The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #19601    
Old October 8th, 2011 (9:18 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is online now
Heiki Hecchara‌‌
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Aussie
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by PKMN Trainer Alison View Post
Does anyone know the pallet offset for the green circle under professor Oak's sprite in FR/LG?
You can find the oval's pallet at 0x4629D0.
__________________
  #19602    
Old October 8th, 2011 (9:22 PM).
PKMN Trainer Alison's Avatar
PKMN Trainer Alison PKMN Trainer Alison is offline
I'll follow you into the dark.
     
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Location: Australia.
    Gender: Female
    Nature: Gentle
    Posts: 56
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
    You can find the oval's pallet at 0x4629D0.
    Thank you so much. :) I really needed this!
    __________________
    [CENTER]
      #19603    
    Old October 9th, 2011 (2:54 AM).
    ShaHar ShaHar is offline
       
      Join Date: Oct 2011
      Location: Belgium
      Gender: Male
      Posts: 7
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by HackDeoxys View Post
      You don't have to restart every time. If you're using VisualBoyAdvance, you can use Shift-F1 to make a savestate file, which effectively saves your game. Just press F1 again to load it.
      To change the map you start at, you can use Starter Map Chooser Advance (SMCA).
      For the last one, it can be done rather easily with a level script.

      though i appreciate your reply, still there are some problems with this,
      first of all, if i restart from a savestate file, the things i changed aren't in the game, i really have to restart from the beginning all the time.
      so it would be really great if i could skip that introduction screen somehow (with Prof Oak)...
      ok, that SMCA was really helpfull, thanks for that man :)
      hmm, if i knew how to do it, i already had done that,
      but the level scripting is somewhat out of my league here xp

      Greetz
        #19604    
      Old October 9th, 2011 (3:05 AM).
      Darthatron's Avatar
      Darthatron Darthatron is offline
      巨大なトロール。
       
      Join Date: Jan 2006
      Location: Melbourne, Australia
      Age: 27
      Gender: Male
      Nature: Modest
      Posts: 1,152
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by ShaHar View Post
      though i appreciate your reply, still there are some problems with this,
      first of all, if i restart from a savestate file, the things i changed aren't in the game, i really have to restart from the beginning all the time.
      so it would be really great if i could skip that introduction screen somehow (with Prof Oak)...
      ok, that SMCA was really helpfull, thanks for that man :)
      hmm, if i knew how to do it, i already had done that,
      but the level scripting is somewhat out of my league here xp

      Greetz
      The savestate problem is simple. You can't be on the map you edited. It needs to be reloaded before the changes will show up. Hope that helped.
      __________________
      あなた は しきしゃ です
      わたし は ばか です
        #19605    
      Old October 9th, 2011 (3:19 PM).
      kyou_kun's Avatar
      kyou_kun kyou_kun is offline
         
        Join Date: Aug 2010
        Posts: 7
        How can you change the items listed in the pokemart for Diamond?
          #19606    
        Old October 10th, 2011 (8:42 AM).
        EdensElite's Avatar
        EdensElite EdensElite is offline
        No0b, but getting there.
           
          Join Date: Jun 2011
          Location: UK
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Bold
          Posts: 190
          I'm using map connections and using a different tileset 2 on the second map. However it doesn't load the different tileset when I go into the next map, it keeps the original so It looks all messed up, how do I fix this?
          __________________

          ROM Hacking was getting frustrating for me. I've now stopped productions and writing the game from scratch in HTML 5.

          That means it will be playable in the browser, and across multiple devices such as the iPod touch.
            #19607    
          Old October 10th, 2011 (9:20 AM).
          Vladimir312's Avatar
          Vladimir312 Vladimir312 is offline
             
            Join Date: Sep 2011
            Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
            Gender: Male
            Posts: 27
            Does anyone know how I would be able to edit the breeding in a pokemon game? I'm creating new pokemon and I want them to breed the way they're supposed to.
              #19608    
            Old October 10th, 2011 (10:42 AM).
            ShaHar ShaHar is offline
               
              Join Date: Oct 2011
              Location: Belgium
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 7
              okay, now i have another little question,
              sorry if i'm asking to much, but it's the best way to learn stuff...

              so i'm using the game FR,
              and the thing i'm trying to do is,
              by talking to a Sign with a yes/no question (this part is working already),
              but the thing is that i want to add a sort of 'event' when choosing yes,
              if yes, i want to let an item appear on a table close to me.

              i know i have to work with a flag and such, but how can you let something be hidden first and appear later? what command is better to use in this case...

              in the spoiler you can find what i already have.

