The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking Help
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Help Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22626    
Old September 23rd, 2012 (1:57 AM). Edited September 23rd, 2012 by PokemonMasters.
PokemonMasters's Avatar
PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
Always Remember Forever&After
     
    Join Date: Jun 2012
    Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Calm
    Posts: 403
    1. for firered, which asm is easier to do? mugshots or prebattlemugshots
    2. if i make a new tileset does it take up free space?
    3. I need help, whenever ii enter this building it does this :
    __________________

    +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
      #22627    
    Old September 23rd, 2012 (3:29 AM).
    tajaros's Avatar
    tajaros tajaros is offline
    Hi I'm dawg
       
      Join Date: Apr 2012
      Location: Philippines
      Age: 19
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Timid
      Posts: 857
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
      1. for firered, which asm is easier to do? mugshots or prebattlemugshots
      2. if i make a new tileset does it take up free space?
      3. I need help, whenever ii enter this building it does this :
      mugshots it only needs scripting and replacing pokemon sprites and it doesn't need ASM... :)

      And about the new tileset of course it takes up Free Space everything you insert in the hack will take up free space... :)
      __________________
        #22628    
      Old September 23rd, 2012 (5:53 AM).
      Tetra Tetra is offline
       
      Join Date: Sep 2009
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Lax
      Posts: 1,091
      How do you add extra trainer sprite data in R/S/E/FR/LG? Without replacing any other trainer sprites?
        #22629    
      Old September 23rd, 2012 (9:13 AM).
      itman itman is offline
      Back to ROM hacking. :D
         
        Join Date: May 2007
        Age: 24
        Nature: Adamant
        Posts: 100
        Is it possible to give a pokemon directly to the PC?
          #22630    
        Old September 23rd, 2012 (11:12 AM).
        Renegade's Avatar
        Renegade Renegade is offline
        Time for real life...
           
          Join Date: Nov 2011
          Location: United States
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Careful
          Posts: 998
          Game: Fire Red

          How would I go about changing the color of the city names? Such as when you walk into a new city or area a box in the upperleft-hand of the screen comes down and says the name of the area you are in. Thanks for your time in advance!
            #22631    
          Old September 23rd, 2012 (12:12 PM).
          PokemonMasters's Avatar
          PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
          Always Remember Forever&After
             
            Join Date: Jun 2012
            Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Calm
            Posts: 403
            Quote:
            Originally Posted by tajaros View Post
            mugshots it only needs scripting and replacing pokemon sprites and it doesn't need ASM... :)

            And about the new tileset of course it takes up Free Space everything you insert in the hack will take up free space... :)
            you dont need asm for showing mugshots in firered?
            __________________

            +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
              #22632    
            Old September 23rd, 2012 (12:14 PM).
            itman itman is offline
            Back to ROM hacking. :D
               
              Join Date: May 2007
              Age: 24
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 100
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
              you dont need asm for showing mugshots in firered?
              What kind of mugshots are you referring to?
              The pre-battle ones, like when you face the elite four,
              or the ones using the box that shows a picture when someone is talking?
                #22633    
              Old September 23rd, 2012 (1:46 PM).
              tajaros's Avatar
              tajaros tajaros is offline
              Hi I'm dawg
                 
                Join Date: Apr 2012
                Location: Philippines
                Age: 19
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Timid
                Posts: 857
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
                you dont need asm for showing mugshots in firered?
                Yes you just need to script, but if you're talking about pre-battle mugshots then you need asm to do it but, it's already provided by Jambo51... :)
                __________________
                  #22634    
                Old September 24th, 2012 (3:33 AM).
                BOH BOH is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2007
                  Posts: 31
                  I'm editing tree tiles in Ruby. I've see that the block that represent the top of the tree (left side) is composed by 1 tile in the bottom-right corner and 3 trasparent tiles. But i wanna use every of 4 tile space in the block, what part of tileset i've to modify?

