The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #17101    
Old January 2nd, 2011 (1:29 PM).
altariaking's Avatar
altariaking altariaking is offline
Needs NO VMs...
     
    Join Date: Dec 2009
    Location: Scotland, Lesmahagow
    Age: 44
    Gender: Male
    Nature: Naive
    Posts: 1,098
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
    I need the palette offset of the back sprite of the hero.

    Greetings!!
    I'm pretty sure NSE has it as a bookmark, have a look in the toolbox section.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Washibon View Post
    Hello there! Sorry to be asking so many questions.. I tried to edit the Pokemon sprites using unLZ GBA. I edited Bulbasaur's front and back sprite.

    However, when I went to play the game- Bulbasaur's back sprite didn't change at all, and it's front sprite's palette changed completely to a blue-red-ish color.
    (I'd post a picture, but I'm not allowed to..)

    I'd be grateful if you could let me know what I'm doing wrong, thank-you!
    Where you using Unlz-GBA? If so, and you might've forgot to check the *import image" and only clicked "import palette".
    __________________
    http://www.pokecommunity.com/member.php?u=253113
      #17102    
    Old January 2nd, 2011 (1:44 PM).
    Andrut's Avatar
    Andrut Andrut is offline
    Collecting dust since 1898
       
      Join Date: Dec 2009
      Location: Warsaw, Poland
      Age: 20
      Posts: 288
      @Washibon
      I suggest you using Wichu's Advanced Series for sprites. It always works for me properly,and it's very easy to use.
      __________________
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by anonymous
      Florges
      It's a forest guardian that pities how bad a type Grass is, so it gets moves to help out Grass-types, but is smart enough not to be Grass-type itself. The appearance is simply mimicry to hide from humans.
        #17103    
      Old January 2nd, 2011 (1:50 PM).
      Kevin's Avatar
      Kevin Kevin is offline
      kevin del rey
       
      Join Date: Jul 2010
      Location: Virginia
      Age: 19
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 2,689
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
      I need the palette offset of the back sprite of the hero.

      Greetings!!
      In Nameless Sprite Editor, there's a bookmark section where the FR/LG backsprites are.

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by solarowl View Post
      Hi, I'm thinking of starting a hack in the next few months and was wondering. Is it possible to script an event or something where the a new area is discovered on the map. Like there are four mainlands and in the center there is an ocean, but after a script, a new island appears on the map. Also, if you go there before that event, the island can't be there.
      It could be possible... You probably would need ASM, though.
      __________________
        #17104    
      Old January 2nd, 2011 (2:00 PM).
      XeroGraviti's Avatar
      XeroGraviti XeroGraviti is offline
         
        Join Date: Dec 2010
        Gender: Male
        Posts: 15
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by 1st Gen FTW View Post
        My question was skipped (I hope it's okay to quote this for this reason :\)
        Um...Fire Red DOES have more than 1 battle theme. Unless your asking for something else? If so can you be more specific?
          #17105    
        Old January 2nd, 2011 (3:50 PM).
        jota_rdk's Avatar
        jota_rdk jota_rdk is offline
        Spanish hacker [Javi4315]
           
          Join Date: Jul 2010
          Location: Spain
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Timid
          Posts: 98
          Yes, there are in NSE, but this happens:

          __________________
          Pokémon Golden Legend // Pokémon Silver Legend


          My tutorials:

          __________________
          My english is very bad, I know. Sorry! xD
            #17106    
          Old January 2nd, 2011 (4:25 PM).
          colcolstyles's Avatar
          colcolstyles colcolstyles is offline
          Yours truly
           
          Join Date: May 2008
          Location: The Bay Area
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Lonely
          Posts: 1,590
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by XeroGraviti View Post
          I'm hacking Fire Red. Thanks! :D
          I found the images at '0x39a008'

          Quote:
          Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
          I need the palette offset of the back sprite of the hero.

