• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Pokeemerald] Capture/Battle Combos

Years
  • Age 20
  • Seen Apr 15, 2024
Hi! Sometime ago, when I graduated from a Whack a Hack! RGSS scripting school, I made a Catch Combo system for Essentials. And now, I ported it to pokeemerald! (big codes are put in spoilers for easier access and navigation through the page)
This version of the Catch Combo System includes:
  1. Chain a Pokémon, with 30 as the maximum chain possible
  2. Shiny Pokémon appear more often with the level of the chain!
  3. A message box appears at the end of a Wild Battle when the chain is 3 or bigger, so it could appear and be noticed for all players
  4. When a different Pokémon appears, you can run away and the chain continues!
  5. Catching OR defeating the same Pokémon you did before will continue the chain
To do list:
  1. Modify the encounter tables when going forward in the chain
  2. Modify the IV's of the Pokemon (probably gonna add it tomorrow)
  3. Make the chained Pokémon appear more often with the level of the chain
  4. Make (a) special Pokémon sometimes appear at higher chain levels
The first thing you need to do is go to "src/battle_setup.c" and add this lines:
Code:
extern const u8 ChainNumber[]; 
extern const u8 AddChain[];
Below "static const u8 *GetTrainerCantBattleSpeech(void);"
Once we do that, we replace the whole "static void CB2_EndWildBattle(void)" definition with this one:
Spoiler:
Then, we add this variables in "include/constants/vars.h"
VAR_CHAIN
and
VAR_SPECIESCHAINED

We then go to src/pokemon.c and we replace the whole "
this if we don't have the Eggg item expansion and battle engine