Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!

Draconius GO
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #326    
Old May 31st, 2017 (7:48 PM).
AkioRed AkioRed is offline
     
    Join Date: May 2017
    Posts: 6
    I used The Learner's quick enhancer and it worked. The problem was the PSS icons, using the split without them worked just fine. Thank you for the reply SongSing, given that I'm using a hack rom with some added content, the data location was probably changed a bit.
    Reply With Quote

    Relevant Advertising!

      #327    
    Old June 1st, 2017 (5:44 AM).
    Froosty's Avatar
    Froosty Froosty is offline
    The_Learner
       
      Join Date: Sep 2014
      Location: Somewhere in this world.
      Age: 19
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Brave
      Posts: 542
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by AkioRed View Post
      I used The Learner's quick enhancer and it worked. The problem was the PSS icons, using the split without them worked just fine. Thank you for the reply SongSing, given that I'm using a hack rom with some added content, the data location was probably changed a bit.
      Are you saying that you have had some problem with the icons,
      or something else.

      Didnt quiet get your words actually !
      __________________
      Want to talk with me regarding Rom-hacking ??? Want to get access to my works exclusive than anywhere else ???
      Click here to get in the discord server here where rom-hacking is a everyday talk and task.

      Want to showcase your hack on discord server ??? Click here to get the dask done.

      My works:
      TOOL: TL's Quick Enhancer
      TUTORIAL: Fire red habitat editing
      TUTORIAL: Fire red Transparent text-box


      | |
      Reply With Quote
        #328    
      Old June 1st, 2017 (10:09 AM).
      AkioRed AkioRed is offline
         
        Join Date: May 2017
        Posts: 6
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by The_learner View Post
        Are you saying that you have had some problem with the icons,
        or something else.

        Didnt quiet get your words actually !
        I'm guessing that's the case. If I apply just the split, it works (tested with Counter and Mirror Coat). If I apply the split AND the icons, then Normal type attacks won't work on Normal pokemon, and all moves I tested lost their effectiveness (Earthquake dealt neutral damage against Electric pokemon, although it was still ineffective against Levitate pokemon). But once again, I applied the patch on a hack rom, so the data was most likely replaced.
        Reply With Quote
          #329    
        Old June 1st, 2017 (10:48 PM).
        Froosty's Avatar
        Froosty Froosty is offline
        The_Learner
           
          Join Date: Sep 2014
          Location: Somewhere in this world.
          Age: 19
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Brave
          Posts: 542
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by AkioRed View Post
          I'm guessing that's the case. If I apply just the split, it works (tested with Counter and Mirror Coat). If I apply the split AND the icons, then Normal type attacks won't work on Normal pokemon, and all moves I tested lost their effectiveness (Earthquake dealt neutral damage against Electric pokemon, although it was still ineffective against Levitate pokemon). But once again, I applied the patch on a hack rom, so the data was most likely replaced.
          Is this happening if patch the original patch provided and compile and isnert the routine by yourself
          or if you happen to use the tool

          If this happens after using the tool then you can try doing things manually,
          but if its the patch itself then its probably that you are doing something wrong with the byte replacement or the some things else.
          in that case you can try doing things from the beginning in a clean rom and check if it works
          __________________
          Want to talk with me regarding Rom-hacking ??? Want to get access to my works exclusive than anywhere else ???
          Click here to get in the discord server here where rom-hacking is a everyday talk and task.

          Want to showcase your hack on discord server ??? Click here to get the dask done.

          My works:
          TOOL: TL's Quick Enhancer
          TUTORIAL: Fire red habitat editing
          TUTORIAL: Fire red Transparent text-box


          | |
          Reply With Quote
            #330    
          Old June 2nd, 2017 (12:02 AM).
          AkioRed AkioRed is offline
             
            Join Date: May 2017
            Posts: 6
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by The_learner View Post
            Is this happening if patch the original patch provided and compile and isnert the routine by yourself
            or if you happen to use the tool

            If this happens after using the tool then you can try doing things manually,
            but if its the patch itself then its probably that you are doing something wrong with the byte replacement or the some things else.
            in that case you can try doing things from the beginning in a clean rom and check if it works
            I just apply the patch from your program. I haven't tried using it on a clean rom, but it should probably work fine. I don't really mind not having the icons though, as long as the split itself works.
            Reply With Quote
              #331    
            Old June 2nd, 2017 (12:22 AM).
            Froosty's Avatar
            Froosty Froosty is offline
            The_Learner
               
              Join Date: Sep 2014
              Location: Somewhere in this world.
              Age: 19
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Brave
              Posts: 542
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by AkioRed View Post
              I just apply the patch from your program. I haven't tried using it on a clean rom, but it should probably work fine. I don't really mind not having the icons though, as long as the split itself works.
              So maybe try the tool on a clean rom,
              and if it works,
              try again on your hack.