                  thanks a lot
                  __________________
                  Trucchi, Soluzioni, Guide, Cheats e Rom Pokemon Diamante e Perla, Hack roms complete e in costruzione, Hack rom tools, Videogames, Photoshop e tanto tanto altro....basta un click
                    #22635    
                  Old September 25th, 2012 (1:33 AM).
                  PokemonMasters's Avatar
                  PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                  Always Remember Forever&After
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2012
                    Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Calm
                    Posts: 403
                    how do i find the codes for colors for a hexeditor?
                    __________________

                    +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                      #22636    
                    Old September 25th, 2012 (8:44 AM).
                    itman itman is offline
                    Back to ROM hacking. :D
                       
                      Join Date: May 2007
                      Age: 24
                      Nature: Adamant
                      Posts: 100
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by PokemonMasters View Post
                      how do i find the codes for colors for a hexeditor?
                      Heres the way I do it...

                      Import an OW into NSE Classic with the colors you want to know.

                      Go to edit palette.
                      It'll show the codes for those 16 colors.
                        #22637    
                      Old September 25th, 2012 (11:11 AM).
                      FireFox's Avatar
                      FireFox FireFox is offline
                      Dialga Fangirl
                         
                        Join Date: Aug 2004
                        Location: UK
                        Age: 32
                        Gender: Female
                        Nature: Timid
                        Posts: 58
                        Hi folks. Music question approaching!

                        There's a music track in a Pokémon hack that I want to place in mine (the author has allowed this). The track is in a FireRed ROM and I want to extract it and place it in to my FireRed hack.

                        Is this at all possible? I figured it would be easier since the track will already be in GBA format.

                        Thanks in advance. :)
                        __________________
                        Some signature, or something!
                          #22638    
                        Old September 25th, 2012 (1:16 PM).
                        LCCoolJ95's Avatar
                        LCCoolJ95 LCCoolJ95 is offline
                        Limited Capacity
                           
                          Join Date: May 2009
                          Location: The World That Never Was
                          Age: 23
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Naive
                          Posts: 585
                          Hey, I know there is a feature that changes the battle music for Trainers for A-Trainer, but it uses numbers, not words. Is there a list, side-by-side, next to each appropriate name? I am using Pokemon Emerald.
                            #22639    
                          Old September 25th, 2012 (1:26 PM).
                          Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                          Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                          hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                             
                            Join Date: May 2008
                            Age: 24
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Bashful
                            Posts: 3,487
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by FireFox View Post
                            Hi folks. Music question approaching!

                            There's a music track in a Pokémon hack that I want to place in mine (the author has allowed this). The track is in a FireRed ROM and I want to extract it and place it in to my FireRed hack.

                            Is this at all possible? I figured it would be easier since the track will already be in GBA format.

                            Thanks in advance. :)
                            Using a tool called Sappy (download it and the mod 17.1 version that can be found via Google), open the ROM with the music you were allowed to get, find the song and Export tracks, then open the ROM you want them inserting, find the same song, and Insert tracks. That should work, but just post back on here if it doesn't go smoothly.
                            __________________


                            Temmie vibrates intensely.

                            awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                            OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                            can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                            RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                              #22640    
                            Old September 25th, 2012 (4:44 PM).
                            Jambo51's Avatar
                            Jambo51 Jambo51 is offline
                            Glory To Arstotzka
                               
