The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #27251    
Old November 12th, 2013 (6:05 PM).
Aethestode's Avatar
Aethestode Aethestode is offline
Hacker
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: Australia
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Serious
    Posts: 1,690
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
    Maybe it's because you didn't repoint it or you misaligned it in the pic
    But that's the thing, the normal arrow comes up, but then it flashes to the buggy one, then back to the normal one. If I didn't repoint it, wouldn't the whole thing be buggy?
    __________________

    Name: Sinep
    Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage

    Relevant Advertising!

      #27252    
    Old November 12th, 2013 (6:07 PM).
    GoGoJJTech's Avatar
    GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
    (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
     
    Join Date: Nov 2012
    Location: Earth
    Age: 19
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Jolly
    Posts: 2,475
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by rockmanmegaman View Post
    But that's the thing, the normal arrow comes up, but then it flashes to the buggy one, then back to the normal one. If I didn't repoint it, wouldn't the whole thing be buggy?
    Same happens with overworlds, sometimes only the top 16 x 16 is shown. The last half is still there, but bugged. Not repointing is bad people
    __________________
    I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
    The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
    Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

    Support me at my site!
    Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
      #27253    
    Old November 12th, 2013 (6:25 PM).
    Aethestode's Avatar
    Aethestode Aethestode is offline
    Hacker
       
      Join Date: Jan 2008
      Location: Australia
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Serious
      Posts: 1,690
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
      Same happens with overworlds, sometimes only the top 16 x 16 is shown. The last half is still there, but bugged. Not repointing is bad people
      Okay, well, I find out the problem. I was using Jpan hack, and used the sprite change for the hero, and apparently that was what caused the arrow to be buggy.
      __________________

      Name: Sinep
      Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
        #27254    
      Old November 12th, 2013 (6:30 PM).
      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
       
      Join Date: Nov 2012
      Location: Earth
      Age: 19
      Gender: Female
      Nature: Jolly
      Posts: 2,475
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by rockmanmegaman View Post
      Okay, well, I find out the problem. I was using Jpan hack, and used the sprite change for the hero, and apparently that was what caused the arrow to be buggy.
      Oh pfft lol

      Now I have a question (not so simple, not exactly expecting a quick answer).
      As you may or may not know or care, I'm in dev of 493 on Fire Red.
      I have everything under control as of now except for pokedex loading new pokemon, and cries. Now, I'm focusing on cries. I know that pokemon over 0xfb (251 celebi) Have another order in which they read cries which is why Kecleon's cry is after celebi's in the cry table. Now, I repointed the cry conversion table at 0x82539D4. Since the routine strictly reads cries over 0xfb, I didn't bother putting in numbers under it. However, the cries refuse to read correctly, and most share Turtwig's cry or just play a cry backwards (which is known why). Anyone know anything on this cry conversion thing?
      __________________
      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

      Support me at my site!
      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
        #27255    
      Old November 14th, 2013 (3:26 PM).
      Aethestode's Avatar
      Aethestode Aethestode is offline
      Hacker
         
        Join Date: Jan 2008
        Location: Australia
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Serious
        Posts: 1,690
        Hello, I'm trying to add pokemon music to my Pokemon FireRed hack. So I have a Music, and I've converted it into a MIDI file. The MIDI sounded so different but still okay, as it resembles the old file a bit. Then when I use Mid2Agb to convert it to an "S" file, and assemble it into the game with SAPPY, the music is beyond recognition.

        What can I do?
        __________________

        Name: Sinep
        Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
          #27256    
        Old November 14th, 2013 (3:27 PM).
        GoGoJJTech's Avatar
        GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
        (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
         
        Join Date: Nov 2012
        Location: Earth
        Age: 19
        Gender: Female
        Nature: Jolly
        Posts: 2,475
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by rockmanmegaman View Post
        Hello, I'm trying to add pokemon music to my Pokemon FireRed hack. So I have a Music, and I've converted it into a MIDI file. The MIDI sounded so different but still okay, as it resembles the old file a bit. Then when I use Mid2Agb to convert it to an "S" file, and assemble it into the game with SAPPY, the music is beyond recognition.

