The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games Game Development Pokémon Essentials
Scripting Question Ability Messages without EBS or Gen 6 pack

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old August 12th, 2018 (2:23 AM).
CharizardThree3 CharizardThree3 is offline
DarkPlatinum Developer
     
    Join Date: May 2018
    Location: Canada
    Gender: Male
    Posts: 30
    I am total new here..... Can I know how to add ability messages without using EBS or The Gen 6 pack????
    Reply With Quote
      #2    
    Old August 12th, 2018 (1:53 PM).
    hirokimura's Avatar
    hirokimura hirokimura is offline
    Miltank's Fanboy Number One
       
      Join Date: Feb 2018
      Location: France
      Age: 23
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Gentle
      Posts: 57
      Hey Charizard ! Your post belongs to Pokemon essentials forum, not ressources ^^
      But still, let's see your problem. What do you mean about adding ability messages?

      If it's about the ability description, you'll have to go in Yourgamefolder/PBS and check abilities.txt, then add your ability message here by copy/paste an already existing line (Please keep in mind to change the number of the line since it will conflict)

      If it's about adding messages that display during the battle like (Miltank was poisoned by Magikarp's poison point) then you have to code your ability to make it display a message using :

      @battle.pbDisplay(_INTL("YOUR TEXTMESSAGE"))

      You can modify this to put a variable {1} and a variable {2} when 1 would be the pokemon's name, and 2 the ability name for example, but I don't have the whole process since I'm a noob :3

      If it's anything else, please ask ^^
      Reply With Quote
        #3    
      Old August 13th, 2018 (1:59 AM).
      CharizardThree3 CharizardThree3 is offline
      DarkPlatinum Developer
         
        Join Date: May 2018
        Location: Canada
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 30
        Thanks man!!! I meant the Second one!!! I understood what you said!
        Reply With Quote
          #4    
        Old August 14th, 2018 (4:16 AM).
        CharizardThree3 CharizardThree3 is offline
        DarkPlatinum Developer
           
          Join Date: May 2018
          Location: Canada
          Gender: Male
          Posts: 30
          I mean the second one.BUT LIKE IN ELITE BATTLE SYSTEM.Example-If your Pokemon has The ability "POISON POINT" then it would display -"YOURPOKEMON'S Poison Point" in black rectangular background.Just like Gen5
          Reply With Quote
            #5    
          Old August 14th, 2018 (4:49 AM).
          hirokimura's Avatar
          hirokimura hirokimura is offline
          Miltank's Fanboy Number One
             
            Join Date: Feb 2018
            Location: France
            Age: 23
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Gentle
            Posts: 57
            Sadly, I can't help you then. I don't use EBS and It's not being supported anymore by Luka.SJ so I don't know if you'll get any help.
            Reply With Quote
              #6    
            Old August 15th, 2018 (5:06 AM).
            CharizardThree3 CharizardThree3 is offline
            DarkPlatinum Developer
               
              Join Date: May 2018
              Location: Canada
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 30
              Have you used the Gen 6 pack? In that also contains the same
              Reply With Quote
                #7    
              Old August 15th, 2018 (8:49 AM).
              hirokimura's Avatar
              hirokimura hirokimura is offline
              Miltank's Fanboy Number One
                 
                Join Date: Feb 2018
                Location: France
                Age: 23
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Gentle
                Posts: 57
                Nope, I'm using vanilla essentials system when it comes to battle sadly
                Reply With Quote
                  #8    
                Old August 16th, 2018 (3:06 AM).
                CharizardThree3 CharizardThree3 is offline
                DarkPlatinum Developer
                   
                  Join Date: May 2018
                  Location: Canada
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 30
                  I am thinking of copying the whole battle system of Gen 6 pack to V17 of Vanilla essentials...
                  Reply With Quote
                    #9    
                  Old August 25th, 2018 (9:42 PM).
                  CharizardThree3 CharizardThree3 is offline
                  DarkPlatinum Developer
                     
                    Join Date: May 2018
                    Location: Canada
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 30
                    Not working....
                    Reply With Quote
                    Reply

                    Quick Reply

                    Join the conversation!

                    Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                    Create a PokéCommunity Account
                    Thread Tools

                    Posting Rules
                    You may not post new threads
                    You may not post replies
                    You may not post attachments
                    You may not edit your posts

                    BB code is On
                    Smilies are On
                    [IMG] code is On
                    HTML code is Off

                    Forum Jump


                    All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:33 PM.