The PokéCommunity Forums Off-Topic Discussions Science & Technology
Chit-Chat Developers, developers, developers, developers

Science & Technology From the computer lab to the chemistry lab, or even the observatory, here's where we nerd out over all things science and technology!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1401    
Old January 28th, 2014 (7:42 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,928
Mine just barely passed the "month old" milestone. :3

Relevant Advertising!

  #1402    
Old January 28th, 2014 (9:49 AM).
Meganium's Avatar
Meganium Meganium is offline
we're on another mentality
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Galveston, TX
Age: 27
Gender: Female
Nature: Brave
Posts: 16,884
Congrats on the new smartphone, Stud Muffin :D

I usually aim at phones that were released 1-2 years ago. I don't like being an early adopter to phones that were released the same year.
__________________
Ain't got no tears left to cry
  #1403    
Old January 28th, 2014 (10:41 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,928
Breaking a phone is never something you'd want to happen to your own smartphone. :3
  #1404    
Old January 28th, 2014 (10:53 AM).
Crunch Punch's Avatar
Crunch Punch Crunch Punch is offline
fire > ice
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: England
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,375
I've got a ZTE Blade III. Why I even bothered to get that phone even though it was cheap I'll never know.

When I do have more cash in hand however I intend to get the Nexus 5. Man that thing looks sexy as hell, Kitkat 4.4 wooo
__________________
>> paired to gimmepie · last.fm
  #1405    
Old January 28th, 2014 (3:25 PM). Edited January 28th, 2014 by Aeroblast.
Aeroblast's Avatar
Aeroblast Aeroblast is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Basement
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 4,175
Anyone use virtualization software (eg. VMWare, VirtualBox) on here? If so, which one would you all recommend to run linux on windows 7?
  #1406    
Old January 28th, 2014 (6:07 PM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 22,971
Ugh, I hope there isn't a virus on my server. I had to reboot it earlier tonight for updates and now when I try to log back in, I'm refused. It says "loading your personal settings" then goes to "saving your settings". Same happens with any account I use.
__________________
  #1407    
Old January 28th, 2014 (6:52 PM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 21,531
Use a Linux LiveCD (any distro) to boot and scan it.
__________________
well that was unexpected
  #1408    
Old January 29th, 2014 (1:38 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 22,971
At least the files are still on my server if I need to open it up and get the hard drive out of it and get the important files. But I'm gonna try refreshing it with the Windows files to see if all is well. And if not, then I'll just get a Linux LiveCD then check for viruses and then reinstall from scratch.
__________________
  #1409    
Old January 29th, 2014 (2:59 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,928
Some antimalware providers use a live CD based on Windows Preinstallation Environment, the same environment that you end up in during Windows setup and System Recovery/Recovery Environment. I wonder how they perform compared to a *nix-based antimalware live CD.
  #1410    
Old January 29th, 2014 (3:14 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 22,971
Well, using an antimalware CD is out of the question for me, considering I don't have any :p I used MSE on the machine and last night noticed strange behavior when the fan kept getting loud with minimal CPU usage and the fact that the virus definitions weren't updating on it, despite me telling it to.

The machine had 40 weeks of uptime as well.
__________________
  #1411    
Old January 29th, 2014 (5:30 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,928
You could certainly download a disc image file of an antimalware live CD if needed.
  #1412    
Old January 29th, 2014 (6:46 AM).
Raine's Avatar
Raine Raine is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 3,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by 루기아 View Post
Anyone use virtualization software (eg. VMWare, VirtualBox) on here? If so, which one would you all recommend to run linux on windows 7?
I'm currently using VMWare to run Windows 7 on my Macbook, but it's only for my school program because there's a couple programs that do not have a Mac alternative. Having installed Windows 7 before separately, without using a virtualization program, I prefer the former over the latter mainly because it means having another program open and I don't like having multiple things open. Not entirely sure if it's just my Macbook, but VMWare running Win7 runs very slow. I thought 4GB RAM would be sufficient...But yeah, not sure if that helped you. I'm sorry >.<
  #1413    
Old January 29th, 2014 (7:07 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 21,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by 루기아 View Post
Anyone use virtualization software (eg. VMWare, VirtualBox) on here? If so, which one would you all recommend to run linux on windows 7?
I use VirtualBox because it's free and what we used in my schooling in college, so I'm familiar with it. It's pretty stable I've found. I couldn't tell you if VMWare Player is on par or anything, though, as I've never used it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach View Post
Well, using an antimalware CD is out of the question for me, considering I don't have any :p I used MSE on the machine and last night noticed strange behavior when the fan kept getting loud with minimal CPU usage and the fact that the virus definitions weren't updating on it, despite me telling it to.

