The PokéCommunity Forums Fan Games ROM Hacking
[ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

ROM Hacking Need a helping hand? You can get help on any ROM Hacking-related problems or questions you have here.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #22051    
Old July 25th, 2012 (10:10 AM).
kozzztya's Avatar
kozzztya kozzztya is offline
     
    Join Date: Oct 2011
    Posts: 7
    How to change width of this block? Russian words don't fit in it.
    Attached Images
    File Type: png test.png‎ (3.7 KB, 13 views) (Save to Dropbox)
    __________________
    Sorry for my terrible english. I'm from Ukraine.

    Relevant Advertising!

      #22052    
    Old July 25th, 2012 (10:17 AM).
    ~[BlackHole]'s Avatar
    ~[BlackHole] ~[BlackHole] is offline
       
      Join Date: Feb 2012
      Posts: 10
      Thank you!! Well usually I don't use AText, I used it only to edit the intro... Anyway, I'll find some free offsets with Hex Workshop and I'll try with one of them...
        #22053    
      Old July 25th, 2012 (10:39 AM).
      redriders180's Avatar
      redriders180 redriders180 is offline
      Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
         
        Join Date: Jun 2010
        Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
        Gender: Male
        Nature: Quirky
        Posts: 540
        Quote:
        Originally Posted by kozzztya View Post
        How to change width of this block? Russian words don't fit in it.
        I think the width of those boxes are set, but I don't know where. You might have to resort to simply displaying the male or female sign instead of writing out "boy" and "girl". I don't know how A-text does the male and female glyph, but the hex values for both are 0xB5 for the male and 0xB6 for the female, if you're in the mood to use a hex editor.
        __________________


        I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


          #22054    
        Old July 25th, 2012 (11:06 AM).
        FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
        FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
        What is out there?
           
          Join Date: Jun 2012
          Location: United States
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Adamant
          Posts: 770
          Quote:
          Originally Posted by ~[BlackHole] View Post
          It works with 0x800000... But now, how can I find another free offset?

          Yes, I edited the intro text with AText, and I always use FSF to find a free offset but if I use a offset founded with FSF, the intro texts are corrupted...
          Also dynamic offsets. It will automatically search for free space while compiling.
          As such:
          #dyn 0x8800000 (The 8 is included like that in PKSV)
          #org @offset

          (Create script)
          __________________

          Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
          Always periodically make backup saves!
            #22055    
          Old July 25th, 2012 (1:00 PM).
          Blue's Avatar
          Blue Blue is offline
          clout
           
          Join Date: Jan 2008
          Location: United Kingdom
          Gender: Male
          Nature: Relaxed
          Posts: 20,904
          Having trouble with music again, I've created my own Custom Leaders and when battling them it plays the Leader theme no problem but when I try and create rematches for the exsisting Leaders in FR so Brock, Misty, Sabrina etc it just plays the normal trainer tune. I don't know whether I've altered something with the settings but it's like this Music: 1 Unknown: 1 (That's the same for the Custom Leaders) then the Trainer Class is Leader and the Money Rate is 10 but for others it's 25, I don't know what's going wrong really.
          __________________
            #22056    
          Old July 25th, 2012 (1:05 PM).
          Robert Conley's Avatar
          Robert Conley Robert Conley is offline
          GPXPlus.net/user/Robert+Conley
             
            Join Date: Oct 2008
            Location: The Anti Spiral Homeworld
            Gender: Male
            Nature: Docile
            Posts: 330
            In firered is there any way to stop items from being deleted on use? I want to make the TMs work like in B/W along with having some form changing items(using evolution items to do this).
            __________________
              #22057    
            Old July 25th, 2012 (1:08 PM).
            Xealeos Xealeos is offline
               
              Join Date: Jul 2012
              Gender: Male
              Posts: 16
              Hey, I've got a question!

              In Fire Red, I'm doing some simple hacking by keeping most of the rom intact, aside from the messages and sprites and such. So I'm wondering where the script for the opening with Professor Oak is stored and where you can adjust the suggested names for you and your rival.

