The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #23651    
Old February 13th, 2013 (1:10 PM).
.parado✗'s Avatar
.parado✗ .parado✗ is offline
paranormal user
     
    Join Date: Sep 2012
    Location: Ha✗land
    Age: 22
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Gentle
    Posts: 38
    Have you saved correctly the file in the hexeditor?
    If you use HexEditorMX, you must do Save As -> Name of original file -> overwrite
    __________________
    If you are interested in a german romhacker forum, go to

    www.board.romresources.net

    ;) I'm registered under the name: "Laz0r" there.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #23652    
    Old February 13th, 2013 (1:39 PM). Edited February 13th, 2013 by karatekid552.
    karatekid552's Avatar
    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
    What happens if I push it?....
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Bold
      Posts: 1,766
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by 95gemello7 View Post
      Do you mean the same background?

      Well, I think that they aren't exactly pointers, 'cause pound's pointer is 346F1C08, but in Attack Editor it is typed as 1C6F34... By the way, i replaced this pound's "pointer" with karate chop's pointer (1CFCEA), but when I opened the game to see the change, pound still had its originally animation... Nothing changed... As you said I checked and changes was still there... I'm just at the beginning and this hack is already making me crazy!

      Thank you, for real! :) I don't want to be a pain in the ass, but I just want to learn step by step how to do decently an hack! :)
      I mean the exact same animation. Wait, it wasn't sky uppercut, for that one, but I know they exist:p

      Pointers are a fun little things. In a hex editor they look like CZ BY AX 08, but regularly they are AX BY CZ. It should be working, as you do have pointers, so I don't quite understand why it wouldn't. Try opening up a hex editor and doing it manually.

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by LegacyHo-oh View Post
      Im hacking pokemon emerald. How do i make a new evolution stone.
      I have made a tutorial for this, and I am going to submit it today, here is my raw tutorial that I just finished on Word.

      https://docs.google.com/file/d/1UEZ4V-MULRChTsHLR6hcSnCn_g9gTOqQGtUh9vzCOZqGX6PJXZiICDRR7lM_/edit?usp=sharing
      __________________

      Paired with Simba
        #23653    
      Old February 13th, 2013 (2:10 PM).
      prnoct90 prnoct90 is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2006
        Nature: Adamant
        Posts: 13
        How do you test specific maps? If I edit one map is there an easy way to jump to it for testing?

        Quote:
        Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
        From what I have heard, a save editor for gba is close to impossible because the save file is split up into 16 blocks and shifted around.



        Testing question? I don't know what you are talking about... Sorry.



        That is a way of doing, but it isn't truly forms and you would have to remove another Pokemon from your game in order to add in said form. Unless you know how to extend the pokedex.....



        For making both deoxys battle you, (this was a much earlier question I neglected) yes you could have them both come down and battle you. Just have two sprites hidden on screen, then show one, have it move in on you, battle, and disappear. Then do the same with the second one.
          #23654    
        Old February 13th, 2013 (3:18 PM).
        FBI's Avatar
        FBI FBI is offline
        Free supporter
         
        Join Date: Jan 2013
        Location: Unknown Island
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 1,863
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by prnoct90 View Post
        How do you test specific maps? If I edit one map is there an easy way to jump to it for testing?
        You can just have a temporary warp there to test the map.
        __________________
        ...
          #23655    
        Old February 13th, 2013 (3:34 PM).
        prnoct90 prnoct90 is offline
           
          Join Date: Aug 2006
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 13
          OK! Thanks well thanks so much!

          Quote:
          Originally Posted by FBI agent View Post
          You can just have a temporary warp there to test the map.
            #23656    
          Old February 13th, 2013 (3:45 PM).
          kj3400's Avatar
          kj3400 kj3400 is offline
          Wants a Magneton for a Charger
             
            Join Date: Mar 2012
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Lax
            Posts: 53
            I know this might be a can of worms question, but is there any tutorial or a page I can use to add generation 4 pokemon to an advance game? I've been looking, but I haven't seen any.
              #23657    
            Old February 13th, 2013 (3:54 PM).
            karatekid552's Avatar
            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
            What happens if I push it?....
               
