials.
              __________________

              Reply With Quote
                #9    
              Old January 8th, 2014 (6:05 PM).
              Negix's Avatar
              Negix Negix is offline
                 
                Join Date: Aug 2013
                Location: Puerto Rico AST Time Zone
                Age: 22
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Jolly
                Posts: 189
                Thank you, that most recently did help. I added all of the animated sprite unto the game. However, there's one error that occurs when repositioning them. Also the backsprites seem to be too big.

                This is the error that pops up:
                ---------------------------
                Pokemon Essentials
                ---------------------------
                Exception: RGSSError

                Message: failed to create bitmap

                BitmapCache:318:in `initialize'

                BitmapCache:318:in `initialize'

                SpriteWindow:819:in `new'

                SpriteWindow:819:in `initialize'

                SpriteWindow:815:in `each'

                SpriteWindow:815:in `initialize'

                SpriteWindow:805:in `chdir'

                SpriteWindow:805:in `initialize'

                SpriteWindow:222:in `new'

                SpriteWindow:222:in `initialize'



                This exception was logged in ./errorlog.txt.

                Press Ctrl+C to copy this message to the clipboard.
                __________________
                Reply With Quote
                  #10    
                Old January 9th, 2014 (6:23 AM).
                Luka S.J.'s Avatar
                Luka S.J. Luka S.J. is offline
                Jealous Croatian
                   
                  Join Date: Dec 2008
                  Location: Croatia
                  Age: 23
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Adamant
                  Posts: 1,087
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by Negix View Post
                  Thank you, that most recently did help. I added all of the animated sprite unto the game. However, there's one error that occurs when repositioning them. Also the backsprites seem to be too big.
                  Again, same problem. Your editor is trying to load GIFs as normal Sprite bitmaps, instead of the GifSprite bitmaps. GIFs are too large, and the program just crashes. You need to change the Editor script from regular sprites to GifSprites. That way, you'd have far less issues.
                  __________________

                  Reply With Quote
                    #11    
                  Old January 10th, 2014 (12:21 PM).
                  Negix's Avatar
                  Negix Negix is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Aug 2013
                    Location: Puerto Rico AST Time Zone
                    Age: 22
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 189
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Luka S.J. View Post
                    Again, same problem. Your editor is trying to load GIFs as normal Sprite bitmaps, instead of the GifSprite bitmaps. GIFs are too large, and the program just crashes. You need to change the Editor script from regular sprites to GifSprites. That way, you'd have far less issues.
                    Sorry if I'm asking a lot but which one is that? I'm confused on what script it is and what it is that should be edited in it. I'm not a scripter so my knowledge is limited. I dunno what it is that I have to change exactly.
                    __________________
                    Reply With Quote
                      #12    
                    Old January 19th, 2014 (5:16 PM).
                    northrone northrone is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Mar 2012
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 42
                      Are you guys sure on this one? I'm just using ordinary .gif's and they're working fine
                      Reply With Quote
                      Reply
                      Quick Reply

                      Sponsored Links
                      Thread Tools

                      Posting Rules
                      You may not post new threads
                      You may not post replies
                      You may not post attachments
                      You may not edit your posts

                      BB code is On
                      Smilies are On
                      [IMG] code is On
                      HTML code is Off

                      Forum Jump


                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:01 PM.