• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

What Pokemon game is best for beginners?

Best Pokemon Game for Beginners

• Pokemon Platinium

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Years
  • Seen Aug 15, 2013
Hi my name is LazyTrainer just made this account like two days ago and I would like to know what Pokemon game is the best for beginners because I'm a bit new to Pokemon and usually I don't know what game to use? ( I use roms.) Thank you for reading this and please help.

Purple Materia

Shape the future!
Years
  • Age 29
  • Seen Apr 12, 2014
I would say FireRed/LeafGreen, simply because it's more simple compared to the newer ones.

Years
  • Age 34
  • Seen Apr 19, 2024
I agree with Purple Materia! Plus, with FireRed or LeafGreen, you get to play in Kanto. It's the very first region of pokémon, and admittedly the simplest one. If you start with one of these two games, you can then move on to play Ruby, Sapphire or Emerald and be amazed at the much more lively scenery. And then you can move on to a gen 4 Sinnoh game (where you should play Platinum) and a gen 4 Johto game (either HeartGold or SoulSilver) where you get a lot of new features and even more lively scenery and animations. Because if you had started with a gen 4 or gen 5 game, you maybe wouldn't have appreciated Kanto and Hoenn :3

The 4 gen games are not necessary imo though (but that might just be me!) so if you don't feel like playing through all generations, you could skip from gen 3 directly to the Unova games in gen 5 (Black and White, and Black2 and White2).