                              Join Date: Jun 2009
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Quiet
                              Posts: 732
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by LCCoolJ95 View Post
                              Hey, I know there is a feature that changes the battle music for Trainers for A-Trainer, but it uses numbers, not words. Is there a list, side-by-side, next to each appropriate name? I am using Pokemon Emerald.
                              There isn't. This is a common misunderstanding. The value you set only changes the encounter music, the battle music itself is strictly set in the ROM using a table based on Trainer Classes (in Emerald - in FR, it's done differently). Sadly, it's not the sort of table you can just repoint and change a value on because it points to ASM code, as opposed to a song value.
                              __________________
                              Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
                                #22641    
                              Old September 25th, 2012 (6:25 PM).
                              awipe1's Avatar
                              awipe1 awipe1 is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Aug 2012
                                Gender: Male
                                Posts: 215
                                Can someone message me and teach me how to make In game trade pokemon scripts for fire red? I have been trying for a week now and cant figure it out.
                                  #22642    
                                Old September 26th, 2012 (2:07 AM).
                                PokemonMasters's Avatar
                                PokemonMasters PokemonMasters is offline
                                Always Remember Forever&After
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2012
                                  Location: Nuvema Town, Unova
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Calm
                                  Posts: 403
                                  how do i find the codes for colors for a hexeditor?
                                  __________________

                                  +ForeverDash on PC's Battle Server | Pair | VM/PM |Partner In Crime
                                    #22643    
                                  Old September 26th, 2012 (3:56 AM).
                                  BOH BOH is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Aug 2007
                                    Posts: 31
                                    Hi!

                                    In advance map how can i do for replace a map with another?

                                    I've make my map in a test rom (same tiles of the real rom) and i want to move it into real rom (possibly including movement and permission)

                                    thanks a lot
                                    __________________
                                    Trucchi, Soluzioni, Guide, Cheats e Rom Pokemon Diamante e Perla, Hack roms complete e in costruzione, Hack rom tools, Videogames, Photoshop e tanto tanto altro....basta un click
                                      #22644    
                                    Old September 26th, 2012 (10:21 AM).
                                    Spherical Ice's Avatar
                                    Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Nov 2007
                                    Location: Bristol, UK
                                    Age: 20
                                    Posts: 5,237
                                    On the map you want to move:
                                    File -> Map -> Save Map as -> Save

                                    On map you want to replace:
                                    File -> Map -> Load -> Select the one you saved

                                    File -> Map -> Insert

                                    Select Replace, enter the bank and map number of the map you want to replace

                                    It works better in Advance Map 1.9.2
                                    __________________
                                      #22645    
                                    Old September 26th, 2012 (1:17 PM). Edited September 26th, 2012 by FireFox.
                                    FireFox's Avatar
                                    FireFox FireFox is offline
                                    Dialga Fangirl
                                       
                                      Join Date: Aug 2004
                                      Location: UK
                                      Age: 32
                                      Gender: Female
                                      Nature: Timid
                                      Posts: 58
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by Banjora Marxvile View Post
                                      Using a tool called Sappy (download it and the mod 17.1 version that can be found via Google), open the ROM with the music you were allowed to get, find the song and Export tracks, then open the ROM you want them inserting, find the same song, and Insert tracks. That should work, but just post back on here if it doesn't go smoothly.
                                      Many thanks Banjora, I'll give that a go.

                                      Update
                                      Drat! It looks like these tracks were, quite literally inserted into the ROM as when I play a track in the current list, the regular music played.


                                      Update 2
                                      Well I found the track thanks to the hacks Music Room, A-Map and XSE! Sappy Song 297 (Hex: 129 - Trainer Battle). It sounds fine in Sappy (although sped up slightly for some reason) but when I extract the track and import it in to my hack, nothing plays except for the odd Beep and Blop ever 5 - 7 seconds or so. :/

                                      Another question:
                                      I'd like this new music track to play when you fight a specific Trainer Class. I assume this will require ASM. Can someone point me in the right direction?
                                      __________________
                                      Some signature, or something!
                                        #22646    
                                      Old September 27th, 2012 (6:41 AM).
                                      Andrut's Avatar
                                      Andrut Andrut is offline
                                      Collecting dust since 1898
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2009
                                        Location: Warsaw, Poland
                                        Age: 20
                                        Posts: 288
                                        Is it possible to replace a word in all the text in the game? I would like to change the word "POKéMON" to something else.
                                        I am asking this question because I know a hack (namely: Touhoumon Emerald by Anjirusensei) where the word POKéMON in all the text of the game was replaced by the word "Puppet". I find it hard to believe the creator has manually replaced every POKéMON word that is in the game, so I thought it could be possible for me to do the same.
                                          #22647    
                                        Old September 27th, 2012 (8:36 AM).
                                        Avonly's Avatar
                                        Avonly Avonly is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Sep 2012
                                          Gender: Female
                                          Posts: 4
                                          I am a person, who don't know anything about rom editing.
                                          I would like to ask you, users, for help.