        What can I do?
        This is because gamefreak's voicegroups don't have all the instruments, only what they use. You must import instruments. It's not going to just know what to do man! XD
        My mega-huge sappy tutorial covers this.
        __________________
        I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
        The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
        Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

        Support me at my site!
        Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
          #27257    
        Old November 14th, 2013 (3:39 PM).
        Aethestode's Avatar
        Aethestode Aethestode is offline
        Hacker
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: Australia
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Serious
          Posts: 1,690
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
          This is because gamefreak's voicegroups don't have all the instruments, only what they use. You must import instruments. It's not going to just know what to do man! XD
          My mega-huge sappy tutorial covers this.
          I see! Okay, I'll look at the tut, thanks.
          __________________

          Name: Sinep
          Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
            #27258    
          Old November 14th, 2013 (4:55 PM).
          Superjub's Avatar
          Superjub Superjub is offline
          Pokémon Aureolin
           
          Join Date: Sep 2007
          Location: Hoenn
          Age: 23
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Timid
          Posts: 2,288
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by Retribution View Post
          Uh, I'm still having some trouble with this. :s

          Some more screenshots to highlight the problem:
          Spoiler:


          * When I interact with the sprite from below (frame 0), the bottom majority of the sprite is invisible.
          * When I interact with the sprite from above (frame 1), the sprite appears on top of the player and the top is cut off instead.

          The only thing I can think of is it's a problem to do with Free Space, more-so with the latter off-sets? Having said that,despite the ROM not being initially un-used (I did a good bit of scripting etc.), I don't think I got to the 900000s. Idk. :s

          I've tried some things so far but nothing seems to have solved it (changing some of the bytes which i felt might be inaccurate. You can see this above or by clicking here.

          Thank you. :) Sorry it's not the typical problems but it's been driving me a bit insane. xD
          Fixed it. :) I inserted a new palette too. The only problem now is that the sprite doesn't move/some of the frames aren't working however I've encountered this problem before and hopefully I can fix it again. ^.^ If anyone has any comments I'd appreciate it though. :)
          __________________
            #27259    
          Old November 16th, 2013 (12:00 AM).
          Sniper's Avatar
          Sniper Sniper is offline
          ふゆかい
             
            Join Date: Nov 2013
            Location: Philippines
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Quiet
            Posts: 1,448
            Is there a way to control the battle critical hit?
            __________________


              #27260    
            Old November 16th, 2013 (12:17 AM).
            Aethestode's Avatar
            Aethestode Aethestode is offline
            Hacker
               
              Join Date: Jan 2008
              Location: Australia
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Serious
              Posts: 1,690
              I have problem with DNS. Okay, so I made a level script cutscene. After the trainerbattle, the day and night system doesn't work, and it reverts to original. After warping away (through the level script action), the Day and Night system works again (I'm using JPAN engine btw).


              In addition, how do I edit the animation of the Waterfall?
              __________________

              Name: Sinep
              Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
                #27261    
              Old November 16th, 2013 (1:53 AM).
              chrunch chrunch is offline
               
              Join Date: Oct 2009
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 1,350
              There are two maps for Saffron City. What's the difference between them, and which one should I use (if it matters)?
              __________________
                #27262    
              Old November 16th, 2013 (1:56 AM).
              ep!c ep!c is offline
              Banned
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2013
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 124
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by rockmanmegaman View Post
                I have problem with DNS. Okay, so I made a level script cutscene. After the trainerbattle, the day and night system doesn't work, and it reverts to original. After warping away (through the level script action), the Day and Night system works again (I'm using JPAN engine btw).


                In addition, how do I edit the animation of the Waterfall?
                If you have disabled the DAN in battles, it will bug afterwards...

                You must research the Waterfall tiles via logging in VBA-Development.
                  #27263    
                Old November 16th, 2013 (2:26 AM).
                Aethestode's Avatar
                Aethestode Aethestode is offline
                Hacker
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2008
                  Location: Australia
                  Gender: Male
                  Nature: Serious
                  Posts: 1,690
                  Quote:
                  Originally Posted by ep!c View Post
                  If you have disabled the DAN in battles, it will bug afterwards...

                  You must research the Waterfall tiles via logging in VBA-Development.
                  I tried enabling DAN in battle as well, and it's still like that.
                  __________________

                  Name: Sinep
                  Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
                    #27264    
                  Old November 16th, 2013 (2:36 AM).
                  GreyVirgo's Avatar
                  GreyVirgo GreyVirgo is offline
                  •=ØInfinityØ=•
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2013
                    Location: With Miley...... Twerking!
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Serious
                    Posts: 227
                    I'm trying to do an Experiment hack or maybe a Hack I'll be working on so I can share it with you guys but I need one thing.....

