The PokéCommunity Forums Community Square Feedback & Support
Question Captchas after previewing posts

Feedback & Support All things related to PokéCommunity, from feedback and ideas to support and questions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old 6 Days Ago (12:36 PM).
Disclosed's Avatar
Disclosed Disclosed is online now
"You got a problem with that?"
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Linkin Park
Age: 56
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 846
A few members and I have reported getting captchas when attempting to "Go Advanced" while writing a post.

An exemplary screenshot:
Spoiler:


Clicking "I'm not a robot" usually, in my case, triggers something along the lines of clicking the images that have "trees" or that show a "body of water" or a "stop sign". After completing these events, I am allowed to preview my post, but sometimes I'm presented instead with a white screen.

In case it plays a part, my browser of choice is Google Chrome, though I have heard someone experience the captchas while using Mozilla Firefox.

Could there be any explanations for the phenomena? I apologize in advance if this is the wrong forum to report this!
__________________
This account has been terminated for defying 'community' standards.
LINK 1 | LINK 2 | LINK 3
Reply With Quote

Relevant Advertising!

  #2    
Old 6 Days Ago (12:58 PM).
Who's Kiyo?'s Avatar
Who's Kiyo? Who's Kiyo? is offline
coming out in amazing 3D graphics!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Olivine City
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 2,974
Yes, this is an absolute nuisance.

Sometimes this screen is absolutely relentless and shows up after every single time I hit preview or try to submit a post, and other times it leaves me alone for an hour only to suddenly come back. It'd be something if everybody-everybody was experiencing this, but a lot of people question what I'm even talking about when I bring this up. I'm not experiencing this "white screen" Disclosed is mentioning, though (knock on wood.)

I can confirm it's not just a Chrome thing, as I use Firefox normally.

I'm going to go through an antivirus scan to see if that helps, because the bottom of the captcha screen (at least for me) suggests to do that. I'll let you know of any results.
__________________
-
-
-
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old 6 Days Ago (1:42 PM).
Incineroar's Avatar
Incineroar Incineroar is offline
the spirit of the fighter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Iki Town
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 13,153
Out of curiousity, are you guys browsing using a VPN or on a work-based network that may have different networking policies? Or are these happening at home on plain-jane internet connections?

You should only ever see those if your web traffic is originating from a location whose associated IP address was used for malice in the past.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old 6 Days Ago (1:56 PM).
colours's Avatar
colours colours is offline
→weARElimitless
PokéCommunity Daily Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 27,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incineroar View Post
Out of curiousity, are you guys browsing using a VPN or on a work-based network that may have different networking policies? Or are these happening at home on plain-jane internet connections?

You should only ever see those if your web traffic is originating from a location whose associated IP address was used for malice in the past.
I get these also and I don't use a VPN. Just good plain ol' home wifi.
__________________
infinite colours

we're living limitless

Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old 6 Days Ago (2:41 PM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 'cause it get cold like Minnesota
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 19,899
If you're browsing from home, the most likely case is that someone that shares your service provider got their IP flagged by Cloudflare for malicious content (whether that's people in the same household as you or someone who previously had the IP address your ISP has since assigned to you).
__________________
Avatar is Jun from one of the K-On! manga. Check back later for signature.
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old 6 Days Ago (2:42 PM).
test_account's Avatar
test_account test_account is offline
for all that is broken, I am the test.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 78
sometimes they are trigger by IP (geo locations or bad rep), sometime by a bad browser (plugin, exploit, compromised), other times it may get triggered on complex links, such as a preview if there are certain key 'trigger' words in there.. In all cases, if you complete the captcha, its SUPPOSE TO allow you access for 1 week until it needs to ask again, if triggered.

so, those of you who are getting this, where are you connecting from? browser? os? did you do a complete virus / malware scan of your device?

Also note we try to actively block VPN and other anonymity services and related IPs for security reasons.
__________________
- Test_Account -


Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old 6 Days Ago (4:57 PM).
bobandbill's Avatar
bobandbill bobandbill is offline
Do the Wess dance!
PokéCommunity Daily StaffDSC
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central Coast - Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 12,547
I got this the other night. *Every* time I previewed the thread (it was a long one and needed a fair bit of previewing) the captcha came up. Hotspoted wifi but no VPN. I've also gotten this for modcp/admincp actions from home in regular circumstances, and only within the last week. No viruses or anything, nothing different in what I'm doing.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old 5 Days Ago (1:27 PM).
Ray Maverick's Avatar
Ray Maverick Ray Maverick is online now
disregard females of low quality, acquire currency
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WITTY CLICHE JOKE HERE
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,321
Send a message via Skype™ to Ray Maverick
I'm gonna cast my voice along the rest and say this is happening to me as well, but only when I'm working with CSS. I've PMed Rukario about this

Using firefox, windows 10, connecting from a personal computer at home.