                                          What I am interested,
                                          is a change boy
                                          Spoiler:
                                          oi45.tinypic.com/2r6yz2b.jpg
                                          on a girl sprites.
                                          Spoiler:
                                          oi49.tinypic.com/2n1hvn6.jpg

                                          There are many editing programs, but only Tile Layer Pro and Molester support R/B/Y versions.
                                          Work in them is too complicated for someone like me, inexperienced.
                                            #22648    
                                          Old September 27th, 2012 (10:51 AM).
                                          miksy91's Avatar
                                          miksy91 miksy91 is offline
                                          Dark Energy is back in action! ;)
                                             
                                            Join Date: Oct 2008
                                            Location: Finland
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 1,454
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by Avonly View Post
                                            I am a person, who don't know anything about rom editing.
                                            I would like to ask you, users, for help.

                                            What I am interested,
                                            is a change boy
                                            Spoiler:
                                            oi45.tinypic.com/2r6yz2b.jpg
                                            on a girl sprites.
                                            Spoiler:
                                            oi49.tinypic.com/2n1hvn6.jpg

                                            There are many editing programs, but only Tile Layer Pro and Molester support R/B/Y versions.
                                            Work in them is too complicated for someone like me, inexperienced.
                                            First of all, Tile Layer Pro or Tile Molester won't help you a bit in changing "battle sprites" in R/B/Y. Those sprites are compressed meaning there is a code for fitting the image in smaller size than it would be as uncompressed image (type of an image that could be edited easily with Tile Layer Pro for instance).

                                            There is a tool for inserting the battle sprites of that girl and replacing them with the original boy's sprites however. Go to Skeetendo Inc. (through that link in my signature) and try to find help threads that would suit your needs there. Problems similar to this one have been discussed there already.
                                            __________________
                                            Pokémon Dark Energy
                                            Some ROM hacking related stuff
                                              #22649    
                                            Old September 27th, 2012 (6:58 PM).
                                            itman itman is offline
                                            Back to ROM hacking. :D
                                               
                                              Join Date: May 2007
                                              Age: 24
                                              Nature: Adamant
                                              Posts: 100
                                              In Fire Red, is there a warp that will immediately change your location?
                                              Like, instead of the screen fading to black and back again. I want it without the fade.
                                                #22650    
                                              Old September 27th, 2012 (7:52 PM).
                                              Renegade's Avatar
                                              Renegade Renegade is offline
                                              Time for real life...
                                                 
                                                Join Date: Nov 2011
                                                Location: United States
                                                Gender: Male
                                                Nature: Careful
                                                Posts: 998
                                                Quote:
                                                Originally Posted by itman View Post
                                                In Fire Red, is there a warp that will immediately change your location?
                                                Like, instead of the screen fading to black and back again. I want it without the fade.
                                                You could use the movesprite command, but that will only work for teleporting the player and/or an npc to another location on the map you are currently on.
                                                Closed Thread

                                                Quick Reply

                                                Join the conversation!

                                                Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                                Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                                Thread Tools

                                                Posting Rules
                                                You may not post new threads
                                                You may not post replies
                                                You may not post attachments
                                                You may not edit your posts

                                                BB code is On
                                                Smilies are On
                                                [IMG] code is On
                                                HTML code is Off

                                                Forum Jump


                                                All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:19 AM.