              Spoiler:

              #dyn 0x740000
              #org @main
              lock
              faceplayer
              checkflag 0x1003
              if == jump @haveit
              message @talk
              callstd MSG_YESNO
              compare LASTRESULT YES
              if == jump @pushedyes
              jump @pushedno

              #org @haveit
              message @gotit
              callstd MSG_NORMAL
              release
              end

              #org @pushedyes
              setflag 0x1003
              message @yes
              callstd MSG_NORMAL
              release
              end

              #org @pushedno
              message @no
              callstd MSG_NORMAL
              release
              end


              #org @talk
              = If you see this click yes to\nget a present

              #org @gotit
              = How's the present?\nPretty neat huh!!

              #org @yes
              = Go to the table!!

              #org @no
              = Oooohh, too bad, your loss.


              Greetz,
              ShaHar
                #19609    
              Old October 10th, 2011 (4:57 PM).
              metapod23's Avatar
              metapod23 metapod23 is offline
              Hardened Trainer
                 
                Join Date: Mar 2009
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Timid
                Posts: 673
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by ShaHar View Post
                okay, now i have another little question,
                sorry if i'm asking to much, but it's the best way to learn stuff...

                so i'm using the game FR,
                and the thing i'm trying to do is,
                by talking to a Sign with a yes/no question (this part is working already),
                but the thing is that i want to add a sort of 'event' when choosing yes,
                if yes, i want to let an item appear on a table close to me.

                i know i have to work with a flag and such, but how can you let something be hidden first and appear later? what command is better to use in this case...

                in the spoiler you can find what i already have.

                Spoiler:

                #dyn 0x740000
                #org @main
                lock
                faceplayer
                checkflag 0x1003
                if == jump @haveit
                message @talk
                callstd MSG_YESNO
                compare LASTRESULT YES
                if == jump @pushedyes
                jump @pushedno

                #org @haveit
                message @gotit
                callstd MSG_NORMAL
                release
                end

                #org @pushedyes
                setflag 0x1003
                message @yes
                callstd MSG_NORMAL
                release
                end

                #org @pushedno
                message @no
                callstd MSG_NORMAL
                release
                end


                #org @talk
                = If you see this click yes to\nget a present

                #org @gotit
                = How's the present?\nPretty neat huh!!

                #org @yes
                = Go to the table!!

                #org @no
                = Oooohh, too bad, your loss.


                Greetz,
                ShaHar
                You need to create a header in the map that sets the flag of the item you want hidden, unless a certain flag or variable is set (the one set when you hit yes in your script). You just need to use "03 On entering map/not on menu close" in A-Map.
                __________________
                  #19610    
                Old October 10th, 2011 (5:14 PM).
                ManInTheMask's Avatar
                ManInTheMask ManInTheMask is offline
                Pro Hacker
                   
                  Join Date: Aug 2011
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 31
                  What about a script that changes the original wild battle music into any song you want for a wild battle not executed by script command, but by stuff like grass, or water, etc.
                    #19611    
                  Old October 10th, 2011 (6:04 PM).
                  avolonsaber avolonsaber is offline
                     
                    Join Date: Oct 2010
                    Posts: 182
                    I'm sure someone has asked this before, but there's just too many pages to look through :p Anyways, is there a known Flag that enables the National Dex in FireRed? I know that 0x829 activates the regular Pokedex, but 2 of the Starters in the hack I'm making aren't from Kanto, so they won't be able to evolve without the National Dex, which is why I want the Player's starting Pokedex to just be the National Dex.