              If it still doesnt work then try the path and asm routine itself.

              and about the icons:
              is it not being displayed at all,
              or do you see some corrupted image or anything else ??
              __________________
              Want to talk with me regarding Rom-hacking ??? Want to get access to my works exclusive than anywhere else ???
              Click here to get in the discord server here where rom-hacking is a everyday talk and task.

              Want to showcase your hack on discord server ??? Click here to get the dask done.

              My works:
              TOOL: TL's Quick Enhancer
              TUTORIAL: Fire red habitat editing
              TUTORIAL: Fire red Transparent text-box


              | |
              Reply With Quote
                #332    
              Old June 2nd, 2017 (10:15 AM).
              AkioRed AkioRed is offline
                 
                Join Date: May 2017
                Posts: 6
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by The_learner View Post
                So maybe try the tool on a clean rom,
                and if it works,
                try again on your hack.

                If it still doesnt work then try the path and asm routine itself.

                and about the icons:
                is it not being displayed at all,
                or do you see some corrupted image or anything else ??
                Ok, I'll try it on a clean rom later. But I'm fine with how things are right now. I'm not too knowledgeable about this stuff.

                The icons aren't displayed at all. The moves look just like they do on a game without the PSS split.
                Reply With Quote
                  #333    
                Old July 26th, 2017 (12:33 PM).
                Drake Baku's Avatar
                Drake Baku Drake Baku is offline
                Draconian Dragon Prince
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2016
                  Location: holland
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Serious
                  Posts: 65
                  question, chance exists it may already been asked but I cant find it

                  anyway, I changed various bits of the game (fire red) already with G3HS ((yes I know, outdated, but it allows me to repoint attack numbers, allowing me to give raichu 10 moves instead of the basic 4)
                  added some pokemons by extending, changed movepools by repointing the number of attacks and sprite changes here and there
                  plus I have changed various trainers, mostly garret number of pokemons

                  kept using the build in space finders for all these things
                  also increased the movepool total
                  all this before I even realized about this patch, but I still rather want to add it

                  so now the question, how safe would it be to add this patch, or would it break my game or all the stuff I did before?
                  Reply With Quote
                    #334    
                  Old August 5th, 2017 (12:47 AM).
                  SongSing SongSing is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Jul 2013
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 4
                    make a copy and test it out! there's no way to tell if you have edited anything that the patch may touch without you comparing files. just keep a backup just in case!
                    Reply With Quote
                      #335    
                    Old October 20th, 2017 (1:40 AM). Edited October 20th, 2017 by Drake Baku.
                    Drake Baku's Avatar
                    Drake Baku Drake Baku is offline
                    Draconian Dragon Prince
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2016
                      Location: holland
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Serious
                      Posts: 65
                      started over again
                      new questions

                      firsts off, I applied the patch on a clean rom
                      but after applying the patch, if I use the games original save function
                      it boths reports on an already existing save (which does not exists)
                      and ends with an error report, saying I should go to a previous memory bank or something

                      no clue on what happened there

                      second off
                      I was wondering, would it be better to extend the move data before or after the patch?
                      seeing I am planing to add 2 more types and some signatuere moves of own design
                      (asking that cause of pointers)

                      I feel like I had a third one, but I forgot XD
                      Reply With Quote
                        #336    
                      Old November 9th, 2017 (3:40 PM).
                      helenchris0704 helenchris0704 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2017
                        Posts: 10
                        So if I change the to special in PGE will it automatically work with this?
                        Reply With Quote
                        Reply

                        Quick Reply

                        Join the conversation!

                        Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                        Create a PokéCommunity Account

                        Sponsored Links
                        Thread Tools

                        Posting Rules
                        You may not post new threads
                        You may not post replies
                        You may not post attachments
                        You may not edit your posts

                        BB code is On
                        Smilies are On
                        [IMG] code is On
                        HTML code is Off

                        Forum Jump


                        All times are GMT -8. The time now is 3:54 PM.