• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

[Eventing Question] How to reduce the numbers of event commands in this situation.

Years
  • Age 26
  • Seen Jan 9, 2021
Hi everybody!

I'm fairly new to pokemon essential, so I don't know if my question will look stupid, but I can't find an answer myself.

I'll give you a context so you can understand what i'm going for:

Imagine a NPC that can give you any pokemon, in exchange of an item that represents the pokemon itself ( for exemple, a statut of bulbasaur = the NPC gives you a bulbasaur)

On the project i'm working on, there's 649 pokemon (gen 5), so my first idea was to do something like that:

@>Conditional Branch: Script: Kernel.pbChooseItem(1 for bulbasaur)
@> Text: whatever
@> pbAddPokemon(:BULBASAUR,5)
: Else
@>
: Branch End

And do another one for every single Pokemon, but I quickly realize that first, it's gonna take an eternity and second, it'll probably make the game lag.

Now i'm looking for a way to make this work without putting 5 years of my life on this Event alone. x)

Ty in advance! :)

Years
Hi everybody!

I'm fairly new to pokemon essential, so I don't know if my question will look stupid, but I can't find an answer myself.

I'll give you a context so you can understand what i'm going for:

Imagine a NPC that can give you any pokemon, in exchange of an item that represents the pokemon itself ( for exemple, a statut of bulbasaur = the NPC gives you a bulbasaur)

On the project i'm working on, there's 649 pokemon (gen 5), so my first idea was to do something like that:

@>Conditional Branch: Script: Kernel.pbChooseItem(1 for bulbasaur)
@> Text: whatever