                    1.De-Capitalization Patch for Firered

                    If you can give me links that will be better.
                    __________________
                    Pair: Saturnus

                    Other Forums Im In:

                    EGC Account: Grey
                    PHO Account: XLR8
                    LV Account: Grey

                    Contact: PM or VM

                    "I love making out with lamps!" - Nigahiga
                      #27265    
                    Old November 16th, 2013 (3:15 AM).
                    destinedjagold's Avatar
                    destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                    Oh Hai Thar~
                     
                    Join Date: May 2007
                    Location: Philippines
                    Age: 27
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Careful
                    Posts: 8,589
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Maxedoutfreaky View Post
                    I'm trying to do an Experiment hack or maybe a Hack I'll be working on so I can share it with you guys but I need one thing.....

                    1.De-Capitalization Patch for Firered

                    If you can give me links that will be better.
                    I believe Kurapika's G3T's Anti-Exploud can help you with that.
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Kurapika View Post
                    I also added a 2nd tool, Anti-Exploud, it is meant to help hackers easily replace some pieces of text, mainly for decapitalisation
                    Though I haven't tried that yet however.
                    Just remember to save some back-ups of your ROM.
                    __________________

                      #27266    
                    Old November 16th, 2013 (3:21 AM).
                    DrFuji's Avatar
                    DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                    Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2009
                    Location: Aussie
                    Age: 25
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 1,438
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by chrunch View Post
                    There are two maps for Saffron City. What's the difference between them, and which one should I use (if it matters)?
                    The first Saffron City map (3.10) is the one which you use in game while the second one (3.11) has no scripts attached and is used to make the connecting routes (5, 6, 7 and 8) appear connected to the city from their perspective. If you stand as close as you can to Saffron City while on those routes you might be able to see one or two tiles from 3.11, but other than that it doesn't have any purpose. I have no idea why GameFreak thought making a replica Saffron City was better than extending the routes one or two tiles in width/ height.

                    And no, there no real need to use one over the other unless you want to save 3.10's scripts and events :P
                    __________________
                      #27267    
                    Old November 16th, 2013 (5:13 AM). Edited November 16th, 2013 by GreyVirgo.
                    GreyVirgo's Avatar
                    GreyVirgo GreyVirgo is offline
                    •=ØInfinityØ=•
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2013
                      Location: With Miley...... Twerking!
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Serious
                      Posts: 227
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post
                      I believe Kurapika's G3T's Anti-Exploud can help you with that.
                      Thank you so much DestinedJagold. :D

                      EDIT: My FireRed ROM is not supported but it's BPRE........ I still need a Decap. patch.......
                      __________________
                      Pair: Saturnus

                      Other Forums Im In:

                      EGC Account: Grey
                      PHO Account: XLR8
                      LV Account: Grey

                      Contact: PM or VM

                      "I love making out with lamps!" - Nigahiga
                        #27268    
                      Old November 16th, 2013 (8:04 AM).
                      GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                      GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                      (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2012
                      Location: Earth
                      Age: 19
                      Gender: Female
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 2,475
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by Sagittarius View Post
                      Is there a way to control the battle critical hit?
                      Well each move has a script attached. So you will need to go to EVERY move and remove the criticalhit routine from it using BSP.
                      __________________
                      I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                      The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                      Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                      Support me at my site!
                      Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                        #27269    
                      Old November 16th, 2013 (8:34 AM).
                      awipe1's Avatar
                      awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Aug 2012
                        Gender: Male
                        Posts: 215
                        Anyone know why my advanced map connection isn't working? They are both lined up on both sides of the connection (from the town to the route and from the route to the town the connections are fine).

                        When I walk from the town to the route there is no problem, but when I walk from the route to the town there is an invisable wall. Any reason why this is happening? I checked the connection from the route to the town and there is a connection there so I have no idea why this is happening.
                        __________________
                        Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
                          #27270    
                        Old November 16th, 2013 (8:36 AM).
                        GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                        GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                        (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                         
                        Join Date: Nov 2012
                        Location: Earth
                        Age: 19
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Jolly
                        Posts: 2,475
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
                        Anyone know why my advanced map connection isn't working? They are both lined up on both sides of the connection (from the town to the route and from the route to the town the connections are fine).