          Greetings!!
          You can find the compressed palette at '0xe76ebc'.
          __________________

          Brother of Vrai
            #17107    
          Old January 2nd, 2011 (5:49 PM).
          SPG's Avatar
          SPG SPG is offline
          Pyroblock
             
            Join Date: Dec 2010
            Age: 21
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 88
            HEY its SPG again sorry for the stupid quest im sorry if this already been anwsered if so delet it know plz but is it possible to make a base stat to go higher than 255 in yape? because i need 2 pokemon's stats to go above or around 900 (perferibly 999 though) if so what number would it need to be?
              #17108    
            Old January 2nd, 2011 (6:55 PM).
            adhdguitar's Avatar
            adhdguitar adhdguitar is offline
            Newbie Pokémon Hacker
               
              Join Date: May 2010
              Gender: Male
              Nature: Adamant
              Posts: 210
              Quote:
              Originally Posted by SPG View Post
              HEY its SPG again sorry for the stupid quest im sorry if this already been anwsered if so delet it know plz but is it possible to make a base stat to go higher than 255 in yape? because i need 2 pokemon's stats to go above or around 900 (perferibly 999 though) if so what number would it need to be?
              No, not without serious ASM hacking. You'd actually need to extend the amount of data that Pokemon take up by one byte per stat that can extend above 255.
              __________________


              Yellow: Complete
              Crystal:
              Complete
              Sapphire: Not Started
              Cherrim: Not Started
                #17109    
              Old January 2nd, 2011 (7:17 PM).
              SPG's Avatar
              SPG SPG is offline
              Pyroblock
                 
                Join Date: Dec 2010
                Age: 21
                Gender: Male
                Posts: 88
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by adhdguitar View Post
                No, not without serious ASM hacking. You'd actually need to extend the amount of data that Pokemon take up by one byte per stat that can extend above 255.
                how do i do that? plz explain on this thread or a pm
                  #17110    
                Old January 2nd, 2011 (10:14 PM).
                pokeguy9000's Avatar
                pokeguy9000 pokeguy9000 is offline
                Ghost Ralts
                   
                  Join Date: Jan 2009
                  Location: Oldale Town
                  Age: 24
                  Nature: Impish
                  Posts: 43
                  I have two questions

                  Is it possible in pokemon ruby to make a double battle where you are fighting teamed up with another computer player? So that you are only controlling your pokemon?

                  Also is it possible (again in ruby) to change the number of badges you can obtain to say four? and still include in elite four (or four battle that must be fought in a row)

                  Thanks
                    #17111    
                  Old January 2nd, 2011 (10:39 PM).
                  SPG's Avatar
                  SPG SPG is offline
                  Pyroblock
                     
                    Join Date: Dec 2010
                    Age: 21
                    Gender: Male
                    Posts: 88
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by pokeguy9000 View Post
                    I have two questions

                    Is it possible in pokemon ruby to make a double battle where you are fighting teamed up with another computer player? So that you are only controlling your pokemon?

                    Also is it possible (again in ruby) to change the number of badges you can obtain to say four? and still include in elite four (or four battle that must be fought in a row)

                    Thanks
                    for your first question im not sure but on your second one you can obtain 2 badges at once but not get ride of one unless the badges you dont delet allow you to use hms so you can delte the other ones this requires scripting but im not positive what the code is but there are some great tutorials on how to resieve items from people in pokemon games
                    __________________
                    want to help with forbidden version? or want more details about it? pm me or contact me at [email protected]
                      #17112    
                    Old January 2nd, 2011 (10:59 PM). Edited January 2nd, 2011 by This username is already in use.
                    This username is already in use's Avatar
                    This username is already in use This username is already in use is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Dec 2010
                      Gender: Female
                      Posts: 11
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
                      Yes, there are in NSE, but this happens:
                      Trying looking for it in nameless sprite editor, back sprites are one of the easier ones to spot in that jumbled up mess. Actually, since you're using firered, there's a tutorial that tells you exactly what to do in the tutorials section

                      EDIT: Oh yes, I just realised, it's quite possible that effect is due to the palette not being replaced, NSE does a terrible job at it, use APE.(yes it's a bit of a hassle)
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by pokeguy9000 View Post
                      I have two questions

                      Is it possible in pokemon ruby to make a double battle where you are fighting teamed up with another computer player? So that you are only controlling your pokemon?
                      Damn that spoiled it for me I haven't finished emerald and I was hoping there'd be something like that along the way. With brendan possibly hehe,that's be well cool
                        #17113    
                      Old January 3rd, 2011 (12:45 AM).
                      DrFuji's Avatar
                      DrFuji DrFuji is offline
                      Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2009
                      Location: Aussie
                      Age: 25
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 1,441
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by pokeguy9000 View Post
                      I have two questions

                      Is it possible in pokemon ruby to make a double battle where you are fighting teamed up with another computer player? So that you are only controlling your pokemon?