The machine had 40 weeks of uptime as well.
You should install the system updates and reboot at least once a month in the future. :P

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twiggy View Post
Some antimalware providers use a live CD based on Windows Preinstallation Environment, the same environment that you end up in during Windows setup and System Recovery/Recovery Environment. I wonder how they perform compared to a *nix-based antimalware live CD.
That right there is the question of the day. The big thing is, they're probably not free.
__________________
well that was unexpected
  #1414    
Old January 29th, 2014 (7:10 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 22,971
VirtualBox sucks with Windows 9x operating systems and drivers, and that's the only con I can think of. Other than that, Virtualbox is definitely a stable operating system virtualization environment for sure, and it's very universal with just about every operating system (except for those that are closed-source to devices like iOS)
__________________
  #1415    
Old January 29th, 2014 (7:25 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by donavannj View Post
That right there is the question of the day. The big thing is, they're probably not free.
The thing is they can be free. Surprised me, but seeing as it's Microsoft's own product, yeah. If anything, I'd reckon that Windows-based antimalware live CDs should be more aware of what's going on in a Windows system and should have less of a chance of making unexpected changes to surrounding data and/or the file system.

I use VMware Player for my virtualization needs, as it turns out VirtualBox ain't cutting it for my needs. You can create VM boxes with it - it should be good enough for me, since I'm a student. :D
  #1416    
Old January 29th, 2014 (7:32 AM).
Starry Windy's Avatar
Starry Windy Starry Windy is offline
Spread the wings and fly
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Liberty Garden
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 8,690
You reminded me that I used to use VM programs like VMware, Virtualbox and Virtual PC. I missed my old days of installing Windows 98 in my VM box just for fun. And I like it. Lately I'm using Virtualbox more, one of the reasons was because of Aero theme support for Windows Vista and up.
__________________
Starlight Wind was here. Let's have a good time!
  #1417    
Old January 29th, 2014 (7:34 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 22,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twiggy View Post
The thing is they can be free. Surprised me, but seeing as it's Microsoft's own product, yeah. If anything, I'd reckon that Windows-based antimalware live CDs should be more aware of what's going on in a Windows system and should have less of a chance of making unexpected changes to surrounding data and/or the file system.
Hmm, I didn't realize that Microsoft made those.. would it work on Server 2003 though? I would at least hope it does..
__________________
  #1418    
Old January 29th, 2014 (7:36 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 21,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twiggy View Post
The thing is they can be free. Surprised me, but seeing as it's Microsoft's own product, yeah. If anything, I'd reckon that Windows-based antimalware live CDs should be more aware of what's going on in a Windows system and should have less of a chance of making unexpected changes to surrounding data and/or the file system.

I use VMware Player for my virtualization needs, as it turns out VirtualBox ain't cutting it for my needs. You can create VM boxes with it - it should be good enough for me, since I'm a student. :D
That may actually come in handy for me for the PCs of relatives. I think I'll download it now.

Does your school give you a license for it? Or is this just a personal license that you obtained for yourself?

EDIT: Zach, be prepared to phase that Server 2003 box out within the next year: http://support.microsoft.com/lifecycle/search/default.aspx?sort=PN&alpha=Windows+Server+2003&Filter=FilterNO

End of life for it is July 14, 2015.
__________________
well that was unexpected
  #1419    
Old January 29th, 2014 (7:42 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 22,971
Oh, I took note of the Server 2003 end-of-life date a few weeks ago from curiosity, so I had less to worry about and whatnot. The only thing my server runs is stuff for my IRC server and nothing more, really. As much as I want to load a Unix-based server OS onto it, I'm just not too familiar with Unix commands yet.

And the reason the machine runs Server 2003 is because of lower-end specs. It's got like a 2GHz Celeron single-core processor in it with 228MB internal video memory and 2GB RAM.
__________________
  #1420    
Old January 29th, 2014 (7:52 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach View Post
Oh, I took note of the Server 2003 end-of-life date a few weeks ago from curiosity, so I had less to worry about and whatnot. The only thing my server runs is stuff for my IRC server and nothing more, really. As much as I want to load a Unix-based server OS onto it, I'm just not too familiar with Unix commands yet.