                        When I walk from the town to the route there is no problem, but when I walk from the route to the town there is an invisable wall. Any reason why this is happening? I checked the connection from the route to the town and there is a connection there so I have no idea why this is happening.
                        Using a-map 1.95 you get errors. I explain this everyday: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=7781039&postcount=304
                        So open in a-map 1.92, go to the header tab, and where it says map connections write 00000000. Then go to another map and back to this one. Then edit the connections to what they previously were, and it will repoint for you. test
                        __________________
                        I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                        The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                        Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                        Support me at my site!
                        Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                          #27271    
                        Old November 16th, 2013 (8:39 AM).
                        destinedjagold's Avatar
                        destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
                        Oh Hai Thar~
                         
                        Join Date: May 2007
                        Location: Philippines
                        Age: 27
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Careful
                        Posts: 8,589
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
                        Anyone know why my advanced map connection isn't working? They are both lined up on both sides of the connection (from the town to the route and from the route to the town the connections are fine).

                        When I walk from the town to the route there is no problem, but when I walk from the route to the town there is an invisable wall. Any reason why this is happening? I checked the connection from the route to the town and there is a connection there so I have no idea why this is happening.
                        Check your connections and see if there are "offset" values on the offset field.

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Maxedoutfreaky View Post
                        Thank you so much DestinedJagold. :D

                        EDIT: My FireRed ROM is not supported but it's BPRE........ I still need a Decap. patch.......
                        Oh, well, if you're just starting a hack, you might as well use 11bayerf1's FR ROM Base.
                        __________________

                          #27272    
                        Old November 16th, 2013 (2:58 PM).
                        Pikachu™'s Avatar
                        Pikachu™ Pikachu™ is offline
                        Pika Pika!
                           
                          Join Date: Jan 2008
                          Nature: Brave
                          Posts: 200
                          Whenever I try to insert overworlds in nse, the palette seems to change between the frames, messing up all the other frames. Does anyone know how to retain the same palette for each frame?
                            #27273    
                          Old November 16th, 2013 (3:05 PM).
                          GoGoJJTech's Avatar
                          GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
                          (☞゚ヮ゚)☞ http://GoGoJJTech.com ☜(゚ヮ゚☜)
                           
                          Join Date: Nov 2012
                          Location: Earth
                          Age: 19
                          Gender: Female
                          Nature: Jolly
                          Posts: 2,475
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Pikachu™ View Post
                          Whenever I try to insert overworlds in nse, the palette seems to change between the frames, messing up all the other frames. Does anyone know how to retain the same palette for each frame?
                          You have to keep the palette the same for each sprite. So go in irfanview and check each palette. if they are different just export 1 and import to the rest.
                          __________________
                          I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
                          The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
                          Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Youtube Channel

                          Support me at my site!
                          Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
                            #27274    
                          Old November 16th, 2013 (8:25 PM).
                          karatekid552's Avatar
                          karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
                          What happens if I push it?....
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2012
                            Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bold
                            Posts: 1,766
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
                            You have to keep the palette the same for each sprite. So go in irfanview and check each palette. if they are different just export 1 and import to the rest.
                            If your working with 16x32s, you can actually make sheets and directly insert them into the rom uncompressed, and then just do some quick table editing. Then you only have to deal with one palette.
                            __________________

                            Paired with Simba
                              #27275    
                            Old November 16th, 2013 (11:02 PM).
                            Aethestode's Avatar
                            Aethestode Aethestode is offline
                            Hacker
                               
                              Join Date: Jan 2008
                              Location: Australia
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Serious
                              Posts: 1,690
                              I'm still having problem with DNS. Even when I set DAN in battle, the day and night system still won't work after a trainerbattle (during a script).

                              Without DAN in battle.


                              With DAN in battle
                              __________________

                              Name: Sinep
                              Adopt one yourself! @Pokémon Orphanage
                              Closed Thread

                              Quick Reply

                              Join the conversation!

                              Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                              Create a PokéCommunity Account

                              Sponsored Links
                              Thread Tools

                              Posting Rules
                              You may not post new threads
                              You may not post replies
                              You may not post attachments
                              You may not edit your posts

                              BB code is On
                              Smilies are On
                              [IMG] code is On
                              HTML code is Off

                              Forum Jump


                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:49 AM.