The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22676    
Old September 29th, 2012 (11:11 AM).
Sark Sark is offline
     
    Join Date: Mar 2012
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 37
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Sark View Post
    I have a really big problem that prevent me from hacking my game. I can't have it fixed X_x
    Spoiler:



    I want to change Charmander's sprite to Axew's.


    I click on "Edit" and import my sprite sheet... (Sorry for the bad quality of this screenshot)


    And then click on synchronize palette.


    I click on "Ok"...


    Then on write to rom, and "Find free space".


    Okay, the sprite is edited! Probably.

    I open my rom again, to see if the sprite was correctly inserted...


    The sprite isn't here, there's just the background color D:

    Any ideas on how to fix this?
    Bumping this. I really need help ;w;

    Relevant Advertising!

      #22677    
    Old September 29th, 2012 (12:45 PM).
    Felgrand89 Felgrand89 is offline
       
      Join Date: Aug 2012
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 15
      Hey Sark, is that a sprite editor for Black and White?
        #22678    
      Old September 29th, 2012 (1:16 PM).
      shinyabsol1's Avatar
      shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
      Pokemon DarkJasper!?
         
        Join Date: Aug 2010
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Calm
        Posts: 330
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by MrSandman64
        Does anybody know how to get rid of the weird messed up squares that come up on the title screen after following DawnRyder's tutorial on how to edit the fire red title screen?
        Try adding 16 '00' bytes to the end of the raw file.

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Sark
        Bumping this. I really need help ;w;
        I did the same steps as you and it works fine. Try it again on a clean ROM. If it works, then there is probably something wrong with your modified ROM.

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Felgrand89
        Hey Sark, is that a sprite editor for Black and White?
        No. Advanced Series is for the Advance generation games.
          #22679    
        Old September 29th, 2012 (1:22 PM).
        Sark Sark is offline
           
          Join Date: Mar 2012
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 37
          I tried with a clean rom, redownloaded at least 10 FR roms, 1.0 and 1.1, downloaded the tool again, it doesn't work ;w;

          Also, I have windows 7, is that a problem? I activated Microsoft .net 3.5, by the way?
            #22680    
          Old September 29th, 2012 (1:30 PM).
          Felgrand89 Felgrand89 is offline
             
            Join Date: Aug 2012
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 15
            I ment the program that has Axew on it
              #22681    
            Old September 29th, 2012 (1:33 PM).
            shinyabsol1's Avatar
            shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
            Pokemon DarkJasper!?
               
              Join Date: Aug 2010
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Calm
              Posts: 330
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Sark
              I tried with a clean rom, redownloaded at least 10 FR roms, 1.0 and 1.1, downloaded the tool again, it doesn't work ;w;

              Also, I have windows 7, is that a problem? I activated Microsoft .net 3.5, by the way?
              Hmmm. That's really strange. I'm on Windows 7 so that's not the problem. I don't know about Microsoft .net 3.5, but I doubt it's the problem.

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Felgrand89
              I ment the program that has Axew on it
              That's still Advanced Series.
                #22682    
              Old September 29th, 2012 (1:46 PM).
              DaleH771's Avatar
              DaleH771 DaleH771 is offline
              I know who you are.
                 
                Join Date: Oct 2011
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 126
                Ive tested Johtomap as a map and event editor for a Pokemon Silver ROM, I like the tool, its amazing for map editing.

                However, I face a few issues, such as Map name changing (To a custom name), some issues with tileset editing but the main problem is events. I do not know how to add my own events and ARGH.

                Is there an alternative to Johtomap people can link me to please? I searched but can't find anything... Cheers!
                __________________

                Demo coming soon!
                  #22683    
                Old September 29th, 2012 (2:01 PM).
                MrSandman64's Avatar
                MrSandman64 MrSandman64 is offline
                Pokemon Moon Creator
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2012
                  Location: Massachusetts
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 28
                  @shinyabsol1:Thanks for the response but how would I go about doing that?
                    #22684    
                  Old September 29th, 2012 (2:06 PM).
                  Sark Sark is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2012
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 37
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by shinyabsol1 View Post
                    Hmmm. That's really strange. I'm on Windows 7 so that's not the problem. I don't know about Microsoft .net 3.5, but I doubt it's the problem.
                    If only Wichu was still here... Anyway, tried on XP, it works... However, I can't use the xp computer... Any ideas on what's the problem? My computer? :/
                      #22685    
                    Old September 29th, 2012 (2:58 PM).
                    tajaros's Avatar
                    tajaros tajaros is offline
                    Hi I'm dawg
                       
