The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Help
Other Leon's Ultimate Fire Red Base - Issue with Expanding the Number of Pokemon

ROM Hacking Help Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old October 1st, 2018 (10:16 AM). Edited October 4th, 2018 by Project Sonizard.
Project Sonizard's Avatar
Project Sonizard Project Sonizard is offline
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 10
    Hey guys. I am a total newbie at hacking so I've encountered a pretty serious bug with the rom hack I am working on. Currently, I am using Leon's Ultimate Fire Red Base since I thought it would be a good jumping off point. I wanted to add all the current pokemon, however, and I successfully did with the help of some PokeCommunity members on the discord. However, while testing to make sure the pokemon were working correctly, I noticed that the game crashes or resets whenever you win a battle.

    So for instance, the game freezes when you beat Gary for the first time in Pallet Town, but is fine if you lose the match. If you beat a wild Pokemon, the game resets itself back to the title screen after the battle. For reference, I used Pokemon Game Editor to expand the pokemon memory to 1050 pokemon and 950 pokedex entries and also import all the new pokemon and double the ROM's total memory.

    I did a little more testing on my own, and I found that the crash occurs when I just expand the total number of pokemon in the game, not when I add the new pokemon. It doesn't matter how many Pokemon or dex entries I add, it always crashes. On top of that, it works fine if I expand the number of pokemon on a regular Fire Red ROM.

    Therefore I think it has something to do with where the data is writing to. The problem is I haven't the first clue with how to fix that. Is it an issue with the base offset I've been using in PGE? I've just stuck with the default with all my roms, 0203C0C8, because I don't know what it means or what to change it to. I tried turning off JPAN's Save Block Recycler which it wants me to install, but I still have the same problem.

    If anyone knows about this bug and how to fix it, please let me know. If not, is there a something I should look into that could help me fix this issue?

    I also feel like I am going to have a lot of problems like this in the future. Is there a good place for me to be asking these questions pretty frequently?

    Thanks in advanced for any help you guys can give me!
    Reply With Quote
      #2    
    Old October 2nd, 2018 (11:54 AM).
    Doctor Breeb's Avatar
    Doctor Breeb Doctor Breeb is offline
    Just let it happen.
       
      Join Date: Jun 2018
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Calm
      Posts: 8
      Leon himself said the new evolution methods break Pokemon expansion. He said Pokemon expansion might work properly if the Pokemon are expanded first, then the new evolution methods are inserted. He said it "might" work. That's why he wants people to try it out.
      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old October 2nd, 2018 (1:36 PM).
      Project Sonizard's Avatar
      Project Sonizard Project Sonizard is offline
         
        Join Date: Jul 2009
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 10
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Doctor Breeb View Post
        Leon himself said the new evolution methods break Pokemon expansion. He said Pokemon expansion might work properly if the Pokemon are expanded first, then the new evolution methods are inserted. He said it "might" work. That's why he wants people to try it out.
        I am not expanding the evolutions though, I am just expanding the number of pokemon in the game. I double checked the original post, and he makes it sound like its no problem to do, but it just breaks my game.
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old October 2nd, 2018 (2:41 PM).
        Petuuuhhh's Avatar
        Petuuuhhh Petuuuhhh is offline
         
        Join Date: Apr 2017
        Location: Georgia
        Age: 25
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 542
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by Project Sonizard View Post
        I am not expanding the evolutions though, I am just expanding the number of pokemon in the game. I double checked the original post, and he makes it sound like its no problem to do, but it just breaks my game.
        Did you check to see if an older version of his base supports expanded mons?
        Reply With Quote
          #5    
        Old October 2nd, 2018 (3:54 PM).
        Project Sonizard's Avatar
        Project Sonizard Project Sonizard is offline
           
          Join Date: Jul 2009
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 10
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Petuuuhhh View Post
          Did you check to see if an older version of his base supports expanded mons?
          Yeah it should, there's no mention of expanded pokemon being a problem. And I even see other people saying it works in the thread replies! There must be something I am missing when expanding the pokemon. Are there any good tutorials on expanding the pokemon/memory in a ROM?
          Reply With Quote
            #6    
          Old October 2nd, 2018 (4:39 PM).
          Petuuuhhh's Avatar
          Petuuuhhh Petuuuhhh is offline
           
          Join Date: Apr 2017
          Location: Georgia
          Age: 25
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 542
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Project Sonizard View Post
          Yeah it should, there's no mention of expanded pokemon being a problem. And I even see other people saying it works in the thread replies! There must be something I am missing when expanding the pokemon. Are there any good tutorials on expanding the pokemon/memory in a ROM?
          PGE should do the trick.
          Reply With Quote
            #7    
          Old October 2nd, 2018 (5:05 PM).
          Project Sonizard's Avatar
          Project Sonizard Project Sonizard is offline
             
            Join Date: Jul 2009
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 10
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Petuuuhhh View Post
            PGE should do the trick.
            I'm using PGE. It expands the pokemon memory just fine, but the game crashes or resets itself whenever I win a trainer battle.

            What I am saying is that either PGE is corrupting my ROM or I am not using the right options in it.
            Reply With Quote
              #8    
            Old October 2nd, 2018 (5:07 PM).
            Petuuuhhh's Avatar
            Petuuuhhh Petuuuhhh is offline
             
            Join Date: Apr 2017
            Location: Georgia
            Age: 25
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 542
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by Project Sonizard View Post
            I'm using PGE. It expands the pokemon memory just fine, but the game crashes or resets itself whenever I win a trainer battle.

            What I am saying is that either PGE is corrupting my ROM or I am not using the right options in it.
            I am not aware of any issues with PGE's Pokemon expansion. I don't know how to help you :(
            Reply With Quote
              #9    
            Old October 2nd, 2018 (5:26 PM).
            Project Sonizard's Avatar
            Project Sonizard Project Sonizard is offline
               
              Join Date: Jul 2009
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 10
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by Petuuuhhh View Post
              I am not aware of any issues with PGE's Pokemon expansion. I don't know how to help you :(
              It's okay thanks for commenting anyways. This type of stuff always happens to me with digital games (Game breaking bugs only I seem to have). I'm gonna do some more testing on my own and try to find exactly what patches from Leon's base are causing the crashes. Hopefully its nothing too important like the Day-Night System or the Advanced AI.
              Reply With Quote
                #10    
              Old October 4th, 2018 (3:12 AM).
              Project Sonizard's Avatar
              Project Sonizard Project Sonizard is offline
                 
                Join Date: Jul 2009
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 10
                So I talked to PSI Master, the ROM base's creator about this and he encountered the same issue. He even put up a new warning and everything on the hack page. According to his discord, he has to remake the ROM base from scratch in order to fix this (RIP). Hope everything works out in the end.
                Reply With Quote
                Reply

                Quick Reply

                Join the conversation!

                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                Create a PokéCommunity Account
                Thread Tools

                Posting Rules
                You may not post new threads
                You may not post replies
                You may not post attachments
                You may not edit your posts

                BB code is On
                Smilies are On
                [IMG] code is On
                HTML code is Off

                Forum Jump


                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:26 AM.