• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Forum moderator applications are now open! Click here for details.
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

I threw my first Master Ball

Years
  • Age 39
  • Seen Sep 27, 2018
I threw my first Master Ball today.

I've been playing Pokemon off and on for the last 15 years, having bought myself a Gameboy Advance and Pokemon Ruby shortly after graduating high school. After getting all the way to the cave with Groudon in it I rage quit after accidentally making him faint. I tried LeafGreen but never made it very far. Same with Diamond, I played it on a long car trip but never really picked it back up once we were home.

We bought our kids 2DS XL's for Christmas last year and I picked up Pokemon Moon on a whim for myself to play. I got off the first Island in my first day and never touched it again. About 2 months ago though, my 6 year old daughter found it and wanted to play. After a few rough starts (she didn't know about saving and was starting the game over every time she wanted to play as she'd let her battery die) she got the hang of it and before I knew it she was on the third island.

Inspired and looking for a bit of daddy/daughter bonding I grabbed myself a copy of Ultra Sun so we could battle and trade. I've actually stuck it out on this one and am in post game working on making a living pokedex, while she has made it through 2 of the Elite Four but can't get further because she only has a few high level Pokemon since she always switched her team around aside from her starter, a Decidueye named Bird.