The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25876    
Old August 4th, 2013 (8:09 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Bold
    Posts: 1,766
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by atangerine View Post
    Thanks! I checked the level script and saw that there were random things there so I deleted them. Now it doesn't happen anymore.

    Why shouldn't you use advance map 1.95?

    Finally, another problem that just arose is when I enter a new area (on my own created map) I can't go back! So, in other words, Map A and Map B are two created maps that I have made. I travel from Map A to Map B (Using connections) and it works fine, but then I can't get back to Map A! An invisible force blocks my way or something...
    LOTS and lots of bugs. It was an unfinished beta version.
    __________________

    Paired with Simba
      #25877    
    Old August 4th, 2013 (8:11 PM).
    atangerine's Avatar
    atangerine atangerine is offline
       
      Join Date: Aug 2011
      Location: MI
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 16
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
      LOTS and lots of bugs. It was an unfinished beta version.
      Which one would you recommend using then? And do you know a solution to my map connections problem? Thanks in advance.
        #25878    
      Old August 4th, 2013 (8:16 PM).
      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Earth
      Age: 19
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 2,475
      Map connections need to be set up on each map. So set it up on map B as well.
      Use advance map 1.92.
      __________________
      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

      Support me at my site!
      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
        #25879    
      Old August 4th, 2013 (8:17 PM).
      atangerine's Avatar
      atangerine atangerine is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2011
        Location: MI
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 16
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
        Map connections need to be set up on each map. So set it up on map B as well.
        I did do that. Still doesn't work for whatever reason =/
          #25880    
        Old August 4th, 2013 (8:42 PM).
        DoesntKnowHowToPlay's Avatar
        DoesntKnowHowToPlay DoesntKnowHowToPlay is offline
        Tiny Umbrella with Lots and Lots of Good
           
          Join Date: Jan 2012
          Posts: 258
          Quote:
          That all looks amazingly helpful, thanks! This might be a dumb question, but how do you put a breakpoint on something? I've seen people say to do that, but never how.

          Also, something for after I get this figured out: how difficult would it be to add new abilities (as opposed to editing existing ones)? Would it be something doable with beginner knowledge, or would that be something more advanced?
          In VBA-SDL-H, the commands are bt, bpr, bpw, to break on thumb execution, read, and write respectively. IIRC you can see all the commands with h- if that doesn't work try help, ?, etc.

          Adding new abilities instead of replacing them is to my knowledge just a matter of repointing the ability name and description table. Abilities are just bytes- the only reason they do things is because there are special cases to handle them.
          __________________

          Yet Another Fire Red Hack

          Physical/Special Split
            #25881    
          Old August 4th, 2013 (8:57 PM).
          GoGoJJTech's Avatar
          GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
          (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
           
          Join Date: Nov 2012
          Location: Earth
          Age: 19
          Gender: Female
          Nature: Jolly
          Posts: 2,475
          Does Jpan's Vba-h2 work on anyone else's computers?
          __________________
          I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
          The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
          Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

          Support me at my site!
          Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
            #25882    
          Old August 4th, 2013 (10:04 PM).
          Tlachtli's Avatar
          Tlachtli Tlachtli is offline
          Crit happens.
             
            Join Date: Jan 2012
            Location: Faraway place
            Age: 27
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lax
            Posts: 267
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
            Does Jpan's Vba-h2 work on anyone else's computers?
            Yeah, I found a user guide here:
            VisualBoyAdvance for Hackers

            To get it to open a rom, drag and drop the rom onto it. F11 brings up the debug prompt, c exits the debug prompt.
            __________________
            Pokemon Sigma Σmerald:
            (now under management by DraconianWing)

            A Gen 3 remake de-make, featuring many new encounters and Gen VI mechanics

              #25883    
            Old August 4th, 2013 (10:16 PM). Edited August 4th, 2013 by karatekid552.
            karatekid552's Avatar
            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
            What happens if I push it?....
               
              Join Date: Nov 2012
              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bold
              Posts: 1,766
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by atangerine View Post
              Which one would you recommend using then? And do you know a solution to my map connections problem? Thanks in advance.
              Use 1.92, and to fix map connections, just delete them all and retry. This works fairly often.