I and a few others have had the same problem a few years ago (made a thread about it, even) and it got fixed eventually.

This time around it's a bit worse because sometimes after I complete the CAPTCHA I get a blank screen like so:

Spoiler:


and I'm forced to backtrack. The blank screen keeps on popping up until I exit post mode and refresh the thread page I'm trying to post in. Weird stuff

would appreciate a solution to this
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old 5 Days Ago (2:20 PM).
Rukario's Avatar
Rukario Rukario is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Somewhere in Ilex Forest
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 7,386
I sure would love to find what's triggering this.. it may be a firewall rule or your IP range / ISP or even your browser................ sigh

If you get a different CF blocked error screenshot it and paste the raytrace # so we can try to back trace it.. Also post date, time (GMT) and URL / what you were doing.
__________________
- Rukario -


Twinned with Jedi_Amara | Paired with Your Name Here | Lil Sis Kimi-Chan | Sig
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old 5 Days Ago (3:37 PM).
Disclosed's Avatar
Disclosed Disclosed is online now
"You got a problem with that?"
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Linkin Park
Age: 56
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rukario View Post
If you get a different CF blocked error screenshot it and paste the raytrace # so we can try to back trace it.. Also post date, time (GMT) and URL / what you were doing.
Spoiler:

Super zoomed-out

13/2/17, ~11:30 pm GMT. Got this just sending a reply to a PM addressed to me (testing CSS).
__________________
This account has been terminated for defying 'community' standards.
LINK 1 | LINK 2 | LINK 3
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old 5 Days Ago (10:29 AM).
Rukario's Avatar
Rukario Rukario is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Somewhere in Ilex Forest
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 7,386
OK.. I'm making a list with people's reports..


If anyone else is seeing this challenge screen more then normal or for the first time (after never seeing it), we need your IP, the cloudflare Ray ID, OS you're running, browser and version, and the date/time (GMT) it happened.
Make sure your computer / device is:
a) not on a proxy / VPN
b) scanned for malware/viruses
c) running the latest browser version without any weird or off the wall plugins,

We'll then hook up with CF support and see what is causing this to trigger and go from there to fix it.
__________________
- Rukario -


Twinned with Jedi_Amara | Paired with Your Name Here | Lil Sis Kimi-Chan | Sig
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old 4 Days Ago (10:52 AM). Edited 3 Days Ago by Venia Silente.
Venia Silente's Avatar
Venia Silente Venia Silente is offline
Worrisome, but also Charming
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: behind that truck
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 550
I'm not sure if this is related to the above, but ever since the new backend with the new captcha, I can't post new threads. Which sucks, because I want to publish a fanfic.

When I go to "Go Advanced" or to the preview post when creating a new thread, I get the friggin' captcha, but after solving it successfully I am returned to an empty page. No content, no nothing, not even when viewing in "View Source". This happens regardless of whichever of my main browsers I am using (Opera 12 or Firefox 45).

As a content creator, this misfeature makes the community entirely unusable for me for the point of, well, publishing stuff.

EDIT: so the blank screens were mentioned; in my case, refreshing or backtracking doesn't seem to have any effect.

I'm gonna try bridging to my home connection, see if that helps.

EDIT #2: just got back home. The same scenario I wanted to complete, creating a new thread, on the same tab (never logged out of the account) sent me to the captcha when I clicked preview, but unlike before I was correctly redirected back to thread preview once it completed.

However, attempting to preview again once again forces me to captcha. I'm not exactly sure why would Cloudflare assume that I can't fight off a Terminator for not even half a minute so that I can click on "preview post" again, but eh.


(Is there any way to return to the old authentication system? All I had to do back then was to set up browser so that PC's cookies were not deleted; was never asked for a captcha)
__________________
Venia Silente' - Consulting Worldbuilder
Image will go here...
one day.

The Suocéverse - Pokémon Stuff

IntroductionOfficial Wiki -- FF.net
: Playfield SWC : Pseudo-Legendary : Misaimed for Life SWC
Silly human, romance is for Nidoran!
Overlord : As They Were SWC : Interim (TBA)
And others

OTHER STUFF

[Nothing Yet]

Reply With Quote
  #13    
Old 3 Days Ago (2:11 PM).
Rukario's Avatar
Rukario Rukario is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Somewhere in Ilex Forest
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 7,386
It lloks like it some firewall rules that see the html or parsed text in your previews and / or posts and triggers the captcha...

we just readjusted some settings again so lets see if it helps any.
__________________
- Rukario -


Twinned with Jedi_Amara | Paired with Your Name Here | Lil Sis Kimi-Chan | Sig
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:17 PM.