              And another question: Before I knew about how the rom handles space, I made a message too long and it messed things up. So now the sequence with Oak, you and your Rival has a few wrong lines running through it. Nothing I probably won't be able to solve by getting into the script and editing the messages, but I can't seem to find the right script. So if anyone could tell me where the script for this is stored, that would be great! Just to be clear: It's the scene right before you're allowed to pick a Pokémon. And for that matter, picking the Pokémon itself has a messed up message in it too, so where is that stored?

              Thanks in advance!
                #22058    
              Old July 25th, 2012 (2:35 PM).
              FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
              FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
              What is out there?
                 
                Join Date: Jun 2012
                Location: United States
                Gender: Male
                Nature: Adamant
                Posts: 770
                Quote:
                Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
                Hey, I've got a question!

                In Fire Red, I'm doing some simple hacking by keeping most of the rom intact, aside from the messages and sprites and such. So I'm wondering where the script for the opening with Professor Oak is stored and where you can adjust the suggested names for you and your rival.

                And another question: Before I knew about how the rom handles space, I made a message too long and it messed things up. So now the sequence with Oak, you and your Rival has a few wrong lines running through it. Nothing I probably won't be able to solve by getting into the script and editing the messages, but I can't seem to find the right script. So if anyone could tell me where the script for this is stored, that would be great! Just to be clear: It's the scene right before you're allowed to pick a Pokémon. And for that matter, picking the Pokémon itself has a messed up message in it too, so where is that stored?

                Thanks in advance!
                You don't really have to search for it. You can just double click on the sprite (assuming you linked a script editor to the Advance Map program) to edit it and compile it to a new offset.
                __________________

                Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
                Always periodically make backup saves!
                  #22059    
                Old July 25th, 2012 (2:46 PM).
                Xealeos Xealeos is offline
                   
                  Join Date: Jul 2012
                  Gender: Male
                  Posts: 16
                  Well that's the thing. The script is on neither Oak, the rival, the Pokéballs or even the the script that stops you from walking into the grass when you leave Pallet Town and guides you into the lab. And it's not like I'm reading past it, because I copied the scripts linked to those events and replaced them with the scripts of an unhacked Fire Red. So yeah... Where is it?
                    #22060    
                  Old July 25th, 2012 (3:03 PM).
                  FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                  FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                  What is out there?
                     
                    Join Date: Jun 2012
                    Location: United States
                    Gender: Male
                    Nature: Adamant
                    Posts: 770
                    Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
                    Well that's the thing. The script is on neither Oak, the rival, the Pokéballs or even the the script that stops you from walking into the grass when you leave Pallet Town and guides you into the lab. And it's not like I'm reading past it, because I copied the scripts linked to those events and replaced them with the scripts of an unhacked Fire Red. So yeah... Where is it?
                    Oh okay, sorry I misread. I remember when I first edited the Oak scene. Did you try Oak behind the Pokeballs in the lab? He had a very long script. It should definitely be there.
                    __________________

                    Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
                    Always periodically make backup saves!
                      #22061    
                    Old July 25th, 2012 (3:54 PM).
                    Xealeos Xealeos is offline
                       
                      Join Date: Jul 2012
                      Gender: Male
                      Posts: 16
                      Not that I can see. I can see the script for when you return and get your Pokédex and a few things that he says when you normally talk to him. But nothing from the scene where you get your first Pokémon.
                        #22062    
                      Old July 25th, 2012 (4:41 PM).
                      Spherical Ice's Avatar
                      Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
                       
                      Join Date: Nov 2007
                      Location: Bristol, UK
                      Age: 20
                      Posts: 5,218
                      It's a level script in Oak's Lab.
                        #22063    
                      Old July 25th, 2012 (5:22 PM).
                      FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                      FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                      What is out there?
                         
                        Join Date: Jun 2012
                        Location: United States
                        Gender: Male
                        Nature: Adamant
                        Posts: 770
                        Is it possible for me to use the "Wall Region Map Script on the walls," for the Town Map? My Town Map does not like my second region at all and everytime I enter my second region. The town map displays the northern section really glitchy. However, when I view my second region through the Wall map (in houses) it displays my second region perfectly. I have tried 6 times on a clean rom and I can confirm that the Town map absolutely does not like my second region at all. o_0
                        __________________

                        Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
                        Always periodically make backup saves!
                          #22064    
                        Old July 25th, 2012 (5:34 PM). Edited July 25th, 2012 by Xealeos.
                        Xealeos Xealeos is offline
                           
                          Join Date: Jul 2012
                          Gender: Male
                          Posts: 16
                          Quote:
                          Originally Posted by Spherical Ice View Post
                          It's a level script in Oak's Lab.
                          Might be a stupid question, but where can I find a level script? I've found something under Header called a Map Script, but that doesn't hold it either.

