• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Forum moderator applications are now open! Click here for details.
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

Help building a deck

Nath74K

Pokéfan
Years
Hello,

I'm quite new at playing TCG, and I want to build a deck in order to play tournaments.
But I'm not sure what types to choose for my deck. I'd like to go for Grass/Psychic deck, but I don't know if this is strategically good.

Any tips on what types to choose?

ddrox13

Anti-Nonsense
Years
So let me make this clear: Few decks are based purely on a type. They are instead based on a strategy. some strategies may only work with certain types, for example Bronzong decks used Metal Pokemon because his ability allowed him to quickly accelerate Metal energy. Also every deck contains Shaymin EX. All of them.

That said, it's very hard to build a deck with no knowledge of what I'm starting with.

First of all, you need to pick a format. This determines what cards are legal and what arent. Standard is cards from Primal Clash or later. Expanded is BW on, and Legacy allows cards between HGSS and Legendary Treasures, inclusive. I can't tell you what decks are going to be good anymore as no irl tournaments have been played on the new format, but I can guess.

If you are set on Grass types, I'd recommend a Yanmega deck. It will likely be one of the strongest decks in the format due to its speed and power. This deck uses Yanmega (SS 7)'s ability to deal 100+ damage for 0 energy as long as you have exactly 4 cards in hand, and gets set up quickly with Forest of Giant Plants allowing quick evolutions.