                    I've been looking online for a while and all I'm seeing are weird scripts or things involving ASM, the former I don't want and latter I don't know. Just a Flag or a simple way to enable it. Anyone know how?
                      #19612    
                    Old October 10th, 2011 (6:22 PM).
                    DrFuji's Avatar
                    DrFuji DrFuji is online now
                    Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                     
                    Join Date: Sep 2009
                    Location: Aussie
                    Age: 25
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Jolly
                    Posts: 1,441
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by avolonsaber View Post
                    I'm sure someone has asked this before, but there's just too many pages to look through :p Anyways, is there a known Flag that enables the National Dex in FireRed? I know that 0x829 activates the regular Pokedex, but 2 of the Starters in the hack I'm making aren't from Kanto, so they won't be able to evolve without the National Dex, which is why I want the Player's starting Pokedex to just be the National Dex.

                    I've been looking online for a while and all I'm seeing are weird scripts or things involving ASM, the former I don't want and latter I don't know. Just a Flag or a simple way to enable it. Anyone know how?
                    You unlock the National Dex in FR/LG by using the command 'special 0x16F'.
                    __________________
                      #19613    
                    Old October 10th, 2011 (6:33 PM).
                    avolonsaber avolonsaber is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Oct 2010
                      Posts: 182
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
                      You unlock the National Dex in FR/LG by using the command 'special 0x16F'.
                      Fuji, my dude, lol. Awesome. How would I go about putting it into my script, instead of "setflag 0x829" could I just put "special 0x16F"?
                        #19614    
                      Old October 10th, 2011 (6:39 PM).
                      Darthatron's Avatar
                      Darthatron Darthatron is offline
                      巨大なトロール。
                       
                      Join Date: Jan 2006
                      Location: Melbourne, Australia
                      Age: 27
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Modest
                      Posts: 1,152
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by avolonsaber View Post
                      Fuji, my dude, lol. Awesome. How would I go about putting it into my script, instead of "setflag 0x829" could I just put "special 0x16F"?
                      You need to do both. Setting the flag of 0x829 shows the pokedex in the menu.
                      __________________
                      あなた は しきしゃ です
                      わたし は ばか です
                        #19615    
                      Old October 10th, 2011 (6:40 PM).
                      DrFuji's Avatar
                      DrFuji DrFuji is online now
                      Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                       
                      Join Date: Sep 2009
                      Location: Aussie
                      Age: 25
                      Gender: Male
                      Nature: Jolly
                      Posts: 1,441
                      Quote:
                      Originally Posted by avolonsaber View Post
                      Fuji, my dude, lol. Awesome. How would I go about putting it into my script, instead of "setflag 0x829" could I just put "special 0x16F"?
                      Unfortunately, no because 'setflag 0x829' makes the Pokedex option appear on the pause screen, while 'special 0x16F' upgrades the Pokedex. While you should be able to evolve non-Kanto Pokemon, if you try to use the special without setting the flag then you won't be able to open the Pokedex on the menu at all.
                      __________________
                        #19616    
                      Old October 10th, 2011 (7:11 PM).
                      avolonsaber avolonsaber is offline
                         
                        Join Date: Oct 2010
                        Posts: 182
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Darthatron View Post
                        You need to do both. Setting the flag of 0x829 shows the pokedex in the menu.
                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by DrFuji View Post
                        Unfortunately, no because 'setflag 0x829' makes the Pokedex option appear on the pause screen, while 'special 0x16F' upgrades the Pokedex. While you should be able to evolve non-Kanto Pokemon, if you try to use the special without setting the flag then you won't be able to open the Pokedex on the menu at all.
                        Cool beans. Thanks, guy (:
                          #19617    
                        Old October 11th, 2011 (4:37 AM).
                        Thrasher24's Avatar
                        Thrasher24 Thrasher24 is offline
                        ~Legendary Master~
                           
                          Join Date: Mar 2011
                          Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
                          Gender: Male
                          Nature: Adamant
                          Posts: 55
                          1. where do i got to request sprites?
                          2. has any1 made pkmn white/black for the GBA? (like a hack of gba game, but turned it in2 b/w)
                          3. how do i change the battle scene trainer sprites? (emerald)
                          4. whats a 'basic' text editor for emerald? a-text editor only works for FR/LG (mayB R/S) but not emerald. (Unless i need a patch or ad on or somthing)
                          __________________
                          My 6 PkMn:
                          Fly! Char! Master!
                          Fossil! Pichu! Mew2
                            #19618    
                          Old October 11th, 2011 (9:40 AM).
                          BlazingMagmar's Avatar
                          BlazingMagmar BlazingMagmar is online now
                             