              Join Date: Nov 2012
              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Bold
              Posts: 1,766
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by kj3400 View Post
              I know this might be a can of worms question, but is there any tutorial or a page I can use to add generation 4 pokemon to an advance game? I've been looking, but I haven't seen any.
              Just search for adding Pokemon.

              You can do it fairly self-explanatory by using YAPE and Wichu's Sprite Editor. You just need to replace an old Pokemon you don't like. You can get the stats from Bulbapedia and gen IV sprites are complete in Chaos Rush's DS styled 64x64 sprite resource.


              The can of worms is when you want to extend the pokedex....
              __________________

              Paired with Simba
                #23658    
              Old February 13th, 2013 (3:56 PM).
              kj3400's Avatar
              kj3400 kj3400 is offline
              Wants a Magneton for a Charger
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2012
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Lax
                Posts: 53
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post

                The can of worms is when you want to extend the pokedex....
                That's what I wanted to do, actually...
                  #23659    
                Old February 13th, 2013 (3:59 PM).
                karatekid552's Avatar
                karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                What happens if I push it?....
                   
                  Join Date: Nov 2012
                  Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Bold
                  Posts: 1,766
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by kj3400 View Post
                  That's what I wanted to do, actually...
                  Several have succeeded... But I don't think anyone has posted how. If you can wait a while, Jambo is getting ever closer to completing his 649 patch which will have all Pokemon up to BW.
                  __________________

                  Paired with Simba
                    #23660    
                  Old February 13th, 2013 (4:02 PM).
                  kj3400's Avatar
                  kj3400 kj3400 is offline
                  Wants a Magneton for a Charger
                     
                    Join Date: Mar 2012
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Lax
                    Posts: 53
                    Well, I suppose I can wait. By the time I've gotten up to the point where having the particular gen 4 pokemon I need would be a factor, hopefully that patch will be out. If not, I only need to add 3 gen 4 legendaries anyway.
                      #23661    
                    Old February 13th, 2013 (4:06 PM).
                    karatekid552's Avatar
                    karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                    What happens if I push it?....
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Bold
                      Posts: 1,766
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by kj3400 View Post
                      Well, I suppose I can wait. By the time I've gotten up to the point where having the particular gen 4 pokemon I need would be a factor, hopefully that patch will be out. If not, I only need to add 3 gen 4 legendaries anyway.
                      For those, just replace three crappy Pokemon and use the pokedex order tool in PGE to reorder the pokedex. There are plenty of, "What was Game Freak thinking?!?" Pokemon to get rid of:D
                      __________________

                      Paired with Simba
                        #23662    
                      Old February 13th, 2013 (4:25 PM).
                      ~Anbuja's Avatar
                      ~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
                      Let's Keep It Simple
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2010
                        Location: In Snorlax Stomach
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Lonely
                        Posts: 321
                        Anyone has an idea why whenever I open XSE 1.1.1 on my PC, it automatically closes like 2 seconds after i get the main window of it?
                        __________________
                          #23663    
                        Old February 13th, 2013 (4:39 PM).
                        karatekid552's Avatar
                        karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                        What happens if I push it?....
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                          Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Bold
                          Posts: 1,766
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Anbuja's_BlooDY View Post
                          Anyone has an idea why whenever I open XSE 1.1.1 on my PC, it automatically closes like 2 seconds after i get the main window of it?
                          Open the .ini, make autoupdatecheck=0.

                          If it doesn't exist, add it under the [options] section.
                          __________________

                          Paired with Simba
                            #23664    
                          Old February 13th, 2013 (5:33 PM).
                          The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D's Avatar
                          The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D is offline
                             
                            Join Date: May 2010
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 362
                            A friend of mine told me i am able to insert bw sprites into firered and leafgreen, and im making a hack, am i able to do that even with the size difference, if so how? D:
                            __________________
                            Hey guys. lol i didnt think my username through. Wish i could change it.
                            Hey guys, I think you would enjoy a Pokemon RPG: Pokemon Eclipse!