                      Also is it possible (again in ruby) to change the number of badges you can obtain to say four? and still include in elite four (or four battle that must be fought in a row)

                      Thanks
                      It can be achieved in Emerald (due your your double battle with Steven) but there is no existing code for that in Ruby. You'll either have to port it over, or write it from scratch - It will require a fair knowledge of ASM either way.

                      There is nothing that stops you from not giving the player four badges if you are making your own scripts. There will be a downside though, as the badges also allow you to use HMs outside of battle. By taking away four, you're going to ultimately lose the use of at least one of the more 'complex' HMs (Surf, Waterfall, Dive, Fly and Flash) while Cut and Rock Smash can be worked around so you don't need a badge. If you are only using advance text to alter the original scripts, then you won't be able to do a thing.
                      __________________
                        #17114    
                      Old January 3rd, 2011 (4:08 AM).
                      Washibon's Avatar
                      Washibon Washibon is offline
                      ---
                         
                        Join Date: Dec 2010
                        Gender: Female
                        Posts: 34
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by altariaking View Post


                        I'm pretty sure NSE has it as a bookmark, have a look in the toolbox section.



                        Where you using Unlz-GBA? If so, and you might've forgot to check the *import image" and only clicked "import palette".
                        Sorry, I guess I wasn't clear enough. The front sprite worked, it inserted and the Bulbasaur sprite changed. But the colors were all wrong.
                        As for the back sprite, it didn't change at all, and Bulbasaur stayed normal.

                        Alright, Xoax, I'll try that! Thanks!
                          #17115    
                        Old January 3rd, 2011 (9:09 AM).
                        Quilava's Master's Avatar
                        Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
                        Shattered Dreams '13
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2007
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 693
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
                          Yes, there are in NSE, but this happens:

                          I cam across this problem to. The way I did it was by editing the palette using Translhextion. It's quite a tedious process and can be difficult if you don't know what you're doing. I would say you APE but APE has always been way to buggy from my liking. PM me if you want me to tell you how to change it using HEX
                          __________________
                          The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
                            #17116    
                          Old January 3rd, 2011 (12:54 PM).
                          SPG's Avatar
                          SPG SPG is offline
                          Pyroblock
                             
                            Join Date: Dec 2010
                            Age: 21
                            Gender: Male
                            Posts: 88
                            how do i add fake pokemon in the 25 spots between treko and celebi? i cant find a tutorial on it and i know for a fack there are several out there can some one help me out?
                            __________________
                            want to help with forbidden version? or want more details about it? pm me or contact me at [email protected]
                              #17117    
                            Old January 3rd, 2011 (12:56 PM).
                            Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
                            Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
                            hOI!!!!!! i'm tEMMIE!!
                               
                              Join Date: May 2008
                              Age: 24
                              Gender: Male
                              Nature: Bashful
                              Posts: 3,487
                              Quote:
                              Originally Posted by SPG View Post
                              how do i add fake pokemon in the 25 spots between treko and celebi? i cant find a tutorial on it and i know for a fack there are several out there can some one help me out?
                              There are loads of Tutorials for it, in actuality. One was made by a user called torterra x (I think), search for it.
                              __________________


                              Temmie vibrates intensely.

                              awwAwa cute!! (pets u)

                              OMG!! humans TOO CUTE (dies)

                              can't blame a BARK for tryin'...

                              RATED TEM OUTTA TEM.