                          Woops, never mind! I found it! It was the 3rd Map Script that I needed. Thanks!
                            #22065    
                          Old July 25th, 2012 (5:54 PM). Edited July 26th, 2012 by Renegade.
                          Renegade's Avatar
                          Renegade Renegade is offline
                          Time for real life...
                             
                            Join Date: Nov 2011
                            Location: United States
                            Gender: Male
                            Nature: Careful
                            Posts: 998
                            I'm having a problem with Sappy 2006...

                            When I try to open it I get this error message:

                            Spoiler:
                            Runtime error 339:

                            Component vbalCbEx6.ocx or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid


                            I looked around on Google for this OCX file and I could not find it anywhere... Could someone help please?

                            (I'm running Windows 7)

                            EDIT: Nevermind, I've found a download.
                              #22066    
                            Old July 25th, 2012 (6:58 PM).
                            DarkerSou1 DarkerSou1 is offline
                               
                              Join Date: Feb 2012
                              Gender: Male
                              Posts: 4
                              Hello! I searched for a while and cannot find out something. I'm making a Firered hack, and was wondering, how do you switch overworld sprites, for example, I want to make Brendan the Sprite in Firered, but I don't know how? Also would this work for fishing/biking animations as well? Thanks in advance.
                                #22067    
                              Old July 25th, 2012 (7:12 PM).
                              MissDigitalis's Avatar
                              MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
                                 
                                Join Date: Dec 2011
                                Gender: Female
                                Posts: 115
                                Quote:
                                Originally Posted by DarkerSou1 View Post
                                Hello! I searched for a while and cannot find out something. I'm making a Firered hack, and was wondering, how do you switch overworld sprites, for example, I want to make Brendan the Sprite in Firered, but I don't know how? Also would this work for fishing/biking animations as well? Thanks in advance.
                                You would need to use the Nameless Sprite Editor. (NSE)




                                I have a question also. Does anyone know how to replace the professor's sprite?
                                __________________

                                  #22068    
                                Old July 25th, 2012 (7:29 PM).
                                redriders180's Avatar
                                redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                   
                                  Join Date: Jun 2010
                                  Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                  Gender: Male
                                  Nature: Quirky
                                  Posts: 540
                                  Quote:
                                  Originally Posted by FrozenInfernoZX View Post
                                  Is it possible for me to use the "Wall Region Map Script on the walls," for the Town Map? My Town Map does not like my second region at all and everytime I enter my second region. The town map displays the northern section really glitchy. However, when I view my second region through the Wall map (in houses) it displays my second region perfectly. I have tried 6 times on a clean rom and I can confirm that the Town map absolutely does not like my second region at all. o_0
                                  I have some good news...there is a way.

                                  The easiest method is to change the Field usage value of the Map to the ASM that controls the World Map. Special 0xFB displays the World Map, so the ASM that does what you want is at 0x080CA7ED. So, all you need to do is set the Field Usage of the World map to 80CA7ED, which can be done in an item editor.

                                  I just tested it out, and it works flawlessly.
                                  __________________


                                  I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                                    #22069    
                                  Old July 25th, 2012 (7:36 PM).
                                  SK3's Avatar
                                  SK3 SK3 is offline
                                  Pokemon Hacking Company™ CEO
                                     
                                    Join Date: Apr 2011
                                    Location: Johto
                                    Age: 23
                                    Gender: Male
                                    Nature: Quirky
                                    Posts: 276
                                    Quote:
                                    Originally Posted by CrystalStatic View Post
                                    I'm having a problem with Sappy 2006...

                                    When I try to open it I get this error message:

                                    Spoiler:
                                    Runtime error 339:

                                    Component vbalCbEx6.ocx or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid


                                    I looked around on Google for this OCX file and I could not find it anywhere... Could someone help please?

