• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

FireRed New Item evolution

Years
  • Age 32
  • Seen Oct 24, 2018
Hi there,

So I'm a total amateur at hacking but I'm working on a FireRed hack of my own and I am having trouble with Gen 2 evolutions...

So I have an item designated for specific evolutions when evolving into Gen 2 pokemon (scyther, onix, golbat, seadra, etc.) and the item displays everything correctly up until I select the designated pokemon for evolution. For example, I have scyther in my party along with an "evo dust" item in my bag, but when I select scyther to use this evo dust on, the text reads "It won't have any effect."

I understand that a solution may involve new kinds of hacking that I have never done before, like hex editing, which slightly terrifies me- props to you nerds (heros) that do this all the time. HOWEVER, I really want to make this happen for my hack and I have already put months into it and can't think of any solutions to really have what I want.

If anyone has a diagnosis they can give me (explained in noob terms) or potential ways to solve this issue it would be GREATLY appreciated.

The main tools I have been using to edit items and evolutions (pokemon) are the G3T tools in the popular download pack.

Also not terribly "thread savy" so sorry if this looks absurdly boring.

S-MAN

Banned
Years