              Quote:
              Originally Posted by DoesntKnowHowToPlay View Post
              In VBA-SDL-H, the commands are bt, bpr, bpw, to break on thumb execution, read, and write respectively. IIRC you can see all the commands with h- if that doesn't work try help, ?, etc.

              Adding new abilities instead of replacing them is to my knowledge just a matter of repointing the ability name and description table. Abilities are just bytes- the only reason they do things is because there are special cases to handle them.
              Isn't the whole game just bytes?XD
              __________________

              Paired with Simba
                #25884    
              Old August 4th, 2013 (11:28 PM).
              kearnseyboy6's Avatar
              kearnseyboy6 kearnseyboy6 is offline
              Aussie's Toughest Mudder
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2008
                Posts: 300
                Does anyone know in XSE with buffernumber 0x(number) LAST_RESULT how many different buffers can be stored in 1 script?
                __________________
                HOLIDAYING CURRENTLY!!
                  #25885    
                Old August 5th, 2013 (12:46 AM). Edited August 5th, 2013 by AtecainCorp..
                AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
                AtecainCorp. AtecainCorp. is online now
                Rejishan awake...
                   
                  Join Date: Jun 2008
                  Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
                  Age: 25
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Hardy
                  Posts: 1,294
                  Ok.
                  FOR FIRE RED.
                  1. Where is Located ASM pointer of CRIES and DEX ENTRIES.

                  For Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald
                  2. Where is located World Map routine?

                  Ok.
                  FOR FIRE RED.
                  1. Where is Located ASM pointer of CRIES and DEX ENTRIES.

                  For Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald
                  2. Where is located World Map routine?
                  __________________
                  - My new Project comming Soon
                    #25886    
                  Old August 5th, 2013 (2:16 AM).
                  Wobbu's Avatar
                  Wobbu Wobbu is offline
                  Drag a needle on the good today
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2012
                    Location: Stardew Valley
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Relaxed
                    Posts: 2,793
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej View Post
                    Ok.
                    FOR FIRE RED.
                    1. Where is Located ASM pointer of CRIES and DEX ENTRIES.

                    For Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald
                    2. Where is located World Map routine?
                    1. Don't know, I don't hack FireRed :(

                    2. I'm not sure what you mean, but if you want to change the map, then here are some examples.

                    Yellow is the most recent and up to date. Somewhere in the comments, someone explained how to edit the Pokédex world map.
                    Green has a couple attachments that you may find helpful.
                    __________________

                    My Favorite Song
                      #25887    
                    Old August 5th, 2013 (3:29 AM).
                    reshilegend's Avatar
                    reshilegend reshilegend is offline
                    Focus.
                       
                      Join Date: Jun 2013
                      Location: Probably not the same place as you
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Calm
                      Posts: 264
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by atangerine View Post
                      I did do that. Still doesn't work for whatever reason =/
                      Hmm...Is your offset something other than 0? Then the number has to be positive on one map and negative on the other. So for example if your offset on your first map is 2, then it has to be -2 on the other. Also, make sure there's only one connection for each direction.
                      __________________

                        #25888    
                      Old August 5th, 2013 (3:36 AM).
                      uliekztrollface?'s Avatar
                      uliekztrollface? uliekztrollface? is offline
                      U MAD BRO?
                         
                        Join Date: Jul 2013
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 17
                        Hi again-What is the easiest way to edit existing scripts (like dialogue scripts) aside from Advance Text (The PC is shared so despite not being a virus it may get picked up as one, causing alarm to others). Can PKSV do it? Thanks.
                          #25889    
                        Old August 5th, 2013 (3:57 AM).
                        Wobbu's Avatar
                        Wobbu Wobbu is offline
                        Drag a needle on the good today
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2012
                          Location: Stardew Valley
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Relaxed
                          Posts: 2,793
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by uliekztrollface? View Post
                          Hi again-What is the easiest way to edit existing scripts (like dialogue scripts) aside from Advance Text (The PC is shared so despite not being a virus it may get picked up as one, causing alarm to others). Can PKSV do it? Thanks.
                          Any script editor can do it. I'll explain how:

                          Spoiler:
                          Example script:
                          Code:
                          #dynamic 0x012344
                          #org 0x012348
                          lock
                          faceplayer
                          msgbox 0x012354 0x4
                          fanfare 0x12
                          waitfanfare
                          closeonkeypress
                          release
                          end
                          
                          #org 0x012354
                          = A wild fanfare appeared!
                          