                                    (I'm running Windows 7)
                                    Try downloading sappy2006mod15 :)
                                    __________________

                                    Pokemon
                                    Daydream White version


                                    Want to help out? Just PM or VM me!

                                      #22070    
                                    Old July 25th, 2012 (9:14 PM).
                                    FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
                                    FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is offline
                                    What is out there?
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jun 2012
                                      Location: United States
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Adamant
                                      Posts: 770
                                      Quote:
                                      Originally Posted by redriders180 View Post
                                      I have some good news...there is a way.

                                      The easiest method is to change the Field usage value of the Map to the ASM that controls the World Map. Special 0xFB displays the World Map, so the ASM that does what you want is at 0x080CA7ED. So, all you need to do is set the Field Usage of the World map to 80CA7ED, which can be done in an item editor.

                                      I just tested it out, and it works flawlessly.
                                      Thanks! It works perfectly!
                                      __________________

                                      Current Live Update: Build 3.0 RC 2.73 No more Flag Errors!
                                      Always periodically make backup saves!
                                        #22071    
                                      Old July 26th, 2012 (6:45 AM).
                                      Blue's Avatar
                                      Blue Blue is offline
                                      clout
                                       
                                      Join Date: Jan 2008
                                      Location: United Kingdom
                                      Gender: Male
                                      Nature: Relaxed
                                      Posts: 20,904
                                      Having trouble with music again, I've created my own Custom Leaders and when battling them it plays the Leader theme no problem but when I try and create rematches for the exsisting Leaders in FR so Brock, Misty, Sabrina etc it just plays the normal trainer tune. I don't know whether I've altered something with the settings but it's like this Music: 1 Unknown: 1 (That's the same for the Custom Leaders) then the Trainer Class is Leader and the Money Rate is 10 but for others it's 25, I don't know what's going wrong really.
                                      __________________
                                        #22072    
                                      Old July 26th, 2012 (6:58 AM).
                                      MissDigitalis's Avatar
                                      MissDigitalis MissDigitalis is offline
                                         
                                        Join Date: Dec 2011
                                        Gender: Female
                                        Posts: 115
                                        If someone could walk me through replacing the professor's sprite I would really appreciate it.
                                        __________________

                                          #22073    
                                        Old July 26th, 2012 (7:21 AM).
                                        Xealeos Xealeos is offline
                                           
                                          Join Date: Jul 2012
                                          Gender: Male
                                          Posts: 16
                                          Quick question! Where can you change the suggested names for the player and the rival?
                                            #22074    
                                          Old July 26th, 2012 (7:29 AM).
                                          redriders180's Avatar
                                          redriders180 redriders180 is offline
                                          Mastermind of Pokemon Glazed
                                             
                                            Join Date: Jun 2010
                                            Location: Path of Victory, Tunod
                                            Gender: Male
                                            Nature: Quirky
                                            Posts: 540
                                            Quote:
                                            Originally Posted by Xealeos View Post
                                            Quick question! Where can you change the suggested names for the player and the rival?
                                            Easiest way is to use A-Text, or a hex editor. Just search for each of the possible names, and modify it as necessary.
                                            __________________


                                            I think I'm done with ROM hacking. I'll still pop in and visit, though.


                                              #22075    
                                            Old July 26th, 2012 (7:54 AM).
                                            DarkerSou1 DarkerSou1 is offline
                                               
                                              Join Date: Feb 2012
                                              Gender: Male
                                              Posts: 4
                                              Quote:
                                              Originally Posted by MissDigitalis View Post
                                              If someone could walk me through replacing the professor's sprite I would really appreciate it.
                                              Ah, but how would I do this exactly? I already have NSE, I just didn't see a way to change the sprites around.
                                              Closed Thread

                                              Quick Reply

                                              Join the conversation!

                                              Create an account to post a reply in this thread, participate in other discussions, and more!

                                              Create a PokéCommunity Account

                                              Sponsored Links
                                              Thread Tools

                                              Posting Rules
                                              You may not post new threads
                                              You may not post replies
                                              You may not post attachments
                                              You may not edit your posts

                                              BB code is On
                                              Smilies are On
                                              [IMG] code is On
                                              HTML code is Off

                                              Forum Jump


                                              All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:45 AM.