                            Join Date: Feb 2009
                            Gender:
                            Posts: 76
                            hi
                            i successfully imported a team rocket battle midi into my leaf green and it works brilliantly. However i dont know how to make this battle music only be used by team rocket grunts. I replaced the music for R/S trainer battle music. So how do i make team rocket grunts use this battle music without making every trainer in the game use it?
                              #19619    
                            Old October 11th, 2011 (12:24 PM).
                            DrFuji's Avatar
                            DrFuji DrFuji is online now
                            Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                             
                            Join Date: Sep 2009
                            Location: Aussie
                            Age: 25
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Jolly
                            Posts: 1,441
                            Quote:
                            Originally Posted by Thrasher24 View Post
                            1. where do i got to request sprites?
                            2. has any1 made pkmn white/black for the GBA? (like a hack of gba game, but turned it in2 b/w)
                            3. how do i change the battle scene trainer sprites? (emerald)
                            4. whats a 'basic' text editor for emerald? a-text editor only works for FR/LG (mayB R/S) but not emerald. (Unless i need a patch or ad on or somthing)
                            1) You could try the Pixel Art section of the Art Gallery, but I think you will have a tough time getting somebody to sprite for you if you request anything more than one or two sprites.

                            2) Not to my knowledge.

                            3) You can use a tutorial like this one. It is based on FR/LG, but the steps should be more or less the same for Emerald.

                            4) A-Text is as basic as you can get and there aren't any editors that work 100% with Emerald off the top of my head. I would suggest getting a script editor like XSE so you can make your own scripts, rather than editing the text of others.
                            __________________
                              #19620    
                            Old October 12th, 2011 (6:04 AM).
                            soilder148 soilder148 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Jul 2010
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 3
                              I'm very new to rom hacking and I was starting to hack the Gold version. First I wanted to add my own bitmap sprite for the character in the game. Then I'd like to edit one of the gym leaders name and sprite and stuff also. That's really all for tight now I guess.
                                #19621    
                              Old October 13th, 2011 (3:30 AM). Edited October 13th, 2011 by ~Anbuja.
                              ~Anbuja's Avatar
                              ~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
                              Let's Keep It Simple
                                 
                                Join Date: Oct 2010
                                Location: In Snorlax Stomach
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Lonely
                                Posts: 321
                                Question:
                                I inserted a pokemon OW it's a flying type pokemon so i want it to make like it is flying on the mapps...soooo
                                In a-map the Ow inserted and such give no problems...but the movement to make it run up down makes it only walk one tile up and one tile down and that looks very unnatural sooo i wanted to ask is that another Movement type you give the OW in a-map(i tryed all) or is it a script that make the ow walk for example 6 tiles up and 6 tiles down and that all reapeting again...?

                                Question:
                                I inserted a pokemon OW it's a flying type pokemon so i want it to make like it is flying on the mapps...soooo
                                In a-map the Ow inserted and such give no problems...but the movement to make it run up down makes it only walk one tile up and one tile down and that looks very unnatural sooo i wanted to ask is that another Movement type you give the OW in a-map(i tryed all) or is it a script that make the ow walk for example 6 tiles up and 6 tiles down and that all reapeting again...?
                                __________________
                                  #19622    
                                Old October 13th, 2011 (3:44 AM).
                                DrFuji's Avatar
                                DrFuji DrFuji is online now
                                Heiki Hecchara‌‌
                                 