                              #23665    
                            Old February 13th, 2013 (6:11 PM).
                            karatekid552's Avatar
                            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                            What happens if I push it?....
                               
                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Bold
                              Posts: 1,766
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D View Post
                              A friend of mine told me i am able to insert bw sprites into firered and leafgreen, and im making a hack, am i able to do that even with the size difference, if so how? D:
                              You have to shrink them, or wait for Chaos Rush to do it. Check out his DS Styled 64x64 Sprite Resource.
                              __________________

                              Paired with Simba
                                #23666    
                              Old February 13th, 2013 (6:22 PM). Edited February 13th, 2013 by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D.
                              The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D's Avatar
                              The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: May 2010
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 362
                                do you have a link to them?

                                Or how can i resize the pokemon without distorting it?
                                __________________
                                Hey guys. lol i didnt think my username through. Wish i could change it.
                                Hey guys, I think you would enjoy a Pokemon RPG: Pokemon Eclipse!


                                  #23667    
                                Old February 13th, 2013 (7:05 PM).
                                Zemekis's Avatar
                                Zemekis Zemekis is offline
                                The Booze Cruise
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2013
                                  Location: 'Murica
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Posts: 22
                                  How do you delete the option to choose between Boy or Girl in Fire Red? Is it possible to just make the character automatically male?
                                    #23668    
                                  Old February 13th, 2013 (7:16 PM). Edited February 13th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                                  karatekid552's Avatar
                                  karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                  What happens if I push it?....
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2012
                                    Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Bold
                                    Posts: 1,766
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D View Post
                                    do you have a link to them?

                                    Or how can i resize the pokemon without distorting it?
                                    http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267728


                                    Patcience.... Lots and lots of it. I use GIMP and what I do is shrink the image down to an appropriate size, then make corrections until it looks good.

                                    I believe Chaos draws many of them from scratch, though it takes some true talent to do that, I could never get a sprite to look remotely good from scratch.

                                    Edit: Chaos, if you see this, I am not kissing up to you. I dunno how I made it on as I can't draw to save my life, so I do mean it.

                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by Zemekis View Post
                                    How do you delete the option to choose between Boy or Girl in Fire Red? Is it possible to just make the character automatically male?
                                    Just to say, I didn't ignore you earlier, I just don't know. There is a thread around here somewhere dealing with removing the intro. If you go back a bunch of pages in this thread, someone asked about removing the intro and got a bunch of links. (December, maybe? I know if happened, or was it the Script help thread... It's in one of them:D) Some of them might be useful.

                                    You could also make it a choice between two guys, that would be the easiest.
                                    __________________

                                    Paired with Simba
                                      #23669    
                                    Old February 13th, 2013 (7:58 PM).
                                    Zemekis's Avatar
                                    Zemekis Zemekis is offline
                                    The Booze Cruise
                                       
                                      Join Date: Feb 2013
                                      Location: 'Murica
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 22
                                      Okay, i'll look back through/search the thread. Do you know how to change both options to "Boy"? Both methods are acceptable, so if you could give me some pointers on doing the double-Boy option, that'd be great!
                                        #23670    
                                      Old February 13th, 2013 (9:39 PM).
                                      LocksmithArmy's Avatar
                                      LocksmithArmy LocksmithArmy is offline
                                      Mew!
                                         
                                        Join Date: Feb 2013
                                        Age: 29
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 415
                                        in fire red what is it that keeps your pokes from evolving into gen 2 pokemon? I would like to allow users to catch and raise gen 2 pokemon as starters (a catch your own starter instead of taking the 3 choices)
                                        __________________
                                          #23671    
                                        Old February 13th, 2013 (10:11 PM).
                                        The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D's Avatar
                                        The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: May 2010
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 362
                                          what program would allow you to make oppenents have shiny,or change shiny encounter rate? and stuff like that? lol
                                          __________________
                                          Hey guys. lol i didnt think my username through. Wish i could change it.
                                          Hey guys, I think you would enjoy a Pokemon RPG: Pokemon Eclipse!


