• Our software update is now concluded. You will need to reset your password to log in. In order to do this, you will have to click "Log in" in the top right corner and then "Forgot your password?".
  • Welcome to PokéCommunity! Register now and join one of the best fan communities on the 'net to talk Pokémon and more! We are not affiliated with The Pokémon Company or Nintendo.

The guidebooks

Years
These things:

51DN9bZDuSL._SX365_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Do you have memories of collecting them? Did you collect any of them at all? Did you actually use them? :o

I remember collecting the guidebooks since I started playing Ruby and I stopped getting them around... Platinum, I think? They were really fun to read and I never actually really used them for the gameplay itself, but rather because I just liked the general structure of the guidebooks and they always seemed more interesting to me to read through after I completed the game rather than reading as I played.

Nah

Years
  • Age 31
  • Seen today
I think that I still have our old Gold/Silver guidebook, lemme see if I can find it

edit: found it

potato quality cuz my phone can't take a pic worth a shit anymore for some reason
Spoiler:

Last edited:
Years
Omg, yes! I adored these as a kid and loved going through them, even if I already knew most information. Felt great having the books in my hands. A Ruby and Sapphire guidebook was how I found out how to obtain the Regis too haha, with the internet not being as huge back then and us being on an unreliable dial-up connection.

Mister Coffee

Blathering Fool
Years
  • Age 32
  • Seen Nov 7, 2020
I still own a bunch of my old pokemon guide books. I think I stopped buying them after third generation. I do actually own the Heart Gold and Soul Silver guide (vol.1), but it was given to me by a friend. I also own a couple of really weird pokemon guide books for generation 1 that were not endorsed by Nintendo so they have some weird information in them.