                                Join Date: Sep 2009
                                Location: Aussie
                                Age: 25
                                Gender: Male
                                Nature: Jolly
                                Posts: 1,441
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by Anbuja's_BlooDY View Post
                                Question:
                                I inserted a pokemon OW it's a flying type pokemon so i want it to make like it is flying on the mapps...soooo
                                In a-map the Ow inserted and such give no problems...but the movement to make it run up down makes it only walk one tile up and one tile down and that looks very unnatural sooo i wanted to ask is that another Movement type you give the OW in a-map(i tryed all) or is it a script that make the ow walk for example 6 tiles up and 6 tiles down and that all reapeting again...?
                                In FR there are a number of Bikers on Cycling Road that constantly move up and down like you want - It would be easiest to see how they move and copy their data. Most of their movement values (The window underneath movement type in AMap) are set at 61 so I would suggest changing your NPC's value to match it. While I haven't messed around with this a lot, I'm inclined to believe that the first number you place in the movement value window will correspond to the number of squares the NPC will move in one direction, in this case, six. If someone wants to correct me on that last point, then go ahead :)
                                __________________
                                  #19623    
                                Old October 13th, 2011 (5:55 AM).
                                BlazingMagmar's Avatar
                                BlazingMagmar BlazingMagmar is online now
                                   
                                  Join Date: Feb 2009
                                  Gender:
                                  Posts: 76
                                  Hi i have been trying to get team rocket grunts to use the R/S trainer battle music. I followed Mastermind_Xs tutorial. However when i start the game it wont go past the intro screen (it freezes at the moment the gamefreak logo is supposed to come up) whats more i loaded a savestate and it works. But whenever a sound effect is supposed to play or if the music is supposed to chnge the game freezes. Im using Fire Red (U) v1.0

                                  Any idea whats wrong?
                                    #19624    
                                  Old October 13th, 2011 (4:56 PM).
                                  Pingouin_7
                                  Guest
                                     
                                    Posts: n/a
                                    Hello, I am attempting to hack the first generation of Pokémon.
                                    More specifically, Pokémon Blue.

                                    I am trying to hack three things.

                                    First, I would like to be able to edit the sprites of the Pokémon. The reason why I want to do that is because I am attempting to edit Pokémon Blue and make it into an English Pokémon Green.
                                    Right now, I am basing myself on two patches, one made by Chaos Rush which changes the graphics back to those from the original Japanese Green (Thanks a lot for that patch, BTW) and another one which changes the titlescreen so that it has Bulbasaur and says Pokémon Green version on it (I did that part. Some person from romhacking.net helped me for editing the Blue Version text, though.)

                                    Second, I would like to be able to edit the Game Corner prizes. I am attemting to make a minor hack of Blue so that it becomes, in essence, a translation of the Japanese Blue version.
                                    Right now I can handle editing the wild Pokémon and in-game trades, but I'm stuck with editing the Game Corner prizes.

                                    Last but not least, I want to edit the SGB border of the mentionned above Pokémon Blue rom to the SGB border from the original Green version.
                                    (I know Coolboyman knows how to that, judging by Pokémon Brown. I PMed him, but if anyone else knows, I wouldn't mind your help.)


                                    I don't mind hex editing as long as I know what I'm doing and what I'm editing.
                                    In fact, it would be preferable if I was hex editing, because then I would actually learn something about rom hacking, because all those previous rom edits were all done with programs that do all the work for you.

                                    Thanks in advance to whoever has the knowledge and time to reply to me.
                                      #19625    
                                    Old October 14th, 2011 (5:59 AM). Edited October 14th, 2011 by NismoZ.
                                    NismoZ's Avatar
                                    NismoZ NismoZ is offline
                                    SMW Hacker
                                       
                                      Join Date: Dec 2010
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Posts: 14
                                      I have two questions. First, are trainer battle sprites (in FireRed, sorry about missing that :P) uncompressed (like most of the other graphics) in the ROM? Secondly, and related, where are they?
                                      __________________
                                      CHANGING SIGNATURE PLEASE BE PATIENT
                                      Closed Thread

                                      Quick Reply

                                      Join the conversation!

                                      Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                      Create a PokéCommunity Account
                                      Thread Tools

                                      Posting Rules
                                      You may not post new threads
                                      You may not post replies
                                      You may not post attachments
                                      You may not edit your posts

                                      BB code is On
                                      Smilies are On
                                      [IMG] code is On
                                      HTML code is Off

                                      Forum Jump


                                      All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:40 AM.