                          Note: this is not a real script.
                          Using XSE or any other script editor, create a new text script.

                          Example:
                          Code:
                          #dynamic 0x653253
                          #org @example
                          msgbox @msg 0x6
                          end
                          
                          #org @msg
                          = Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet.
                          Now, using the offset that you just compiled your new text script into, paste it over the old script.

                          Code:
                          #dynamic 0x012344
                          #org 0x012348
                          lock
                          faceplayer
                          msgbox 0x653253 0x4
                          fanfare 0x12
                          waitfanfare
                          closeonkeypress
                          release
                          end
                          And the script will turn into this:

                          Code:
                          #dynamic 0x012344
                          #org 0x012348
                          lock
                          faceplayer
                          msgbox 0x653253 0x4
                          fanfare 0x12
                          waitfanfare
                          closeonkeypress
                          release
                          end
                          
                          #org @msg
                          = Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet.
                          Remember, you can do that with any section of a script, not just text.
                          __________________

                          My Favorite Song
                            #25890    
                          Old August 5th, 2013 (4:01 AM). Edited August 5th, 2013 by uliekztrollface?.
                          uliekztrollface?'s Avatar
                          uliekztrollface? uliekztrollface? is offline
                          U MAD BRO?
                             
                            Join Date: Jul 2013
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 17
                            Thanks, but the flags and stuff are part of the Elite Four's scripts aren't they(I was hoping to change an E4 dialogue but I don't know how to set the correct flags to make them rematchable). Changing the script offset would mean no rematches unless I set the flag (which I can't really do because of my lacking experience)
                            I'd also have to put in the battle start script wouldn't I...
                            Btw I'm hacking Ruby
                              #25891    
                            Old August 5th, 2013 (4:43 AM).
                            Wobbu's Avatar
                            Wobbu Wobbu is offline
                            Drag a needle on the good today
                               
                              Join Date: Mar 2012
                              Location: Stardew Valley
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Relaxed
                              Posts: 2,793
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by uliekztrollface? View Post
                              Thanks, but the flags and stuff are part of the Elite Four's scripts aren't they(I was hoping to change an E4 dialogue but I don't know how to set the correct flags to make them rematchable). Changing the script offset would mean no rematches unless I set the flag (which I can't really do because of my lacking experience)
                              I'd also have to put in the battle start script wouldn't I...
                              Btw I'm hacking Ruby
                              Well, the E4 are already rematchable, aren't they? How do you want the rematch system to work?
                              __________________

                              My Favorite Song
                                #25892    
                              Old August 5th, 2013 (4:49 AM).
                              uliekztrollface?'s Avatar
                              uliekztrollface? uliekztrollface? is offline
                              U MAD BRO?
                                 
                                Join Date: Jul 2013
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 17
                                The E4 are rematchable but surely if I edit a member to just have talking script with no special flags then I can't rematch said member? Or is it that the E4 all have one flag applying for all of them? Thanks and sorry for my noobish questions xD
                                I just want to make sure they are still rematchable after editing dialogue...
                                  #25893    
                                Old August 5th, 2013 (4:51 AM).
                                Wobbu's Avatar
                                Wobbu Wobbu is offline
                                Drag a needle on the good today
                                   
                                  Join Date: Mar 2012
                                  Location: Stardew Valley
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Relaxed
                                  Posts: 2,793
                                  As long as you edit the dialogue only, then there will be no problem. Just remember to repoint all of the new text.
                                  __________________