                      Join Date: Apr 2012
                      Location: Philippines
                      Age: 19
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Timid
                      Posts: 857
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Sark View Post
                      If only Wichu was still here... Anyway, tried on XP, it works... However, I can't use the xp computer... Any ideas on what's the problem? My computer? :/
                      Try downloading .net 4.0 and if it still doesn't work try downloading the older versions of .net framework... :)
                      __________________
                        #22686    
                      Old September 29th, 2012 (5:32 PM).
                      PokemonMasters's Avatar
                      PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                      Always Remember Forever&After
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2012
                        Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Calm
                        Posts: 403
                        if your using the day and night system, and its night time, is it possible to make light to come up through some spaces? (like windows and lamps)
                        __________________

                        +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                          #22687    
                        Old September 29th, 2012 (5:46 PM).
                        shinyabsol1's Avatar
                        shinyabsol1 shinyabsol1 is offline
                        Pokemon DarkJasper!?
                           
                          Join Date: Aug 2010
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Calm
                          Posts: 330
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by MrSandman64
                          @shinyabsol1:Thanks for the response but how would I go about doing that?
                          Open the .raw file in a hex editor, go to the bottom, and make a new row of 16 00s. Save. Then insert the .raw.

                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by PokemonMasters
                          if your using the day and night system, and its night time, is it possible to make light to come up through some spaces? (like windows and lamps)
                          Yes. There is a tutorial in the tutorial section (by Wesley FG, I believe) on how to do this.
                            #22688    
                          Old September 29th, 2012 (6:07 PM).
                          Felgrand89 Felgrand89 is offline
                             
                            Join Date: Aug 2012
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 15
                            Is there any other way to change the original name of a pokemon inn Platinum version, because PPRE is not working for me.
                              #22689    
                            Old September 29th, 2012 (6:36 PM).
                            Circaoffire's Avatar
                            Circaoffire Circaoffire is offline
                            Clueless Scripter :/
                               
                              Join Date: Apr 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Adamant
                              Posts: 48
                              I was wondering how I would go about making the night cycle the only cycle in my ROM hack of Fire Red w/JPAN's patch. Would it require ASM, XSE, or just simply hex editing? I can try and go from there. Thanks in advance!
                                #22690    
                              Old September 29th, 2012 (9:14 PM).
                              PokemonMasters's Avatar
                              PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                              Always Remember Forever&After
                                 
                                Join Date: Jun 2012
                                Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Calm
                                Posts: 403
                                How do you make pokemon appear that arent in grass? like your in a forest and theirs no grass but when you walk wild pokemon appear.
                                __________________

                                +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                                  #22691    
                                Old September 29th, 2012 (10:12 PM).
                                itman itman is offline
                                Back to ROM hacking. :D
                                   
                                  Join Date: May 2007
                                  Age: 24
                                  Nature: Adamant
                                  Posts: 100
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
                                  How do you make pokemon appear that arent in grass? like your in a forest and theirs no grass but when you walk wild pokemon appear.
                                  Go to block editor.

                                  Click the tile you want to have the wild pokemon effect on.

                                  Ctrl + Right click on the blocks to take the whole thing.

                                  Click on an empty tile and and paste, to make a copy of that tile.

                                  Put Behavior Bytes: 02 02

                                  Put Background byte 00 01

                                  Click save block.
                                    #22692    
                                  Old September 29th, 2012 (10:52 PM). Edited September 29th, 2012 by AtecainCorp..
                                  AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
                                  AtecainCorp. AtecainCorp. is offline
                                  Rejishan awake...
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jun 2008
                                    Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
                                    Age: 25
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Hardy
                                    Posts: 1,284
                                    Game - Pokemon Ruby
                                    Task - How add new Pokedex Entries for 27 empty Pokemon Slots... I know how add new Pokemon to that slots... But when I catch them i have crash becouse those Pokemons do not have Pokedex Entries... Some one can help me with this?

                                    " How do you make pokemon appear that arent in grass? like your in a forest and theirs no grass but when you walk wild pokemon appear. "

                                    You can do it easier PokemonMaster... Go to Advanced Map and in the FOREST click in the Map Detalis... In there change type from Road to Cave... And presto... Pokemon start atacking you during walking throught forest without grass.
                                    __________________
                                    - My new Project comming Soon
                                      #22693    
                                    Old September 29th, 2012 (11:19 PM).
                                    miksy91's Avatar
                                    miksy91 miksy91 is offline
                                    Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
                                       
                                      Join Date: Oct 2008
                                      Location: Finland
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 1,445
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by DaleH771 View Post
                                      Ive tested Johtomap as a map and event editor for a Pokemon Silver ROM, I like the tool, its amazing for map editing.

                                      However, I face a few issues, such as Map name changing (To a custom name), some issues with tileset editing but the main problem is events. I do not know how to add my own events and ARGH.