                                #17118    
                              Old January 3rd, 2011 (1:21 PM).
                              link12552's Avatar
                              link12552 link12552 is offline
                              decade club
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2007
                                Location: The blue one
                                Age: 22
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Calm
                                Posts: 205
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by jota_rdk View Post
                                Yes, there are in NSE, but this happens:

                                You have to save you're palette to offset: E76EBC

                                After opening the back-sprite through NSE's bookmarks,
                                goto View>Offset. Leave the image offset alone, but change the palette offset (E76EBC).
                                This is the palette you want to edit

                                Note: the palette is lz77 compressed.
                                NSE's default bookmark file "borrows" the Hero OW palette for the back-sprites, hence why co can't edit them if using just the bookmark.
                                __________________
                                  #17119    
                                Old January 3rd, 2011 (1:41 PM).
                                ville!'s Avatar
                                ville! ville! is offline
                                Abbysus, abbysus invocat!
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jan 2009
                                  Location: Perú
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Rash
                                  Posts: 53
                                  how can i edit the moves that a pokemons can learn by level by level in gsc roms?, and, is possible to edit the sprites in gsc, to change some pokemons? some tool like YAPE for gbc? i'm working on a gold hack.
                                    #17120    
                                  Old January 3rd, 2011 (2:05 PM).
                                  jonicito's Avatar
                                  jonicito jonicito is offline
                                     
                                    Join Date: Jan 2007
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Adamant
                                    Posts: 83
                                    I figured out why my ruby wasn't working with the certain moves, my world map move offset between Pokemon in unlz-gba. Look at the picture, my Pokedex either freeze with colors or restarts. I did edit my map a long time ago, but how do I move the offset again? I tried with several backups and it's the same.
                                    Attached Images
                                    File Type: png problems.png‎ (67.4 KB, 11 views) (Save to Dropbox)
                                    __________________
                                    I'm a pokemon fan
                                      #17121    
                                    Old January 3rd, 2011 (2:35 PM).
                                    SPG's Avatar
                                    SPG SPG is offline
                                    Pyroblock
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2010
                                      Age: 21
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 88
                                      how can i put crys on pokemon in fire red using pokecry? cuz when i find a tut its abot ruby and it messes up my cry that i made to can some one help?
                                      __________________
                                      want to help with forbidden version? or want more details about it? pm me or contact me at [email protected]
                                        #17122    
                                      Old January 3rd, 2011 (3:47 PM).
                                      asuras_angel asuras_angel is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Nov 2010
                                        Gender: Male
                                        Posts: 2
                                        so I'm hacking leaf green and I need a fully functioning thief ball... any suggestions cause I have no idea.... I want it to be able to steal other trainers pokemon (obviously).
                                          #17123    
                                        Old January 3rd, 2011 (5:49 PM).
                                        CCM333 CCM333 is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Dec 2010
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 2
                                          Are Navel Rock + Birth Island unlocked in most FR ROMs? Or do you somehow need to unlock them? Or am I crazy thinking that they are locked? (I read that they are locked unless you enter some Nintendo event...)
                                            #17124    
                                          Old January 3rd, 2011 (6:14 PM). Edited January 3rd, 2011 by SPG.
                                          SPG's Avatar
                                          SPG SPG is offline
                                          Pyroblock
                                             
                                            Join Date: Dec 2010
                                            Age: 21
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Posts: 88
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by CCM333 View Post
                                            Are Navel Rock + Birth Island unlocked in most FR ROMs? Or do you somehow need to unlock them? Or am I crazy thinking that they are locked? (I read that they are locked unless you enter some Nintendo event...)
                                            this is A-map 101 use a warp ^_^ find navel rock on A-map and look at the warp and put that warp on where you want it to be (write down the info about it) make sure its some where where you can get it
                                            __________________
                                            want to help with forbidden version? or want more details about it? pm me or contact me at [email protected]
                                              #17125    
                                            Old January 3rd, 2011 (9:17 PM).
                                            adhdguitar's Avatar
                                            adhdguitar adhdguitar is offline
                                            Newbie Pokémon Hacker
                                               
                                              Join Date: May 2010
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Nature: Adamant
                                              Posts: 210
                                              This may seem like a very simple/stupid question, but how can I prevent this from happening? I'm guessing it has something to do with conflicting tilesets between two maps?

                                              __________________


                                              Yellow: Complete
                                              Crystal:
                                              Complete
                                              Sapphire: Not Started
                                              Cherrim: Not Started
                                              Closed Thread

                                              Quick Reply

                                              Join the conversation!

                                              Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                              Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:02 PM.