                                  My Favorite Song
                                    #25894    
                                  Old August 5th, 2013 (4:53 AM).
                                  uliekztrollface?'s Avatar
                                  uliekztrollface? uliekztrollface? is offline
                                  U MAD BRO?
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jul 2013
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Posts: 17
                                    But how do I access the old original script via PKSV?
                                      #25895    
                                    Old August 5th, 2013 (5:03 AM).
                                    Wobbu's Avatar
                                    Wobbu Wobbu is offline
                                    Drag a needle on the good today
                                       
                                      Join Date: Mar 2012
                                      Location: Stardew Valley
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Relaxed
                                      Posts: 2,793
                                      If you have Advance Map, find the rooms with the E4 members, then double click on their overworld sprites. If you've never used Advance Map before, you can download it here. Make sure that you have PKSV associated as the script editor for Advance Map.
                                      __________________

                                      My Favorite Song
                                        #25896    
                                      Old August 5th, 2013 (5:04 AM).
                                      uliekztrollface?'s Avatar
                                      uliekztrollface? uliekztrollface? is offline
                                      U MAD BRO?
                                         
                                        Join Date: Jul 2013
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 17
                                        Thank you; I do have A-map...
                                        Oh I get it now! Thanks very much :)
                                        Just how do I pair a scripting program with advance map though? Isn't it some button or other?
                                        Thanks a great deal :)
                                        Previously when doing script stuff I haven't had to have PKSV paired but I will try 4 this thanks.
                                          #25897    
                                        Old August 5th, 2013 (5:12 AM).
                                        akihiko123's Avatar
                                        akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: May 2013
                                          Location: Philippines
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Quiet
                                          Posts: 57
                                          How to change the Pokemon Sprites >_<
                                          ANd what tools needed
                                          __________________
                                          Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
                                          I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
                                          I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
                                          So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

                                          So, give me what you got!

                                          Like my page on Facebook : LINK
                                            #25898    
                                          Old August 5th, 2013 (5:30 AM).
                                          Wobbu's Avatar
                                          Wobbu Wobbu is offline
                                          Drag a needle on the good today
                                             
                                            Join Date: Mar 2012
                                            Location: Stardew Valley
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Relaxed
                                            Posts: 2,793
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by uliekztrollface? View Post
                                            Thank you; I do have A-map...
                                            Oh I get it now! Thanks very much :)
                                            Just how do I pair a scripting program with advance map though? Isn't it some button or other?
                                            Thanks a great deal :)
                                            Previously when doing script stuff I haven't had to have PKSV paired but I will try 4 this thanks.
                                            Go to Settings, then Choose Script Editor. Next, go to the folder where your .exe for PKSV is and select it.

                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by akihiko123 View Post
                                            How to change the Pokemon Sprites >_<
                                            ANd what tools needed
                                            There's a tool called Wichu's Advanced Sprite Editor that can change sprites (assuming that you have the sprite that you want to insert) or you can do it the hardcore way with unLz GBA.
                                            __________________

                                            My Favorite Song
                                              #25899    
                                            Old August 5th, 2013 (5:59 AM).
                                            karatekid552's Avatar
                                            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                            What happens if I push it?....
                                               
                                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                                              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Bold
                                              Posts: 1,766
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
                                              Does anyone know in XSE with buffernumber 0x(number) LAST_RESULT how many different buffers can be stored in 1 script?
                                              I'm not quite sure.... Why not make a script to test it?
                                              __________________

                                              Paired with Simba
                                                #25900    
                                              Old August 5th, 2013 (7:33 AM).
                                              atangerine's Avatar
                                              atangerine atangerine is offline
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Aug 2011
                                                Location: MI
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 16
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by reshilegend View Post
                                                Hmm...Is your offset something other than 0? Then the number has to be positive on one map and negative on the other. So for example if your offset on your first map is 2, then it has to be -2 on the other. Also, make sure there's only one connection for each direction.
                                                Nope. Offset is 0, and there's only one connection for each direction. I'm going to try Advancemap 1.92. Maybe it's just something with 1.95.
                                                __________________
                                                Working on a hack. That is, until I probably quit. And then come back and try it again after a year.
                                                Closed Thread

                                                Quick Reply

                                                Join the conversation!

                                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:35 AM.