                                      Is there an alternative to Johtomap people can link me to please? I searched but can't find anything... Cheers!
                                      Johtomap supports doing most stuff and is actually the best map editor out for Gold and Silver. I do things such as changing area names with a hex editor along with all the event data editing which I just finish with Johtomap.

                                      If you're going to make an overhaul of G/S, you're going to have to learn to deal with lots of "problems" you wouldn't run into when hacking 3rd gen games (such as space for writing data and such). I've made several video tutorials in youtube so you may want to check them out (others in skeetendo inc. have said they're good so I could as well favour them to you too).
                                      __________________
                                      Pokémon Dark Energy
                                      Some of my ROM hacking related stuff
                                        #22694    
                                      Old September 30th, 2012 (12:01 AM).
                                      AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
                                      AtecainCorp. AtecainCorp. is offline
                                      Rejishan awake...
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jun 2008
                                        Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
                                        Age: 25
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Nature: Hardy
                                        Posts: 1,284
                                        miksy91... I have for you question... How Add 4 new Pokemon, and Edit sprites on Pokemon Silver... I want make DEMAKE of my project named POKEMON DIRTY SUN <In GBC version that should called Pokemon Dirt>
                                        __________________
                                        - My new Project comming Soon
                                          #22695    
                                        Old September 30th, 2012 (4:35 PM).
                                        mewmasterify's Avatar
                                        mewmasterify mewmasterify is offline
                                        Actual Mew
                                           
                                          Join Date: Apr 2011
                                          Location: Faraway Island
                                          Age: 18
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Quiet
                                          Posts: 71
                                          is it possible to make the Pokemon game where you can choose a Hard Mode or Easy Mode like what they did on Black 2 and White 2?
                                          __________________
                                            #22696    
                                          Old September 30th, 2012 (5:48 PM).
                                          Renegade's Avatar
                                          Renegade Renegade is offline
                                          Time for real life...
                                             
                                            Join Date: Nov 2011
                                            Location: United States
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Careful
                                            Posts: 998
                                            I have a question. Hope someone can answer!

                                            What is the size of the Pokemon Fire Red background? Thanks for your time in advance!
                                              #22697    
                                            Old September 30th, 2012 (6:40 PM).
                                            awipe1's Avatar
                                            awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Aug 2012
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 215
                                              I was wondering if anyone could teach me how to make in gametrade scripts.
                                              I'm pretty decent at scripting, I wouldn't call myself advanced but I know the use of variables and flags and such yada yada yada. So if you are able to teach me how to make in game trades, I would love it =) Or if you could send me to a tutorial that shows that kinda stuff too that would be awesome! =)
                                                #22698    
                                              Old September 30th, 2012 (9:00 PM).
                                              KingEddy's Avatar
                                              KingEddy KingEddy is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Feb 2012
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 4
                                                Hi guys, Im working on my first Rom hack ever, anyway my question is how to a make it so the player can only pick one starter from prof oak. Also I wish for there to be just one pokeball on the table. Im using a Fire Red rom
                                                  #22699    
                                                Old September 30th, 2012 (9:30 PM).
                                                Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                                                Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                                                Memento Mori
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Jul 2008
                                                Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                                                Age: 25
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Calm
                                                Posts: 14,530
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by mewmasterify View Post
                                                is it possible to make the Pokemon game where you can choose a Hard Mode or Easy Mode like what they did on Black 2 and White 2?
                                                Actually... that's possible... It would reduce the number of trainers, though...
                                                My point is that you can make event at the beginning and let players choose which mode they want. If they want Hard mode, then set a specific flag you will check everytime trainer will be about to battle. If it's set, player will battle a harder version of trainer.
                                                As I said, it would reduce the number of trainers because each trainer would have to have 1 "clone" which would be the harder version of him/herself.
                                                __________________
                                                ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                                                Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                                                  #22700    
                                                Old October 1st, 2012 (1:35 AM).
                                                suryabharat's Avatar
                                                suryabharat suryabharat is offline
                                                Koolbuddy85
                                                   
                                                  Join Date: Sep 2012
                                                  Gender: Male
                                                  Posts: 6
                                                  I was searching all over internet for something which i cant find till now

                                                  My aim is to add new trainers to a GBA Rom that means creat a new trainer ID like leaving all the default trainer IDs unchanged.

                                                  It would be grateful if somebody replied.
                                                  Closed Thread

                                                  Quick Reply

                                                  Join the conversation!

                                                  Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                  Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                  Sponsored Links
                                                  Thread Tools

                                                  Posting Rules
                                                  You may not post new threads
                                                  You may not post replies
                                                  You may not post attachments
                                                  You may not edit your posts

                                                  BB code is On
                                                  Smilies are On
                                                  [IMG] code is On
                                                  HTML code is Off

                                                  Forum Jump


                                                  All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:38 PM.