And the reason the machine runs Server 2003 is because of lower-end specs. It's got like a 2GHz Celeron single-core processor in it with 228MB internal video memory and 2GB RAM.
Try looking up for this model in Amazon or Newegg. Sure, it's a Bay Trail Celeron, but even that is probably miles beyond your Celeron at this point and more efficient. You only need to find a 2.5" HDD, a stick of DDR3 laptop memory and some kind of OS to stick inside it, and off you go.
  #1421    
Old January 29th, 2014 (8:08 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 21,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach View Post
Oh, I took note of the Server 2003 end-of-life date a few weeks ago from curiosity, so I had less to worry about and whatnot. The only thing my server runs is stuff for my IRC server and nothing more, really. As much as I want to load a Unix-based server OS onto it, I'm just not too familiar with Unix commands yet.

And the reason the machine runs Server 2003 is because of lower-end specs. It's got like a 2GHz Celeron single-core processor in it with 228MB internal video memory and 2GB RAM.
There's a few Linux distros you could drop on that, but getting your IRC server reconfigured might be an issue. Since you're a student, maybe look at that HTPC Twiggy posted and get Server 2008 or Server 2012 over your school's MDSN or something. Would barely cost $200 to almost maximize that machine's capabilities, then migrate your IRC server over to it. It'd probably consume less power, too!

Although if you go the Linux route you could avoid having to worry about any potential expiring licenses you may encounter using your school's MSDN.
__________________
well that was unexpected
  #1422    
Old January 29th, 2014 (8:18 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,928
If you want to use Windows, I'd strongly suggest that you start with Server 2012 or 2012 R2 (the former should be able to upgrade to the latter easily without cost if 8 to 8.1 carries over).
  #1423    
Old January 29th, 2014 (8:21 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 21,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twiggy View Post
If you want to use Windows, I'd strongly suggest that you start with Server 2012 or 2012 R2 (the former should be able to upgrade to the latter easily without cost if 8 to 8.1 carries over).
Server 2012 has a brilliantly refined backend. Still trying to get used to the interface, though. A fair bit of what I used in the GUI for administration has been moved around. Maybe I should dive further into PowerShell. I wonder if Professor Messer has some videos on that?
__________________
well that was unexpected
  #1424    
Old January 29th, 2014 (1:38 PM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 22,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by donavannj View Post
There's a few Linux distros you could drop on that, but getting your IRC server reconfigured might be an issue. Since you're a student, maybe look at that HTPC Twiggy posted and get Server 2008 or Server 2012 over your school's MDSN or something. Would barely cost $200 to almost maximize that machine's capabilities, then migrate your IRC server over to it. It'd probably consume less power, too!

Although if you go the Linux route you could avoid having to worry about any potential expiring licenses you may encounter using your school's MSDN.
I haven't been told of any MSDN subscriptions from my school just yet particularly because I'm not quite taking any computer science courses yet. But I would at least hope there are options from the school to students who are prospective in the computer science degree, but haven't started classes towards the degree right now. All I'm taking now is just my core classes (math, English, science, social studies)
__________________
  #1425    
Old January 29th, 2014 (2:18 PM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 21,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach View Post
I haven't been told of any MSDN subscriptions from my school just yet particularly because I'm not quite taking any computer science courses yet. But I would at least hope there are options from the school to students who are prospective in the computer science degree, but haven't started classes towards the degree right now. All I'm taking now is just my core classes (math, English, science, social studies)
It might not be available to you directly through your school if you haven't declared your major yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Fail View Post
If you're looking for Server, or any distros of it, you can always use DreamSpark. I signed up for an account, however, my school isn't under it. However, if you can prove to them that you're currently enrolled as a student (Like a Student ID or a class schedule), you can still get in (I used a student ID and I got access). I have access to Server 2012 myself for no cost at all, as well as the entire VS 2013 Professional line.
That's something I'll have to jot down in case I'm ever a student anywhere again.
__________________
well that was unexpected
Closed Thread

Quick Reply

Join the conversation!

Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

Create a PokéCommunity Account

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:36 PM.