                                            #23672    
                                          Old February 14th, 2013 (12:28 AM).
                                          Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
                                          Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
                                          Memento Mori
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jul 2008
                                          Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
                                          Age: 25
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Nature: Calm
                                          Posts: 14,530
                                          Quote:
                                          Originally Posted by The Legacy of The Legends Creator :D View Post
                                          what program would allow you to make oppenents have shiny,or change shiny encounter rate? and stuff like that? lol
                                          You can use HackMew's shinyzer to make others have shiny or make wild shiny battle.
                                          __________________
                                          ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack.

                                          Anime List | PSN Trophy List
                                            #23673    
                                          Old February 14th, 2013 (3:36 AM).
                                          prnoct90 prnoct90 is offline
                                             
                                            Join Date: Aug 2006
                                            Nature: Adamant
                                            Posts: 13
                                            I have two questions:

                                            1. Is there a hack of fire red that pretty much just leaves the game itself alone, but makes it so all pokemon can be caught/evolved in game (as opposed to trading)?

                                            2. Is any team working on a hack that combines all the "real" regions into one complete game?
                                              #23674    
                                            Old February 14th, 2013 (3:41 AM). Edited February 14th, 2013 by karatekid552.
                                            karatekid552's Avatar
                                            karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                                            What happens if I push it?....
                                               
                                              Join Date: Nov 2012
                                              Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Bold
                                              Posts: 1,766
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by Zemekis View Post
                                              Okay, i'll look back through/search the thread. Do you know how to change both options to "Boy"? Both methods are acceptable, so if you could give me some pointers on doing the double-Boy option, that'd be great!
                                              Well, you would have to change Oak's inrtro text to say who are you instead of what. You can do this in A-text, a hex editor, or even a script editor, though A-text would be the easiest. Then, you would have to create two different character sprites, both boys, and insert one over the girls sprite using NSE or un-Lz. So, basically replace everything girl with guy. The toughest part might be changing the multi-choice box which asks if you are a girl or a guy to say something based on the qualities of your two choice for boys, like tough kid and smart kid. I am not quite sure how to chance the multi choice box, but you may be able to find it in A-text.

                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by LocksmithArmy View Post
                                              in fire red what is it that keeps your pokes from evolving into gen 2 pokemon? I would like to allow users to catch and raise gen 2 pokemon as starters (a catch your own starter instead of taking the 3 choices)
                                              The answer has come up before in this thread. I can't remember right now, but you are still supposed to search before asking.

                                              Edit: I think you need to give the player the national Pokedex.

                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by prnoct90 View Post
                                              I have two questions:

                                              1. Is there a hack of fire red that pretty much just leaves the game itself alone, but makes it so all pokemon can be caught/evolved in game (as opposed to trading)?

                                              2. Is any team working on a hack that combines all the "real" regions into one complete game?
                                              1) Probobly, I know that there is one for Emerald. Try looking for a FireRed Complete or FireRed 386 in the showcase.

                                              2) This is really tough due to space requirements. The closest I think would be the 649 patches by Jambo51 and Chaos Rush.
                                              __________________

                                              Paired with Simba
                                                #23675    
                                              Old February 14th, 2013 (4:01 AM).
                                              LocksmithArmy's Avatar
                                              LocksmithArmy LocksmithArmy is offline
                                              Mew!
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Feb 2013
                                                Age: 29
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Posts: 415
                                                thanks... I found the "search this thread" function

                                                but im fairly certain this one is NOT in this thread:

                                                I need a way to make the safari game NOT end... then a way to make it end again...

                                                for example...
                                                I am making a "catch your starting pokemon" event... where you go into a safari zone game... and catch a pokemon... then immediately after you catch that poke the game ends... yay

                                                but by going into the Safari Zone game.. you get that step counter... so if someone were to hang around and NOT catch something till that timer ran out... they would be teleported to the REAL safari zone and end up in fuscha city with no pokemon...

                                                so I need to turn the step counter off for just that game... then for all other safari games (you can only get into this area one time) the step counter should be on...
                                                __________________
                                                Closed Thread

                                                Quick Reply

                                                Join the conversation!

                                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                                Sponsored Links
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:58 AM.